Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 21:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy fail to get Internet. Win 8.1 just works [Solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 04:01    Post subject:  Puppy fail to get Internet. Win 8.1 just works [Solved]  

Edit changed title to allow Solved text

Edit. Correction. two out of four computers fail to get out on internet. .

The newest that only have Win8.1 get internet very time
and the old desktop from 2008 works too. Hope that one
don't any bad ideas to fail too.

Those two that fail are Acer both of them. D250 and D255.

old text resumed Smile
I am using puppy Lupu as the Linux OS and Firefox
as their browser.

I need someonw that ell me how to avoid 30 minuts
to one hour of frustratiion. Now I gave up after 30 minutes
and yesterday it took me 6 minutes.

I must do something basic wrong. One of them hs Frisbbe
and that did not help.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Mon 31 Mar 2014, 16:42; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 04:09    Post subject:  

You can catch more flies using honey instead of vinegar.

And you need to give people more information if you want them to be able to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 04:43    Post subject:  

That is what I told beginners too way back
in 2007 or so
But one need ro know what imfo is needed
for to do that. any suggestiion on what would
be needed? I have bad balance and so make
Spelling error on each Word now when I stand and write
o I get back so I get back later

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 08:41    Post subject: Re: Puppy still fail to get Internet. Win 8.1 worked instantly  

Internet? ADSL? Mobile broadband? WiFi? Which Puppy Linux? Be sure to get a fresh one. I spent tens of hours struggling with a very old version to get my 3G up and running. Now mostly using Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 12:11    Post subject:  

Hi nooby,
I had problems in Lupu 528 with Frisbee. If you haven't already, it might be worth a try to uninstall Frisbee and go back to good old internet connection wizard. That worked for me. Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 837
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 13:24    Post subject:  

Hi Nooby...

Can you give us a bit more background on the problem?

Also, would you open a terminal and post the output of...

Code:
lspci -nn


If you are trying to connect using a wireless USB adapter, please also include..

Code:
lsusb


Thanks Smile

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 17:04    Post subject:  

Oh sorry I understand better now why I looked so dense.

I use eth0 a wired connection. Lan instead of wan
abd it says it connected but then nothing of internet show up.

The adapter in the Acer D250 and D255 are most likely Intel based.
Within weeks I can find the name for it.
I will test it next week or so or in a fortnight.

I feel too sad now having failed so many times.
I mean 60 minutes is about the same many times of tested
so vary many failures in a very short time.

60 times of failure. My body fail to take it without feeling
incredibly sadness. I could not bear it so I tossed it up on the shelf
and promised myself no more sorrw for some days or weeks.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 18:15    Post subject:  

ardvark and to all of you. As is obvious to all of you
I have to see things from a distace for to be ab

Why could I not take them down from the shelf and give a new try?

I have not hat emotional stability. It would make me
too aware what of that I am a total misfit and loser
software and hardware wise.

I have to wait until my sense of self worth
I've been a big pretender and looser all my life and
it hurts every time that I get aware of it. So give me
some slack and I get back on topic:)

They have been packed upon each other
and the keyboards and mouses are somewhere.
I am that overly sensitive at times Sorry
Don't get me wrong. much appreciated that you guys cares.

Last edited by nooby on Thu 27 Mar 2014, 00:29; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 837
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 18:49    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
It would make me
too aware what of that I am a total misfit and loser
software and hardware wise.

I have to wait until my sense of self worth
I've been a big pretender and looser all my life and
it hurts every time that I get aware of it.


Straight up, that's a lie from Satan. You were created in God's likeness for so much more in Him. You are actually worth far more than you think. Smile

We can wait until you're ready.

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 19:50    Post subject:  

ardvark wrote:
...
Straight up, that's a lie from Satan.
You were created in God's likeness
for so much more in Him. You
are actually worth far more than you think. Smile

We can wait until you're ready.

Regards...


Thanks, for being patient with my fuzziness.

Satan? maybe where given that role by god then
so nobody else had to .

I have trouble believing in Gid and now you introduce
some kind of competition from another power source.

I guess that guy Satan is not very compassionate and only have hatred towards everybody else.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 837
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 20:18    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I guess that guy Satan is not very compassionate and only have hatred towards everybody else.


More than you know. Scripture says he is the father of lies (John 8.44.) You can find out about him here.

Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 00:23    Post subject:  

What is the output of ifconfig?
Can you ping 4.2.2.2?

Knowing these two things will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 00:34    Post subject:  

I have them on the shelf now so those two that do work
may give another anser than the ACER D250?

Win Vista version booting a frugal Lupu shows these statistics.
sh-4.1# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:97:26:77:11
inet addr:85.229.95.92 Bcast:85.229.95.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3770 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1779 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1079404 (1.0 MiB) TX bytes:270498 (264.1 KiB)
Interrupt:27 Base address:0xe000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:18 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1268 (1.2 KiB) TX bytes:1268 (1.2 KiB)

So that is from a working example Can you see if anything
goes wrong already there?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 837
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 13:15    Post subject:  

Hi nooby...

Could I get the output I requested in my post above along with...

Code:
dmesg


Regards...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2014, 13:34    Post subject:  

I failed to follow your instruction or you assumed me
familiar with what to do anyway it says such command
does not exist?
demsq: command not found

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0804s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]