Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 07:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 176 of 270 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, ..., 268, 269, 270 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 09:45    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
First, here's new mountlink script, I tested a lot with all sort of cases and should be ok now.
Also, not sure if it's useful, a graphical sudo script: "gsudo".
It's similar to gsu but then for sudo so needs user password.

Thanks, Fred, I will include gsudo and use it in future versions.

Quote:
And it's good I think to remove the config files for new iso.

I will do that. I don't know much about config dpkg files but it is great news you found this and it is easy to fix it. I will continue restdpkg tests with remastered version without config files then.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 09:53    Post_subject:  

anikin wrote:
As a side note, the installation process of arno-iptables-firewall will teach the user almost everything he needs to know about firewalling. However, ufw is simpler and it's really hard to chose between the two - both are excellent.

Thanks, Anikin.
I will test ufw and arno-iptables-firewall to see how easy will be for me to setup both. But again I also start to think firewall should be user choice and not included by default. I will make proper deb package with puppy-firewall available for download for quick and easy setup. It is well known to puppy linux community and really easy to set it up from non experienced users. It will be good to have it as option.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 929
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 10:00    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni,
Quote:
I don't know much about config dpkg files

In synaptic:

Fred
2014-05-13-165607_574x295_scrot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.86 KB
 Viewed   254 Time(s)

2014-05-13-165607_574x295_scrot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 929
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 12:17    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni,
Fred wrote:
I'm not sure yet but maybe it's sufficient to put the dpkg --purge line on top of remastercow and restdpkg.


Tested this now and it works well to put this at the top (just under the gsu line) in remastercow and restdpkg:
Code:
dpkg --purge `dpkg --get-selections | grep deinstall | cut -f1` 2> /dev/null

Added "2> /dev/null" to suppress error message if there aren't any residual config files from packages.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 13:48    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Tested this now and it works well to put this at the top (just under the gsu line) in remastercow and restdpkg:

Hi, Fred. I'm remastering after running this command. New JWM version will not include config files for not installed packages. Do we still need to add this line in RemasterCow in this case?

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 929
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 14:20    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni,
Quote:
Do we still need to add this line in RemasterCow in this case?

Yes, better do because when a user makes a remaster after removing (instead of purging) packages like:
Code:
apt-get remove <packages>

there are again left residual config files which will conflict with the processing by restdpkg.

Btw, Here's the live.cfg I made:
Code:
label DebianDog live-boot v2 in RAM live persistent
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd1.img boot=live persistent config swapon noprompt quickreboot autologin toram=01-filesystem.squashfs

label DebianDog live-boot v2 live (no save)
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd1.img boot=live config swapon noprompt quickreboot autologin

label DebianDog Porteus in RAM changes=/changes.dat
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd1.xz noauto from=/ copy2ram changes=/changes.dat

label DebianDog Porteus Always Fresh
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd1.xz from=/ nomagic base_only norootcopy

label DebianDog live-boot v3 in RAM live persistence
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd.img boot=live persistence config swapon noeject quickreboot autologin toram=01-filesystem.squashfs

label DebianDog live-boot v3 live (no save)
kernel /live/vmlinuz1
append initrd=/live/initrd.img boot=live config swapon noeject quickreboot autologin


For the width "menu width 70" is just enough in menu.cfg but if you want to add some more text to the label make it 80.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 14:36    Post_subject:  

Hi, Fred.

I will add dpkg line in remastercow. Thanks for the menu.

Just for information - I'm in trouble again. Smile
Remmeber blkid problems with dropdown menu and user account for remastering scripts? I thought your new ktsuss fixed it but now we need to remove $HOME lines from RemasterCow. New ktsuss cleans only /root folder and not /home/puppy when I run it from puppy account.
Also the old ktsuss makes possible to have separate firewall for every user account with firewall-puppy and the new ktsuss can't do this.
I will install again the older ktsuss package and remove the new one which brings back blkid command problem. I will fix it different way instead installing new ktsuss. Old ktsuss seems better choice for multiuser system.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 929
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Toni wrote:
Just for information - I'm in trouble again. Smile

What! Again? Should I send you money? You are not on drugs I hope!
Very Happy
Almost every advantage brings a disadvantage, that's life, sigh...

I'll downgrade ktsuss also then.
Thanks for finding out.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 15:41    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
You are not on drugs I hope!
Very Happy

I'm not sure my self anymore... Laughing

New and final version Firewall-Puppy edited for DebianDog:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/firewall-puppy_1.0.0-1_i386.deb
After installing the deb package start it from Settings -> Firewall Puppy
Different structure from the original.
rc.firewall is now created in $HOME/ and can be different for each user account.
/etc/init.d/firewall-puppy is the startup script and searches for $HOME/rc.firewall on boot (no /etc/rc.local entry anymore).

Testing is welcome.

Edit: One issue I just found is /home/puppy/rc.firewall is owned by root but Firewall-Puppy needs ktsuss or sudo for changing firewall settings so root ownership should not be a problem.

Edit2: Fixed owner for $HOME/rc.firewall and start firewall script moved to $HOME/Startup

Toni

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 16:37    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
First, here's new mountlink script, I tested a lot with all sort of cases and should be ok now.

I confirm it works with and without changes= boot option, Fred. I will test it more tomorrow.

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 18:41    Post_subject:  

saintless wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
In rc.local it says explicitly "#Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other value on error."
Maybe this is useful:
Code:
line="new line before exit 0"
sed -i '$ i '"$line"'' /etc/rc.local

It will insert a new line just before "exit 0"

Or make init script specially for firewall in /etc/init.d
If you want I can help with that.

Yes, I read the same about exit 0 line. It is better to keep it inside rc.local to be safe.


Personally, I don't think exit 0 is necessary at all here, and could indeed be a nuisance in some circumstances. As far as I know, and this proves to be the case in testing, 0 is the default exit code for a script that has no error (by which is meant that the last command in the script executed successfully) on exit (error code can be shown after running script with echo $?). In fact, putting exit 0 at the end of the script does nothing at all to ensure that the rc.local exits with a 0 exit code if, for example, something causes an error in the script which causes it to exit prematurely. If there is an error generated, it surely should be exiting with a non-zero exit status? I think the warning comment is just to ensure people writing code in rc.local don't wrongly write exit non-zero number for bits of code that should be returning a non-zero exit code (for example, just having the line grep hello would normally result in a non-zero exit code).

I think some people are simply mistaking the meaning of that exit 0 warning message and thinking they must put exit 0 at the end of the script. In some distributions they do and in some they don't...

In googling, I haven't found any explanation why some say you need to put exit 0 at the end. Okay, can play 'safe', but I can't see why.

Note that because rc.local begins with #!/bin/sh -e, the -e means (I think) the script will terminate on there being any non-zero error code generated, so if you want the script to continue for non-zero exit commands within the script you can add || true to the end of any such commands. But I still don't think and exit 0 is required at the end of the script...

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 00:55    Post_subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
...Okay, can play 'safe', but I can't see why. ...

Hi, William.

Maybe some programs installed with apt-get add lines in /etc/rc.local
This new lines have to be added before "exit 0" and with sure this programs depend on "exit 0" line and most probably will give error message if it is missing.
It is better to keep the system compatible with debian packages instead breaking debian compatibility in favor of other distro packages.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 01:02    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi William,
Finally took the time to do some mplayer testing now.
I just tested different mplayer versions using the command line (mplayer) with same movie everytime (360p) only on openbox version.
First, included mplayer (from default installed gnome-mplayer) uses around 20% cpu.
Then uninstalled (gnome-)mplayer) and installed mplayer from debian-mutimedia, result is the same, around 20% cpu.
Installed mplayer2 , result is the same, around 20% cpu.
Uninstalled everything related to mplayer and installed the gmplayer from DebianDog_Jwm: result: double cpu usage (around 40).
Uninstalled it and tried the other gmplayer you once found (gmplayer_1.1): result: double cpu usage.

So it seems to me that the gmplayer versions use a lot more cpu.

Fred


Hi Toni,

Following Fred's confirmation of my earlier testing (which I have double-checked just now with same results) I strongly advise replacing current gmplayer in next iso release with Fred's gnome-mplayer package despite the uncompressed size increase of around 12MBytes.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2721
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 01:44    Post_subject:  

Hi, William.

Something to concider before making such replacement:

1. Which one is the package you mean? This one:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/gnome-mplayer-1.0.4.deb
Or this one:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/gmplayer_1.1.deb

2. Both packages will add around 30 non-debian-wheezy libs in /usr/local/bin. Something I try to keep at minimum and only in /opt/lib We have only 3 non-wheezy libs now.

3. Do we still need flac installed if we change gmplayer?

4. Is everything still woring the same way regarding xhippo --> mplayer or we need some configuration changes (I mean xhippo plays flac for example and gmlayer does not. New gnome-mplayer will play flac files. If we remove flac we need to configure the system to play flac with gnome-mplayer for user and root and skel).

5. In next DebianDog gmplayer will be uninstallable with:
Code:
apt-get purge gmplayer-portable

And installable again with this package:
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/gmplayer-portable_4.6.3-SVN-r32666_i386.deb
Very easy to change the package any time.

6. Is there anything else than CPU test result that makes gnome-mplayer better alternative considering the above points?

Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2350
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 04:03    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni,

xhippo will be fine using any mplayer. As you say though, if you remove flac, xhippo would need told to use mplayer for flac playing instead of flac decoder, but you could leave flac in since it is an encoder as well as a decoder if you wanted.

EDIT: Just checked, and xhippo setup is fine whatever happens. I already coded the current backend player of xhippo (xhplay) to use mplayer part of gnome-mplayer for flac if the flac encoder/decoder wasn't installed (though I think it is good to leave flac installed anyway). So wouldn't need any changes to /etc/skel.

Sorry, I hadn't thought about the extra libs in gnome-mplayer being non-Debian.

I take your point about easily being able to remove the current mplayer, if wished. Because of the non-Debian libs I think it is best just to keep old mplayer for the moment. Maybe find a Debian lib based solution later.

William

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 176 of 270 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, ..., 268, 269, 270 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1550s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0533s) ][ GZIP on ]