Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 01:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 15:11    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
I think the first one was Squeeze and now Wheezy.

1) Toni; Can you out line the differences for us.? New kernel I assume, so maybe USB-3.?

2) So a dir. change is possible by putting /live in a sub dir.: /mnt/(Part)/(WhatEver)/live

# There`s a revised mk-save that has a checkbox for Puppy extensions.
Otherwise there`s none added, so it`s what the user types into the /path/file textbox.

I`m thinking that finding another GUI app other than GtkDialog would be very nice...
.

Hi, Sunburnt,
The kernel is almost the same. Original Squeeze uses 2.6.32-5-686 and 2.6.32-5-486 but I upgraded them to 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-686-pae and 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-486.
Wheezy uses as default 3.2.0-4-686-pae and 3.2.0-4-486. They supposed to be stable and long term supported from what I read.
So there is almost no difference between Light-Debian-Squeeze and light-Debian-Wheezy about hardware support.
The big difference is in the repositories. Wheezy uses and will continue to use the last versions of the programs.
Squeeze uses older versions and installing newer on it can cause problems with dpkg database.

Moving /live inside other folder with different name is what I found as an option to change the top folder name and it works with Grub Legacy. I'm not sure if there is a way to simply rename live folder.

Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 15:54    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
Session, have you considered using Virtual Box?

No, because my primary computers lack the horsepower to adequately test the guest system's snappiness.

Thanks everyone; testing from a usb drive will have to do.

_________________
Primary - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 15:58    Post_subject:  

Thanks Toni and thanks sunburnt.
I have also heard or read that the big diff is the updated files
in the repo Firefox a later version and so on.

then debian is unable to find a medium containing a live filesystem.

I should not ry to help I know too little but often
when I tell those who knows they tell me to make the
partition defragged. Which is not easy in linux.
Propietary defrag programs only

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 16:01    Post_subject:  

Very good Toni; I thank you for your answers and your efforts with all of this.

# This is a great deal of effort... Tell us of any help you might need.

I just dnlded Wheezy and I`ll let you know.

I realized what you ment about PcManFM, the Python deps. I forgot about them...
Xfe only has the Fox lib. at 6 MB size. And it does lots as we say.
I`m surprised Xfe ran filemnt by clicking an image file. Rox has it`s own mime, Xfe too I think.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 16:07    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
I`m surprised Xfe ran filemnt by clicking an image file. Rox has it`s own mime, Xfe too I think.

It really wasn't at first, but I use only small part from filemnt and it does the job in Light-Debian Wink
Code:
#!/bin/bash
set -x

# mount-sfs.sh
#This script is small edited part from original script "ROX app.: Click image files to mount & unmount."   Created for Puppy linux  by: Terry Becker   aka: SunBurnt

 imgFile="$1"
 if [ -z "$imgFile" ] ;then exit 1 ;fi
 if [ "`dirname $imgFile`" = '\.' ] ;then
  imgFile="`pwd``echo $imgFile |sed 's/^\.//'`"
 fi
 MntPt='/media/'`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g"`
   
 Ext=`echo "$imgFile" |sed 's/^.*\.//'`   # get file type from extention
  if [ "$Ext" = '2fs' ] ;then
   Type='ext2'
  elif [ "$Ext" = '3fs' ] ;then
   Type='ext3'
  elif [ "$Ext" = '4fs' ] ;then
   Type='ext4'
  elif [ "$Ext" = 'sfs' ] ;then
   Type='squashfs'
  elif [ "$Ext" = 'squashfs' ] ;then
   Type='squashfs'
   elif [ "$Ext" = 'iso' ] ;then
   Type='iso9660'
  fi

  mkdir -p $MntPt
  mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $MntPt
  xfe -d $MntPt

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 16:43    Post_subject:  

Hi again Toni; I tested Wheezy, I`ll post that in it`s thread.

Where is your modded script.? I`m trying to get Deb Live`s layout.

Try out these code improvements if you have time:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
########### mount-sfs.sh ### From filemnt by Terry B. & Barry K.
set -x

[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
imgFile=$1
[ "${imgFile##/*}" = '\.' ]&& imgFile="`pwd`${imgFile#.}"

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgFile |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`

Ext=${imgFile##*.}      # get file type from extension

case $Ext in
   2fs) Type=ext2
   3fs) Type=ext3
   4fs) Type=ext4
   ext2) Type=ext2
   ext3) Type=ext3
   ext4) Type=ext4
   sfs) Type=squashfs
   squashfs) Type=squashfs
   sq) Type=squashfs
   iso) Type=iso9660
   img) Type=ext2
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $Mnt
xfe -d $Mnt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 793
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 17:18    Post_subject: UUID problem using Grub4dos  

i All,

Interesting project. Thought I'd see what it could do. My apologies if this problem was discussed before, but I can't get off page one of this thread and so posted without reading the following pages.

I downloaded and unpacked the ISO (non-pae) to my previously blank sdb4 partition. Opened a terminal and typed the following:

blkid > /root/my-documents/UUID.txt

which produced a text file showing, bolding added for clarity:

/dev/sda3: LABEL="LData" UUID="d3b27ca1-950c-4833-b8ef-d51a2792497d" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/loop5: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sdb4: LABEL="AData3L" UUID="ca0a3cca-2ead-42b6-a630-0a0047841eb7" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="AData1F" UUID="F1AB-D178" TYPE="vfat"
/dev/loop7: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sda4: LABEL="MData" UUID="3D52-D47B" TYPE="vfat"
/dev/sdb3: LABEL="AData2L" UUID="1f431a25-ca26-40fa-aa8e-c05af958ecd7" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda1: UUID="3A4CDDD24CDD8951" TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/loop6: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sda2: LABEL="Linux1" UUID="bf2b0f37-69b6-4c47-be62-ffb16dad149f" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sdb2: LABEL="AData1L" UUID="1f531665-1026-449f-b413-dd9654a3e145" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/loop1: UUID="241699fa-e5ce-438d-8c21-a2ef3cbaaf76" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop4: TYPE="squashfs"

Then I added the following to my Grub4Dos' menu.lst

title Light Debian Core
uuid ca0a3cca-2ead-42b6-a630-0a0047841eb7
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live
initrd /live/initrd.img

Attempting to boot into it produces something like "Partition not found".

Running blkid after the files were copied, adding a boot flag to sdb1 or sbd4, even copying a folder with a Pup, installing Grub4dos, and checking what UUID was generated for the PUP file produces the same uuid.

Ran into the same problem when trying to boot from a USB-Key which, of course, had a different UUID that was reflected in its Grub4dos menu.lst.

Any ideas?

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 425
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 18:38    Post_subject: Re: UUID problem using Grub4dos  

(I snipped some)
mikeslr wrote:

Then I added the following to my Grub4Dos' menu.lst

title Light Debian Core
uuid ca0a3cca-2ead-42b6-a630-0a0047841eb7
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live
initrd /live/initrd.img

I don't understand Debian, but this seems to work:
Code:
title Light-Debian-Core
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent quickreboot noprompt autologin
  initrd /live/initrd.img
  boot

So maybe you could use sdb4 ?

_________________
Dell E6410: Windows XP, LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite; Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 02:44    Post_subject:  

Hi Toni and all of you.

Haha finally I did test your Wheezy version too.
I renamed the Squeezy live file to something else
and it booted with the code just above my post

I did not have to do anything to get out through
my Router and Modem I did not test to see if it
does wifiI have forgotten where I have my password
for the router so may need to reset it and choose a new PSW
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 03:31    Post_subject: Re: UUID problem using Grub4dos  

Hi, Mikeslr,
I never use uuid to boot but Keef reported with similar boot code that it works.
Sheldonisaac posted this code in the post above mine. Would you mind to try the pae version the same way.
I don't think I made something wrong to the nonpae but who knows.
If I'm not wrong sdb is your second hdd. See what is your partition in Gparted. If it is hdd 1 and part 4 try this code:

Code:
title Light-Debian-Core
  root (hd1,3)
  kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent quickreboot noprompt autologin
  initrd /live/initrd.img
  boot


Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 03:36    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Hi again Toni; I tested Wheezy, I`ll post that in it`s thread.

Where is your modded script.? I`m trying to get Deb Live`s layout.

Try out these code improvements if you have time:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
########### mount-sfs.sh ### From filemnt by Terry B. & Barry K.
set -x

[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
imgFile=$1
[ "${imgFile##/*}" = '\.' ]&& imgFile="`pwd`${imgFile#.}"

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgFile |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`

Ext=${imgFile##*.}      # get file type from extension

case $Ext in
   2fs) Type=ext2
   3fs) Type=ext3
   4fs) Type=ext4
   ext2) Type=ext2
   ext3) Type=ext3
   ext4) Type=ext4
   sfs) Type=squashfs
   squashfs) Type=squashfs
   sq) Type=squashfs
   iso) Type=iso9660
   img) Type=ext2
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $Mnt
xfe -d $Mnt

Thanks, Sunburnt,
I will test it today.
Path to the script is /scripts/mount-sfs
When you open XFE right click on sfs or squashfs and choose properties. From there you can add program or script for open, edit etc this type of file.

Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 06:27    Post_subject: Firefox brand  

@saintless: Posting this on your Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze non-pae version.

If you want to install latest genuine Firefox (or Seamonkey or Thunderbird) instead of iceweasel you could of course download directly from mozilla and run from /opt or wherever, but here is an alternative using apt that worked for me.

Please note that, I am not used to Debian, so I don't know if any of the following is advisable but it seems to work. The Firefox it brought me is current version 25.0.1 and I am posting from that now.

I installed firefox ('en-US' version) using the following commands:

Code:

echo -e "\ndeb http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/ubuntuzilla/mozilla/apt all main" | tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list > /dev/null
apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com C1289A29
apt-get update
apt-get install firefox-mozilla-build


However, lots of gtk stuff was missing, but the dependencies for that problem were resolved when I also installed geany text editor using:

Code:

apt-get install geany


I had earlier also installed the following, but I'm not sure if this is needed or not:

Code:

apt-get install libdbus-glib-1-2


If you already have iceweasel installed, you should uninstall it before doing the above (i.e. use: apt-get remove iceweasel)

I found the information for doing this here:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ubuntuzilla/index.php?title=Main_Page

http://superuser.com/questions/322376/how-to-install-the-real-firefox-on-debian

EDIT 11 Dec 2013: I think I may have also have had to install libxul.so, (apt-get install libxul), but I can't remember. I have a feeling libxul.so was in the firefox installation directory (/opt/firefox), so I maybe just made a symlink to that from /usr/lib. Problem I have had since is that I can't get adobe flash to work, with firefox or with iceweasel (any versions I've tried), even after I put libflashplayer.so into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins.[/b]

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 06:35    Post_subject:  

Thank you, Mcewanw,
I didn't know how to install firefox this way.

Fixing dependencies is much easier this way.
Just after installing firefox use:
Code:
apt-get -f install

This will do the job.

Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2579
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 13:58    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Try out these code improvements if you have time:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
########### mount-sfs.sh ### From filemnt by Terry B. & Barry K.
set -x

[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
imgFile=$1
[ "${imgFile##/*}" = '\.' ]&& imgFile="`pwd`${imgFile#.}"

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgFile |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`

Ext=${imgFile##*.}              # get file type from extension

case $Ext in
        2fs) Type=ext2
        3fs) Type=ext3
        4fs) Type=ext4
        ext2) Type=ext2
        ext3) Type=ext3
        ext4) Type=ext4
        sfs) Type=squashfs
        squashfs) Type=squashfs
        sq) Type=squashfs
        iso) Type=iso9660
        img) Type=ext2
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $Mnt
xfe -d $Mnt


Hi, Sunburnt,
replacing the content with this new one doesn't work from quick test. I think I see how to modify it with the improvements to make it work. Will try after finishing wheezy core.

Cheers, Toni
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5037
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 16:04    Post_subject:  

My apologies Saintless, I did a quick edit of code I saw as needing it, and didn`t look at the rest.
I wrote filemnt over 5 years ago while I was just starting to learn Bash scripting.
So it wasn`t the best choice for grafting onto a project...

I completely rewrote it, now it mounts and unmounts, and does more file extension types too.

# A thought: It really shouldn`t run a file manager, it should just work quietly.
A wrapper script that calls mount-img.sh should run a filer if one is wanted.
# OR... If you like I can make mount-img.sh use an option "-x" to run Xfe. What do you think.?

A separate script for you to do this: xfe-img.sh ( would need to comment 2 Xfe lines in mount-img.sh )
Code:
#!/bin/bash
############   xfe-img.sh      Run mount-img.sh and then Xfe.


mount-img.sh $1

xfe -d $1 &         # Should use the O.S.`s default filer setup.



It does more than SFS, so changed the name to: mount-img.sh ( feel free to rename it if you want )
Code:
#!/bin/bash
############   mount-img.sh      Terence Becker      SunBurnt   Dec. 9  2013

#####   Usage:  mount-img.sh /(Path)/(ImageFile)

#####   Run to mount image files, and run again to unmount them.


FM='xfe -d'            # set file manager      ( Should be O.S.`s default.)


[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
[ -f $1 ]|| exit 3

if [ "${1:0:1}" = '/' ];then                     # if is full path
   imgPF=$1
else                                       # get full path
   cd ${1%/*} ; imgPF=`pwd`$1
fi

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgPF |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`      # get mount point path


if [ "`mount |grep $Mnt`" ];then                  # if mounted, unmount
   umount -d $Mnt
   [ $? -gt 0 ]&&
      echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Failed to Unmount Image File.\n" && exit
   rmdir $Mnt ; exit
fi

Ext=${imgPF##*.}                              # get file extension

                              # get file type & r/w from extension
case $Ext in
   2fs) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;         # read write
   3fs) Type=ext3 ; rw=rw ;;
   4fs) Type=ext4 ; rw=rw ;;
   ext2) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;
   ext3) Type=ext3 ; rw=rw ;;
   ext4) Type=ext4 ; rw=rw ;;
   img) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;
   iso) Type=iso9660 ; rw=r ;;         # read only
   sfs) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
   squashfs) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
   sq) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
   *) echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Unrecognized Image File Type.\n" ; exit ;;
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -$rw -t $Type -o loop $imgPF $Mnt

[ $? -gt 0 ]&& echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Failed to Mount Image File.\n" && exit

$FM $Mnt &


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1261s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]