Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 177 of 239 [3584 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, ..., 237, 238, 239 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 04:57    Post subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
EDIT: Just checked, and xhippo setup is fine whatever happens. I already coded the current backend player of xhippo (xhplay) to use mplayer part of gnome-mplayer for flac if the flac encoder/decoder wasn't installed (though I think it is good to leave flac installed anyway). So wouldn't need any changes to /etc/skel.

Thanks, William, it's good to know xhippo will work if gmplayer is replaced with different version from the user.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 05:06    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.
Small fix that prevents this message from Firehol (it is not critical and Firehol will work but maybe other programs will need this file also):
Code:
 IMPORTANT WARNING:
 ------------------
 FireHOL cannot find your current kernel configuration.
 Please, either compile your kernel with /proc/config,
 or make sure there is a valid kernel config in:
 /usr/src/linux/.config
 
 Because of this, FireHOL will simply attempt to load
 all kernel modules for the services used, without
 being able to detect failures.


Add config-3.2.0-4-486 inside /boot
Extract it from here or from the attached archive:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/DebianDog/System-modules/00-boot-folder-vmlinuz-initrd.squashfs
Then Firehol if it is installed will not give IMPORTANT WARNING: anymore:
Code:
root@debian:~# /etc/init.d/firehol start
][....] Starting Firewall: firehol
root@debian:~# 


Firehol is removed from JWM version but it is good to have the kernel config file included.

Toni
boot.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  boot.zip 
Filesize  33.4 KB 
Downloaded  23 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 05:54    Post subject:  

I'm seeing the above "IMPORTANT WARNING" when booting DebianDog "Porteus RAM save".
Any chance of addressing this over in that thread?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 09:13    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Any chance of addressing this over in that thread?

No, because this is fixed in the updated iso which will be uploaded in a few days with most of the fixes on the first page in DebianDog beta version thread. And also because Firehol is removed in the updated version.

But this information is added in DebianDog HowTo thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774473#774473
And it is taken from google searching warning text. Anything Firehol related is easier to be found outside Puppy linux forum.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 10:26    Post subject:  

OK, thank you. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 13:54    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred.

I think I'm ready to make new Jwm/IceWM iso. I will use the boot code as you posted in previous page.
Waiting for your word and still testing if I can find something more to fix.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 481

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 14:03    Post subject:  

Hi Toni and everyone,

In Puppy it's easy to mount sfs, iso files by a click of the mouse. The script, that's doing this - filemnt, as I just have discovered, is written by sunburnt. Is there a way to make it work in DD?

edit

Hi Fred,

Is there a way to make remasterdog display the original name of the file, so that I can modify it, rather than type a new name? I mistyped the name the other day and lost an hour scratching my head and wondering why it wouldn't boot Sad
filemnt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.gz 
Filesize  8.98 KB 
Downloaded  25 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 14:45    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
In Puppy it's easy to mount sfs, iso files by a click of the mouse. The script, that's doing this - filemnt, as I just have discovered, is written by sunburnt. Is there a way to make it work in DD?

Actually DebianDog uses a small modified part of this script and does the same job. Click on sfs, squashfs, iso opens new XFE window with the content of mounted file. Closing the XFE window auto-unmounts.
You can see the mount point in /media
The script is /opt/bin/mnt-img
Terry wrote new version for DebianDog which mounts on first click and unmounts on second click (like in puppy) and opens Rox window. Just rename in /opt/bin mnt-img to mnt-img-old and mnt-img-0 to mnt-img to use this version if you prefer.

Quote:
Is there a way to make remasterdog display the original name of the file, so that I can modify it, rather than type a new name? I mistyped the name the other day and lost an hour scratching my head and wondering why it wouldn't boot Sad

Fred will answer better but I think if you edit this line in RemasterDog (line 14 but maybe not in your version since I use updated script). It is one line (not two as it appears in this post):
Code:
--field="Type name for module with extension \n(e.g. 01-remaster.squashfs or 01-remaster.xzm):" "01-filesystem.squashfs" \

01-filesystem.squashfs will auto appear in module name field (but you still can rename it if needed).

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...

Last edited by saintless on Thu 15 May 2014, 05:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 481

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 15:06    Post subject:  

Toni,

As I use Rox not Xfe, i might have missed it ... confused and ashamed. Which leads me to think, that maybe at this stage, to facilitate wider acceptance, DD needs to be more JWM/Rox oriented? I know, neither is your choice, though. Just a thought.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 15:27    Post subject:  

Hi, Anikin.

Rox setup also is to open sfs, squashfs and iso the same way with single click, but it opens new XFE window. If you rename mnt-img-2 to mnt-img it will open new Rox window.

I use mostly XFE but all we add to xfe is added for Rox also as option like install deb package, make deb from folder, gdmap-preview, extract deb package... All is available as right click option for Rox and XFE.

I do not know much about Rox setup but all Rox suggested improvements are included in the new iso. These two for example:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=773513#773513
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=773934#773934

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 772
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 16:03    Post subject:  

Toni wrote:
I think I'm ready to make new Jwm/IceWM iso. I will use the boot code as you posted in previous page.
Waiting for your word and still testing if I can find something more to fix.


Ok, tomorrow during the day I'll make new iso.

anikin, what Toni answered about "fixed" entry for module : 01-filesystem.squashfs was perfectly alright.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 481

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 06:00    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:
Actually DebianDog uses a small modified part of this script and does the same job. Click on sfs, squashfs, iso opens new XFE window with the content of mounted file. Closing the XFE window auto-unmounts.
You can see the mount point in /media
The script is /opt/bin/mnt-img
Terry wrote new version for DebianDog which mounts on first click and unmounts on second click (like in puppy) and opens Rox window. Just rename in /opt/bin mnt-img to mnt-img-old and mnt-img-2 to mnt-img to use this version if you prefer

Hi Tony,

Did another remaster with above changes. Now, a click mounts a squashfs file, another click unmounts it. All is good except, a new Rox window *does not* open, but I can see the mount point in media.

Hi Fred,

I did change line 14 in remasterdog - the script was good before, now it's even better. One more little change will make it absolutely perfect. Can we have /tmp as the first/default choice? My reasoning being, the user will have the best/fastest option if he forgets to check the field and the script checks for available space in /tmp anyway. No harm will be done?

Thank you guys for your hard work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 06:29    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
Quote:
...mnt-img-2 to mnt-img...


Did another remaster with above changes. Now, a click mounts a squashfs file, another click unmounts it. All is good except, a new Rox window *does not* open, but I can see the mount point in media.

Sorry, Anikin, my mistake. I corrected also the previous post.
Rename mnt-img-0 to mnt-img. It opens new Rox window for sfs and squashfs. I think it does not do that for iso. mnt-img-1 and 2 are updated versions of mnt-img-0.
Existing in the iso default mnt-img is different from mnt-img-0, 1 and 2.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 772
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 09:59    Post subject:  

Hi Toni,
Now I am in trouble Smile
I made final remaster, everything good except that the RAM usage at start is a lot higher (was 48 now 64)
That's a big difference and I don't know yet what's the reason.
I have a previous squashfs and I'll try that now and if it's ok, I'll need to update that one with latest changes.

I'll let you know how it goes.

anikin, I'll look at it to make /tmp as first but I'm not sure yet if it's a good idea.
You have a lot of memory but for those who haven't it can bring problems.
Here's how you can change it:
change line 12 from this:
Code:
--field="  Choose drive to create module on::CB" "$DEVS!/tmp" \

To this:
Code:
--field="  Choose drive to create module on::CB" "/tmp!$DEVS" \


Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2465
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 10:30    Post subject:  

Hi, Fred Smile

Take your time and write if I can help with something.

I also have to test again something for user account. I changed /opt/bin/gsu to execute sudo and the original gsu is now gsu-root in JWM version. Now all works as it should but it becomes complicated to follow what is executed and from what script.
RemasterCow and RemasterDog use gsu-root and all other programs gsu(sudo). It is not final since I search for better solution so you do not change anything in OpenBox version. I will probably bring back original gsu as it was in next versions but I need to reconfigure many executable and desktop files and I will probably mess up something if I do it now.

I will make further deb packages that need gsu with "ktsuss -u root" inside desktop file to be sure they will work on both versions and in any case for user account.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 177 of 239 [3584 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, ..., 237, 238, 239 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1302s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0396s) ][ GZIP on ]