Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 12:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 06:37    Post subject:  

Thanks James, found that bug. Noted for future reference.

-


I compiled mplayer from today. I think I know what was wrong with the old one now. I enabled "--enable-runtimecpudetect" and that seems to let run on my fast box and a slow box. At one point that was automatic, but I think that was a bug so they reverted it, don't quote me on that though!

grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet

As for gnome-mplayer, yeah I know mine is 1.0.8b but in the changelog from that to stable was only 1 relevant detail to do with music playlists, wasn't worth my effort. I have been in contact with Kevin DeCorte since the Lucid days so I know it well.
As for later versions, well they don't build as they need automake-1.13 and we are at 1.11. I am not updating that as it will likely affect too much. If I find the energy to build against Slackware-14.1 (coming soon) then that will be taken care of. With this new mplayer compile and Xine as a choice, most people should be able to run dvds. watchdog's find could be a cause as well,

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8546
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 07:23    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet

I tested this on my old Athlon box with Slacko-5.6-PAE. Now Peasy DVD Player works correctly. Previously, it only worked with 5.6-NON-PAE.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5429
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 18:58    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet


Working well on the Athlon XP box. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 03:53    Post subject:  

Copying a frugal install from an ext4 partition to a netbook's ntfs partition it keeps "Updating the layered filesystem... The next boot will be faster" at every reboot and at shutdown there are inode errors of my ext2 lightencrypted slackosave. Removing fsckme.flg does not solve the problem and it is recreated every time.

EDIT: copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot. But as I use the copied slackosave it gets inode errors at shutdown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4609
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  

watchdog

One thing that can cause problems with putting Puppy on an NTFS formatted partition.
Was the partition De-fraged before doing the install?
Also, a save file made on one computer, may have problems on another computer, because the save file contains settings specific to the computer it was made on.
Quote:
copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot

All SFS files need to be placed in mnt/home to load properly. That should be directory of the frugal install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 22:31    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I copied my backup savefile to another Slacko non-pae install that's
on a 32GB SDHC card then plugged it into my hp desktop.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 1 Sep 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.4.52 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller (rev 09)
oem: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product:Intel(R)Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Controller Hardware Version0.0
X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 MHz

I'm also running Lighthouse 602b2 from another SDHC card on this pc
and I can use zarfy to setup to use 2 monitors, I think this comes
from the slackware 64bit repository but it's not available in ppm.
I'll have to see if I can track down the source code for zarfy and try
to compile it.
Anyway, Slacko is working fine otherwise on this pc, right now I have
the same screen on both monitors.

@01micko,are you able to find/compile zarfy for Slacko56-non-pae?

EDIT:I found the zarfy source code but failed miserably compiling it, could you compile it if you have time?

EDIT:I found the SlackBuild for zarfy and used that, I'll attach it to this message in case you want to use it and make a pet of zarfy.

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

EDIT: screenshot2 shows my desktop using zarfy, tas is broken now but pupsnap works fine.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.62 KB
 Viewed   747 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.22 KB
 Viewed   821 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

zarfy.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  zarfy.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.29 KB 
Downloaded  131 Time(s) 
zarfy-0.1.0.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  zarfy-0.1.0.tar.bz2 
Filesize  119.72 KB 
Downloaded  128 Time(s) 
Slacko56screenX2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.17 KB
 Viewed   824 Time(s)

Slacko56screenX2.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 02 Sep 2013, 09:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1272
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 02:45    Post subject:  

Hi Billtoo

There is a pet from 2009 of zarfy-0.1.0 (same version?) from Jemimah here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47603

I am interested to know if it works as I was having problems connecting an external monitor to a laptop running Slacko5.6 at work yesterday.

The problem was that the external monitor showed the bootup sequence OK to the point where different drivers seem to switch in when the monitor goes black and then a "no signal" message appears.

The annoying part is that the laptop also has XP on its disk and this works fine with the external monitor.

I've tried grandr and lxrandr and neither kick the monitor into life.

The laptop has radeon graphics - I'm not at work today but will add further details tomorrow if needed.

I only want the monitor to mirror the laptop display (to display an "advertising slideshow" in LibreOffice Impress).

Any pointers as to what I might need to do to get the external monitor working with Slacko please?

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 429

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 05:13    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
Copying a frugal install from an ext4 partition to a netbook's ntfs partition it keeps "Updating the layered filesystem... The next boot will be faster" at every reboot and at shutdown there are inode errors of my ext2 lightencrypted slackosave. Removing fsckme.flg does not solve the problem and it is recreated every time.

EDIT: copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot. But as I use the copied slackosave it gets inode errors at shutdown.


Thanks bigpup. I have solved the problem of inode errors by copying the /lib/libntfs-3g.so.79.0.0 from wary and using it in slacko. Thanks to rcrsn51 who first wrote about this trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 08:59    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi Billtoo
Any pointers as to what I might need to do to get the external monitor working with Slacko please?
Thanks
peebee


Hi peebee,
On this pc without zarfy both monitors show the same screen.
When I bootup now I run zarfy and apply the settings, then I have the extended desktop.
I have Slacko 5.6 on a netbook and a laptop and both have an
external monitor connected to them.
I installed the proprietary ati driver on both and entered amdcccle in
the terminal, from there I was able to configure both screens, each
has the proper resolution for that screen.
The netbook has HD4200 and the laptop has HD5400 graphics so they are
both still supported by amd, if your laptop has XP on it then it'd be
in the legacy group I guess and the newer proprietary drivers don't
support legacy cards,maybe you could get the legacy driver to compile.
netbook1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.97 KB
 Viewed   1805 Time(s)

netbook1.jpg

netbook2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.52 KB
 Viewed   1834 Time(s)

netbook2.jpg

zarfyscreen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.84 KB
 Viewed   1917 Time(s)

zarfyscreen.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 02 Sep 2013, 22:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
haitek


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 12:37    Post subject: feedback  

Thanx heeps 01micko. I bought some new hardware and couldn't install an OS until I popped in a Slacko 5.6 CD, then it just happened. Must be destiny. I now have a screamingly fast puppy box which works a treat. The PAE recognises my 32Gb rAM, the nvidia driver recognises the nvidia GT630 with its 4Gb VRAM. Slacko installed on the SSD with no problems. Everything is good. Thanks again. SLACKO ROCKS! Very kewl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4609
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 13:45    Post subject:  

haitek,

Wondering how long it takes to boot Slacko with that computer setup?
Talk about overkill system for Puppy! Shocked Laughing
Puppy might use 1GB of memory if you had everything running at the same time.
Good to know it works on a computer with those specs.
Make sure to run the "Video Upgrade Wizard" and use the Nvidia drivers for that GT 630 card.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eldon

Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Wed 04 Sep 2013, 04:28    Post subject:    

As always, this seems to be an improvement over the last version, however I'm experiencing a problem and I'm not entirely sure if it's my hardware or what. It's been happening since 5.4 or maybe before that (I think it wasn't a problem with 5.1), but there was quite a while that this was not occurring with pretty much the same apps and the exact same hardware.

It seems to be a random (and somewhat frequent) kernel panic. It doesn't always say that, but sometimes it does. Sometimes it goes to the "text console" and I can hit xwin to go back, and other times it's completely frozen with (error?) codes/events on a black screen.

And it seems to perhaps, not be unique to me, or Puppy/Slacko.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1157715

^ A few users of Arch posted this a year ago, implicating the 3.4 kernel itself or a problem with btusb:
"I got a kernel panic about two weeks ago, and then again about an hour ago...
I have no clue how to address the problem, it seems these errors are completely sporadic, and I can't think of anything in common between their circumstances.

Honestly, it's just encouraging to see that it's not just me. I hope this isn't a huge problem with the Linux Kernel... Torvalds would be pissed.

EDIT: IRQPoll was not a solution for me, and I'm on linux 3.5.3-1, so the 3.5 update doesn't appear to offer all the salvation after all."

And then another guy replied:

"I've had the same problem and blacklisting btusb solved it for me."

So this may be unique to btusb and the 3.4(+?) kernel. I've got the slackware packages etc. installed so that I can use my (usb) Bluetooth keyboard so I think that may in fact be the issue (especially considering that the post is a year old and they haven't come back with an update that says "Still crashes with btusb blacklisted"). Of course, it could be something completely different, like my USB flash drive it's booting from, going bad or something like that I guess.

I don't know if I should go back to a version of Slacko with a earlier kernel or what, but I hope that this can be (easily) resolved somehow. I guess I should try an earlier version and see if this happens. If it does, then I'll try another flash drive and hope that fixes it.

So if anybody has usb bluetooth set up with a recent version of Slacko and you get the "black screen of death" Shocked - it's not just you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 607
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 03:06    Post subject: sporadic freezes to a b&w text screen (mostly)  

G'day Eldon,

My 2-year old desktop has been suffering a similar infrequent and unpredictable freeze with more recent kernels (for about 6 months?). This has happened with Fulls and Frugals, with Slackos, Precises, Rarings.

I can't make it happen, but subjectively, it may occur more often when I'm running a large program (e.g. Libre Office, Seamonkey) and hardly ever when I'm doing nothing.

I have tried a different RAM stick but eventually I got a freeze, so I'm thinking its the motherboard/CPU.

I can't verify your btusb blacklisting immediately as a fix to a kernel bug but will see if it does seem to work if I can find it in various Pups - Upup Raring-3.9.9.2 (using this at the moment) doesn't list it under the Boot Manager Blacklist option.

Please post any other reports of this annoying behaviour you come across - I still fear it's a hardware problem.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eldon

Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 16:32    Post subject:  

Well David, thanks for the report. Here's my update.

I switched to different usb drive, and plugged it into the port(I did have them on a cable because the ports are on the back) and used Slacko 5.4 which has an earlier 3.2 kernel as I had it on the drive already with save file. I installed a few of my apps that weren't on it (No Blank Screen, Savefileconfig) and just now it crashed to the console while I had firefox open (blank/home page I think) and was watching a shoutcastTV stream with VLC (which is very easy on system resources). The stream kept playing though and the system didn't freeze or crash entirely so I was able to hit ctrl+alt+del and type xwin to get x restarted. (Edit: It's been 12hrs or so, with Slacko 5.4 running and it did this again just now- but still no hard crash yet.)

So, I'm afraid it may be some sort of hardware issue/conflict. But I haven't yet experienced the full kernel panic crash that requires a hard reset so maybe this is a different problem (but the console output is similar in both cases).

I thought it might be faulty RAM (I have (2)x256MB of ram) but if you are experiencing a similar problem after you changed RAM then maybe it's not that either. Did you completely swap your RAM, or were you referring to your USB drive?


So, if it's not the RAM, not the kernel, (not related to my having bluetooth on it), and not the USB drive going bad, then... Question
It's been happening for about 6mo. for me as well so that suggests it's puppy; but the fact that other puppies did that suggests otherwise. It's also possible that my problem is with newer Slacko versions, while yours is a different, hardware problem..

Maybe it was 5.1 that didn't do that. I know that for the longest time I didn't have this problem so maybe it's still Slacko. But maybe it is some motherboard issue- which would suck because that means it's possibly a prelude to a more permanent system failure. The sporadic nature tends to support that idea. But at least I only gave $50 for this PC and got a couple of years of use out of it Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 07:41    Post subject:  

The base Slacko seems as good as always. Very Happy

I am trying to install Openshot.
Which I had running on the previous Slacko.
Updated graphic - done.
Python via 'Devx SFS' loaded - done.
XFCE - not done? Not sure how best to get running. I found it, installed it and 'xwin startxfce4' does not seem to run it?

Other than that everything running good . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 07 Sep 2013, 22:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1168s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]