Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 03:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Trying to get VPN working in Slacko 5.6
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Norton

Joined: 12 Mar 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 16:01    Post_subject:  Trying to get VPN working in Slacko 5.6  

Trying to get VPN (PIA) working in Slacko

I've followed everything here

Everything seem fine up to and including "route add default dev ppp0" but browser just hangs.

Can anyone give me (a non technical user)a simple step by step guide to get working?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2014, 20:22    Post_subject:  

I don't have a PIA account so I can't really test.

Give this top post a read and see if it helps:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41929

If you have an account I could use for testing I'd be happy to help further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2014, 21:01    Post_subject:  

I have access to a PPTP VPN server, and I just tried Gpptp now:
- it works fine in Lucid Puppy 5.1/5.2.x
- but it fails in Slacko 5.4 and 5.6. I even tried creating a symlink from /sbin/ip to /bin/ip. No luck.
Then I tried the same manual commands I used back in 2006 -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=42140#42140
Under Slacko this works fine.

So there's something about Gpptp in Slacko which is broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2014, 21:14    Post_subject:  

I'll DL Slacko 5.6 and see what's happening.

Thx @ Tempestuous
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 14 Mar 2014, 23:26    Post_subject:  

Ok, I figured out what the problem is. It's back to the problem 4.xx puppies had. The route command isn't able set the default route to ppp0.

You can set any non-default route and it will work.

As I recall at the time it seemed it had to do with the BusyBox "route" command. At any rate, It worked just fine in the Lucid puppies.

I'll try to dig into it again, but understand it isn't the Gpptp app doing this. Gpptp is just a front-end for pptp/pppd. The tunnel gets created ok, it's just that the route command is failing for some reason.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 08:46    Post_subject:  

Running the following commands works:
Code:

   # Route all rfc 1918 ip requests to the vpn tunnel so we can access all possible
        #  subnets where we're connecting.
     route add -net 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.0.0 gw $MYVPNIPADDR
     route add -net 172.16.0.0 netmask 255.240.0.0 gw $MYVPNIPADDR
     route add -net 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 gw $MYVPNIPADDR

The tunnel is up and working, and all traffic gets to those networks just fine.

We just can't get it to work when we set the "default" route to it (or ppp0). It just freezes everything up. I've tried entering the default route in a dozen different ways and it makes no difference.

For some reason the busybox route command under Slacko will not set the default route to a pppX properly, and of course, shows no errors either.

If anyone can help shed some light on this it would really help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 15:04    Post_subject:  

This all works OK in Precise 5.7.1 once you create a symlink to busybox called "ip" in /bin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0506s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]