Page 1 of 4

FatdogArm Alpha [CLOSED]

Posted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 07:35
by jamesbond
FatdogArm is a port of Fatdog64 to the ARM platform; specifically to Mele A1000. It is hand-built from scratch and thus does not depend on any upstream distribution. It runs frugal install (along with associated benefits such as sandboxing and load-sfs-on-the-fly) and has almost all of Fatdog64 boot features.

There is no documentation yet but you can use Fatdog64 documentation - and in fact if you are not familiar with Fatdog64, you should consult that documentation first.

Homepage: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/arm-index.html

Release Notes: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/arm-alpha.html

Download: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/arm/images/

How to adopt FatdogArm for other platforms.

EDIT:
Superseded by alpha2, here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88719, note that initial alpha image has been removed.

Posted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 12:07
by ally
I am adding fatdog-arm to the puppy linux channel on archive.org

http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_Fatdog_Arm

:)

Posted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 20:53
by Ted Dog
sweet! Thanks!!! Will be using this for a while.

Posted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 02:42
by Ted Dog
Ah! burger! need to change the default script.bin to boot p60

video=disp.screen0_output_mode=EDID:1280x720p60

for the Americas (at least USA, Canada and Mexico)

are they still using the FEX file,

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78576

Here are a lot of older details going to try an oldie...

Posted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 06:39
by jamesbond
Yes the kernel still use fex file, you can drop your script.bin to the first FAT partition if you want to; but there is a better way of doing it (try this first before changing the script.bin): edit uEnv.txt and change the video mode to p60. Let me know whether this works for you or whether you have to modify script.bin (in theory, it should work ...)

Note that by default I'm only reserving 8MB for the framebuffer, if you're running 1080p this may not be enough ... change that on the "extras" line too.

nice small img

Posted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 08:05
by raffy
That's a nice small img to copy to SD card, even 512 MB card will do.

My monitor is two-year-old LCD with VGA and DVI connections (HDMI cable connects to DVI), but am having no luck so far. (Perhaps the Mele is already broken?) Will try tomorrow in the office where I keep my CRT monitor.

Posted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 16:03
by Ted Dog
jamesbond wrote:Yes the kernel still use fex file, you can drop your script.bin to the first FAT partition if you want to; but there is a better way of doing it (try this first before changing the script.bin): edit uEnv.txt and change the video mode to p60. Let me know whether this works for you or whether you have to modify script.bin (in theory, it should work ...)

Note that by default I'm only reserving 8MB for the framebuffer, if you're running 1080p this may not be enough ... change that on the "extras" line too.
Tried that, it did not work. looks like the fex file is one off, ie looks like they added another line so my old fexc program does not work, will recompile the newer one and try making changes again.

Is this BeagleBoard usable with FatDogArm ?

Posted: Tue 27 Aug 2013, 03:46
by MalcolmX86
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BeagleBoard
The BeagleBoard measures approximately 75 by 75 mm and has all the functionality of a basic computer.[8] The OMAP3530 includes an ARM Cortex-A8 CPU (which can run Linux, FreeBSD,[9] OpenBSD, [10] RISC OS,[11] or Symbian; Android is also being ported[12]), a TMS320C64x+ DSP for accelerated video and audio decoding, and an Imagination Technologies PowerVR SGX530 GPU to provide accelerated 2D and 3D rendering that supports OpenGL ES 2.0. Video out is provided through separate S-Video and HDMI connections. A single SD/MMC card slot supporting SDIO, a USB On-The-Go port, an RS-232 serial connection, a JTAG connection, and two stereo 3.5 mm jacks for audio in/out are provided.

Built-in storage and memory are provided through a PoP chip that includes 256 MB of NAND flash memory and 256 MB of RAM (128 MB on earlier models).

Posted: Tue 27 Aug 2013, 05:10
by jamesbond
Ted Dog wrote:Tried that, it did not work. looks like the fex file is one off, ie looks like they added another line so my old fexc program does not work, will recompile the newer one and try making changes again.
Statically compiled fexc attached, should work in any x86 platform.
Raffy wrote:My monitor is two-year-old LCD with VGA and DVI connections (HDMI cable connects to DVI), but am having no luck so far. (Perhaps the Mele is already broken?) Will try tomorrow in the office where I keep my CRT monitor.
Ah I thought they have resolved this issue and everything can be controlled from the kernel, but apparently not. This is the display setting reference:
http://linux-sunxi.org/Fex_Guide#disp_i ... figuration.

Anyway once you booted off, there is a utility called "a10disp" which can switch output from VGA/HDMI/LCD and change the video modes too (changing the video modes work but the kernel console driver gets very confused).
In theory yes (I can boot FatdogArm on 300MB configuration, so 256MB is not that far off, and running the entire desktop only takes about 80MB), but I'm not sure how fast the
CPU is. BeagleBone would be a more comfortable target.

Of course, you need to compile your own bootloader + kernel for that. Please read the last link on the first post.

compiling

Posted: Tue 27 Aug 2013, 21:32
by mavrothal
Tried to compile few things needed for ARMedXO (:shock: :lol:) and I have some issues.
The xobattery monitor that I usually compile with the simple

Code: Select all

gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` 
in the x86 versions, fails because can not find xproto.pc (indeed does not exit) and gtk/gtk.h though is there. Any issues with the linker library?
I also need ethtool and evtest fro proper power management and they fail. Ethtool because aclocal is missing and evtest because of autoreconf.
Two (more) questions, are you using sources from a specific distro (ie debian) or whatever latest is available from the developer(s)?
Are you using a standard set of "config" arguments, whatever the developer proposes or is a case by case approach?
Best

a1000

Posted: Tue 27 Aug 2013, 22:37
by raffy
Alas, my Mele A1000 looks bricked. It will take some time for the cubieboard or new Mele to arrive, two weeks at most.

Posted: Wed 28 Aug 2013, 06:57
by jamesbond
mavrothal wrote:Tried to compile few things needed for ARMedXO (:shock: :lol:) and I have some issues.
The xobattery monitor that I usually compile with the simple

Code: Select all

gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` 
in the x86 versions, fails because can not find xproto.pc (indeed does not exit) and gtk/gtk.h though is there. Any issues with the linker library?
All the "X protocolor header" files (xproto, damageproto, etc) are removed to reduce size; you can install all of them back like this:

Code: Select all

slapt-get --available | sed '/proto-/!d; s/ .*//' | xargs slapt-get -i --no-dep

I also tried to build a simple gtk program (technosaurus' sdesk from here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 677#714677 with this:

Code: Select all

gcc -o sdesk $(pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0) sdesk.c
and it worked.

Are you still running the pre-alpha? That copy has missing static libraries in it which is required for compiling (I was too agressive in trying to cut down the size).
I also need ethtool and evtest fro proper power management and they fail. Ethtool because aclocal is missing and evtest because of autoreconf.
Autoconf, automake, m4, flex and bison is in the repository, you need to install them first --- again done to reduce the size. That being said, I'll probably build these too and push it to the repository (I still owe you the dhcpcd).
Two (more) questions, are you using sources from a specific distro (ie debian) or whatever latest is available from the developer(s)?
I'm using the latest as noted by BLFS (Beyond Linux From Scratch) if it's there, along with their patches if any (BLFS is a moving target and they change frequently). If BLFS doesn't have it, I use the latest release from the developers; if the latest release is too old I'm using debian patches. I will upload all my sources soon.
Are you using a standard set of "config" arguments, whatever the developer proposes or is a case by case approach?
The developer usually don't propose anything; so it's case by case basis most of the time, although usually it's not more complicated than

Code: Select all

./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --disable-static
.
See http://jamesbond3142.no-ip.org/wiki/wik ... plications.
raffy wrote:Alas, my Mele A1000 looks bricked. It will take some time for the cubieboard or new Mele to arrive, two weeks at most.
Cubieboard will require a different script.bin; Cubieboard2 (A20-based) will require different u-boot, kernel, kernel-modules, and script.bin. So far I don't see support for A20 in linux-sunxi kernel (there isn't any sun7i_defconfig), but I may be mistaken. There is u-boot support for A20 --- for cubieboard2 at least. Not sure about the Mele, it depends on the version you've got. I think the hard part is to get script.bin if you don't already have it.

EDIT: ethtool, evtest and dhcpcd is now in the repository.

Posted: Wed 28 Aug 2013, 10:07
by 01micko
Ok, so I have qemu up and running.. little help getting it to boot fatdog-arm? (Could be to the project's benefit in the long run :wink: )

Posted: Wed 28 Aug 2013, 11:11
by mavrothal
01micko wrote:Ok, so I have qemu up and running.. little help getting it to boot fatdog-arm? (Could be to the project's benefit in the long run :wink: )
I was wondering where you are Mick ... :lol:
You must build a kernel that will run on ARM qemu (like here) and then use this kernel to modify the uInitrd and uImage of fd-arm.img (like here or better yet here). The resulting image should boot fd-arm on qemu.

a noob comment

Posted: Wed 28 Aug 2013, 11:14
by nancy reagan
QUOTE from 007
Cubieboard will require a different script.bin; Cubieboard2 (A20-based) will require different u-boot, kernel, kernel-modules, and script.bin. So far I don't see support for A20 in linux-sunxi kernel (there isn't any sun7i_defconfig), but I may be mistaken. There is u-boot support for A20 --- for cubieboard2 at least. Not sure about the Mele, it depends on the version you've got. I think the hard part is to get script.bin if you don't already have it.


Though I hardly understand 1/100th what you tweakers are talking about, I might have some information referring to 007's quote.

Hans de Goede (dutch name, like mine) made a Fedora remix for a10/a20 several boards (amongst which cb2 mele A100's etc.; what struck me that I see little talk about his work )

http://www.cnx-software.com/2013/07/22/ ... -a20-socs/

Forinti, end of post below, stated he got mali running on his cubieboard2.

http://www.cubieforums.com/index.php/topic,520.0.html

Nancy herself ordered a

http://dx.com/p/jesurun-a19-dual-core-a ... -av-215515

because she thought she could run linux on it right from the start ... not

Recently, through a typo, I bumped upon an Italian page where I read that the Fedora would run on the Jesurun a19

Yesterday I finally managed to copy an image, choosing CB2 (?? hoping to being almost identical to mine), and, of all wonders, off she went ...

Not quite ran through the whole process yet, but there -is- linux life.

Hope this helps, we are related tweakers, non-tweakers.

Posted: Wed 28 Aug 2013, 13:30
by mavrothal
jamesbond wrote: All the "X protocolor header" files (xproto, damageproto, etc) are removed to reduce size; you can install all of them back like this:

Code: Select all

slapt-get --available | sed '/proto-/!d; s/ .*//' | xargs slapt-get -i --no-dep
< snip>
Are you still running the pre-alpha?
<snip>
Autoconf, automake, m4, flex and bison is in the repository
<snip>
EDIT: ethtool, evtest and dhcpcd is now in the repository.
OK... :D
I have wifi (though the applet shows it as disconnected-picture), the battery monitor compiled fine with the hearders (and the same command), I almost have PM now (still missing ifplugstatus - not in the repo :wink: ), if I also tame the clock and had battery :o it would be good :wink:

Later: Tamed the clock.
In rc.sysinit replace with "hwclock --systohc --noadjfile --utc"
BTW there is no timezone setup utility

Posted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 09:48
by jamesbond
01micko wrote:Ok, so I have qemu up and running.. little help getting it to boot fatdog-arm? (Could be to the project's benefit in the long run :wink: )
Yes, of course. Here you go Mick, ready to run, just need to add water (oops ... I mean, qemu).
nancy reagan wrote:Hans de Goede (dutch name, like mine) made a Fedora remix for a10/a20 several boards (amongst which cb2 mele A100's etc.; what struck me that I see little talk about his work ) http://www.cnx-software.com/2013/07/22/ ... -a20-socs/
Ah at least he is well supported by RedHat!
Forinti, end of post below, stated he got mali running on his cubieboard2.
http://www.cubieforums.com/index.php/topic,520.0.html
Good progress !
Nancy herself ordered a

http://dx.com/p/jesurun-a19-dual-core-a ... -av-215515

because she thought she could run linux on it right from the start ... not
As is the case for all new devices, we have to wait a while before Linux goes to support it. But you can rest assured that once supported, Linux will run very well on it :)
The specs looks similar to Mele M5 that one can find at Cubieshop (at similar price too).
Recently, through a typo, I bumped upon an Italian page where I read that the Fedora would run on the Jesurun a19

Yesterday I finally managed to copy an image, choosing CB2 (?? hoping to being almost identical to mine), and, of all wonders, off she went ...
Yes it is quite similar, and I'm glad that it actually means there is kernel for sun7i (A20).

-----

Mav, congrats!
I don't know why the --noadjfile fix it - it shouldn't matter. But if works, then it's all the better. Anyway I'll see where I can find ifplugstatus (I think it is part of net-tools or something). Can't you emulate its function by using ethtool?
BTW there is no timezone setup utility
You will need to look a little harder (see attachment) :)
Now I'm not sure it works, but it is definitely there :)

cheers!

Posted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 11:40
by 01micko
Posting from Fatdog-Arm in qemu now :)

Only problem with the brilliant HOWTO is probably a local one, (I hope not PEBKAC) :P

In woof built pups losetup is losetup-FULL, yeah how BK designed it, he has his reasons. That isn't the issue though. In GParted or with mke2fs I get an error that /dev/loop4p2 (the extra partition made) isn't found. Anyway, it's sitting there as unpartitioned space and I'll see if FD-A will allow me to make a save file there. It wont allow me to extend the FAT partition either.

Other than that, network was easy as too sound 8)

Cheers!

Posted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 12:34
by mavrothal
jamesbond wrote: I don't know why the --noadjfile fix it - it shouldn't matter. But if works, then it's all the better. Anyway I'll see where I can find ifplugstatus (I think it is part of net-tools or something). Can't you emulate its function by using ethtool?
noadjfile is more of a precaution in case /dev/rtc is not ready.
The crustal part is changing hctosys to systohc (XO has both rtc and rtc battery :wink: )
ifplugstatus is used bothe by net-setup.sh and PM utilities to check the status of the connection. Mayby that is why the network monitor shows always as disconnected, too.
jamesbond wrote:
BTW there is no timezone setup utility
You will need to look a little harder (see attachment) :)
Now I'm not sure it works, but it is definitely there :)
:oops:
(my only defense is that I was looking for a clock-related icon)

Posted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 12:53
by 01micko
Ever the tweaker I looked for a quick and dirty way to solve my qemu problem (never mind that I probably could have fixed it from within FatdogArm itself :roll: .. legacy of too much windows server and java... just completed major assignments).

So... I created a file inside the dir where all my FatdogArm files are (re the HOWTO on jamesbond's wiki)..

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=fatdog.ext4 bs=1024 count=262144
Then I created an ext4 filesystem...

Code: Select all

mkfs.ext4 -q -m 0 -F fatdog.ext4
Then I concatenated that file to the image ( :shock: )..

Code: Select all

cat fatdog.ext4 >> fatdog-arm-alpha.img
Then I did a sanity check with gparted and the relevant commands (to do with losetup-FULL).. looked ok.

Then I booted, set up network and sound, and saved.. hooray! At shut down fatdog saw the mmblck2 and decided it was ok that I could make a (256M) savefile there and the rest went like clock work.

On reboot, sound worked fine but network needed restarting, a script will easy fix that.

Once again thanks Mr Bond.

Cheers