Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 20:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy on ipod
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Unsought_insight

Joined: 22 Nov 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 05 Dec 2013, 20:51    Post_subject:  Puppy on ipod
Sub_title: full install on ipod being used as external HD
 

I've got an old laptop sans hard drive that I have been running macpup 5.11 on.

It works great. Why not break it? Smile

I want to update my puppy to the newest and the latest my hardware can handle.

My laptop is an old non PAE Pentium 4 with 512mb ram. It has no HD, and cannot boot from USB

Here's my idea.

Use PLOP on a live CD to boot from a 50gig ipod pluged in to the usb port.
I plan to have a full install of whatever is the bestest puppy I can get on said ipod.

Is this possible?
Will this actually free up any RAM?
Which distro would be the best for this setup?
Is it worth doing this knowing I will have to track down new pets for VLC, DOSBOX, Gimp, qjoypad, INES, and ZSNES?

Also: I have been enjoying myself while messing around with my current distro, so this seems like it might be a fun project. (I don't get out much.)

_________________
Puppy linux has been fantastic for me. I truly appreciate all the effort and support that has gone into it's development and community. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2373
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 06 Dec 2013, 00:30    Post_subject:  

lol ive done this with a kindle, but I loaded everything into ram to run. However a frugal-like install with sfs being on usb device is do able, there is a setting on command line to NOT load into RAM also you could setup a LARGE save file on ipod. Not up on plop what is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11122
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Dec 2013, 09:25    Post_subject:  

I think PLOP on a live CD (or floppy disk) allows you to transfer the booting process from the live CD to USB, in computers that can't boot from USB natively.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2373
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 06 Dec 2013, 09:43    Post_subject:  

plop deserves more study. The developer has some other tools that look useful ( android stuff ) I have always wondered if linux could be made the bootloader like for multisession where it could switch to a newer kernel if found in a multisession folder. This may be the way with a bit of an addion to plop. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Unsought_insight

Joined: 22 Nov 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 06 Dec 2013, 16:22    Post_subject: I think this is what I'm looking for
Sub_title: plop / puppy instructions
 

I found this link that I think describes how to do what I'm talking about.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1302382299&t=90516

Will this wreck the ipod? This doesn't really matter that much, but I just wondered if apple has some crazy formatting on the ipod.
(If this doesn't work out can I reformat the ipod, dump all the old ipod content back on it, and have a working ipod again?)

Anyway I don't care about the ipod that much, so I'll watch this a bit and give it a go.

Distro recommendations?

Will this make performance better?
(I keep getting crashes in firefox on pages with lots of media. Not sure if this is actually a ram problem or some flash issue.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 01:22    Post_subject:  

Quote:
(I keep getting crashes in firefox on pages with lots of media. Not sure if this is actually a ram problem or some flash issue.)

Could be ram, Firefox version, flash version, internet connection speed, etc...

Start a new topic if you want to try and figure it out.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0509s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]