PackIt-1.22 - a flexible Archiving/Compressing GUI

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#76 Post by musher0 »

Hello Argolance.

Try good old zip for this kind of task? It has never failed me.
As in:

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sdX
zip -9ry /mnt/sdX/sdY-disk.zip /mnt/sdY/*
Where:
-9 => maximum compression
-r => recurse (i.e. grab all directories and sub-directories)
-y => store symlinks as symlinks

Please also note the use of two separate partitions for this kind of task:
One should store the contents of partition sdY on partition sdX.

If you need more information about the capacities of zip for a task like
this, you can type

Code: Select all

zip -h2 | more
in a console. In this doc, you will learn how to zip special types of files
(e.g. "pipes"), etc., if you need to do so.

But zip will compress ".mozilla" and similar hidden directories as usual,
no need to indicate a special parameter.

IHTH. BFN.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#77 Post by Argolance »

Bonjour,
Thank you for replying.
I didn't make a compressed file from the entire partition, only of its contents. I usually do this kind of task manually, using a right click menu entry "Dir2tgz" and this has never failed. This time, I did it from a live USB key session to have access to the partition and be able to format it with gparted. It was for me the opportunity to test Packit: I was not convinced, far from it! :oops: :?
Là, ça fait mal!!!

Cordialement.

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#78 Post by SFR »

Argolance wrote:Today, I had to reformat a partition from ext3 to ext4. I made a compressed file (tar.xz) of its contents using Packit from a live session (stretch 7.5). When I wanted to restore the backed up files/directories, I unfortunately found that the hidden folders had not been copied/taken into account (.mozilla, .wine, .thunderbird, .filezilla, etc...) and I unfortunately lost all the data that was there. :(
I write this message to warn users of this very annoying issue :shock: and prevent the same thing from happening to them...
Thanks for reporting this issue and sorry for the lost data...
However, I can't reproduce it, even in Stretch.
Are you able to reproduce it again, preferably on some small set of dirs/files?
If so, I'd appreciate a step-by-step procedure.

Also, what tool did you use to inspect/unpack the archive?

musher0 wrote:Try good old zip for this kind of task? It has never failed me.
Just keep in mind that although ZIP preserves RWX permissions, it won't preserve ownership nor SUID/SGID/Sticky bits.
Of course it may be negligible, depending on situation.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#79 Post by SFR »

Argolance wrote:I didn't make a compressed file from the entire partition, only of its contents. I usually do this kind of task manually, using a right click menu entry "Dir2tgz" and this has never failed.
Are you saying that you were right-clicking on each dir, separately, and PackIt it one by one?
If so, right-clicking a hidden dir (e.g. .mozilla) and using PackIt on it will produce a hidden archive (e.g. .mozilla.tar.xz), unless you specify the archive name yourself.
Perhaps that was the case?

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#80 Post by Argolance »

Are you saying that you were right-clicking on each dir, separately, and PackIt it one by one?
No, I selected all the files/directories of the partition, then used the "Open With" right click menu to build a tar.xz file with Packit to another partition (windows NTFS) , selected "3" (medium) as compressing value. Then, when my partition was formatted to ext4 I moved the compressed file to my new ext4 partition and just clicked on it to uncompress it back directly to the partition.
I usually configure ROX to show hidden files, may be, while selecting all files of a partition without this setting would be the reason of this issue?

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#81 Post by SFR »

Argolance wrote:I usually configure ROX to show hidden files, may be, while selecting all files of a partition without this setting would be the reason of this issue?
That could be it, indeed.
If showing hidden files is not enabled and you use CTRL+A, only non-hidden stuff gets selected and that's all what goes to PackIt...

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#82 Post by Argolance »

SFR wrote:If showing hidden files is not enabled and you use CTRL+A, only non-hidden stuff gets selected and that's all what goes to PackIt...
I think a warning should be added somewhere in the application to preserve the user who would ignore or forget this, as it was the case for me! But still, just because they are not displayed doesn't mean that these files/folders don't exist: it remains a big problem...
Thank you.

Cheers!

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#83 Post by SFR »

Version 1.16:

- make (un)install scripts compatibile with Fatdog build system
- added zstd support
- added sha256 checksum

First post updated.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#84 Post by SFR »

Version 1.17:

- removed compress and freeze support
- added 'Block size' option to mksquashfs
- various fixes and improvements

First post updated.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#85 Post by musher0 »

Many thanks, SFR! :)
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#86 Post by SFR »

Version 1.18:

- can create zstd compressed SFSes (requires squashfs-tools v4.4 built with zstd)
- fixed typo in one extension

First post updated.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#87 Post by SFR »

Version 1.19:

- mksquashfs: added option to not compress (-noI -noId -noD -noF -noX)
- fixed disabling mksquashfs's "block size" combobox after choosing '(none)'

First post updated.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#88 Post by mistfire »

Hello

Can you please add zst compression in packit?

https://github.com/facebook/zstd

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#89 Post by SFR »

Hey Mistfire

Support for zstd is already there, since v1.16.
Can also create zstd compressed SFSes (since v1.18, req. squashfs-tools v4.4+).

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
Revolverve
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 21:01
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

#90 Post by Revolverve »

SFR
having recently been acquainted that UExtract handle appimage, would it be possible that packit create them too?
if not already the case!
testing it simply...
-made a squashfs from an extracted appimage
-renaming it,give it executable rights
=no go and no surprise..Exec format error
but an appimage is just an executable squashfs!

This is where i took my inspiration..
Freecad wiki;appimage
From the link:
Repackaging AppImages
If you've modified the code, and now want to re-package the AppImage with your latest changes, use the appimagetool-x86_64 tool on the extracted file system.
cd ..
wget "https://github.com/AppImage/AppImageKit ... 4.AppImage"
chmod +x appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage
./appimagetool-x86_64.AppImage squashfs-root
__________
could be useful feature if doable..
Thanks ,have a great one.
[url=https://www.mira.ca/en/donate]Help mira.ca[/url]

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#91 Post by SFR »

Hey Revolverve

PackIt is a GUI for archiving/compressing random stuff, so creating an executable AppImages is kinda out of its scope, just like creating pet, deb, rpm, flatpack, snap, etc. packages.

The thing is that AppImage is not "just" an executable SFS, it's an SFS (used to be an ISO, before that) with prepended i686/x86_64 binary that handles mounting and executing the payload.
Also, the input content must meet specific criteria (.desktop file, AppRun launcher, etc.) - you can't just create an AppImage from anything you want.
Well, technically you could, but it would be just an SFS with useless binary attached to it. :wink:

Have a great one, too &
Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
Revolverve
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 21:01
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

#92 Post by Revolverve »

SFR
ok,thanks for the useful info!
Will shoot to your UExtract topic for the next questions.
I enjoy your work!
Thank you again.
[url=https://www.mira.ca/en/donate]Help mira.ca[/url]

User avatar
Smithy
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 11:17

lz4 option

#93 Post by Smithy »

Hi SFR, just wondering with V1.9, is there an easy way to make a LZ4.sfs?
And there is a new block size option, what would be optimal, 4k?
I wanted to experiment with a few sqooshing up formats, only ever used GZIP and XZ so far.
Attachments
Screenshot.png
(48.55 KiB) Downloaded 481 times

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#94 Post by SFR »

Hey Smithy,
Smithy wrote:Hi SFR, just wondering with V1.9, is there an easy way to make a LZ4.sfs?
Yes, LZ4 should be available on the drop-down list below the mksquashfs radio button.
But it shows only if squashfs-tools in your distro support LZ4.
Smithy wrote:And there is a new block size option, what would be optimal, 4k?
Depends on what is your priority.
If you prefer performance over compression ratio, go low and if the opposite, go high.

Greetings!
Attachments
packit_lz4.png
(46.71 KiB) Downloaded 479 times
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

zagreb999
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 06:39
Location: Yugoslavija

#95 Post by zagreb999 »

to create lz4 in
tazpuppy i use

liblz4-1_0.0~r122-2_i386.deb

liblz4-tool_0.0~r122-2_i386.deb

squashfs-tools_4.3-3+deb9u1_i386.deb

Post Reply