Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 14:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko64 - 64 bit Puppy - 6 Feb 2014
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5895
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2014, 03:53    Post subject:  

Still running the same two frugal installs....... no problems.

Code:
# uname -a
Linux puppypc26990 3.13.1 #1 SMP Wed Feb 5 10:46:21 EST 2014 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux



Code:
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3796912      1132512      2664400            0        31968
-/+ buffers:            1100544      2696368
Swap:      6246396            0      6246396
#
Slacko64.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.83 KB
 Viewed   1119 Time(s)

Slacko64.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2014, 08:58    Post subject: Slacko64 - 64 bit Puppy - 6 Feb 2014  

I did a new install of Slacko64 to a 16gb SDHC card.
It's working fine so far.
EDIT:
I switched to openbox + lxpanel, added more applications, and backed up my savefile.
It's working fine but I haven't attempted to edit the spot-status file and run loginmanager which I think would cause problems so I'll avoid that Smile
Screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   92.14 KB
 Viewed   1071 Time(s)

Screenshot2.jpg

hardinfo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   98.38 KB
 Viewed   1052 Time(s)

hardinfo.jpg

Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.9 KB
 Viewed   1014 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 27 May 2014, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2014, 09:58    Post subject:  

Doglover wrote:
Hi... running an HP 15-n228us with ati graphics.

X will not start.



Damn Confused Xorgwizard is broken too in slacko64.

Thanks James and Billtoo.

Slacko64 has been my main thing since I built the last alpha. Sure is stable on this box. Running heaps of addon stuff too. Libreoffice, samba, dia, chrome, java, Xmind (a java based mind map.. for school that one, got me good marks too Smile ). Stable on my HP lappy too.

I think in the future I'll concentrate on 64. See what happens.. but all my old POS boxes are dying except my old faithful IBM thinkpad r51.. the no PAE one. I don't get enough time these days.. work, school, kids... Rolling Eyes Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puck

Joined: 24 May 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jun 2014, 06:32    Post subject:  

Hello, I am new to this forum and sorry my English is not my language. I tried Slacko64 and I like it, but the problem is that I do not see the hd on the pc, no partition. FatDog works perfectly.
It 'a problem of file system? Or am I an idiot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5255
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jun 2014, 19:14    Post subject:  

Puck wrote:
the problem is that I do not see the hd on the pc, no partition. FatDog works perfectly.
It 'a problem of file system? Or am I an idiot?

Quote:
Or am I an idiot?

Only you can answer that, we do not know you Laughing

Need some information.

How are you running Slacko 64?

Live cd, USB flash drive install, frugal or full install to hard drive, etc...

You see no partition drive icons on lower left of desktop?

You click on mount icon on desktop and Pmount shows nothing?

Your computer details would help too.
What is it?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2014, 12:45    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Doglover wrote:
Hi... running an HP 15-n228us with ati graphics.

X will not start.



Damn Confused Xorgwizard is broken too in slacko64.
....
Thanks James and Billtoo.


I downloaded slacko64-5.8.8.iso and its checksum and they checked out.
I then created a CD using PBurn and booted it.
I went through the startup settings and saved the session upon exiting.
But the CD tray momentarily opened and closed before the session was written and then again shortly after.
After a reboot, I got the message of X not starting and to run xorgwizard.
Xorgwizard failed to run and so I will have to try again booting with either pfix=ram or pfix=1 to ignore the saved session.
I do not know if this version had xorgwizard working or not.
This is my first attempt at booting a 64bit OS on this PC also.
And it is a 64bit PC with 4 gigs of ram!
Also, Firefox seemed to be very slow starting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 721
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2014, 20:15    Post subject:
Subject description: Looking for Wine and Libre Office
 

I am trying out version 5.8.7 first on my Compaq CQ58. It is an UEFI machine. I have gotten Slacko64 to work on it. I am also using FATDOG64. This is how I got Slacko64 to boot with the latest version of Grub. I have transferred all my Thunderbird email accounts correctly. Slacko64 is working great. I do need Wine for a couple of Window applications. I also like to use LibreOffice too. I checked the Pet Manager, but, they were not listed. Is there someway that I can get Slacko64 Pets for WINE and LibreOffice? Thanks for the help on this. Once I get 5.8.7 working for all my needs, I will try the new release candidate.

Additional: I updated the Pet Manager data bases of applications. I saw both wine and libreoffice in the text listing as the data bases were updated. However, They are not listed in the selection window of the installer. I must be doing something wrong.

I tried the find function of Pet Manager and found neither were available. Oh well! I am open to any ideas.

4 June. I tried Abiword and Gnumeric and found they are both compatible with the open document formats. They do away with the need for Libreoffice. I search the web and found a Slackware 64 binary for Wine 1.5.22. I downloaded and try it. It does work, but, I could not install the needed Windows (32 bit) program. I must be missing something. On to 5.8.8!

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puck

Joined: 24 May 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2014, 06:29    Post subject:  

Hello, then my pc is a HP xw 8400 with 2 Intel Xeon 5160, 1 Nvidia Quadro Fx 4500 and 8 gb of ram. the only device that can be seen in the lower left is sr1 and pmount shows just that.
As I said, FatDog, mounts, automatically, all devices at startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 721
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2014, 18:18    Post subject:
Subject description: 5.8.8 works and Wine Info
 

5.8.8 is working well on this machine. Here are the machine details: Linux puppypc 3.13.1 #1 SMP Wed Feb 5 10:46:21 EST 2014 x86_64 AMD C-60 APU with Radeon(tm). No problems using it or setting up. Nice upgraded.

I did some more research on the 64 bit Wine. The Quicken program that I am trying to use is an older 32 bit program. It will not run without something called multilibrary. If you are going to add Wine then it is best to include multilibrary into the package.

I also was looking at the iso package. If you want Slacko64 to either boot on a normal master boot record or UEFI machine, then look at Fatdog64. It has solved the problem. One should be able to use the same approach. Awhile back, I posted about the use of UEFI and Fatdog. There should be some information for you.

Thank you, 01Micko for your efforts on Slacko64.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jun 2014, 21:55    Post subject:  

Hello @Puck. Is this system using SCSI and RAID? And, which filesystems are in use on the HDDs?
Puck wrote:
Hello, then my pc is a HP xw 8400 with 2 Intel Xeon 5160, ... the only device that can be seen ....
This info could be useful to development.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rwishlaw

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jun 2014, 00:49    Post subject: Update squashfs and glibc  

Hi Micko:

Would you please update squashfs to version 4.3 available at

http://sourceforge.net/projects/squashfs/files/squashfs/squashfs4.3/

and also update glibc to version 2.19 available at

http://www.gnu.org/software/libc/libc.html

The slackware package is

glibc-2.19-i486-1.txz

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun 2014, 17:37    Post subject:  

Graphics card on the Pentium D's gone dodgy, hopefully just the loose heatsinks I found on it. Just haven't had time to do anything with it other than remove the card from the machine.

I'm currently slumming it on the mainboard's built-in graphics, some Intel chipset with no Win 7 drivers. Doze manages a whopping 60Hz refresh rate on the trusty ViewSonic E70f SB 17" CRT, doesn't bother me as such but I'm surprised my brother is managing. Might as well see how Slacko64 does.

Any news on a new version? Must be nearly time for school holidays! Wink

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puck

Joined: 24 May 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jun 2014, 13:46    Post subject:  

Hello, my pc use SCSI no Raid and file system is ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4380
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 02:24    Post subject:  

Hello @Puck

I think FD64 and LH64 have contained SCSI, SATA. and IDE, while many/most other PUPs only have SATA-IDE support. Maybe the next version of Slacko64 will have SCSI too. Dunno if there is a PET for SCSI presently available for this "alpha version" distro.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5895
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 03:14    Post subject:  

Thought I needed some variety instead of using Firefox all the time so I installed Opera.And no, it's not in the PPM. Smile
Opera 12.16.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.71 KB
 Viewed   331 Time(s)

Opera 12.16.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1262s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0401s) ][ GZIP on ]