Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 15:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 06:47    Post_subject: Re: Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD - squeeze  

Thanks for this report, Billtoo.
If you like to remaster with the changes run
Code:
apt-get clean
and after this:
Code:
mksquashfs /live/cow /live/image/live/02-my-changes.squashfs -comp xz

With this ammount of ram you don't need to use save file.
Do not care about the squash file size yet. It can become much smaller with proper cleaning. I will get to that in the next days.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 09:49    Post_subject:  

For those who want to test Sunburnt's make-save-file script download it from here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90651&sid=562fe0f9f49c07553f6426aa1f742867
Then run:
Code:
apt-get update

Download the attached here file gtkdialog_0.7.20-4_i386.deb.jpg and rename it to gtkdialog_0.7.20-4_i386.deb
Then right click on it and choose install/upgrade option.
Then fix the missing dependencies with:
Code:
apt-get -f install

You will get this output to confirm:
Code:
root@debian:~# apt-get -f install
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
  defoma fontconfig libatk1.0-0 libcairo2 libdatrie1 libdb4.7 libgdbm3
  libglade2-0 libglib2.0-0 libgtk2.0-0 libgtk2.0-common libjasper1
  libpango1.0-0 libpango1.0-common libpcre3 libthai-data libthai0
  libxcb-render-util0 libxcb-render0 libxcomposite1 libxi6 libxrandr2 perl
  perl-modules shared-mime-info
Suggested packages:
  defoma-doc psfontmgr x-ttcidfont-conf dfontmgr librsvg2-common gvfs
  libjasper-runtime ttf-japanese-gothic ttf-japanese-mincho ttf-thryomanes
  ttf-baekmuk ttf-arphic-gbsn00lp ttf-arphic-bsmi00lp ttf-arphic-gkai00mp
  ttf-arphic-bkai00mp perl-doc libterm-readline-gnu-perl
  libterm-readline-perl-perl make
Recommended packages:
  libfont-freetype-perl libatk1.0-data libglib2.0-data hicolor-icon-theme
  libgtk2.0-bin
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  defoma fontconfig libatk1.0-0 libcairo2 libdatrie1 libdb4.7 libgdbm3
  libglade2-0 libglib2.0-0 libgtk2.0-0 libgtk2.0-common libjasper1
  libpango1.0-0 libpango1.0-common libpcre3 libthai-data libthai0
 libxcb-render-util0 libxcb-render0 libxcomposite1 libxi6 libxrandr2 perl
  perl-modules shared-mime-info
0 upgraded, 25 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
1 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 21.7 MB of archives.
After this operation, 70.6 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? n

You can start make save file with single click.
Be careful not to choose directory with your working live-rw (if you use one). The things can get ugly Smile

Edit: Thank you, Sunburnt,
It seems it is your second script for Light-Debian. /script/mount-sfs for single click mounting iso and sfs files is bad edited from me part of yours filemnt puppy script. Smile
gtkdialog_0.7.20-4_i386.deb.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  gtkdialog_0.7.20-4_i386.deb.jpg 
Filesize  75.88 KB 
Downloaded  75 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 893
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 10:40    Post_subject:  

saintless wrote:
sunburnt wrote:
Hi Saintless; Found a nice icon for it.

Thanks, Sunburnt,
real nice icon for the script. Added to "have to include" folder.

Nooby, your machine is capable since you run pae version.
AFAIK any Pentium II or Athlon or newer is PAE capable. Some Pentium M are not and may be others. Light-Debian-Pae version kernel is build to support only PAE capable processors.

Cheers, Toni


P III can, but not P II. SMP won't work either on a PII. Although that doesn't mean you should use PAE on such old hardware.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Specs for Acer Aspire 5532 to be added later, but it is running TahrPup 6.0 off of USB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 12:00    Post_subject:  

My netbook runs on Intel n270 CPU, which is a single core processor. I always disable SMP through a boot parameter 'nosmp'. Below dmesg shows how the kernel reacts to it:
Code:
[0.000000] Processors: 1
[0.000000] SMP: Allowing 1 CPUs, 0 hotplug CPUs

[0.009407] SMP alternatives: switching to UP code
[0.014954] Freeing SMP alternatives: 16k freed
[0.024087] SMP mode deactivated.
[0.024169] SMP disabled

In this mode the machine runs cooler and the battery lasts longer, although ideally the kernel has to be compiled as uniprocessor, that is - SMP disabled at that level.

And here's my current boot line:
Code:
boot=live nosmp config swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin elevator=noop video=i915:modeset=1 i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 i915.i915_enable_fbc=1


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5042
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 16:47    Post_subject:  

Saintless; A few items...

1) I assume by "Then fix the missing dependencies", they are GtkDialog & etc.?

2) I modded my make image file app. as Musher suggested.
...... But I don`t think we want to use it for Deb-Live ( don`t need Puppy extensions ).
...... It looks like Deb-Live uses file extension: "squashfs", but none for "ext2,3,4"

3) I haven`t looked at: /script/mount-sfs
...... I assume you`re saying that it`s the old filemnt script that you`ve modded.
...... filemnt is maintained by Barry who decided to use it for Puppy.

### Recently I thought about making a new one.

### OR... Just add mounting to the image file gui ( a gui button, & Rox mime click ).?
...... I didn`t check, but Xfe mime mount should be made to work also probably.
...... Also Xfe is pretty heavy weight, PcManFM is smaller, and SpaceFM I don`t like.
...... Size isn`t that important, and Xfe is very "feature rich", and there`s a calculator too...
.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 16:57    Post_subject: Booting Light-Debian-Core with grub4dos  

saintless wrote:
anikin wrote:
How do I boot it via grub4dos alongside with my other puppies?

Hi, Anikin,
extract live folder on top of a partition.

Here is my boot code (live folder is on /sda1):
Code:
title Light-Debian-Core-Test
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin
initrd /live/initrd.img
boot

To be clear, with grub4dos it's not possible to boot live-debian located within a full ext puppy installation, right? This is what I mean.

_________________
Primary - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 02:50    Post_subject:  

Hi, Sunburnt,

Quote:
1) I assume by "Then fix the missing dependencies", they are GtkDialog & etc.?

Yes. Gtkdialog dependencies. What I don't like is the size the add. But for the version with more apps I might have to install them anyway. Time will show.

Quote:
2) I modded my make image file app. as Musher suggested.
...... But I don`t think we want to use it for Deb-Live ( don`t need Puppy extensions ).
...... It looks like Deb-Live uses file extension: "squashfs", but none for "ext2,3,4"

Yes, debian uses squashs instead sfs. This is the same file type and I think renaming to sfs is Barry's idea. Just my thougths.
The name sfs does not exist in any other distro as far as I know and sfs file is 100% squashfs type file like debian one.
I have renamed sfs to squashfs in your script for the test only.
live-rw save file is the same as pup_save.2.fs,3.fs,4.fs so we can use your script choosing live-rw as a name (without ext). One more thing in puppy which is 100% the same as in debian live. Just the name of the save file is different.
Create puppy empty save file in puppy linux, rename it to live-rw and use it with debian live. Or the opposite. No problem at all.

Quote:
3) I haven`t looked at: /script/mount-sfs
...... I assume you`re saying that it`s the old filemnt script that you`ve modded.
...... filemnt is maintained by Barry who decided to use it for Puppy.

It is part yours filemnt script taken from Turbopup Extreme. Maybe barry's name was also there. I'm not sure. Appolgies if I this is the situation and gratitude to him also.

Quote:
### Recently I thought about making a new one.

Even this one works fine as far as I see.

[quote]### OR... Just add mounting to the image file gui ( a gui button, & Rox mime click ).?
...... I didn`t check, but Xfe mime mount should be made to work also probably.[quote]
I just renamed rox to xfe in your script and it worked. Xfe window opens with the content of the file.

Quote:
..... Also Xfe is pretty heavy weight, PcManFM is smaller, and SpaceFM I don`t like.
...... Size isn`t that important, and Xfe is very "feature rich", and there`s a calculator too...
.

The real problem is from this core debian pcman and rox will add much more dependencies to the image than xfe.
It was chosen as a smsllest file sized file manager and it has much more useful functions from the others.
You can install deb files from it with right mouse button click and unzip zip archives the same way for example without any special configuration.

Cheers, Toni

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 03:11    Post_subject: Re: Booting Light-Debian-Core with grub4dos  

[quote="session"]
saintless wrote:
anikin wrote:
How do I boot it via grub4dos alongside with my other puppies?

Hi, Anikin,
extract live folder on top of a partition.

Here is my boot code (live folder is on /sda1):
Code:
title Light-Debian-Core-Test
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin
initrd /live/initrd.img
boot

To be clear, with grub4dos it's not possible to boot live-debian located within a full ext puppy installation, right? This is what I mean.

Never tested this but you can try this:
Copy live folder from the CD on the top of your system like this /live
if you have /vmlinuz and /initrd.img from your full installed system, rename /live/initrd.img and /live/vmlinuz to /live/initrd1.img and /live/vmlinuz1 and try this code:
Code:
title Light-Debian-Core-Test
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 boot=live config persistent swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin
initrd /live/initrd1.img

Also try to copy vmlinuz1 and initrd1.img on top of the partition outside the live folder and try this:
Code:
title Light-Debian-Core-Test
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz1 boot=live config persistent swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin
initrd /initrd1.img


Edit: As a last solution I think you can boot from live cd or usb and use live-rw save file on hard drive.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 03:49    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
...could you do the same for Wheezy?

Testing Light-Debian-Wheezy.iso 147 Mb version with pae and non pae kernel included here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90660
It is only base to continue removing apps. Need quick tests to see if I didn't break something important so far. No use to continue without confirmation it works on your hardware and apt-get is working.

Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 05:49    Post_subject:  

What I mean is, grub4dos loads vmlinuz and initrd.img just fine, and then debian is unable to find a medium containing a live filesystem. I am aware of workarounds such as ISObooter, I was just wondering if I could test live-debian with the same simple grub4dos stanza I've been using to try out other linuxes.

The fact that Ubuntu boots just fine this way threw me for a loop... Ubuntu can do it (using iso-scan), so why can't Debian? (rhetorical question)

_________________
Primary - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1842
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 05:59    Post_subject:  

Session, have you considered using Virtual Box?
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 06:00    Post_subject:  

saintless wrote:
nooby wrote:
...could you do the same for Wheezy?

Testing Light-Debian-Wheezy.iso 147 Mb version with pae and non pae kernel included here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90660
It is only base to continue removing apps. Need quick tests to see if I didn't break something important so far. No use to continue without confirmation it works on your hardware and apt-get is working.

Cheers, Toni


Toni much appreciated but don't count too much on me testing
Sure I will do my best but asI have already asked

and you or others may have answered already.

I have now three live directories in the /mnt/home directory.
This means that each live compete on which one gets booted

and there are other OS based on Debian that also use live so
they don't want others to use same partition something ...

So I temporarily "ditched" Pussy linux and renamed live to pussylive
so now if I install you new version I would have to rename your old one.

Is there some better solution than all debian wanting to be live directory.

What do you suggest? No hurry my illness makes me very tired
and lazy so will be slow to respond but today monday I do have
some time to dedicate to test so hope for some suggestions from all of you.

Can I name it wheezylive and do that in the menu.lst too?
would that load the right live directory? Sickgut longtime ago
most likely suggested something like that but my poor memory fails me.

No criticism I love that you are so at it and on the go!

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2153
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 06:08    Post_subject:  

session wrote:
What I mean is, grub4dos loads vmlinuz and initrd.img just fine, and then debian is unable to find a medium containing a live filesystem. I am aware of workarounds such as ISObooter, I was just wondering if I could test live-debian with the same simple grub4dos stanza I've been using to try out other linuxes.

The fact that Ubuntu boots just fine this way threw me for a loop... Ubuntu can do it (using iso-scan), so why can't Debian? (rhetorical question)


I used grub4dos on this SDHC card install:

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.8.0
color blue/cyan yellow/blue white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 10
default 0

#Debian
title Light-Debian-Core-Test
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent swapon quickreboot noprompt autologin
initrd /live/initrd.img
boot

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
map (hd1) (hd0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
map --hook
errorcheck off
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr
chainloader /bootmgr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr
chainloader /ntldr
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /io.sys
chainloader /io.sys
errorcheck on

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
configfile /menu-advanced.lst
commandline
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2644
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 06:31    Post_subject:  

Hi, Nooby Smile
Take care of your health and test what takes your interest most.
I don't expect you to test this. I already have an answer there. Just the question came from you and I use it to quote.

Anyway this is the way to use debian live in different folder (/debian-wheezy for example). Move live folder in /debian-wheezy and use this boot code:
Code:
title Wheezy 1
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /debian-wheezy/live/vmlinuz1 boot=live config persistence live-media-path=/debian-wheezy/live/ quickreboot noautologin noeject
initrd /debian-wheezy/live/initrd1.img
boot

swapon option is removed from this example. It creates me some issues with light-debian-wheezy when I change the path to it.. I will check out way.

Cheers, Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5042
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 14:07    Post_subject:  

I think the first one was Squeeze and now Wheezy.

1) Toni; Can you out line the differences for us.? New kernel I assume, so maybe USB-3.?

2) So a dir. change is possible by putting /live in a sub dir.: /mnt/(Part)/(WhatEver)/live

# There`s a revised mk-save that has a checkbox for Puppy extensions.
Otherwise there`s none added, so it`s what the user types into the /path/file textbox.

I`m thinking that finding another GUI app other than GtkDialog would be very nice...
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1242s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]