Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 15:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problem booting from USB drive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 21:01    Post subject:  Problem booting from USB drive  

I don't know what the hell I'm doing. Please can you help?

I have downloaded the .ISO - Precise Puppy and used the UUI installer to make my USB drive. It was empty and formatted already, to FAT32.

When using UUI, I was careful to select the correct name for the version of Puppy I intend to use: Precise Puppy. It copied a bunch of files and folders onto my USB stick.

Drive E: is 1.94GB Capacity; FAT.

I'm using my Toshiba Satellite Pentium 4, 2.90GHz, 448MB RAM laptop computer, normally running under Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3.

When the machine posts, I hit F12 key and ensure my boot menu is set to "Removable Device"... The machine boots into Windows XP. WTF?!

So what happens now? How do I get my machine to boot into Linux Puppy? I don't understand why it doesn't work and need help. Please can you advise?

I never expected it to work anyway (Linux never does, does it?) but thought it worth a try because I hate Windows so much.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 22:57    Post subject:  

That's a pretty good report. Smile
I don't know why Puppy won't boot from USB for you. Are you sure your computer can boot from USB? Is there any chance you could burn a live CD or DVD and try to boot from that? (A rewritable CD or DVD works fine if you have one.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 23:25    Post subject:  

Are you sure Puppy is installed properly to the USB drive?
What kind of USB drive?
Hard drive, flash drive. etc...?
What is UUI installer?

Usually the boot option has to specifically state USB to boot from USB.
Quote:
I hit F12 key and ensure my boot menu is set to "Removable Device"...

Usually it also will give choice of what kind of removable device.
Maybe something here applies to your computer.
http://support.toshiba.com/support/viewContentDetail?soid=403623

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3365
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2014, 03:18    Post subject:  

After you hit the F12 key on your laptop, click on hard drive if it has a Plus beside it.
You may then see your USB drive shown there.
If so, click on it and away you go.
I have a Toshiba laptop with windows 7 64bit on it and I can boot Puppy from USB on it.
Also, if that does not work, Press the key to get to BIOS setup (seen when first booting the laptop) and find Boot Order there.
If the USB drive is listed there, move it to the top of the list, save and reboot.
I also read a post about a utility called Plop that allows one to boot from a USB drive. You would have to do a forum search and make sure POST is checked in the options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3404
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2014, 03:35    Post subject:  

" When the machine posts, I hit F12 key and ensure my boot menu is set to "Removable Device"...

The machine boots into Windows XP. WTF?! "

"""""""""""""

You need to look at the hard drives boot order first.

Move the hard drive down....and the USB to the top.

Then save the settings....usually >> F10

Try different usb ports as well.

""""""""

" Yeah mate I've done just that with my Toshiba Satellite A70.

A good old bomb.

Running Linux Mint 14 sweet - off USB bootable!

Use UNetbootin to burn your ISO file on the USB,
then plug in your USB and hit F2 for BIOS settings on reboot.

Go to Boot tab and press Enter to expand the Hard Drives list,

where you'll find your USB stick.

Use F6 to shift it to the top of the list and CRANK IT UP! Cheers! "

http://www.linlap.com/toshiba_satellite_a70

"""""""

And little known but....

Sometimes when even that won't work...all the above.....

Boot Windows... pop in the usb....restart the machine...

Go to the bios setup...

Check the drives...and finally your usb shows up.

Love dem' computers don't you.

::::::

Always handy to try another PC with your usb to see
if it boots there.

"""""""""

Youtube How to.

Toshiba How-To: Setting The System Boot Priority in Bios

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sh-Dx5lPh4E
Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2014, 22:33    Post subject:  

Ive got a new kind of problem now. I can't get into the setup because it's asking for a password.

What now...?

Shit - can you not just, like... BUY a Linux computer? I just want to USE it, not have to FUCK with it. Sad

Never mind. Ignore my angst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2014, 23:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
When the machine posts, I hit F12 key and ensure my boot menu is set to "Removable Device".

See if you can get a choice of what kind of "Removable Device".
Also, if there are other USB ports, try a different port.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2014, 23:55    Post subject:  

Norbert Dentressangle wrote:
Ive got a new kind of problem now. I can't get into the setup because it's asking for a password.

I think Norbert means the BIOS is password-protected and he doesn't know the password. If that's the case, he might be able to reset it by briefly jumpering some pins on his motherboard. I've never done this, so he'll have to research his motherboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 00:53    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
When the machine posts, I hit F12 key and ensure my boot menu is set to "Removable Device".

See if you can get a choice of what kind of "Removable Device".
Also, if there are other USB ports, try a different port.


If I hit F2 I get a list but where it says 'removable device' I can't find any way to choose anything other than 'removable device'. Then it just boots...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 00:55    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Norbert Dentressangle wrote:
Ive got a new kind of problem now. I can't get into the setup because it's asking for a password.

I think Norbert means the BIOS is password-protected and he doesn't know the password. If that's the case, he might be able to reset it by briefly jumpering some pins on his motherboard. I've never done this, so he'll have to research his motherboard.


Oh God...

The plot thickens.

Whatever next?

Here we go then... countdown to a wrecked computer. I don't know what I'm doing. But I can try...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 00:59    Post subject:  

No. I have decided, this is the road to madness and broken shit. Tomorrow, I'm going to take it somewhere and pay someone to do this for me. I don't have the required skill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3404
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 01:40    Post subject:  

Youtube How to.

Did you actually look at it?

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 20:53    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Youtube How to.

Did you actually look at it?

Chris.


I can't get into the BIOS because it is password protected and neither myself, nor the person who sold me the machine, has any clue as to the password. So that link is pretty useless to me at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 20:58    Post subject:  

Have you tried booting from a live CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Norbert Dentressangle

Joined: 16 Mar 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2014, 21:05    Post subject:  

Did I try booting from live CD?

I did (with Ubuntu last week) but it was so slow that I gave up out of sheer boredom. It was as much as I could do to stay awake. I could probably just burn a CD ROM and install it to hard disk but for the fact I want the alternate boot so I can retain Windows for a while, during the transition to Linux. I probably wouldn't survive on Linux alone until I've shaken my dependency on Windows. (God, that sounds serious, doesn't it! Rolling Eyes )

Anyway, back to the BIOS. The jumper, I have discovered, is at J7. I'm to remove the CMOS battery (allow to dissipate). Then remove all power supplies (inc. main battery) and replace the CMOS battery while jumpering the J7. I've looked inside the machine and can't find J7. So it looks like I'll have to take it in for some further assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0813s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]