Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 01:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LxPup : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 948

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 17:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks peebee,

Does anyone know if we can use Slacko's devx in Lxpup? (devx is, in my case, needed for translation -- momanager)

Boj Boj*

* esperanto

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5854
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 18:04    Post_subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install on an old P4 test box. No problems.....all looking good so far.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: LxPup, version 13.10

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse record

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
375 frames in 5.0 seconds = 74.882 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.145 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.142 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.143 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.143 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory : 2585MB (200MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : LxPup - 13.10
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 13 Oct 2013 05:16:40 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel ICH5

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 2585236 825504 1759732 0 66232
-/+ buffers: 759272 1825964
Swap: 4198396 0 4198396
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 18:53    Post_subject:  

Bert wrote:
Thanks peebee,

Does anyone know if we can use Slacko's devx in Lxpup? (devx is, in my case, needed for translation -- momanager)


Yes - just use the same devx and kernel sources as for Slacko 5.6 4g non-pae.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 04:32    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
One Q.. is your compiz sfs compatible?


The setup pet to add Compiz to LxPup13.10 is now available from:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88294&start=26

The sfs is unchanged.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 04:42    Post_subject:  

Quote:
[BTW#2 - the way I've made this iso means that it would be easy I believe to make other isos for all variants of Slacko, Precise, Upup-Precise and Upup-Raring..... but I don't intend to do so unless there is "demand" as you can achieve the same result with lxpup-by-sfs]

I made the above assertion in a reply to 01micko and then managed to delete the post....senior moment

Anyway to test it I have made a version of LxPup based on Upup-Raring 3.9.9

I won't make the download link generally available but if you do fancy testing it, send me a PM and I'll send the link.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 06:14    Post_subject: 13.10
Sub_title: LXDE
 

Hi PeeBee,

Running LXpup from USB stick on Dell E6430 laptop for test. Everything works out of the box. Impressed.
Only thing I missed was a way to test if the build in webcam works (GTcam ?) without installing Skype or another bulky app.
I'll try the compiz stuff tonight.

Any chance of basing future LXpups on Slacko 5.6.0 (newer kernel) ?
My new netbook GPU GMA3600 (somebody on this forum did a test) is supported in kernel 3.8 and newer.

I'll keep this one on the stick....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 09:12    Post_subject: LxPup13.10 : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Sub_title: compiz
 

I installed compiz on a fresh frugal install and it works fine, wobbly
windows etc. but when I install zarfy to setup for 2 monitors it
doesn't work well.
This is on a pc with intel graphics so I'll move to a pc with an nvidia
card and install the proprietary driver then test again.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Later:
I downloaded and installed the proprietary Nvidia driver,the setup
with nvidia-settings and saved the xconfiguration,rebooted and it's
working perfectly, wobbly windows etc. as long as I stay in the first
workspace but it doesn't work well in workspace 2 and up.

video-info-glx 1.5.1 Mon 14 Oct 2013 on LxPup 13.10 Linux 3.4.52 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:nVidiaCorporationGF108 [GeForce GT 430](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v0p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: vesa
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 3360x1080 pixels (959x315 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.60
AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @2699 1: @2699 2: @2699 3: @2699 4: @2699 5: @2699 MHz

Very cool Smile
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   11.85 KB
 Viewed   1043 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 812
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 12:54    Post_subject:  

Hi peebee,

I have tested this on my Dell D430 and it all looks good. Everything worked just fine. A couple of suggestions if you don't mind.

1) You could remove jwm

2) Make a bootflash image

Other than that one heck of a nice job keep it up.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 14:22    Post_subject:  

Hi oldyeller & volhout

Thanks for your feedback.

My aim is to make the minimum changes possible to the base iso - that's why I liked woofy when I stumbled across it.

I'm afraid I'm not able to see the point of removing JWM - it's presumably not too big and isn't interfering with LxPup and is there as a fallback if you ever want to leave lxde.....

As for splash screens - what are they lol - I haven't burnt a cd for a very long time as I always do frugal manual installs. I suppose it currently shows the Slacko splash screen does it?? Perhaps I'll just remove the image completely if I do another build... but again I want to keep such manual tweaks to a minimum. The less I have to remember to do, the less likely I am to forget to do it.

A version using the pae Slacko kernel would be very easy to produce but I get the colly-wobbles when I start to think about maintaining multiple versions. If you really want the pae kernel - just build it yourself by using Lxpup-by-SFS.....exactly the same end result apart from the fact that "the branding" is not changed - it is still Slacko + an sfs.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 23:55    Post_subject: LxPup13.10 : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Sub_title: problem with compiz
 

I did another install on my lenovo ThinkCentre and compiz was working
great until I tried to edit the top panel.
When I added a new program instead of placing one icon in the menu it
kept repeating adding the icon (disaster).
I unloaded the compiz_python_lxpup-0.8.8.sfs and
lxpup13.10_compiz_setup.pet,then rebooted.
Now when I try to add a new top panel it says there is already a top
panel and to delete that one first, problem is there is no visible top
panel so no way to delete it.
I'm too lazy to start over so I just added some stuff to the bottom
panel Smile
Apart from the compiz problem lxpup is working great on this pc.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   79.87 KB
 Viewed   983 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1460
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 02:05    Post_subject: Re: LxPup13.10 : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Sub_title: problem with compiz
 

Billtoo wrote:
Now when I try to add a new top panel it says there is already a top
panel and to delete that one first, problem is there is no visible top
panel so no way to delete it.


Hi Billtoo

Thanks for all your testing and reports.

Delete:

/root/.config/lxpanelx/LXDE/panels/top1.panel

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl7

Joined: 05 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 05:38    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
A very nice Slacko derived puplet. Congratulations! I'm sure Jejy69 is proud that his work and influence is carried forth. Who is this smargl7 bloke anyway? Never heard of him.

If peebee took Lxpup name without asking for permission from Jejy69 who is original author of that distributions, all honest people would call that stealing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7832
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 06:56    Post_subject:  

simargl7 wrote:
01micko wrote:
A very nice Slacko derived puplet. Congratulations! I'm sure Jejy69 is proud that his work and influence is carried forth. Who is this smargl7 bloke anyway? Never heard of him.

If peebee took Lxpup name without asking for permission from Jejy69 who is original author of that distributions, all honest people would call that stealing.


peebee wrote:
- yes.


Do you have simargl's or simargl8's permission to use simargl7?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
simargl7

Joined: 05 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 07:16    Post_subject:  

No, little brown dog kind Sir, you didn't understand it that well - you don't suppose to give permission to yourself, it is still me, only now much faster (see my avatar) than ordinary dogs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 09:10    Post_subject: Re: LxPup13.10 : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Sub_title: problem with compiz
 

peebee wrote:

Delete:

/root/.config/lxpanelx/LXDE/panels/top1.panel

Cheers
peebee


Got it, thanks.

EDIT:
I have a pc with compiz that is working fine (the pc with an nvidia card) and I suspect the compiz problem on my ThinkCentre may have been caused by the wireless keyboard/mouse combo that I using on that pc.
newtop.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.72 KB
 Viewed   844 Time(s)

newtop.png


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 27 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1699s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0821s) ][ GZIP on ]