Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 08:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64 630rc2 (24 December 2013) [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 10 [140 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
whahn1983

Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 22:01    Post subject:  

whahn1983 wrote:
I just installed version 630rc2 to my USB thumb drive and saved an encrypted save file to it. I edited the .conf file to point to the save file via uuid. When it boots, the scrolling text states that it found the save file however, it does not prompt for a password and just continues to boot without the save file. Any ideas?


jamesbond wrote:
What .conf file again did you edit? Where did you create the savefile? In the root directory of the partition, or elsewhere? You can use the "savefile argument creator" (courtesy of rcrsn51) - look in Control Panel, Utility section, to build the correct savefile argument.


The file I edited was extlinux.conf. The savefile is on the root of the usb thumb drive that fatdog is installed to. I added an append line at the end and copied and pasted the savefile= line from the savefile argument creator. On boot, as it is scrolling the information, it shows that it finds the file but does not prompt for the encryption password and boots without the savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9116
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 22:22    Post subject:  

@whahn1983: Try adding "waitdev=5" to the end of the "append" line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whahn1983

Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 22:56    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@whahn1983: Try adding "waitdev=5" to the end of the "append" line.


Tried that as well. All the way up to waitdev=20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9116
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014, 00:08    Post subject:  

An encrypted savefile on USB worked for me. Please post your extlinux.conf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
whahn1983

Joined: 31 Dec 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jan 2014, 01:17    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
An encrypted savefile on USB worked for me. Please post your extlinux.conf file.


Must have been something wrong with the file. I just deleted it and created a new one and updated the extlinux.conf and all is working good now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 853
Location: SE

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 15:10    Post subject:  

Hello Smile!

Silence might not always be preferred ...

Strange bug encountered while trying to install lvm2 (tried both packages offered in the package manager). Just lvm2 out of the few packages I installed seems to be affected.

The package manager hangs when installing the package, and the shell gets borked.

Downloading the packages and installing from CL reveals the following unexpected behaviour:
Code:
# petget /aufs/devsave/fd64/lvm2-2.98.pet
EXIT="OK"
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/doc/index.html.top': No such file or directory
yaf-splash: couldn't load font "8x16"
cat: /usr/share/doc/index.html.bottom: No such file or directory

# petget -lvm2-2.98
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/doc/index.html.top': No such file or directory
cat: /usr/share/doc/index.html.bottom: No such file or directory
/usr/local/petget/removepreview.sh: line 82: /usr/sbin/fixmenus: No such file or directory
EXIT="OK"

# silent_petget /aufs/devsave/fd64/lvm2-2.98.pet
installing lvm2-2.98
checksum is 6596d56e6d86f55a489df0877515be35
/usr/sbin/silent_petget: line 78: /bin/mkdir: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/silent_petget: line 140: /bin/sed: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/silent_petget: line 87: /usr/bin/cat: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/silent_petget: line 88: /usr/bin/rm: No such file or directory
#
('silent_petget lvm2-2.98 uninstall' works, though)

Anyway, I thought I'd report it ...

Cheers Smile/MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2161
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 11:24    Post subject:  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:

Anyway, I thought I'd report it ...

Thanks MHHP. Confirmed the errors; those two are bad pets, I need to fix them.
EDIT: Fixed.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 87
Location: Franken, Bavaria, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan 2014, 09:11    Post subject:  

I downloaded and did a manual frugal install. ThinkPad R500, Radeon HD3400.

The good news first
When it eventually reaches X, WiFi is no problem, sound works ootb, and it's fast.

Now the bad news. It only boots up to X every 1 out of 3-5 times. Without anything changed, i.e. no savefile written yet, first boot got me to a blank screen, no cursor, no reaction to keys, hard poweroff. Second boot got me a little further, black screen with some irregular white bars, mouse cursor visible and reacts to movement, no reaction to any keys, except when pushing the power button, it now barks Wink . Hard poweroff. Third attempt (pfix=nox) got me irregular white patterns on a black screen with some text still there but not legible. typed 'reboot' in the blind and it rebooted. Fourth attempt went straight to X desktop, no problem, got correct resolution, everything works. Euphoria! But, next boot, back to the above. When X works, closing the lid puts it in suspend to ram, but opening the lid back up gives a black screen (backlight on) with no reaction whatsoever.
Boot option 'nomodeset' brings me up to X, but only in 1400x1050.

FD600 hardinfo reports the following
Code:

Summary
Computer
Processor   2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8700 @ 2.53GHz
Memory   3974MB (583MB used)
Machine Type   Physical machine
Operating System   Fatdog64 [b5f866c240]
User Name   root (root)
Date/Time   Tue Jan 21 14:08:50 2014
Display
Resolution   1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer   ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series
X11 Vendor   The X.Org Foundation
Audio Devices
Audio Adapter   HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
Audio Adapter   Loopback - Loopback
Input Devices
Lid Switch   
Sleep Button   
Power Button   
Video Bus   
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard   
DualPoint Stick   
AlpsPS/2 ALPS DualPoint TouchPad   
PC Speaker   
ThinkPad Extra Buttons   
Printers (CUPS)
CUPS-PDF   Default
SCSI Disks
ATA FUJITSU MJA2320B   
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-T50N   
Operating System
Version
Kernel   Linux 3.4.5 (x86_64)
Version   #1 SMP Thu Jul 19 21:52:43 EDT 2012
C Library   GNU C Library version 2.13 (stable)
Distribution   Fatdog64 [b5f866c240]
Current Session
Computer Name   Kriemhild
User Name   root (root)
Home Directory   /root
Desktop Environment   Unknown (Window Manager: Openbox)
Misc
Uptime   26 minutes
Load Average   0.81, 0.76, 1.17
Display
Display
Resolution   1680x1050 pixels
Vendor   The X.Org Foundation
Version   1.11.4
Monitors
Monitor 0   1680x1050 pixels
Extensions
AMDXVBA   
AMDXVOPL   
ATIFGLEXTENSION   
ATIFGLRXDRI   
BIG-REQUESTS   
Composite   
DAMAGE   
DOUBLE-BUFFER   
DPMS   
DRI2   
GLX   
Generic Event Extension   
MIT-SCREEN-SAVER   
MIT-SHM   
RANDR   
RECORD   
RENDER   
SGI-GLX   
SHAPE   
SYNC   
X-Resource   
XC-MISC   
XFIXES   
XFree86-DGA   
XFree86-VidModeExtension   
XINERAMA   
XINERAMA   
XInputExtension   
XKEYBOARD   
XTEST   
XVideo   
XVideo-MotionCompensation   
glesx   
OpenGL
Vendor   Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer   ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 Series
Version   3.3.11631 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering   Yes


Works pretty reliable with FatDog600, so I doubt I am having hardware issues. Is there a workaround/boot option etc.? Will there be catalyst for the final release?

Thanks for the effort you guys put into Fatdog, it's the OS I spent the most time with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3287
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jan 2014, 21:18    Post subject:  

Latest mtpaint 64 bit version - compiled in fatdog630

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81136
_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2161
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 01:49    Post subject:  

@chiron
There is a known problem with radeon module on 630rc2 which kirk has fixed for next release; hopefully that will fix yours too.
Also, are yours dual-radeon graphics? Dual-radeon isn't properly supported until kernel 3.13 (which was just released a few days ago), though it should also work with older kernels (but can't use all the features).

As for Catalyst drivers - we will release the Catalyst driver once we've gone to final.

vflower wrote:
However, remaster for more than 10 times, the remaster is still failed. The remaster files cannot be booted. Remaster on both a desktop and a notebook, both failed.
Thanks for the report. I'm looking at it.
EDIT: Found the problem. The remaster doesn't fail; it is the new "kernel feature" (first introduced in 3.11 - the "initmpfs" feature) that causes problem. To fix it, please append "rootfstype=ramfs" to your kernel command line (in isolinux.cfg or grub.cfg). I will be applying this automatically for future releases. Also, make sure that your ISO size isn't bigger than half of your RAM. Alternatively you can remaster with "small-initrd" - that should take care of the problem too.

L18L wrote:
Like some style with faq Question
flexible design, validating with http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_upload
my /usr/share/doc/faqs/tray.html:

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll think about it (mainly how much work required to re-style all the other pages ...)

Anyway, we plan to release final soon. Let us know of any annoying problems - we'll try to fix them for final, if possible.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 07:03    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
I'll think about it (mainly how much work required to re-style all the other pages ...)
Hope this helps (use LANG=xx, comment base, etc...)
...or just a new fatdog.css.

Quote:
Let us know of any annoying problems
index and home
If I am installing puppy's langpack there are home.htm and index.html.
If Fatdog would use home.html and no index(link to home) or index.htm(without l) there would be no overriding.....
BTW I am rethinking about langpackFatdog to become a complete langpack and no addition to puppy's langpack....

EDIT
trim the fat missing. I have been installing gwhere_NLS. This has installed all the languages that it contains. Any user would like to have just their languages ( locale -a | grep _ | cut -d'_' -f1 | uniq ) see "trim" in /usr/local/petget/downloadpkgs.sh please.
EDIT ...or forget it. It is not really annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 08:52    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
@chiron
There is a known problem with radeon module on 630rc2 which kirk has fixed for next release; hopefully that will fix yours too.
Also, are yours dual-radeon graphics? Dual-radeon isn't properly supported until kernel 3.13 (which was just released a few days ago), though it should also work with older kernels (but can't use all the features).

As for Catalyst drivers - we will release the Catalyst driver once we've gone to final.


OK, if it's a known issue, and on top of that, is fixed, I will gladly wait. It's not a dual radeon setup, it's just the 'not totally crappy' graphics option on my thinkpad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 15:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
... Alternatively you can remaster with "small-initrd" - that should take care of the problem too. ...
A thought. (But, there are many other apps you are readying. For Remaster, should "small-initrd" be the default with the boot speedup (opposite of small-initrd) being an option? Or maybe there should be an advice statement popup made just before final step(s) stating the current RAM size and that user is responsible to pay attention to remaster size.

Idea is which approach will yield the greatest benefit by reducing the forum support needs in the outcome produced by remaster usage. Just a thought.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 140
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 23:56    Post subject:  

Hi,
I went out to a command prompt and typed xwin lxpanel , but when Xwindows appeared, Razor panel was still there, minus Glipper, the free memory applet and the wifi icon. Also the mouse pointer turned into an cross. All windows opened would go to the upper left corner of the screen, with the title bar off the screen,meaning I couldn't drag anything, even with Alt-Drag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2161
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2014, 04:52    Post subject:  

WillM wrote:
Hi,
I went out to a command prompt and typed xwin lxpanel , but when Xwindows appeared, Razor panel was still there, minus Glipper, the free memory applet and the wifi icon. Also the mouse pointer turned into an cross. All windows opened would go to the upper left corner of the screen, with the title bar off the screen,meaning I couldn't drag anything, even with Alt-Drag.

Hi Will, Fatdog's xwin command is a superset of Puppy's:
Code:
xwin [window-manager] [window-panel]

The first parameter is window-manager, the second parameter is the panel. Both are optional. What you did above by doing "xwin lxpanel" is:
a) setting lxpanel as the window manager
b) leaving the default razor-panel to run.
The end result - you're running two panels (lxpanel and razorpanel) without any window manager - that's why all windows have no borders and they all go to upper left corner.

To change it properly, you should instead do:
Code:
xwin "" lxpanel

This makes the first parameter blank (=use existing window manager); and set the panel to lxpanel. Alternatively, if you're already screwed, you can fix it by typing "xwin openbox lxpanel". This sets the window-manager to "openbox" and the panel to "lxpanel".

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 10 [140 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1190s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0086s) ][ GZIP on ]