Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 17:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-slacko-2.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4362
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 19:07    Post subject:  

Hello @RG66.

There are many of us who like the polish and layout you provide with these extensions which adds to the base distros additional functionality.

Also, I noticed this earlier request on this thread and ask that you would consider this for future use on LANs with Win7, Win8, and Apples.

@01Micko's and @Pemasu's SAMBA V4+ is now over 2 years old since the complete rewrite of SAMBA. Might you consider using 01Micko's SAMBA which allows everyone an intuitive use to setup file sharing as a future built-in subsystem in your X-versions.

I have a document which would assist any user with use, setup, and configuration for any needs beyond the intuitive that 01Micko provides.

Just a note for your consideration.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ddpicard

Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 23:16    Post subject:  

I have been using X-Precise for a good while now and I thought I would give X-Slacko a go. I just wanted to say it is an awesome derivative. rg66 you are doing an awesome job with your X-puppies. Keep up the good work.

I'm running it on a 3 year old Toshiba Satellite C655-S5140 laptop. It's running perfectly with no issues at all. Video, sound and wi-fi is all good.

Toshiba Satellite C655-S5140
Intel Core i3-380M Processor
Mobile Intel HD Graphics
4GB DDR3 memory

ddpicard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 04:49    Post subject:  

@ starhawk

As luck would have it my windows comp has an Intel i945 chip set with 4GB of RAM so I tried a few different puppies on it.

Intel G41 chip set and X-slacko-2.1 - 4GB RAM
i945 with X-slacko-2.1 - 3.36Gb RAM
i945 with Carolina-1.2 - 3.36GB RAM
i945 with slacko-5.7.0 - 3.36GB RAM

Looks like a chip set limitation. A Google search for "i945 ram limitation" confirms this.

Edit: Windows 7 64 bit on the i945, 4GB total 3.24GB usable

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 08:05    Post subject:  

@ gcmartin

At the moment I have no plans to add the full samba package, Simple File Sharing with samba-tng is easy to use and it works. One of these days I'll get around to trying it but it isn't a priority at the moment.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 09:52    Post subject:  

@ ddpicard

Glad you like it and everything works. It's always nice to get positive feedback, thanks

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 14:21    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
@ starhawk

As luck would have it my windows comp has an Intel i945 chip set with 4GB of RAM so I tried a few different puppies on it.

Intel G41 chip set and X-slacko-2.1 - 4GB RAM
i945 with X-slacko-2.1 - 3.36Gb RAM
i945 with Carolina-1.2 - 3.36GB RAM
i945 with slacko-5.7.0 - 3.36GB RAM

Looks like a chip set limitation. A Google search for "i945 ram limitation" confirms this.

Edit: Windows 7 64 bit on the i945, 4GB total 3.24GB usable


According to HP, I was wrong -- it's not an i945GM, it's an i945GT. TinyURL'd linky (rather than pasting in a paragraph-long URL) --> http://tinyurl.com/pwdfxba

The RAM limit is an odd thing to hear about -- the official datasheet for the i945 family (big PDF warning) lists the following information on page 23 (regarding the GM and GME variants specifically) --
Quote:
• Maximum Memory supported: up to 4 GB at 400, 533 and 667 MHz

...and the following, on page 27 (regarding the GT variant) --
Quote:
All features supported by the Mobile Intel 945GM/945GME Express Chipset shall be supported by the Intel 945GT Express Chipset unless otherwise noted. Additional features/differences are also listed here, if applicable.
Note: The Intel 945GT Express Chipset is targeted for use in desktop designs.

There is no entry below that for RAM.

Further, for the i945GM, Intel's ARK page lists 4GB maximum memory capacity, with 32-bit PAE compatibility. See here --> http://ark.intel.com/products/27857/Intel-82945GM-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller

Intel seems to have disowned the -GT version, I can't seem to find a reference to it anywhere on their site. Very strange...

For what it's worth, I've got a replacement heatsink and fan on my board's northbridge (the actual chip in question) since HP intended a different thermal solution from what I ended up implementing -- I don't mind pulling that heatsink briefly to get a look at exactly what chip is under it.

OTOH, look at this here (third post from top) --> https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=123711.0

That seems to support what you're reporting. I'll never use the PCI slot in this thing (well, PCI Express x16 slot, actually) so I'll take a look around the BIOS to see what I can do here.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 14:27    Post subject:  

I'm not in the mood to redo the thermal paste on the northbridge right now, but I did go into the BIOS -- very minimal config settings (thanks HP Rolling Eyes ) but I did what little I could.

No difference reported by free.

I guess I have two choices at this point -- drop down to 3gb RAM and use 2.1n, or start looking for another motherboard (which I'd like to do anyways).

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4362
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 14:55    Post subject:  

Hi @Starhawk.

Are there available RAM slots left on the MB? If so, add a bump of RAM, start the PC by entering BIOS and saving at exit, then run free command at desktop. Report.

In spite of what the manufacturers say (and they do so for some very good reasons), in many cases the RAM max published is merely a paper value. IBM/Apple in its early days was the only ones "locking" max RAM size via firmware.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2940
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 14:58    Post subject:  

I've got a 2gb stick in each of the two slots.
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 23:08    Post subject:  

Skype-4.3.0.37 with apulse and avatars working for X-slacko, should work with slacko as well.

md5: 4a6923cd0e7ba4dca79b4c4753a15ba0

http://www.smokey01.com/carolina/rg66/skype-4.3.0.37-slacko14.0-apulse.sfs

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 09:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
Skype-4.3.0.37

How about Ekiga?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 23:30    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
How about Ekiga?


It's in the repo, I only did a skype sfs because of the pulse audio issue.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 02:35    Post subject:  

Okey dokey, thanks rg.
Just wonder whether use of Skype should be discouraged in view of its ownership and all that flows from that, notably security and privacy issues, inter alia?

Bash Bug:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/09/24/bash_shell_vuln/
- where is Puppy on this one?

Last edited by Sage on Thu 25 Sep 2014, 05:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 548
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 03:23    Post subject:  

I'm not a huge fan of M$ but I need skype to keep in touch with family.

Anyway, I found a newer version of Ekiga here: http://slackware.org.uk/slacky/slackware-14.0/network/ekiga/4.0.1/ekiga-4.0.1-i486-1sl.txz

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 25 Sep 2014, 05:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
I need skype to keep in touch with family

Ah, yes! They all say that. Catch 22. Some of the alternatives may be able to connect with Skype??? But far better to educate the 'family' and wean them off Wdoze? Perhaps they'll leave you the immense cash savings in their wills?

Should've listed this addendum separately but you got in first.
Bash Bug:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/09/24/bash_shell_vuln/
- where is Puppy on this one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0971s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0198s) ][ GZIP on ]