Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 22:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise(Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 02:55    Post_subject:  

Hi

Karl Godt wrote:
I don't know on which Puppy version Pup_Rescue is based upon .


Monsie wrote:
Karl, Pup_Rescue is in fact based on Lupu 5.2.8


I don't want to state the obvious,
but this thread is called: PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise
PupRescue_Precise

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 03:15    Post_subject: PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise  

CatDude wrote:
Hi

Karl Godt wrote:
I don't know on which Puppy version Pup_Rescue is based upon .


Monsie wrote:
Karl, Pup_Rescue is in fact based on Lupu 5.2.8


I don't want to state the obvious,
but this thread is called: PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise
PupRescue_Precise

CatDude
.


Thanks, CatDude...

Apparently, I am having difficulty reading today... Embarassed

williepabon, please try my workaround in any event. I'm thinking there could be some sort of timing issue that is interfering with hardware detection at boot-up...

Apologies to all,
Monsie

_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 04:24    Post_subject:  

Hi

@ williepabon

williepabon wrote:
...The main purpose of my Pup_Rescue is to troubleshoot computers of different kinds (laptops, workstations, towers, etc). So it should be able to recognize different hardware configurations. Well, that is my intended use. I'm assuming that when I connect my Puppy to a different machine, the hardware discovery process will identify it and the OS would configure itself accordingly. If that doesn't happen, I've got a problem with the tool.
...

If any of those machines are old (with no PAE support)
you may want to reconsider your choice of troubleshooting OS.

DPUP5520 the creator of Pup_Rescue
has this to say on the matter:

DPUP5520 wrote:
...One thing to note is that this is based on precise and requires pae support, if you are planning on working on an older computer which does not support pae I suggest checking out 2.5 (in my sig)
...

PupRescue 2.5 is the one based on Lupu 5.2.8


CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
williepabon

Joined: 16 Sep 2013
Posts: 64
Location: Puerto Rico(USA)

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 10:54    Post_subject:  PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise  

CatDude:

Thanks for clarifying about by version of PupRescue. I'm also aware about the pae requirements for Puppy. The machines that I'm troubleshooting now are relatively modern and recognize the page address extension spec (I assume). That is why I'm going to try a different machine (that is OK) with a PS2 mouse to see If I get the same problem.

Monsie, when I get the other machine that has the PS2 mouse, I'm surely going to try your workaround. Thanks. Wink
wp
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
williepabon

Joined: 16 Sep 2013
Posts: 64
Location: Puerto Rico(USA)

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 18:45    Post_subject: PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise(Solved)  

CatDude, Monsie:

Finally, was able to test my stick on another machine with legacy hardware. PupRescue worked as expected, recognizing the hardware and operating normally. Apparently, the machine that originated the problem must have some type of hardware issue that froze PupRescue. Will consider this problem resolved for the time being. Thanks for your help.
wp
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 11:32    Post_subject:  

There is a very minor chance that this particular mouse needs another

Option "Protocol" "string"

in the

/etc/X11/xorg.conf

configuration file :
http://ftp.x.org/pub/X11R7.0/doc/html/mouse.4.html
Quote:
Option "Protocol" "string"
Specify the mouse protocol. Valid protocol types include:

Auto, Microsoft, MouseSystems, MMSeries, Logitech, MouseMan, MMHitTab, GlidePoint, IntelliMouse, ThinkingMouse, ValuMouseScroll, AceCad, PS/2, ImPS/2, ExplorerPS/2, ThinkingMousePS/2, MouseManPlusPS/2, GlidePointPS/2, NetMousePS/2, NetScrollPS/2, BusMouse, SysMouse, WSMouse, USB, VUID, Xqueue.

Not all protocols are supported on all platforms. The "Auto" platform specifies that protocol auto-detection should be attempted. There is no default protocol setting, and specifying this option is mandatory.


Puppys setting scripts only use
ImPS/2 for USB and PS/2
and
Microsoft for serial
mice .

Myself had not needed anything else than IMPS/2 or MicroSoft .

Some of the Protocols seem to need the corresponding input-driver loaded ie AceCad or GlidePoint , which are some special controllers
http://www.cirque.com/technologies/glidepoint.aspx
or
.
2287-1.jpg
 Description   http://www.trustedreviews.com/Acecad-Acecat-Flair_Peripheral_review
 Filesize   47.68 KB
 Viewed   162 Time(s)

2287-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 14:47    Post_subject:  

Oops!! old post.
_________________
Ubuntu-One Cloud Storage, Know where your Puppy files are, Back-up & Share files. https://one.ubuntu.com/referrals/referee/2118185/"]Sign Up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
williepabon

Joined: 16 Sep 2013
Posts: 64
Location: Puerto Rico(USA)

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 16:42    Post_subject:  PS2 mouse not working with Pup_Rescue precise(Solved)  

Karl:

Thanks for the education you are providing pertaining to the pc-mouse I'm having problems with. The mouse connected to the DELL workstation is a Logitech PS2 mouse manufactured for DELL. Below is the section of the xorg.conf file pertaining to the mouse. Please, advice what other protocol(s), (and how I do it) I should include in my configuration. Thanks.
wp
mouse_conf.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.61 KB
 Viewed   128 Time(s)

mouse_conf.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 11:37    Post_subject:  

The README file inside the
xf86-input-mouse-VERSION.tar.*
source says something about Logitech :

Quote:
6.9. Logitech MouseMan+ and FirstMouse+ (serial, PS/2)

MouseMan+ has two buttons on top, one side button and a roller.
FirstMouse+ has two buttons and a roller. The roller movement is
recognized as the Z axis motion. The roller also acts as the third
button. The side button is recognized as the fourth button.

MouseMan+ and FirstMouse+ support the PnP COM device specification.
They have MS IntelliMouse compatible mode when used as a serial mouse.

To use these mice as a serial device:

Option "Protocol" "Auto"

or:

Option "Protocol" "IntelliMouse"

To use this mouse as the PS/2 device and the OS supports PS/2 mouse
initialization:

Option "Protocol" "MouseManPlusPS/2"

To use this mouse as the PS/2 device but the OS does not support PS/2
mouse initialization (the wheel and the fourth button won't work):

Option "Protocol" "PS/2"

To use this mouse as the PS/2 device and the OS supports automatic
PS/2 mouse detection:

Option "Protocol" "Auto"


Seems that MouseManPlusPS/2 ,simply PS/2 or Auto may be worth a try .

I had read lately that Dell is one of the few manufacturers that (still) use Windows OS for tablets instead of Android .
I only guess that they made a special Mouse for Dell then .
README.mouse.bz2
Description  from xf86-input-mouse-1.2.2 ; dated around August 2007
bz2

 Download 
Filename  README.mouse.bz2 
Filesize  8.97 KB 
Downloaded  54 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0775s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]