Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 12:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-slacko-1.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 03:24    Post subject:  

That's a real shame, rg. My testbed for all compact distros is an XP board open on the bench. Whilst appreciating your efforts, this is a show-stopper. Frankly, it seems pointless consigning X-Slacko to modern tinware when it's unnecessary. It's clear that there are gurus out there who perfectly understand where the problem lies because NOP, Lighthouse, Carolina and others all run Xfce successfully on all boards. Perhaps micko can be persuaded? Not alone in believing this is a thoroughly worthwhile project.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kimathi

Joined: 02 Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Nairobi

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 11:59    Post subject: dbus  

i find that the dbus error is due to dbus starting latter than when its needed eg using avahi or bluetooth the init scripts are executed starting with numbers then letters. since i use avahi and bluetooth these two would fail to contact dbus because they start before it. you may find it in /etc/init.d/ either named dbus or messagebus. I rename them/ it to start with 00dbus or 00messagebus that way its executed early on before anything else if that fails pick and use the init scripts from dpup wheezy they are two there as usual rename to start with numers it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 13:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
.../etc/init.d/ either named dbus or messagebus. I rename them/ it to start with 00dbus or 00messagebus...

Probably completely misunderstanding this, but created a re-master with 00messagebus. Still no picture on AMD XP2400.
Any further suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kimathi

Joined: 02 Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Nairobi

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 08:21    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:

Probably completely misunderstanding this, but created a re-master with 00messagebus. Still no picture on AMD XP2400.
Any further suggestions?


Nope sorry it didn't work for you, i must have got it wrong in your case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 18:29    Post subject: x-slacko  

I really like slacko with xfce.

I would like to use xfce-sensors in the panel but do not see it.
I know it's available in Carolina/

Is there any chance it can be included?

Thanks so much for such a nice puppy.


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 452
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jan 2014, 03:10    Post subject: Re: x-slacko  

Pete22 wrote:
I really like slacko with xfce.

I would like to use xfce-sensors in the panel but do not see it.
I know it's available in Carolina/

Is there any chance it can be included?

Thanks so much for such a nice puppy.


Pete


I tried compiling panel plugins and kept getting errors. Search the repo for "xfce", I'm sure there are some plugins there.

_________________
Carolite-1.1 / Carolina-1.1 / X-precise-2.2 / X-slacko-1.1
Carolina X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jan 2014, 22:11    Post subject:  

rg66, could you do me kind of an odd favor? I think XSlacko 1.0 has found a home on my netbook... but...

Firefox updated itself and promptly died. Could you PM me a link to the PET that went into XSlacko so that I can fix it? Normally I'm a Chrome person but my local tech guru really really really wants me to try going back to Firefox, so I want to give it a chance. IIRC it was FF 24.

I'm really liking XSlacko -- it takes a lot to make me not want to try and make GNOME2 work (despite all the difficulty I've had) because I like it so much -- but I think I like the XFCE in XSlacko just as much Very Happy it's a great Puplet you've got here.

Now to strip out a few more things so that it's not taking up ~700-800meg of my RAM right after bootup... *sigh* nothing's perfect!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2014, 20:52    Post subject:  

A couple *very minor* issues I'm having with XSlacko on my netbook. These are, as stated, very minor -- I'd classify them more as 'annoyances' than anything else.

(1) exactly every other time I boot the netbook, I have to manually resize the wallpaper to make it fill the screen. This probably has something to do with the fact that I'm using an external 15" 1024x768 monitor with the system (the internal one (10"@1024x600) is too small for me now) -- this netbook has always had quirks with that; in XP, the driver for ACPI (which for some weird reason also ran the Fn key on the keyboard) would crash and go away whenever I unplugged the monitor with the system running, requiring a reboot to bring it back. (I always figured it was a buggy driver. Maybe not...)

(2) tapping on the touchpad does not left-click. This is more annoying than #1 as I'm used to using that tap-click feature... but it mostly makes me smirk.

(3) this one is mostly a "huh?" sort of thing, not really even an annoyance. When the system is out of RAM and telling me so ("You have only 0MB RAM left, you should probably reboot to clear all that crap out" or whatever), and I do as I'm told Razz it tries to restart X, fails, and dumps me to a bash prompt where I have to, you know, use a keyboard and actually type the word "reboot" and press the Enter key (gasp!). (I'm sorry, is my sarcasm showing again...? Razz ) After I do that it saves and reboots perfectly fine as if nothing unusual happened whatsoever. Just kind of odd, is all.

The only other issue (which is my own fault and I know it) is that Thunderbird fills the RAM when it opens, without fail. This is because I have too much ****ing email, and most definitely not anything to do with XSlacko or Thunderbird itself. LOL. (no sarcasm this time. srsly.)

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 452
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 03:07    Post subject:  

@ starhawk

I don't have a .pet for the firefox in X-slacko. Go here: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/ and choose whatever version you want. Delete /opt/firefox and extract the new one to /opt and delete your /root/.mozilla. Maybe try an ESR version or disable automatic updates. Another option is to make a new savefile.

Right click on the desktop > Desktop Settings > Background tab > set style to auto instead of stretched, that might fix the re-size wallpaper issue.

Open Control panel > Hardware > Mouse and touch pad settings and check your touchpad settings. I think I had to change one of the settings to get the touchpad to work properly.

Not sure about the out of RAM thing. I think that happens in Carolina as well. Must be a "puppy issue" or maybe the wmreboot script. What happens if you shutdown instead of reboot?

_________________
Carolite-1.1 / Carolina-1.1 / X-precise-2.2 / X-slacko-1.1
Carolina X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jan 2014, 10:40    Post subject:  

I'll see if there's a compatible Firefox PET here on the forums first, I think -- this poor little netbook is far too anemic for compiling, and I never get that to work right anyways.

Wallpaper is set to Auto.

I'll dink around with the touchpad settings.

Shutdown vs reboot = no change, at least for the Out Of RAM issue. My thinking is that it has to clear all the gunk from the RAM before it can do anything -- so the shutdown/reboot script crashes (or otherwise effs up) and dumps me to a prompt. Theory: everything I do requires X, so once X is off and a few whole seconds have passed, the RAM is cleared by internal housekeeping, and that gives enough RAM (and then some!) for the script to run properly.

EDIT: touchpad settings fixed the tap-click issue. Thanks!

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 07:42    Post subject: X-slacko-1.1  

I did a manual frugal install of xslacko-1.1 pae to my gateway desktop
pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 18 Jan 2014 on Slacko Puppy 5.6.0 Linux 3.10.5 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (602x343 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.4.0 NVIDIA 331.38

I compiled wine 1.7.11 and have xbmc 12.3 and vlc 2.1.2 running under
wine.
Firefox updated to the latest version, everything is working great so
far.

EDIT:
After using xslacko-1.1 a lot for a couple of days and not finding any problems I'd say this one is a keeper, thanks Smile
Screenshot-5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.86 KB
 Viewed   143 Time(s)

Screenshot-5.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 20 Jan 2014, 14:23; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 23:46    Post subject:  

XSlacko 1.0 *runs* on Poulsbo hardware. Boots, X crashes without a desktop. Run xorgwizard, select modesetting, you get a desktop.

Thank you, rg66. Thank you.

THANK YOU SO MUCH.

EDIT: specific hardware --
Axiomtech PICO820 motherboard
Atom Z530 CPU + NM10 chipset
Intel GMA500 graphics
2gb RAM
Was running from a Kingston DataTraveler 1gb USB flash drive as a test.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2014, 17:49    Post subject:  

Just curious -- does anyone know if XSlacko 1.0 savefiles are forwards compatible...? In other words, if I go from XSlacko 1.0 (the regular PAE version) to XSlacko 1.1-non-PAE, will I need to create a new savefile or will my old one still work with the new version?
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 452
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 00:03    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Just curious -- does anyone know if XSlacko 1.0 savefiles are forwards compatible...? In other words, if I go from XSlacko 1.0 (the regular PAE version) to XSlacko 1.1-non-PAE, will I need to create a new savefile or will my old one still work with the new version?


Not too many changes from 1.0 to 1.1, the only difference between pae and non-pae is the kernel so it should work. Just make a backup first just in case.

_________________
Carolite-1.1 / Carolina-1.1 / X-precise-2.2 / X-slacko-1.1
Carolina X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2536
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jan 2014, 10:52    Post subject:  

Thanks! I'll do exactly that...
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0853s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]