Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 06:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How To Install Burg (boot loader based on Grub)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1070
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 08:01    Post subject:  How To Install Burg (boot loader based on Grub)
Subject description: Or at least how I did it anyway for a Frugal install
 

Burg is a brand-new boot loader based on GRUB. It uses a new object format which allows it to be built in a wider range of OS, including Linux/Windows/OSX/Solaris/FreeBSD, etc. It also has a highly configurable menu system which works in both text and graphic mode.

Basically another pretty GRUB.

I just like Burg.

However, as someone said on the internet, it is a ridiculous amount of time to spend on something that will flash across your screen for about 2 seconds.



That said though, the amount of pride and joy that fills me in those 2 seconds makes it worth it.

If you're stupid like me, here's how I stumbled through to this glorious moment.

Disclaimer: If you haven't installed GRUB before, this is probably too hard for you. That said, there's a first time for everything, but whoever you are, you follow in my footsteps at your own risk. The following is my interpretation of a Burg installation. It's mostly for fellow Puppians to improve upon.

Tested only on Frugal installs. All using Carolina. I don't have a full install. I imagine it would be easier and everything would work like it should on a full install because the whole system within a system that is a frugal install confuses Burg.

Burg is not installed inside Puppy. It is installed on a hard drive, Puppy only being the tool you use to install.

Step 0
If using frugal, start new puppy with pfix=ram option. You can't install Burg (or Graphical GRUB for that matter) with a save file I've noticed.

Step 1
Install burg-git.pet

Step 2
Open a terminal and run
Code:
burg-install --root-directory=/location/here /dev/sda
.

This installs Burg to the MBR.

--root-directory is where the Burg files will go. It should be on a physical partion. If you've installed grub before, that would be a good location. The burg folder will be installed to this location inside the folder "boot". If you have grub in a boot folder as well, Burg will not delete the grub folder.

For the second argument, in this case /dev/sda, type in fdisk -l the asterisks will indicate which drive your MBR is on. If it is on /dev/sda2 use /dev/sda, not /dev/sda2.

Burg will now overwrite your MBR. Grub is gone, now Burg will be what greets you. Burg will also now have folder in a folder called "boot" located whereever was specified in --root-directory=/location/here.

Step 3
Extract burg.tar.gz to /where/you/installed/burg/boot/burg

Step 4
Open burg.cnf and look for "### MENU ENTRIES ###". There are 2 example items, one for Puppy, and one for Windows. I have only tested the Puppy and Windows menu entry.

Step 5
Open your current menu.lst and copy over the corresponding information noting the difference in syntax such as "linux" for loading the kernel instead of "kernel".

Here's what it should look like in the end:


Hopefully that helps. I'm not sure why the Windows entry is so different. I just set the Burg windows entry with (hd0,2) because on my computer it is on the first hard drive and on the second partition.

(hd0 is the physical hard drive number, 1 is the partition number. The thing to remember is hd0 starts its numbering at 0 and the partitions start their numbering at 1.)

If you need more Puppy entries feel free to copy the Carolina entry as many times as needed.

Step 6
Might want to check the menu entries again. It's really annoying to get locked out of your computer because of a typo. (Regardless, it's always annoying whatever the cause)

Step 7
That should be it. Reboot your computer and enjoy your 2 seconds of glory. Press 't' to change themes. I included a bunch in the burg.tar.gz. There's no need to save the session Burg was installed in to.

Other Hotkeys:
Code:
e  - edit the current command, ctrl-x, used to finish edit and save the result
c  - open a terminal window
q  - plain burg
F1 - help menu
F5 - mapped to ctrl-x
F9 - shutdown
F10 - reboot
ESC - return from popup window


Many thanks to russoodle for hosting my files Wink

TROUBLESHOOTING

If anything goes wrong, try not to panic. Your information is safe. If things go wrong with bootloaders like Burg of GRUB, it's like the equivalent of the door to your house vanishing. Everything's still there. Just need to make a new door.

If you end up with the grub rescue screen... that's great news, it means Burg successfully installed on the MBR, but also means there was a stuff up in the burg.cfg.

You can get back into Puppy if you know where your kernel and initrd.gz are.

Eg:
Code:

linux /carolina101/vmlinuz
initrd /carolina101/initrd.gz
boot

If you don't know where your kernel and initrd.gz are you can try looking for it with
Code:

ls (hdx,y)/


Replace x with the hard drive number you want to search, y with the partition you want to search. Remember hdx starts its numbering at 0 and the partitions (y) start their numbering at 1.

Alternatives

If you don't want Burg but still want a pretty startup screen I suggest looking at the fantastic work Catdude has done.

How to have a graphical GRUB

Message files for the GRUB gfxmenu

My favorite's always been the metal dog. It just seems Puppyish.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8

Last edited by battleshooter on Thu 09 Jan 2014, 21:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8150

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 09:53    Post subject:  

I fully understand...I have a nice tarty grub piccie followed by the same image and a progress bar during booting.
I want my old machines to look new, not new machines to look like they from the eighties Very Happy

Just a quick note on your query...that map crap is as you remarked... a, pointless...windows will establish its own home ..chainload alone works just fine b, can mess up the partition table mbr since it can actually change its contents...been looked out by it in the past....so best avoided anyway.

Now you will get a flood of posts telling you how wrong it is of you to do such tarty things and whats wrong with the 'standard' ways of doing things Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 10:51    Post subject:  

Now *that* looks nice. grub4dos works brilliantly because it's simple as sticks -- but it looks like total crap and that's always bothered me.

Can anyone tell me how to use burg with a full install of Upup Raring 3992...?

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8150

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 11:36    Post subject:  

That looks crap? Perhaps you need to try out some grub4dos boot splashes starhawk...
mike
pengy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   224.24 KB
 Viewed   558 Time(s)

pengy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 12:17    Post subject:  

THAT'S GRUB4DOS?!?!?!




How the HECK did you DO THAT?? (...and how can I do it, too? But probably with a different theme...) I've never been able to get it to do anything other than the default black/cyan/white crap, that looks like I've got an "everything new is old again" CGA screen on my netbook (or any other Puppified system).

Would be even more awesomer Razz if I could roll my own theme -- I know the PERFECT backdrop / background / whatever they call it. (...and I'm an artist...) is there a HowTo on this, somewhere? or a kit I can order? or whatever...?

Sorry for going OMGSUPERFANBOYEXCITEMENTLEVELOVER9000 here, but that looks AWESOME and grub4dos just normally looks so "dumpy 80s", ya know?

"It's the simple things in life that you treasure..." ~"Tech Sgt. Chen", Galaxy Quest

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 14:15    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
How the HECK did you DO THAT?? (...and how can I do it, too? But probably with a different theme...) I've never been able to get it to do anything other than the default black/cyan/white crap, that looks like I've got an "everything new is old again" CGA screen on my netbook (or any other Puppified system).

Would be even more awesomer Razz if I could roll my own theme -- I know the PERFECT backdrop / background / whatever they call it. (...and I'm an artist...) is there a HowTo on this, somewhere? or a kit I can order? or whatever...?

Sorry for going OMGSUPERFANBOYEXCITEMENTLEVELOVER9000 here, but that looks AWESOME and grub4dos just normally looks so "dumpy 80s", ya know?

"It's the simple things in life that you treasure..." ~"Tech Sgt. Chen", Galaxy Quest


Try GFxmenu http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/gfxmenu.htm

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8150

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 15:34    Post subject:  

Thee puppy source of info..
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=93568290&t=27471

and some premade splashes
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=93568290&t=50108

By the way this works for grub4dos or grub 1

Its basically one line in menu.lst and the spash file.

Making youir own is not to hard after you done it the first time...

Sorry no thread hijack intended.... I need to test out this burg..it looks fun

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 474
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 15:40    Post subject: how edit the burg.cfg to usb?  

I successfully installed burg in my usb with this 2 commands
assuming my usb is sdb1
Code:
[Badass][$] mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt

then
Code:
[Badass][$] burg-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sdb
Installation finished. No error reported.

Burg runs a little bit slow than grub4dos but runs in my usb
But the options dont, i dont know how edit the set root= ?? in burg.cfg. I dont understand about device mapping, can you help me please? this is part of my config
Quote:
#Puppy Linux Example#
menuentry 'Slacko 5.6' --class puppy --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --group group_main {
set root='(hd1,1)'
linux /slacko/vmlinuz psubdir=/slacko
initrd /slacko/initrd.gz
}

#Puppy Linux Example#
menuentry 'Badass' --class puppy --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --group group_main {
set root='(hd1,1)'
linux /test2/vmlinuz psubdir=/test2
initrd /test2/initrd.gz
}


Tnx in advance.

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1070
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 20:57    Post subject:  

Interesting nilsonmorales , I hadn't thought about USB installs. But shouldn't be too different. It is a hard drive after all.

Can I see the output of
Code:
fdisk -l


Good one mikeb. I love Catdude's work, in fact all the computers in the house are running his graphical grub setup. I just tried Burg because I felt like something different. Good to know about the Windows entry as well, but I'll probably leave it as is because that's the default menu.lst Puppy install spits out.


starhawk
If you're still interested in Burg for Upup, I can give it a go in a virtual machine and let you know how it goes. But I understand if you're overwhelmed but the awesomeness of graphical grub for now.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 474
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 21:43    Post subject:  

[Bs] thank you for your fast reply

Quote:
[puppypc7119][$] fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xb371b371

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 83888127 41943040 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 83888128 312580095 114345984 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 * 83890176 136318975 26214400 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 136321024 188749823 26214400 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 188751872 241180671 26214400 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 241182720 312580095 35698688 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 4051 MB, 4051697664 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 492 cylinders, total 7913472 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x014a9340

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 2048 7913471 3955712 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2826
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 23:59    Post subject:  

@rg66 -- gfxmenu is exactly what I was looking for! Just one question. Per the instructions I extracted from the gfxboot-3.3-custom.zip archive the file message_en. But I extracted ONLY message_en. Should I have extracted the whole archive and just copied message_en (and modified it)...? or did I do it right?
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 00:45    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
@rg66 -- gfxmenu is exactly what I was looking for! Just one question. Per the instructions I extracted from the gfxboot-3.3-custom.zip archive the file message_en. But I extracted ONLY message_en. Should I have extracted the whole archive and just copied message_en (and modified it)...? or did I do it right?


It's been quite a while since I've done this and it was in Windows. For linux I think you just need message_en, back.jpg and gfxboot.cfg.

Edit: I just made a spalsh in Carolina and you just need message_en. When extracted, all the necessary files are there. I just did the quicky version with the included back.jpg and unmodified gfxboot.cfg and it worked without issues.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1070
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 02:25    Post subject:  

nilsonmorales ,

I'd say because your USB is where the MBR is installed, it would view itself as the first hard drive. I think your entry should look like this, assuming both Puppies are installed to the USB:

#Puppy Linux Example#
menuentry 'Slacko 5.6' --class puppy --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --group group_main {
set root='(hd0,1)'
linux /slacko/vmlinuz psubdir=/slacko
initrd /slacko/initrd.gz
}

#Puppy Linux Example#
menuentry 'Badass' --class puppy --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --group group_main {
set root='(hd0,1)'
linux /test2/vmlinuz psubdir=/test2
initrd /test2/initrd.gz
}

I highlighted the change I made in red. I saw from fdisk you only have 1 partition, so you are correct in setting the partition to 1.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 474
Location: El salvador

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 12:00    Post subject: My report "Burg in usb"  

Ok, burg now is working in my usb thanks to [Bs]
burg runs slowly in usb i dont know why, anyway the important is that works
1-4 sec. to boot main burg window
1-3 sec. to change themes
1-9 sec. to boot any OS
looks very nice, and would like make a new theme for Puppy in my own way.
My purpose was only test, Thank you again.
End of report.

_________________
My blog


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1070
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 20:05    Post subject:  

Very nice nilsonmorales. Thanks for testing. It's always good to know someone else got it working on their system.
_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1083s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]