Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 202 of 232 [3479 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, ..., 230, 231, 232 Next
Author Message
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 12:12    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
I just tried that ipinfo and there are errors (you'll probably see them also when running frisbee from terminal and clicking "network status")
Some files are missing.

Extract the attached one. Should be fine now. I really prefer this one if it works for you.

Toni

Yes, works now and it's ok by me to include.
You change the deb or do we just replace the file?
And why you prefer this one?

Testing you pet to ... scripts now, nice job!
One Q.
There's a line:
Code:
cp -f /opt/docs/postinst ./DEBIAN

What does that do? There is no such file.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 12:25    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
Just replace ipinfo in /usr/bin
I will replace the packages on the site later.
Download link for sns deb with rebuilded ipinfo inside and postinstall for pet2deb scripts.
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/Temp-stuff/opt.zip
fredx181 wrote:

There's a line:
Code:
cp -f /opt/docs/postinst ./DEBIAN

What does that do? There is no such file.

Sorry, I fogot to add it. It is in the archive from the above link. It is update menus script. Most pets have desktop file and it will auto-appear if postinst is included.

Edit: I prefer this ipinfo because it gives checkbox to activate an option that is default setup in all other puppy ipinfo scripts. I can't say if it is good or bad option but I prefer to have choice.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 14:14    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
Quote:
Just replace ipinfo in /usr/bin
I will replace the packages on the site later.
Download link for sns deb with rebuilded ipinfo inside and postinstall for pet2deb scripts.

Thanks, it's ok now.
When I tested the "change-frisbee to SNS" script I noticed that it doesn't bring back the network connection after SNS is installed.
Manually purging frisbee and after that installing SNS works well though.
The thing is I think that the dhcpcd pid needs some time to quit so putting in a sleep in the script would help.
But to be sure I put a "kill `pidof dhcpcd`" inside the script and that works well for me:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

echo ###
echo "Confirm removing Frisbee and installing SNS or close this window to exit."
echo ###
apt-get purge frisbee

echo ###
echo "Frisbee removed. Installing SNS..."
echo ###
kill `pidof dhcpcd` # Give it a fresh start for SNS to establish a new network connection.
dpkg -i /opt/apps/sns_2.1.1-1.deb

Xdialog --title "Change-Frisbee2SNS" --msgbox " Simple_Network_Setup is installed." 0 0
exit 0


Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 14:55    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:

But to be sure I put a "" inside the script and that works well for me:

It has opposite result for me, Fred. I see this in the output and I do not have connection without starting and setting up sns.
Code:
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]

Without kill `pidof dhcpcd` iI get working connection without further actions.

I can test sleep 5 or 10 for example if it works for you.

I think it will be good to put also this after apt-get purge frisbee line:
Code:
rm -fr /etc/frisbee


Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 15:11    Post subject:  

Toni wrote:
It has opposite result for me, Fred. I see this in the output and I do not have connection without starting and setting up sns.
Code:
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]


Hmm.. strange, looks like the dhcpcd pid is already killed for you.
To avoid misunderstanding:
I used your script with the new frisbee already installed.
Could make a difference.
I'll test more also with adding sleep before installing SNS.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 15:21    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
To avoid misunderstanding:
I used your script with the new frisbee already installed.
Could make a difference.

I also use new frisbee, Fred + copy/paste last ipinfo in /usr/bin.

Edit: All Frisbee and SNS packages rebuilded with new ipinfo:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2338
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jun 2014, 18:42    Post subject:  

[quote="fredx181"]
Toni wrote:

One thing is not clear yet:
I do want to include DoMyFile, does xhippo need updated? and how?

Fred.

Hi Fred,

Yes, parts of xhippo need updated (xhplay and xhconfig and the radio playlists):

Actually, full instructions for the xhippo update are in the one post:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=782735#782735

You may want to remove the old playlists from the xhippo default playlist location ($HOME/.xhippo/playlists) first since (don't know if they would still all work).
-----

In addition to that I created a new script, called make-xhippo-playlist which is used to create xhippo playlists out of other playlist formats.

Instructions (and the new script itself) are provided here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=782739#782739
-----

As for DoMyCommand, DoMyFile, pavrecord, and ffconvert. Yes, these just need installed (or re-installed from the new debs). The only extra instruction concerned with that is that you should remove the old $HOME/.domycommand config folder manually before apt-get purge old domycommand and installing the new one. The same would apply to pavrecord (and any earlier domyfile had it been previously installed). This applies to all users on the system (e.g. root and puppy user).

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 05:10    Post subject:  

William wrote:
Hi Fred,

Yes, parts of xhippo need updated (xhplay and xhconfig and the radio playlists):

Actually, full instructions for the xhippo update are in the one post:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=782735#782735

Thanks William, it was more simple as I thought it would be.
All seems to work well, loading 0default.d.xplist shows all radiostations in xhippo, nice!

Toni, the change-frisbee2sns script works well for me on Jwm version.
It's a mystery it doesn't on openbox version.
Can you try if this works for you?:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

echo ###
echo "Confirm removing Frisbee and installing SNS or close this window to exit."
echo ###
apt-get purge frisbee

echo ###
echo "Frisbee removed. Installing SNS..."
echo ###
while [ -n `pidof dhcpcd` ];
do
sleep 1
if [ -z `pidof dhcpcd` ]; then
break
fi
done
dpkg -i /opt/apps/sns_2.1.1-1.deb

Xdialog --title "Change-Frisbee2SNS" --msgbox " Simple_Network_Setup is installed." 0 0
exit 0

It just checks if the dhcpcd pid has already exited and continues installing SNS when it has.

Then... I had another problem:
When I click OK immediately when the last message appears, it stops the process of bringing the network up.
That's because of a small mistake I made in /etc/init.d/sns in the start and restart section:
This:
Code:
/usr/local/simple_network_setup/rc.network &

Needs to be without the "&":
Code:
/usr/local/simple_network_setup/rc.network

Here's new deb from your latest SNS deb with only change in /etc/init.d/sns
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByBgCDlZZ8K5RlNHdGxFMXFoWVE/edit?usp=sharing

I am almost ready for making new iso now so tell me when you are.

EDIT: I wanted to mention earlier already:
There is no need for separate frisbee_1.2-20140602 deb for openbox version after new release because I removed the frisbee-tray script now from /root/bin.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 06:09    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
Seems to work for me as well. Added also removing /etc/frisbee This is the full script:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

echo ###
echo "Confirm removing Frisbee and installing SNS or close this window to exit."
echo ###
apt-get purge frisbee
echo ###
echo "Frisbee removed. Installing SNS..."
echo ###
while [ -n `pidof dhcpcd` ];
do
sleep 1
if [ -z `pidof dhcpcd` ]; then
break
fi
done
rm -fr /etc/frisbee
dpkg -i /opt/apps/sns_2.1.1-1.deb

Xdialog --title "Change-Frisbee2SNS" --msgbox " Simple_Network_Setup is installed." 0 0
exit 0


I have a problem with new sns download link but I rebuilded the package with the change and I will upload it later on the site.
After new versions are ready I will leave one frisbee package only.

I want to test few days before making final iso. I'm almost ready with live-snapshot scripts but I need to test them on OpenBox first to be sure.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 07:43    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.

Live-snapshot + snap-make + desktop icon inside this archive:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/live-snapshot-snap-make.tar.gz
It is only for live-boot-2x persistent method. If you deciide to include it it works with OpenBox version.
snap-make is moded version of live-make from Sfs (sfslinux). We need only the snapshot function since we have save file GUI utility. So I removed much options to make it only for create and refresh live-sn.
Still testing but it seems to work without troubles. The refresh function is added as button but it works also from terminal:
Code:
live-snapshot -f

or
Code:
live-snapshot --refresh





Edit: Fred, video2audio-gui-x needs gsu line on top otherwise it brings back the warning to confirm creating ffmpeg module again and again. I will try to test all today and tommorrow for user and root.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 09:59    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
Added remove lines for menu files and sns deb after changing frisbee to sns:
Code:
#!/bin/bash

echo ###
echo "Confirm removing Frisbee and installing SNS or close this window to exit."
echo ###
apt-get purge frisbee
echo ###
echo "Frisbee removed. Installing SNS..."
echo ###
while [ -n `pidof dhcpcd` ];
do
sleep 1
if [ -z `pidof dhcpcd` ]; then
break
fi
done
rm -fr /etc/frisbee
rm -f /usr/share/menu/change-netmanager
rm -f /usr/share/applications/change-netmanager.desktop
dpkg -i /opt/apps/sns_2.1.1-1.deb
wait
rm -f /opt/apps/sns_2.1.1-1.deb

Xdialog --title "Change-Frisbee2SNS" --msgbox " Simple_Network_Setup is installed." 0 0
exit 0

Test it when you have time if it works for you.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 10:37    Post subject:  

Toni wrote:
Added remove lines for menu files and sns deb after changing frisbee to sns:

Yes, works fine for me, good that you thought about cleaning up.

Quote:
Edit: Fred, video2audio-gui-x needs gsu line on top otherwise it brings back the warning to confirm creating ffmpeg module again and again. I will try to test all today and tommorrow for user and root.


I don't see what you mean, just tested a few times on puppy user and it works fine.
The script has in fact your ffmpeg2sfs included but as a function (ffmpegtosfs)
It creates ffmpeg.sfs and also loads it automatically.
On line 169 there's the gsu line:
Code:
exec gsu sh -c ffmpegtosfs &


Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 11:06    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Code:
exec gsu sh -c ffmpegtosfs &

Hi, Fred.

Jwm version starts sudo from /opt/bin/gsu and the original gsu is /opt/bin/gsu-root It was a path fix because of xdm export path configuration file. It was temporary fix but still can't find better one. Openbox gets the path from /etc/environment and Jwm gets it from xdm configuration files and from /etc/profile
This way it does not work for me.
The solution is simple since it is not deb package. I will add gsu line on top or I will change:
Code:
exec gsu sh -c ffmpegtosfs &

to
Code:
exec gsu-root sh -c ffmpegtosfs &

Then it works for Jwm also.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 737
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 11:38    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
Quote:
Jwm version starts sudo from /opt/bin/gsu and the original gsu is /opt/bin/gsu-root It was a fix for permissions because of xdm export path configuration file. It was temporary fix but still can't find better one. Openbox gets the path from /etc/environment and Jwm gets it from xdm configuration files and from /etc/profile

Ah, I see now.
I'm in doubt about putting it on top or change line 169.
Because this script converts to same directory and most users have video files on another drive or partition so you get a "permission denied" (when running as normal user)
Maybe better then to put the gsu or gsu-root on top, what do you think?

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2377
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 12:12    Post subject:  

This works fine for gsu pointing to sudo or ktsuss, Fred, without changing anything else.:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
#set -x

[ "`whoami`" != "root" ] && exec gsu ${0}

export LC_ALL=C

And works for any drive without permissions problem. I will leave it this way.

Edit. I will add the same line in video2audio-x:
Code:
[ "`whoami`" != "root" ] && exec gsu ${0}

It is called from separate script for user or root as right click option but it could be run from terminal directly.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 202 of 232 [3479 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, ..., 230, 231, 232 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1523s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0409s) ][ GZIP on ]