Woof at Github

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#226 Post by 01micko »

Code: Select all

# git --version
git version 1.8.4
That's from slacko which is quite a bit older than tahr.

You need to uninstall the version you have and delete the profile, then install the devx (sfs file) which will have git included, as well as all the other goodies needed for compiling .. (re)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#227 Post by mavrothal »

keyboard wrote: This are some bizzare problems I am running into. :oops: is it a OS problem ? maybe storage drive ?
Yes they are.
I just repeated your commands and show no issues.
What is the filesystem that your local woof-CE folder resides on?

BTW are these 2 affected files showing as symlinks in your repo?
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#228 Post by keyboard »

01micko wrote:

Code: Select all

# git --version
git version 1.8.4
That's from slacko which is quite a bit older than tahr.

You need to uninstall the version you have and delete the profile, then install the devx (sfs file) which will have git included, as well as all the other goodies needed for compiling ..
this is the version I am having in devx sfs:

Code: Select all

root# git --version
git version 1.9.1
I have unistalled previously installed via PPM (ver 1.7)

I will take some time to make a new personal file cuz i have to get the amd drivers for this system.

Thanks a lot for the help.

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#229 Post by keyboard »

mavrothal wrote: I just repeated your commands and show no issues.
What is the filesystem that your local woof-CE folder resides on?

BTW are these 2 affected files showing as symlinks in your repo?
These are not symlinks:

Code: Select all


root# ls
howl  woof-CE
root# cd woof-CE
root# ls -la woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/etc/wvdial_options/APN-VirginBroadband
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5 Apr 20 15:44 woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/etc/wvdial_options/APN-VirginBroadband
root# ls -la woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-Desktop.xpm
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 637 Apr 20 15:44 woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-Desktop.xpm

I have vfat file system formatted with puppy linux installer (from CD).

Thanks a lot for help.

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#230 Post by mavrothal »

keyboard wrote: I have vfat file system formatted with puppy linux installer (from CD).
vfat does not support symlinks (and many other things).
Actually I'm surprised that you have only these problems (or maybe you have more :wink: ).
Clone the repos in an ext2,3,4 file system or your savefile if it is big enough and see how this goes.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#231 Post by keyboard »

mavrothal wrote: vfat does not support symlinks (and many other things).
Actually I'm surprised that you have only these problems (or maybe you have more :wink: ).
Clone the repos in an ext2,3,4 file system or your savefile if it is big enough and see how this goes.

Hmmm... Yes , it doesn't it ran perfectly on ext4 filesystem

Code: Select all

root# cd my-applications
root# ls
bin  lib  test  test2
root# git clone https://github.com/keyboard-k/howl.git
Cloning into 'howl'...
remote: Counting objects: 20140, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (22/22), done.
remote: Total 20140 (delta 7), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 20117
Receiving objects: 100% (20140/20140), 25.92 MiB | 772.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (11237/11237), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Checking out files: 100% (5833/5833), done.
root# ls
bin  howl  lib  test  test2
root# cd howl
root# git status
On branch master
Your branch is up-to-date with 'origin/master'.

nothing to commit, working directory clean
It had the same problem when I cloned in vfat filesystem:

Code: Select all


root# cd git
root# git clone https://github.com/keyboard-k/howl.git
Cloning into 'howl'...
remote: Counting objects: 20140, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (22/22), done.
remote: Total 20140 (delta 7), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 20117
Receiving objects: 100% (20140/20140), 25.92 MiB | 374.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (11237/11237), done.
Checking connectivity... done.
Checking out files: 100% (5833/5833), done.
root# ls
howl
root# cd howl
root# git status
On branch master
Your branch is up-to-date with 'origin/master'.

Changes not staged for commit:
  (use "git add <file>..." to update what will be committed)
  (use "git checkout -- <file>..." to discard changes in working directory)

	modified:   woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/etc/wvdial_options/APN-VirginBroadband
	modified:   woof-code/rootfs-skeleton/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/mini-Desktop.xpm

no changes added to commit (use "git add" and/or "git commit -a")
I suppose there is a lot to learn when changing your programming enviroment from windows PC to linux. I didn't did development in linux much . My home netbook/laptops was only on linux . In major developements I was habituated in Windows PC .

I am considering shifting to quirky

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#232 Post by keyboard »

mavrothal wrote: Clone the repos in an ext2,3,4 file system or your savefile if it is big enough and see how this goes.
my savefile is not so big , while running script for patches it gets full.Will this work instead of a save file ??

I have created a 50 mb file on vfat filesystem like this:

Code: Select all

root# pwd
/mnt/home/git
root# ls
pixie-online
root# dd if=../../../../dev/zero of=howling.4fs bs=1M count=50
50+0 records in
50+0 records out
52428800 bytes (52 MB) copied, 0.256032 s, 205 MB/s
Then made the file as ext4 partition like this:

Code: Select all

root# mkfs -t ext4 howling.4fs
mke2fs 1.42.9 (4-Feb-2014)
howling.4fs is not a block special device.
Proceed anyway? (y,n) y
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
12824 inodes, 51200 blocks
2560 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=52428800
7 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
1832 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks: 
	8193, 24577, 40961

Allocating group tables: done                            
Writing inode tables: done                            
Creating journal (4096 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
woof-ce is around 25 mb I suppose so this much space should do, but is it mountable on puppy linux ? And how could I mount it ? also is it the correct method of making ext4 file system in a file as puppy linux makes it for a save file ?

Thanks for any help in advance :)

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#233 Post by mavrothal »

keyboard wrote: my savefile is not so big , while running script for patches it gets full.Will this work instead of a save file ??
Under the "Utility" menu there is a "Resize personal storage file" app :wink:

You file generation looks OK.
To mount ii make a folder somewhere, in /mnt for example and just mount it.
If you want to auto load it, either add a line in your /etc/fstab file or in /etc/rc.d/rc.local or make a little script and place it in /root/Startup.
Resizing your savefile would be simpler though. Just keep in mind that VFAT can support up to 4GB (save)files
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#234 Post by keyboard »

mavrothal wrote: Under the "Utility" menu there is a "Resize personal storage file" app :wink:
mavrothal wrote: Resizing your savefile would be simpler though. Just keep in mind that VFAT can support up to 4GB (save)files
Yes, My save file is already too big... So I was making different partition for all the docs/repos
mavrothal wrote: You file generation looks OK.
To mount ii make a folder somewhere, in /mnt for example and just mount it.
If you want to auto load it, either add a line in your /etc/fstab file or in /etc/rc.d/rc.local or make a little script and place it in /root/Startup.
Thanks for the advice , I will do it. :)

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#235 Post by mavrothal »

keyboard wrote:My save file is already too big... So I was making different partition for all the docs/repos
If you really want to work on linux I would recommend a linux partition on a hard drive. If not and have a USB-3 machine, get an 8-32GB USB-3 stick, reformat it with ext4 without journal running "mkfs.ext4 -O ^has_journal" (do not repartition it) and the use a "savefolder" that has no size limitations. You can do that with USB-2 but is considerably slower.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
keyboard
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2014, 15:33

#236 Post by keyboard »

mavrothal wrote:
keyboard wrote: my savefile is not so big , while running script for patches it gets full.Will this work instead of a save file ??
Under the "Utility" menu there is a "Resize personal storage file" app :wink:

You file generation looks OK.
To mount ii make a folder somewhere, in /mnt for example and just mount it.
If you want to auto load it, either add a line in your /etc/fstab file or in /etc/rc.d/rc.local or make a little script and place it in /root/Startup.
Resizing your savefile would be simpler though. Just keep in mind that VFAT can support up to 4GB (save)files
keyboard wrote:
mavrothal wrote: Under the "Utility" menu there is a "Resize personal storage file" app :wink:
mavrothal wrote: Resizing your savefile would be simpler though. Just keep in mind that VFAT can support up to 4GB (save)files
Yes, My save file is already too big... So I was making different partition for all the docs/repos
mavrothal wrote: You file generation looks OK.
To mount ii make a folder somewhere, in /mnt for example and just mount it.
If you want to auto load it, either add a line in your /etc/fstab file or in /etc/rc.d/rc.local or make a little script and place it in /root/Startup.
Thanks for the advice , I will do it. :)
mavrothal wrote:
keyboard wrote:My save file is already too big... So I was making different partition for all the docs/repos
If you really want to work on linux I would recommend a linux partition on a hard drive. If not and have a USB-3 machine, get an 8-32GB USB-3 stick, reformat it with ext4 without journal running "mkfs.ext4 -O ^has_journal" (do not repartition it) and the use a "savefolder" that has no size limitations. You can do that with USB-2 but is considerably slower.
I might do that, you see, on one hand my save file is not so big to accomodate all the docs and repos, on the other hand it is really big nearly close to 4GB which is it's limitation. I have a empty harddisk with a old ntfs partition, but, my system has overheating problems, I have changed the thermal paste, and also cut off it's DWM wire so the fan runs at full speed. Even then it is overheating , (around 90 deg c). I know that puppy linux is always great rescue when stuck in these kind situations when you want to make some old harware work again. So I am using puppy linux on this system. I might reformat the hardisk on ext partition, but it really depends. whether it will crash from overheating while reformat or not (currently it stores some of my files). Also I have tested some formats/installation of puppy linux on very old desktops and bios it doesn't works on all (tried chameleon and FDD format as well) so I have to check into all those before I move all my developements to linux (puppy linux)

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

How to substitute pets?

#237 Post by peebee »

Hi

If I want to have a local directory with some updated pets which I want Woof-CE to use instead of the pets in the online repositories ..... how do I configure Woof-CE to do this?

Thanks
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

Re: How to substitute pets?

#238 Post by mavrothal »

peebee wrote:If I want to have a local directory with some updated pets which I want Woof-CE to use instead of the pets in the online repositories ..... how do I configure Woof-CE to do this?
I think that a) you change the specs file to the pet version that you want to use and b) put it in your local pets folder.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

Re: How to substitute pets?

#239 Post by peebee »

mavrothal wrote:
peebee wrote:If I want to have a local directory with some updated pets which I want Woof-CE to use instead of the pets in the online repositories ..... how do I configure Woof-CE to do this?
I think that a) you change the specs file to the pet version that you want to use and b) put it in your local pets folder.
Hi mavrothal

The specs file (DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS) only contains the generic name of the package - the pet file that then provides the package is found dynamically by various searches in the Packages-puppy-*-official database files.

At least thats how I think it works lol
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

Re: How to substitute pets?

#240 Post by mavrothal »

peebee wrote: The specs file (DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS) only contains the generic name of the package - the pet file that then provides the package is found dynamically by various searches in the Packages-puppy-*-official database files.
Right. So you change the version of the pet there.
ie in woof-distro/x86/ubuntu/Packages-puppy-precise-official, change
seamonkey-2.19-i486-precise|seamonkey|2.19-i486-precise||Internet;browser|75244K||seamonkey-2.19-i486-precise.pet|...
to
seamonkey-2.21-i486-precise|seamonkey|2.21-i486-precise||Internet;browser|75244K||seamonkey-2.21-i486-precise.pet|...
(or whatever the specs file in the pet says)
I think... :)
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

Post Reply