Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 01:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 134 of 255 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, ..., 253, 254, 255 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 02:28    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:

If media is to be used with WinBlows, then first partition should be vFAT or NTFS.
Other wise Weeners won`t see the drive unless it has Linux partition drivers installed.
The boot partition should be ext2 or ext3 whether it`s the first partition or not.


Yes, I've set up a few usb sticks with first partition as fat32 for storing some files for MSwindows OS.

But my current usb flash is destined for Linux only. Actually I'm using ext4 but without journal. I've read that ext4 provides several performance improvements compared to ext2 and ext3 anyway, so worth using it even without journal.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 02:48    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
I made new loadmodule script (see below .zip, inside: separate folders for live-boot and porteus-boot)

Thank you, Fred!
Does that mean we need only this loadmodule for both live-boot and porteus-boot? If it does I will add this one to the main module and 02-apps-porteus.xzm will not have loadmodule included.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 02:56    Post_subject:  

Hi, Terry.
I will test new debmenu2desktop.convert.
BTW I have in /opt/bin folder-changes, debmenu2desktop script and debmenu2desktop.convert Bacon app. Is this the right configuration for testing?
If I remove debmenu2desktop script I get error it can not find after executing folder-changes. I use it with activated copy and delete options..

Quote:
# As with executing any of the apps that have the "default_xxxx" links ( except main menu ).

I see most of Rox Set-Run-Action are not this way. I will change what I can find with default-links.

Quote:
# NOTE: Will there be 2 Devx files, standard and Porteus.? OR will your Devx work on both?

It will work on both.

Quote:
I`d like to see a menu item to install DebianDog to USB HD/Flash and SD, MMC media.
All levels of media preparation and install:

Will be very good. Too complicated for me to do it unfortunately Sad

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 854
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 04:21    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni
saintless wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
I made new loadmodule script (see below .zip, inside: separate folders for live-boot and porteus-boot)

Thank you, Fred!
Does that mean we need only this loadmodule for both live-boot and porteus-boot? If it does I will add this one to the main module and 02-apps-porteus.xzm will not have loadmodule included.

Toni

In the zip there are 2 with the same name but different, that why I put them in separate folders.
The difference is just the mountpoint (/live for live-boot and /mnt/live/memory/images for porteus-boot)
I think it's best to put the porteus one in 021-apps-porteus.xzm and make sure that it overwrites the "live-boot loadmodule" in the main module.
And remove the older /usr/bin/loadmodule in 021-apps-porteus.xzm

The loadmodulegui can be used on both but it expects loadmodule in PATH.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 04:42    Post_subject:  

Thank you, Fred!
I will set it up as you explained it.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 854
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 05:26    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni
When testing loadmodule before I used the "showmounts" boot option.
It appears to behave different without it (for the "no overwrite" mode).
So had to change something in the loadmodule for live-boot.

New loadmodule+loadmodulegui.zip uploaded and edited post on previous page.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 08:17    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Fred!
Tonight I will have more time to test it and remaster new modules with changes.
Seems we do not need to use showmounts for live-rw-backing to be mounted as I thought at first, but it is good you made loadmodule to work with or without showmounts.
The only difference if we do not use showmounts is we do not get visible mount point of the base squashfs in /live next to /live/image and /live/cow. It does not affect mounting live-rw on /live-rw-backing folder.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 854
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni
Quote:
The only difference if we do not use showmounts is we do not get visible mount point of the base squashfs in /live next to /live/image and /live/cow. It does not affect mounting live-rw on /live-rw-backing folder.

For info:
Another difference is when you type 'mount' in terminal.
Then the base squashfs is not in the list when not using showmounts.
The loadmodule script needs to know how many modules are mounted.
Now it uses blkid (instead of mount) which does show TYPE=squashfs.

fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 13:49    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Toni; New debmenu2desktop.convert file, fixed a few bugs I found.
I changed the desktop file name back to the "Exec=(name)", it could be "Name=(App_Name)".
And it now creates this output for debmenu files with: needs="text"
Code:
##T  dash.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Name=Dash
Terminal=true
Categories=Applications;Shells;
Icon=/usr/share/pixmaps/xterm-color_32x32.xpm
Exec=default_virtual-terminal -e /bin/dash -i

Hi, Terry.
I get this as output. Many commands not found:
Code:
root@debian:~# folder-changes
***All converted desktop files are in /tmp/0 folder.***
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 4: $'###\tConvert Debian Menu files to desktop files.\n\n###': command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 15: $'###\tNo warranty at all... Use entirely at your own risk!!!\n\n\nSPLIT ARGUMENT$ BY " " TO arg$ SIZE argSz\nIF argSz = 1 THEN END\n\nSPLIT CHOP$(EXEC$("cat " & arg$[1])) BY NL$ TO txt$ SIZE txtSz\n\n\n\t\t\t\t\t\t\t\t\t\t###': command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 16: FOR: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 18: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 19: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 19: `txt$[i], LEN(txt$[i])-1)'
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 20: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 20: NL$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 20: REPLACE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 20: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 22: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 22: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 25: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 25: `txt$[i], INSTR(txt$[i], ":")+1)'
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 26: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 27: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 27: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 28: END: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 29: END: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 30: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 30: Txt$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 30: NL$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 31: NEXT: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 35: $'PRINT NL$ & Txt$ & NL$\nEND': command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 37: SPLIT: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 38: Txt$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 39: Lst$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 44: $'###\tLOOP:  Fix key & value pairs.\nFOR i = 0 TO txtSz-1\n\nPRINT': command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 45: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 46: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 47: .desktop: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 47: F$,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 48: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 47: F$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 49: b$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 50: ELSE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 51: b$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 52: END: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: NL$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: F$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: b$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: Lst$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: NL$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: [Desktop Entry]: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 53: Txt$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 54: Txt$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 55: TermFlg: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 56: END: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 57: END: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 59: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 59: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 62: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: command substitution: line 62: `txt$[i], INSTR(txt$[i], "="))'
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 62: CASE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 63: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 63: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 64: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 64: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 65: ;: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 65: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 66: CASE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 65: IF: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 67: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 67: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 68: CASE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 69: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 69: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 70: CASE: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 71: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 71: txt0: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 72: txt0,: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 72: Exec$: command not found
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 77:  FN: if path, remove it
                        n = INSTRREV(Exec$, "/")
                        IF n > 0 THEN
                                F$ = MID$(Exec$, n+1)
                                                                               : No such file or directory
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 78: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop.convert: line 78: `                            n = INSTR(F$, " ")'
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop: line 61: /tmp/desktop/: Is a directory
/opt/bin/debmenu2desktop: line 61: /tmp/desktop/: Is a directory

        #####  Total Files:  0
cp: cannot stat `/tmp/desktop/*': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/desktop/*': No such file or directory

###  NEW:
w3m

###  DEL:


root@debian:~# folder-changes


Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 14:00    Post_subject:  

Toni; The script debmenu2desktop runs Bacon file debmenu2desktop.convert
debmenu2desktop.convert does the "reading & converting" of 1 debmenu file.
debmenu2desktop runs debmenu2desktop.convert for each file in a dir.
folder-changes uses debmenu2desktop to do it`s work, so they are all needed.
And as they all exec., they should all be in /opt/bin

Note: Many desktop files have messed up Terminal= , so I`ll finish the Desktop Editor.

# Just saw your last post, obviously something is horribly wrong, I`ll fix it...
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 14:22    Post_subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Had to change loadmodule for live-boot so that "no overwrite" works with and without the 'showmounts' boot option.
New loadmodule+loadmodulegui.zip uploaded:

Hi, Fred.
Some sfs modules give error message Module activate failed if No Overwrite box is checked. Unchecking the box makes them load without problems. Seems it makes most of the modules not to be loaded without unchecking the box first. AbiWord and Gnumeric from here for example.
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/022-abiword.sfs
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/030-gnumeric.squashfs
I guess it is normal but is it good to have No Overwrite active by default if it prevents harmless modules like abiword and gnumeric from loading?

I think to name your loadmodulegui SFS-loader-new and to keep Sergey's user-modules2 like SFS-loader-old. Both use your loadmodule script now and both work. We also have right click option for rox and xfe to activate/deactivate sfs modules.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 854
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 15:46    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni
Quote:
Seems it makes most of the modules not to be loaded without unchecking the box first. AbiWord and Gnumeric from here for example.
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/022-abiword.sfs
http://smokey01.com/saintless/Fredx181/030-gnumeric.squashfs
I guess it is normal but is it good to have No Overwrite active by default if it prevents harmless modules like abiword and gnumeric from loading?


I've tried both abiword and gnumeric a few times (with no overwrite option), rebooted, tried again and all times work ok for me.
I may have overlooked some special circumstances, maybe you have other squashfs mounted.

Can you look at loadmodule (for live-boot) line 32 should have this:
Code:
NUM=`blkid | grep 'TYPE="squashfs"' | wc -l`

And can you post output of blkid ?

Quote:
I think to name your loadmodulegui SFS-loader-new and to keep Sergey's user-modules2 like SFS-loader-old. Both use your loadmodule script now and both work. We also have right click option for rox and xfe to activate/deactivate sfs modules.


Yes, fine for me.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 15:56    Post_subject:  

Hi, Fred.

loadmodule line32:
Code:
NUM=`blkid | grep 'TYPE="squashfs"' | wc -l`


Code:
root@debian:~# blkid
/dev/sda1: TYPE="ext3" UUID="16f79c21-9428-43b6-98ea-5aa6896a179d"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: UUID="5bfa46c9-5e7f-41a5-897c-a4751ecb6023" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sda2: LABEL="GEEXBOX" UUID="33c875a4-2875-469e-a75c-650f804348e1" SEC_TYPE="ext2" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda3: TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda4: UUID="131DCBDC21D5504E" TYPE="ntfs"
root@debian:~#

showmounts option enabled on boot and swapon for swap partition, /dev/loop1 is live-rw save file.
I made small NTFS partition to test some stuff for porteus-boot. Maybe this creates a problem? I get the error for live-boot. Not tested yet with porteus-boot. I will test it better tomorrow both ways.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
fredx181

Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 854
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 16:17    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni
Nothing seems wrong and still doesn't work for you, very frustrating. Confused
I also have a ntfs partition and the thing is only about type squashfs.
I'll test some more tonight and tomorrow.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2582
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 16:20    Post_subject:  

OK, Fred.
I also will test more tomorrow and write the result.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 134 of 255 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, ..., 253, 254, 255 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1994s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0855s) ][ GZIP on ]