Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 18:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Networking/DNS problem with Hughes satellite modem
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
claz

Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 20:44    Post subject:  Networking/DNS problem with Hughes satellite modem  

Greetings...hopefully someone can shed some light on this problem I'm having. I cannot seem to get internet connectivity with any of the 5+ Puppy versions or derivitives. I have no problems with 4+ version Puppies. It seems to me that the problem is related to DNS. I have tried both DHCP setups as well as static setups and used the variety of setup tools including Frisbee.
My setup is a Marvell 88E8056 PCI Ethernet card >>Linksys switch>>Hughes Network Services HN9000 Satellite Modem.
I have tried other DNS servers besides Hughes's, still to no avail.
All other Distro's I use on this computer as well as others in the house work fine. Puppy 5+ on other computers on the home network have the same problem, so it seems not computer related but network related.
Please help! Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9263
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 20:59    Post subject:  

What do you get if you type the command
Code:
cat /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claz

Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 21:53    Post subject:  

It returns the dns that I entered in the network setup.
Funny thing...it suddenly started working using the google dns 8.8.8.8/4
as well as my isp's.(google's is much faster though) I have tested with Racy 5.5.2 and Slacko 5.5 so far and it is working across reboots. I am still puzzled that I messed with this all day and nothing is different with my setup and it's now working. I'm wondering if it may have something to do with with the hard coding of the dns in the HN9000 modem as well as dns caching in the modem itself.
I guess this is still a work in progress...I'm not really satisfied 'till I know what's going on, LOL.
Thanks...any more comments will be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 01:29    Post subject: Networking/DNS problem  

claz wrote:
It returns the dns that I entered in the network setup.
Funny thing...it suddenly started working using the google dns 8.8.8.8/4
as well as my isp's.(google's is much faster though) I have tested with Racy 5.5.2 and Slacko 5.5 so far and it is working across reboots. I am still puzzled that I messed with this all day and nothing is different with my setup and it's now working. I'm wondering if it may have something to do with with the hard coding of the dns in the HN9000 modem as well as dns caching in the modem itself.
I guess this is still a work in progress...I'm not really satisfied 'till I know what's going on, LOL.
Thanks...any more comments will be appreciated.


See my post in this thread about how to clear the dns cache.

By the way, the dns cache is maintained by the operating system and not the modem or any other hardware. In fact, this information is normally kept in ram and not stored permanently on the drive. This then gives one almost instant access in terms of retrieving the necessary info when re-visiting a web page --thus it speeds up our user experience. A dns server will also cache it's IP configuration data, and sometimes when this data gets corrupted, one is unable to establish a connection with a website or service --often the cause of a 404 error.

Hope this helps,
Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claz

Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 06:27    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info Monsie.

I do believe that in my case some caching is provided by the modem...my hardware is not the typical set up...I did verify that the Hughes HN90000 modem does perform dns caching. I ran a test where I made page requests with my wife's computer and those requests showed when I looked at the local dns cache in the modem's interface screen from my computer.

From the HN9000 spec sheet:

"HN9000 Broadband Satellite Modem

Implements Performance Enhancement Proxy (PEP) software to accelerate throughput by optimizing TCP transmission over the satellite, delivering superior user experience and link efficiency

Operates as a local router providing:

Static and dynamic addressing

DHCP server or relay

DNS caching

NAT/PAT"

I'm still trying to figure why I'm having these intermittant problems and it seems only to be Puppy related....I'm now thinking a combination of the network manager and my modem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1086
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 06:54    Post subject:  

I seem to remember there is a bug in Puppy 5+ and networking that it doesn't like WAP encoding. WEP is OK though.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 11:08    Post subject: Networking/DNS problem with Hughes satellite modem  

Thanks, claz

Well, that is the first I have heard of it... hardware providing a dns cache. I am assuming that it acts as a back-up to the hosts table. I would say that this feature must be considered an improvement. If there are internet connection problems, and you know that the configuration data is correct, this underscores the need to reset the router and/or modem if the dns cache has been corrupted somehow. Note also, that a re-boot will also clear the dns cache in the operating system.

Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claz

Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 21:23    Post subject:  

Thanks Monsie...all information is helping me get the big picture here. The good thing is it's day 2 and everything is still working. I'm going to be testing more Puppy versions with my setup.
I figure that the Hughes hardware caching dns is to help speed up requests due to latency with the satellite. Funny though that setting the network manager to a dns different than the one in the hardware yields better performance...are they still working together or maybe just as a backup to the hosts table like you mentioned.
Why the 5+ Puppies suddenly started working...I have no idea...just keeping my fingers crossed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 22:09    Post subject: Networking/DNS problem with Hughes satellite modem  

claz wrote:
Quote:
Funny though that setting the network manager to a dns different than the one in the hardware yields better performance...


You do realize that setting your network to run with Google's domain name servers (as you indicated in your earlier post) will likely give you the best performance possible... See my thread here on how to test that assertion and find the fastest available dns servers.

Cheers,
Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
claz

Joined: 16 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 04:55    Post subject:  

Thanks Monsie for the info on namebench. In my quest for networking speed, everything helps. I live in rural Florida and my only options are satellite or dial-up. With less than optimum speeds and daily bandwidth caps using Hughes, any tiny speed improvements help. Using a lean distro like Puppy helps keep my downloading down. Puppy packs a lot of punch in a small package Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0676s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]