Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 00:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.7 final - 8 March 2014
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 29 of 42 [628 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3012
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 06:13    Post subject: Re: Broadcom wl.ko driver  

01micko wrote:
Well thats odd, I used that source, you pointed me to it! What about you build the drivers, I'll put them in.


Hi Mick

Sent you a pm with a link to the driver pets.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 06:22    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
All uploaded, test if you want.

Now works perfect, thanks! Smile

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2909

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 06:29    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Attempted to upgrade a frugal install from 5.6.5.6 to 5.6.8....failed.No sound or internet.....even loading the correct driver resulted in no interface detected.

This happened to me when tried to upgrade a non-PAE 5.6.5.6 to a PAE 5.6.8.0. However, upon reboot with the same savefile everything worked.
(some relevan changes have beed added to rc.update in woof Wink )

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2909

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 07:14    Post subject:  

Looks like that shinobar might not have the time to update grub4dosconfig.
Is still broken in 5.6.8. You may want to patch it for the next release.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 07:42    Post subject:  

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-common/grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1-1.pet
_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 08:19    Post subject:  

Testing another Laptop. No wireless service for Frisbee.

System details attached
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  System report
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  1.96 KB 
Downloaded  91 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2909

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 08:53    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Testing another Laptop. No wireless service for Frisbee.

System details attached


You hardware info shows no wifi cards. Only a LAN adapter.
Which wifi card do you have?
Does the 4g version behaves the same? (with 1.5GB RAM you do not need PAE anyway Wink )

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 17:03    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Updated 5.6.5.6 with no issues.
However, updating from 5.6 still fails to do a proper full update Mad
Turns out that puppy does not update the /etc/rc.d/ files before the upgrade so if you have the old ones in your save file will be used instead of the new ones Shocked


Could you elaborate on the sort of symptoms we'd see with that? I have done a couple of test updates so far, one from a copy of my running 5.6.0 save and noted a couple of oddities, mainly related to sound.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 17:26    Post subject:  

WRT the truncated clock thing, I confirm that I use the en_GB locale and in general run with UTF-8 off (I have a mixed network and not everything on it supports it).
_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2909

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 17:42    Post subject:  

Jades wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
Updated 5.6.5.6 with no issues.
However, updating from 5.6 still fails to do a proper full update Mad
Turns out that puppy does not update the /etc/rc.d/ files before the upgrade so if you have the old ones in your save file will be used instead of the new ones Shocked


Could you elaborate on the sort of symptoms we'd see with that? I have done a couple of test updates so far, one from a copy of my running 5.6.0 save and noted a couple of oddities, mainly related to sound.


Basically non of the tray applets will run and menus are not updated. Sound, network will not work etc.
As I said for now boot with pfix=clean for a proper update from 5.6.
Should be fixed in the next version

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 19:15    Post subject: Hardinfo issue when hitting its "Refresh" button  

Hardinfo problem: I showed in a previous report the output of Hardinfo. When viewing its screen via Devices>PCI Devices, I hit the Refresh button on its top-right. Instead of it clearing and refreshing as expected, instead it expands to double the information and a subsequent refresh triples and so on.

Bug.
Screenshot_2014-03-08_183212.png
 Description   
 Filesize   40.44 KB
 Viewed   434 Time(s)

Screenshot_2014-03-08_183212.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 19:35    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Testing another Laptop. No wireless service for Frisbee. ...
You hardware info shows no wifi cards. Only a LAN adapter.
Which wifi card do you have?
Does the 4g version behaves the same? (with 1.5GB RAM you do not need PAE anyway Wink )
PAE
I use PAE because ALL of my PC has always had this 1995 technology. I do recognize that there were a handful of PCs manufactured without them, but I never own/used/installed any of the less than 1% of PC that did NOT have it. And, I never select any PC specific for that feature, it just was there. So I freely can add RAM and not concern myself with whether it has 512mb or 2GB or 4GB or 8GB. This is why I use PAE...it tosses the concern for system's RAM out the window with NO impact on system performance. And you and I know that over 99% of ALL computers ever built on the planet (32bit & 64bit) come with this CPU feature. Just doing my part to test and use this advantage in Puppyland and elsewhere. Wink

On the wireless
I came back to the running GAteway Laptop and have now discovered that both Frisbee and SNS see a wlan0 which I did NOT see before posting the original alert. But, I did notice, too, that "lspci" and Hardinfo failed to report the availability of the w/l as is shown by the original system report.

Any ideas on why? This may be a design element in the system. And, I may not be using the correct command to see the adapter(s).
Code:
# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 02)
03:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation PRO/100 VE Network Connection (rev 02)
03:09.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
03:09.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
03:09.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
#
Screenshot_2014-03-08_182508.png
 Description   Frisbee now reports
 Filesize   27.48 KB
 Viewed   422 Time(s)

Screenshot_2014-03-08_182508.png

Screenshot_2014-03-08_181820.png
 Description   SNS now reports
 Filesize   57.78 KB
 Viewed   422 Time(s)

Screenshot_2014-03-08_181820.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 305
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 19:58    Post subject: Re: Intel 4965AGN wifi not working  

Marv wrote:
Terry H wrote:
Marv wrote:
Terry H wrote:
I did a frugal instal of the slacko-5.6.8.0 on my laptop which has Intel 4965 AGN wifi card. The wifi is not working. I did a work around by copying the 'iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode' from another instal and saving it as '/lib/firmware/iwlegacy/iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode', as per a fix mentioned in pemasu's DPup Wheezy thread.

I have attached the output from pdiag, which was run on a clean instal without doing the work around.


Blacklist wl and repeat the test. From the pdialog output it looks like that might do it. If that does it there is a fix discussed here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=748337#748337


I removed the savefile and booted slacko again. I blacklisted wl driver as requested, created a new savefile and then rebooted. Still no wifi.


Thanks, that gives me a bit more to scratch my old head about. I would love to see all of the firmware in /lib/firmware. No more storage space and there when the kernel needs it.
Edit: in /lib/modules/3.4.78/kernel/drivers/net/wireless, the .ko drivers for iwl3945,iwl4965,iwlegacy are in a directory named iwlegacy. In /lib/modules/all-firmware, the firmware for those chips is in a directory named iwlwifi. I can't test this but I surmise the directory name mismatch goofs up frontend. By contrast, the driver and firmware for my i5300 (which works) are both in respective iwlwifi directories. If the above is the case, moving everything into the iwlwifi directory in /lib/modules/3.4.78/kernel/drivers/net/wireless or symlinking from there would fix it. Creating an iwlegacy directory in all-firmware for the 3945, 4965, iwlegacy firmware also should do it.


Marv,

I finally got some time to get back to this to see if I could do as you have suggested. When looking at the existing lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi directory, I noticed that this contained existing directories:

lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi/lib/firmware

This directory contains the firmware file 'iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode' and many other firmwares.

In the end I didn't copy directories/files or create any symlinks, Next time if it hasn't been fixed, I will symlink to this file for the fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 20:42    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Quote:
Attempted to upgrade a frugal install from 5.6.5.6 to 5.6.8....failed.No sound or internet.....

I had the same problem trying to update to 5.6.8.0 from 5.6.5. The only network interface found was lo, not eth0 or wlan0 (both of which had been working in 5.6.5). Also no sound.

Add -> Aha, I shut down and rebooted the upgrade from 5.6.5 to 5.6.8.0 and the second time it booted it found both network interfaces, configured the wireless properly, and sound correctly. I was using Frisbee.

Add Add -> I see that mavrothal already figured this out.

01micko wrote:
Quote:
People are wondering why I include abiword-2.9.4. Abi 2.8.6 (latest stable from 2009) will not build with the current libs. Sure, there's BK's wary version but that spits out more errors than I wish to mention, I hardly call that stable, especially when it has crashed on me a number of times. If you want to use Puppy for productivity (it is a hobby distro) use LibreOffice, Open Office, TextMaker Office or if you must, MS office in Wine. As far as I know up to 2007 works. There are other alternatives such as Ted, RTFEdit, and a Chinese office called KingSoft Office. Abiword is included for posterity and will be unceremoniously dumped by me as quick as 5.7 is out. I hate it. In saying all that, Abiword is just fine for typing letters to Nan, opening (read only) most MS documents and very basic stuff.

LOL. I agree completely about abiword, plus my interaction with some of the devs was not very pleasant. But, concerning Puppy and productivity, Slacko is so good that I am totally comfortable using it for production in teaching online university courses (I do use Libre Office).

Last edited by playdayz on Sun 09 Mar 2014, 17:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 911
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 08 Mar 2014, 21:59    Post subject: Re: Intel 4965AGN wifi not working  

Terry H wrote:


lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi/lib/firmware

This directory contains the firmware file 'iwlwifi-4965-2.ucode' and many other firmwares.

In the end I didn't copy directories/files or create any symlinks, Next time if it hasn't been fixed, I will symlink to this file for the fix.


I hope it all goes to /lib/firmware Exclamation
Maybe I wasn't clear, I think the crux of this particular problem is that the 4965 etc ucode is in:
lib/modules/all-firmware/iwlwifi/lib/firmware
and the 4965 drivers are in:
/lib/modules/3.4.78/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlegacy
and that the directory name mismatch bolded is the catch.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 4.4 and X-tahr 2.0 for my users; LxPupSc,LxPupXenial & XFCE_XenialPup64 for me. All good pups indeed, and all running browsers, office etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 42 [628 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, ..., 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0851s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]