Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 01:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 11
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
player

Joined: 03 May 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jul 2014, 06:29    Post subject:  Re: A bit more on the PA11 front...
Subject description: resolution
 

sc0ttman wrote:

The 'solution' is either to increase the desktop resolution to something with a greater height...

Hi, I have problems with the resolution, no matter which resolution (lower or greater) or video mode I choose, it keeps the same 1600x1200. I tried several times, I restarted X, I started from text mode the config then launched the X server, but still the same - 1600x1200. What is wrong, or what I'm doing wrong? The highest resolution accepted by my 20" is 1680x1250.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jul 2014, 13:29    Post subject: Re: A bit more on the PA11 front...
Subject description: resolution
 

player wrote:
sc0ttman wrote:

The 'solution' is either to increase the desktop resolution to something with a greater height...

Hi, I have problems with the resolution, no matter which resolution (lower or greater) or video mode I choose, it keeps the same 1600x1200. I tried several times, I restarted X, I started from text mode the config then launched the X server, but still the same - 1600x1200. What is wrong, or what I'm doing wrong? The highest resolution accepted by my 20" is 1680x1250.
Thanks.

You should be able to adjust the actual screen resolution with the "Personalise Settings" app, in the main menu (in System->Steup, I think) ... If not, you can try the xrandr thing in Menu->Desktop .. That should also work..

You could also hit Ctrl-alt-Backspace, and type 'xorgwizard' (no quotes) then hit ENTER, to choose a resolution... Then type 'xwin' to go back into the X desktop..

If that fails, try editing the xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/ (I think) .. Search for where it says 1600x1200, change it to another valid resolution and save it, close it, then restart the desktop ..

If you really can't change resolution for some reason, you can edit the themes in /root/.paloader/themes/ instead, to reduce the height of the main windows ... Any other methods you will have to come up with yourself, as these normally all work fine.. Sorry I can't be of more help.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ash_mario

Joined: 29 Jul 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 20:22    Post subject:  Internet Problem
Subject description: Wifi and ethernet cables don't work.
 

Hello, I have installed Puppy Arcade 11 on a USB drive, but I am not able to connect to the internet via an ethernet cable. Wifi doesn't work either. The machine I am using is a Thinkpad T430.

I have tested Puppy Arcade in vmware and I am using it on a USB drive. The weird thing is that the operating system doesn't detect modems but connects to the internet when I use vmware. But, when I use Puppy Linux on a USB drive, it detects no modem and doesn't connect to the internet anyway.

Please help.

EDIT:

I have an Intel Centrino N-2200 network adapter.
Others on this forum have copied intel centrino files to lib/firmware/

but I don't know how to find that location. I am new to puppy linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
souenzzo

Joined: 16 Aug 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 15:12    Post subject: sources  

how/here I can get the source/recipes to study/contribute to the project?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 15:20    Post subject: Re: sources  

souenzzo wrote:
how/here I can get the source/recipes to study/contribute to the project?

Inside the folder /usr/local/rom-loader .. That is where the 'source' for the Rom-Loader program is kept.. It is just a bunch of shell scripts..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 04:08    Post subject: Re: Internet Problem
Subject description: Wifi and ethernet cables don't work.
 

ash_mario wrote:
Hello, I have installed Puppy Arcade 11 on a USB drive, but I am not able to connect to the internet via an ethernet cable. Wifi doesn't work either.

Try the other kernel versions, the k2.6.25.16 is probably too old for you.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marceline


Joined: 03 Aug 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 22:56    Post subject: Help me!
Subject description: The file pup_420.sfs does not exist.
 

I tried to install Puppy arcade, but a dialog with "error" appears. He says there is no pup_420 file.
I'm installing from cd.
Help me!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willz06jw

Joined: 19 Feb 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 10:51    Post subject:  No Sound on Dell Mini 9  

Thanks for your great work,

I cannot get the sound to work on my Dell Mini 9. I have ran the ALSA wizard to no avail. I have tried Puppy Arcade 11, k2.6.25.16 and Puppy Arcade 11, kernel 2.6.32-smp with no luck. There is no sound (using the Sound Wizard sound test) in either of those versions.

Where should I start? I noticed that the sound does work in the Slack Puppy 5.7 -- if that helps.

Thanks again,
Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 07:15    Post subject: Re: No Sound on Dell Mini 9  

Marceline wrote:
I tried to install Puppy arcade, but a dialog with "error" appears. He says there is no pup_420 file.
I'm installing from cd.
Help me!


willz06jw wrote:
Thanks for your great work,

I cannot get the sound to work on my Dell Mini 9. I have ran the ALSA wizard to no avail. I have tried Puppy Arcade 11, k2.6.25.16 and Puppy Arcade 11, kernel 2.6.32-smp with no luck. There is no sound (using the Sound Wizard sound test) in either of those versions.

Where should I start? I noticed that the sound does work in the Slack Puppy 5.7 -- if that helps.

Thanks again,
Will


Good News!

I've just uploaded a brand spanking new Puppy Arcade 11


... this time based on Slacko 5.9.3.. So finally, Puppy Arcade is using the latest Puppy as a 'base'.. Support for the latest hardware should be pretty damn good.

File: http://akita.scottjarvis.com/slacko_arcade.iso

Size: 266mb .. md5: 509e44e512f35cce97537a8d20f883a8

Summary:

- Added Nintendo DS (desmume) and Sony PSP (ppsspp) support to Rom-Loader
- added xboxdrv (but you must set it up yourselves)
- Based on Slacko 5.9.3 beta
- To compile, get the devx: devx_slacko_5.9.2.sfs
- Built using Slackware 14.1 packages, kernel 3.4.94
- All kernel modules and firmware in a 'zdrive' file (can swap kernels more easily)
- Everything else is pretty much the same as other Puppy Arcade 11 versions
NDS_PSP_support.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.47 KB
 Viewed   232 Time(s)

NDS_PSP_support.png


_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 832
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 09:40    Post subject:  

Do you think MESS would work with Puppy Arcade?

EDIT: Is the bash fix included?

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 13:05    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Do you think MESS would work with Puppy Arcade?

EDIT: Is the bash fix included?

I never had any luck with MESS, never had it running.. this latest Puppy Arcade will support MESS pkgs made for slackware 14.1, if they exist...
EDIT: I looked into MESS, it's weird, for PSX you need CHD files, not ISOs or BINs..
I imagine most people would ne to re-download a lot of roms to get it working on MESS..

the Bash fix is not included, but it won't affect anyone unless they're using Bash as a server.. But there are fixed versions available to install:

bash 4.1, compiled in slacko_arcade: http://www.datafilehost.com/d/7306561f

compiled by Geoffrey: http://smokey01.com/carolina/pet_packages-carolina/bash-4.3.29-1.pet

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Wed 15 Oct 2014, 06:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 136
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 17:12    Post subject: Abiword  

Hi Sc0ttman.

I tried the release you uploaded today. Someone had a TI994A emulator for windows. (our first computer when I was a boy) When I saw your arcade puppy, I had to try it. I'll see how hard it is to add the TI emulator into your ROMs.

Thanks for all the work you do on here. I use your NetSecurity program from Akita a lot.

Before getting into the ROMs, I was unable to connect to the internet using frisbe, my usual way. It would not take my password. I had to use Dougal's Network Wizard which took the password. (I use WPA2 encryption so the Simple Network Wizard doesn't work)

Sound works! I had to change the default levels because the speaker volume was too low. The Video Player, Firefox and Gnumeric work.

Abiword doesn't work; The output is below.


Code:

# md5sum /mnt/sda4/ISOs/slacko_arcade.iso
509e44e512f35cce97537a8d20f883a8  /mnt/sda4/ISOs/slacko_arcade.iso
# abiword

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `result != 0' failed

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `result != 0' failed

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()


The suspend works for this netbook so I'll run this for a while to see how the games work before I make a savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 22:42    Post subject: Re: Abiword  

chapchap70 wrote:
Hi Sc0ttman.

I tried the release you uploaded today. Someone had a TI994A emulator for windows. (our first computer when I was a boy) When I saw your arcade puppy, I had to try it. I'll see how hard it is to add the TI emulator into your ROMs.

Thanks for all the work you do on here. I use your NetSecurity program from Akita a lot.

Before getting into the ROMs, I was unable to connect to the internet using frisbe, my usual way. It would not take my password. I had to use Dougal's Network Wizard which took the password. (I use WPA2 encryption so the Simple Network Wizard doesn't work)

Sound works! I had to change the default levels because the speaker volume was too low. The Video Player, Firefox and Gnumeric work.

Abiword doesn't work; The output is below.


Code:

# md5sum /mnt/sda4/ISOs/slacko_arcade.iso
509e44e512f35cce97537a8d20f883a8  /mnt/sda4/ISOs/slacko_arcade.iso
# abiword

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `result != 0' failed

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_once_init_leave: assertion `result != 0' failed

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()

(process:24756): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: gtype.c:2720: You forgot to call g_type_init()


The suspend works for this netbook so I'll run this for a while to see how the games work before I make a savefile.

Hi mate..

The Frisbee issue is Slacko related, as I haven't touched it, and never use it, so you might have to ask in the Slacko thread if Frisbee is really important for you.. Sorry, can't help there, but I think rerwin is still working on Frisbee..

Not sure about Abiword, didn't test it, was gonna remove Abiword, Gnumeric et al actually, but didn't (obv).. I'm guessing Abiword has been broken by the libs needed for MAME or similar.. There are many office packages that should work fine at http://akita.scottjarvis.com ..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 832
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Oct 2014, 23:01    Post subject:  

Frisbee has never worked for me. I always use Dougal's network wizard.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [44 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1033s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]