Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 19:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
HD install and having to reset network each boot.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
777funk

Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 15:25    Post subject:  HD install and having to reset network each boot.  

Curious why I would have to Delete and reconfigure network each boot?

I would like to have Puppy behave more like a typical OS and automatically connect to my network (and the internet) each boot. Is this possible?

Similarly, I'd like it to auto mount to a network folder (videos on my Ubuntu machine).

Any help would be great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 546
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 15:50    Post subject: Re: HD install and having to reset network each boot.  

777funk wrote:
Curious why I would have to Delete and reconfigure network each boot?

I would like to have Puppy behave more like a typical OS and automatically connect to my network (and the internet) each boot. Is this possible?

Similarly, I'd like it to auto mount to a network folder (videos on my Ubuntu machine).

Any help would be great!


i've done roughly ten puppy installs and have never had to delete and reconfigure the network and all my machines have always automatically connected after the initial setup (through either frisbee or 'barry's simple network setup' program). the untypical behavior is untypical for puppy as well. something else has gone wrong somewhere.

(well, you said ANY help...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
777funk

Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 17:04    Post subject:  

Interesting. I wonder what went wrong. Yeah, everytime I boot I end up having to go through Barry's and delete the existing network profile then resetup to connect. Maybe a re-install is in order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3403
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 17:09    Post subject:  

If wireless....>>> Use Frisbee.

And always post your Puppy version and hardware.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
777funk

Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 31 Mar 2014, 18:41    Post subject:  

Sure and sorry about that! I have Precise 5.7 installed (Full) to HD and am using it on an old Dell Desktop P4 1.6Ghz w/2GB RAM. Wired network (Ubuntu).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jody Thornton

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 44
Location: Thornhill, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2014, 18:03    Post subject:  

I'm having the same issue with Precise v5.7.1. My WLAN does not automatically reconnect upon boot, say every two or three reboots it loses connectivity. Then I need to delete and recreate the WLAN profile.

Now what's happened has added a new wrinkle: I have an orphaned profile that remains from when I connected to an incorrect SSID. So now when I connect to the correct WLAN, the old orphaned profile remains, and I cannot delete it. Any takers on why I can't do this?
Smile

_________________
Cheers,
Jody Thornton
(Thornhill, Ontario)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2014, 20:02    Post subject:  

If you are willing to do some testing, look at the alternate connection manager here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Aug 2014, 07:38    Post subject:  

@Jody Thornton: No reply? I can guarantee you that PWF will never lose or orphan your profiles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jody Thornton

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 44
Location: Thornhill, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2014, 17:41    Post subject:  

Hi There:

I worked around with Peasy Wi-Fi. What I was hoping to do was figure out how it edited scripts in autoconnect.conf, and try to accomplish the same thing without having the program installed. Then I could just use Barry's Simple LAN Manager to indicate traffic flow in the notification tray.

Next I tried Frisbee. It's almost perfect, except a blue puppy dog appears and notifies you (using balloon captions) on all stages of connectivity. I'd prefer it works quietly.

With Peasy, I just hate having two WLAN notification icons on the bottom-right near the clock. But yes it did work as well as Frisbee.

I wonder if Barry's Simple app lost automatic reconnection every so often because of the network strength changing every so often. If I created the profile while my network strength was say 51/100, it retains that in the auto connection files (I can't remember which conf file it was). So perhaps when the strength changes, it invalidates the profile. Just a thought.
Smile

_________________
Cheers,
Jody Thornton
(Thornhill, Ontario)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 08 Aug 2014, 17:58    Post subject:  

Jody Thornton wrote:
I worked around with Peasy Wi-Fi. What I was hoping to do was figure out how it edited scripts in autoconnect.conf, and try to accomplish the same thing without having the program installed.

Please explain.

Quote:
With Peasy, I just hate having two WLAN notification icons on the bottom-right near the clock.

Delete /root/Startup/peasywifi_tray and run it from the Network menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5106
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Aug 2014, 01:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
I wonder if Barry's Simple app lost automatic reconnection every so often because of the network strength changing every so often.

At boot:
The auto connection is only tried once.
If the signal strength was too low to detect or get good communication, it would not connect.
You would need to run the network connection tool to connect.

rcrsn51 is trying to improve this. So help him out with his version of a connection manager.
Your testing is useful information for him.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jody Thornton

Joined: 01 Apr 2014
Posts: 44
Location: Thornhill, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 17:06    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jody Thornton wrote:
I worked around with Peasy Wi-Fi. What I was hoping to do was figure out how it edited scripts in autoconnect.conf, and try to accomplish the same thing without having the program installed.

Please explain.

Well I wanted to see what scripts were edited since I understand Peasy is simply a front-end for doing WLAN connections manually no? I wanted to see if I could duplicate it's function. However, the tip below may satisfy my needs all the same.

Quote:
With Peasy, I just hate having two WLAN notification icons on the bottom-right near the clock.

Delete /root/Startup/peasywifi_tray and run it from the Network menu.

_________________
Cheers,
Jody Thornton
(Thornhill, Ontario)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 17:12    Post subject:  

The guts of PWF is just three lines - 33,39 and 403.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2510
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 12 Aug 2014, 15:21    Post subject:  

Jody Thornton wrote:
I wonder if Barry's Simple app lost automatic reconnection every so often because of the network strength changing every so often. If I created the profile while my network strength was say 51/100, it retains that in the auto connection files (I can't remember which conf file it was). So perhaps when the strength changes, it invalidates the profile. Just a thought.
Smile

I do wonder how well Puppy copes when the wifi router switches to another channel - as it might when there is a lot of interference from other routers nearby. I don't know if puppy handles that seamlessly or has to reconnect from scratch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0757s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]