Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 18:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.7 final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 40 [600 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 03:44    Post subject:  

Thanks for letting me know about Audacious.
Does not that one spend some several minutes to list
all the files under the Music Dir?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 09:49    Post subject: VLC with DVB
Subject description: ffmpeg?
 

Hi slick-puppy,
How do you uninstall ffmpeg? I tried installing over the top and that did'nt work Confused

thanks

dc

slick-puppy wrote:
I also had issues with every vlc I installed trying to play a recorded .ts from a satellite. Although every version would open for me I received an error " unable to decode mpgv audio or video ". Being that I tried several versions and received the same error I assumed the problem might be external with ffmpeg so I uninstalled ffmpeg and installed ffmpeg and vlc from here and everything works for me now:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/

ffmpeg-2.0-i686-s14.0.pet
ffmpeg_DEV-2.0-i686-s14.0.pet
vlc-2.1.0-i686-s14.pet

Since I installed all at the same time I still do not know exactly where the problem was. People at compile time on vlc choose to compile ffmpeg with vlc and others choose to use external installed ffmpeg.

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slick-puppy

Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 13:37    Post subject: Re: VLC with DVB
Subject description: ffmpeg?
 

DC wrote:
Hi slick-puppy,
How do you uninstall ffmpeg? I tried installing over the top and that did'nt work Confused

thanks

dc


I uninstalled the ffmpeg version in the menu:

Menu --> Setup --> Remove built in packages

There was two installed but it only allowed me to uninstall one. That left ffmpeg-0.11.2 installed. Then I was able to install the newer pets I downloaded.

Be advised I had to scale my processor from 80% to 50% in the menu:

Menu --> System --> CPU Frequency Scaling tool

And also adjusted the cache in vlc for the higher bit rate feeds in vlc to display properly with out jerking.

Mplayer2 (Not mplayer; it has some issues with high bit rate feeds) actually uses less resources and plays some tp's that vlc will not; I use it more often than vlc.
vlc.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  vlc.jpg 
Filesize  59.38 KB 
Downloaded  153 Time(s) 
PkgManager.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   127.62 KB
 Viewed   1024 Time(s)

PkgManager.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 14:17    Post subject:  

Help me spot what goes wrong. To me these look identical
apart from 5.6 and 5.7

Quote:
title slacko-5.6 Puppy Linux
kernel (hd0,0)/slacko-5.6/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=slacko-5.6 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/slacko-5.6/initrd.gz

title slacko-5.7 Puppy Linux non-Pae
kernel (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=slacko-5.7 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/initrd.gz


The older one works well but the new one fail to go pass
Automatic logon. While the old one do it instantly.

So it looks to me that slacko7 is different internally ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 21:33    Post subject: VLC -DVB  

Hi slick-puppy,
Tried your way did not work for me. So read some more and started again.
loaded
qt-4.8.2.sfs and vlc-2.0.3.sfs - works fine
tried
qt-4.8.2.sfs and vlc-2.1.0-i686-s14.pet - works
qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.2-i686-s14.sfs and vlc-2.1.0-i686-s14.pet works

so it seems my problem was the missing qt files and the BBC is working in VLC at 01:43 in the morning.
And the bonus is I'm now running VLC 2.1.0

thanks
dc

slick-puppy wrote:
I uninstalled the ffmpeg version in the menu:

Menu --> Setup --> Remove built in packages

There was two installed but it only allowed me to uninstall one. That left ffmpeg-0.11.2 installed. Then I was able to install the newer pets I downloaded.

Be advised I had to scale my processor from 80% to 50% in the menu:

Menu --> System --> CPU Frequency Scaling tool

And also adjusted the cache in vlc for the higher bit rate feeds in vlc to display properly with out jerking.

Mplayer2 (Not mplayer; it has some issues with high bit rate feeds) actually uses less resources and plays some tp's that vlc will not; I use it more often than vlc.

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slick-puppy

Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 22:50    Post subject: Re: VLC -DVB  

DC wrote:
Hi slick-puppy,
Tried your way did not work for me. So read some more and started again.
loaded
qt-4.8.2.sfs and vlc-2.0.3.sfs - works fine
tried
qt-4.8.2.sfs and vlc-2.1.0-i686-s14.pet - works
qt-everywhere-opensource-src-4.8.2-i686-s14.sfs and vlc-2.1.0-i686-s14.pet works

so it seems my problem was the missing qt files and the BBC is working in VLC at 01:43 in the morning.
And the bonus is I'm now running VLC 2.1.0

thanks
dc



Did not think about the qt installs. I had already had them installed when I compiled all my dvb programs so they would work with my modified modules and frontend.h. Glad you got it working. I guess that is the reason my vlc installs was working. I just had a codec issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slick-puppy

Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 23:04    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Help me spot what goes wrong. To me these look identical
apart from 5.6 and 5.7

Quote:
title slacko-5.6 Puppy Linux
kernel (hd0,0)/slacko-5.6/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=slacko-5.6 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/slacko-5.6/initrd.gz

title slacko-5.7 Puppy Linux non-Pae
kernel (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=slacko-5.7 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/initrd.gz


The older one works well but the new one fail to go pass
Automatic logon. While the old one do it instantly.

So it looks to me that slacko7 is different internally ?


Is the first line in your /etc/fstab file exactly the same on the two different installs? I have had issues in the past if they were the same on multiple installs. I gotten where the first thing i do after each install is generate a uuid and replace the /dev/sd?? with a uuid. I make back up images of all of my linux installs so when I restore they are not tied to any partition. All I have to do is restore and update grub. Example:

This is on a full install

UUID=9d65e084-5b0c-4d40-bc6d-a611c83e62d0 / ext4 defaults 0 1
Instead of
/dev/sda1 / ext4 defaults 0 1

I have never done a frugal.It looks like you are using the same partition for both installs so when it gets to loading the fstab file and they say the same /dev/sda1 i would think it would get confused. I do not know anything about a frugal install but I would have created another partition for the second install.

I have used nothing but linux for over 20 years. I have been playing with puppy linux for about 3 months. Seems like I am learning something everyday I boot over to puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 04:20    Post subject:  

Could be that they get mixed up somehow?
But usually it just works.as expected. I will try
it out tomorrow if I feel better.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 06:40    Post subject: Boot failure  

nooby

Are you sure that the directory containing your slacko-5.7 files is actually called "slacko-5.7"? If it is not, the boot will fail and you will have to either change the name of the directory to match the menu.lst entry or the menu.lst entry to match the directory name.

If this does not solve your problem, please post the error message on the screen when you attempt to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 09:15    Post subject:  

Mnu.lst has this Dir name slacko-5.7

and the actual Dir on HD has this one. slacko-5.7
Bootcode is this
Code:

title slacko-5.7  Puppy Linux non-Pae slacko-5.7
kernel (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/vmlinuz PMEDIA=atahd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=slacko-5.7 pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/slacko-5.7/initrd.gz


Just in case I test to boot again and try to catch some error message.

Edit. I am so sorry. My bad. Sad that I took up so much time
due to me too tired to spot the obvious thing to look for first.

I had a savefile that was not compatible with 5.7
And when I deleted that one it all worked as expected.

I am booted now and all looks great.

So my heart felt apology.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 10:22    Post subject:  

The Error from some days ago. Will not go away.

Not easy to describe I lack proper words

The boot up "stall" at Puppy 27380
Login:root automatic.

Log in [4643] root login on 'tty'

The only way out is to do ctrl-alt-delete which reboot the computer.

It stalls several times in a row so not a reliable boot at all.

What could cause such an odd thing?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
j3nnydeguzman

Joined: 10 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 11:52    Post subject:    

thanks for not helping Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slick-puppy

Joined: 30 Dec 2013
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 11:56    Post subject:  

I am having an issue with my Samsung Galaxy S4. Seems to work up to a point. It will show folders in browser but when you click on the folders; nothing is there. My precise puppy 571 install works correctly and when connected to phone it will display a cdrom drive icon at the lower left of screen. Here are the two dmesg's from each:

Precise puppy 571:

[ 42.785537] usb 1-6: new high-speed USB device number 6 using ehci-pci
[ 42.910079] usb 1-6: New USB device found, idVendor=04e8, idProduct=685b
[ 42.910088] usb 1-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 42.910094] usb 1-6: Product: SAMSUNG_Android
[ 42.910099] usb 1-6: Manufacturer: SAMSUNG
[ 42.910103] usb 1-6: SerialNumber: a1e2458d
[ 42.912012] usb-storage: device found at 6
[ 42.912045] scsi7 : usb-storage 1-6:1.0
[ 42.912151] usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
[ 43.915235] scsi 7:0:0:0: CD-ROM SAMSUNG File-Stor Gadget 0001 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
[ 43.916955] sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 0x/0x cd/rw tray
[ 43.917111] sr 7:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1
[ 43.917538] usb-storage: device scan complete
[ 68.446470] ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 3
[ 68.472711] ISOFS: changing to secondary root
[ 73.061397] usb 1-6: USB disconnect, device number 6
[ 73.317356] usb 1-6: new high-speed USB device number 7 using ehci-pci
[ 73.443172] usb 1-6: New USB device found, idVendor=04e8, idProduct=6860
[ 73.443180] usb 1-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 73.443186] usb 1-6: Product: SAMSUNG_Android
[ 73.443191] usb 1-6: Manufacturer: SAMSUNG
[ 73.443196] usb 1-6: SerialNumber: a1e2458

Slacko 570 PAE:

[ 44.920095] usb 1-6: new high-speed USB device number 6 using ehci-pci
[ 45.044618] usb 1-6: New USB device found, idVendor=04e8, idProduct=685b
[ 45.044627] usb 1-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 45.044634] usb 1-6: Product: SAMSUNG_Android
[ 45.044639] usb 1-6: Manufacturer: SAMSUNG
[ 45.044644] usb 1-6: SerialNumber: a1e2458d
[ 45.046285] usb-storage 1-6:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
[ 45.046359] scsi7 : usb-storage 1-6:1.0
[ 46.046542] scsi 7:0:0:0: CD-ROM SAMSUNG File-Stor Gadget 0001 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
[ 46.048134] sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 0x/0x cd/rw tray
[ 46.048435] sr 7:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1
[ 46.048564] sr 7:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg6 type 5
[ 51.222188] usb 1-6: USB disconnect, device number 6
[ 51.477368] usb 1-6: new high-speed USB device number 7 using ehci-pci
[ 51.602337] usb 1-6: New USB device found, idVendor=04e8, idProduct=6860
[ 51.602348] usb 1-6: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 51.602355] usb 1-6: Product: SAMSUNG_Android
[ 51.602360] usb 1-6: Manufacturer: SAMSUNG
[ 51.602365] usb 1-6: SerialNumber: a1e2458d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 13:17    Post subject:  

j3nnydeguzman wrote:
thanks for not helping Sad

Not sure about Chrome, but in Firefox you can EDIT, PREFERENCES, CONTENT and set the Font.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 15:07    Post subject: Boot problems  

nooby

I gotta admit that this is puzzling. I have never seen error messages like the ones you have posted.

Let me suggest the following:

1. Try booting with pfix=ram. Probably, the easiest way to do this is to copy your existing entry in menu.lst with pfix=ram instead of pfix=fsck. This will boot without the save file and eliminate that source of problems. See if this works.

2. Bizarre problems are often caused by defective downloads. Did you check the md5sum of slacko-5.7-NO-pae.iso? You can find the information here: http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-slacko-5.7/. If the md5sum does not check, reload the iso and start over. (You can check this by opening a terminal in the directory where you have downloaded the iso and typing: md5sum slacko-5.7-NO-pae.iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 40 [600 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1125s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]