Linux Newbie Here

Promote Puppy !
Blackfish

Linux Newbie Here

#1 Post by Blackfish »

Hi,
I've been using various Linux distros for almost two months now. It all started out innocently enough... I needed a new operating system and just wanted to have an alternative to Mac and Windows; didn't want to pay for another operating system or have to buy an expensive Apple computer. I had always heard about Linux over the years, and had always wanted to give it a shot, but the places I have worked just wouldn't have it; everyone and everything is on Windows, as usual. How perfectly boring.

Anyway, I soon found myself doing the some research into Linux, and ended up at Fry's Electronics in Las Vegas, NV, buying a book of UBUNTU 13.10...

I haven't been the same since...

UBUNTU hasn't really stuck with me, especially all that UNITY and ONE business, and so I burned a few more distros onto DVD and gave them all a shot, particularly MINT Cinnamon (which I love), and openSUSE GNOME (which I love even more). Two days ago, I was doing some more research and found Puppy Linux. I read all about it and burned it onto DVD (Precise Puppy 5.7.1), booted-up, and I am hooked. I am just having a blast with this distro!

I am in Thailand right now, and running some old equipment (I leave the good stuff at home when traveling abroad). These machines are ancient and 32-bit. A Toshiba and a Dell. I have MINT on one and openSUSE on the other. When I found Puppy, I thought, "Geez, which machine should I run Puppy on?" Answer: both. I run Puppy on both machines any time I feel like it. I can run Puppy on just about anything, matter of fact. I love how the entire operating system fits on my flash drive, boots up, loads into RAM and stays there, and I can remove the flash from the USB port--and keep right on working. I get a real kick out of that!