Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 17:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 21:31    Post subject: Re: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Subject description: released August 13, 2013
 

Did some PAE tests with Slacko 5.6 today.
System boots well on my system and ran smoothly (it better had, lol).

I can confirm that with PAE I was able to access my entire 32gb ram. It was however significantly slower than on x86_64, but that's to be expected. Otherwise it ran well.

One thing I noticed, it only sees 8 of my 24 cores. I'm assuming that the kernel is limited to that? Honestly, there's no point for more on a 32bit system, but I figured it was worth asking.

System runs well, I think it's what going to be installed on my netbook this weekend. Smile
Thanks for another great release!

HardInfo = http://q5sys.info/pae/memtests/hardinfo_report.html

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 22:27    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I did a manual frugal install of Slacko 5.6 non-pae to the hard drive
of a Gateway desktop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 22 Aug 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.4.52 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:nVidia Corporation GF108 [GeForceGT430](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 325.15
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: @2592 1: @2592 2: @2592 3: @2592 MHz

I customized it a little by removing ffmpeg with remove builtin
packages utility and then installed an older version + VLC-2.0.8 which
I compiled in Slacko 5.5.
Movie DVD's play well with GnomeMplayer,Xine,and VLC.
Tas still works too.
Linksys WUSB54GC 802.11g Adapter [ralink rt73]
Memory 3633MB (232MB used)
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   57.29 KB
 Viewed   1151 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 862
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 10:51    Post subject:  

my main machine (lenovo T500) failed to play the DVD in question using slacko 5.3.3, slacko 5.6, precise 5.7.1 (+ retro), fatdog64-621 and lina 7

so looks like a iffy drive on this machine, however, slacko 5.6 wouldn't play on an IBM T21 where an installed precise 5.7.1 retro did (same disc)

will have a go on other machines when I get a moment and report my finding

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5374
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 11:59    Post subject:  

ally wrote:

slacko 5.6 wouldn't play on an IBM T21 where an installed precise 5.7.1 retro did (same disc)
Smile

Did you try the Slacko 5.6 nonPAE version on this computer?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 12:39    Post subject:  

Had a task to perform, so the first recent version of Puppy I reached for was Slacko 5.3.1. Couldn't get to desktop because of video driver issue. Found a copy of Slacko 5.4, same thing. This attempt included manual uninstall of Nvidia Noveu / install of NV driver, which failed. Burned a copy of Slacko 5.6 PAE, and had problems, finally resolved with some sort of modesetting driver. Finally made it to desktop, but probably with hobbled video capability. From what I read in this thread, I should probably be using NON-PAE. Noticed Gnome mplayer in the menu tree, so tried a command with mencoder, not found. So I searched for mencoder with PPM, not there in any repo. Searched for mplayer, too confusing. This is a very standard Dell Dimension 3100 2.8 GHz w HT 2GB ram desktop using onboard Intel 82915 G/GV/910GL Integrated graphics controller. I probably won't use Slacko with any regularity if I can't install VLC.

Thanks, bigpup, that worked, but only exactly as was recommended:
Code:
puppy pfix=ram i915.modesetting=0
I first tried the custom boot without pfix=ram, and it didn't boot. Maybe I'll drop back to version 5.5, especially if someone got VLC to work, cuz Gnome Mplayer is not playing much in 5.6 PAE.
Last edited by nubc on Fri 23 Aug 2013, 18:49; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5374
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 13:10    Post subject:  

nubc,

There is info in the release notes that may deal with your problems.
http://slacko.01micko.com/notes.html

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 14:34    Post subject:  

I have an IBM P4 3.0 GHz box that I assumed would be i686-compatible. When running Slacko 5.6 PAE, neither Gnome-MPlayer nor MPlayer could play a DVD movie.

However, everything worked with Slacko 5.6 non-PAE.

As a test, I took /usr/bin/mplayer from non-PAE and dropped it into PAE. Peasy DVD Player worked fine, as did other MPlayer functions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 15:05    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I'm using a newer version of xine than what's in the Slacko repository but I find that xine works very well in 5.6 non-pae.
Screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.83 KB
 Viewed   942 Time(s)

Screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
6502coder

Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 15:20    Post subject:  

LiveCD test of Slacko 5.6 non-PAE on my HP/Compaq Presario 2200 laptop
1.3Ghz Celeron M (non-PAE) 1 GB ram 1.GB swap

Ran Firefox over wired connection, tested FLV and MP4 vids, MP3 music, and a DVD. The only problem I noticed was that video brightness and saturation were wacky until I changed Gnome MPlayer's "video output" setting to "gl", then everything was fine. (Slacko 5.5 had this same problem).

Nice job, micko! I'm currently running Precise 5.4.93 on this machine, but this might tempt me to make the switch to Slacko.

One rather obscure technical issue: I use microEmacs 4.00 as my programming editor. It depends on libtermcap.so.2. On my Wary and Precise Puppy systems, this library isn't standard issue, but creating a symlink to libncurses.so solves the problem. In Slacko, libtermcap.so.2 *is* standard issue, but microEmacs fails, complaining that it can't open the termcap file. (I had noticed this problem in Slack 5.5 too.)

In Slacko 5.6, libtermcap.so.2 is a symlink to libtermcap.so.2.0.8. Borrowing the trick I use on Wary and Precise Puppy, I changed the symlink to point to libncurses.so instead -- and bingo, microEmacs works.

Of course this isn't acceptable as a permanent fix, since it might break other stuff that depends on the OOTB symlink. If I decide to install Slacko 5.6 permanently, I plan to create the symlink that microEmacs needs and put it in my personal lib directory, then use a shell script to run microEmacs with a customized LD_LIBRARY_PATH so that my symlink gets picked up instead of the standard symlink.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 16:08    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I have an IBM P4 3.0 GHz box that I assumed would be i686-compatible. When running Slacko 5.6 PAE, neither Gnome-MPlayer nor MPlayer could play a DVD movie.


Interesting. I'll give that a shot on work's Dell Optiplex GX270s (yes, really). Three have 3.0GHz single-core P4 with Hyperthreading and 1GB RAM, One has a 2.1 (IIRC) GHz CPU. Will report back on Tuesday if I have time to test them.

Q5sys's machine has more CPU cores and RAM than all of the machines I am maintaining at work combined! Please tell me it's doing something hardcore!

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1073

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 22:28    Post subject:  

Jades wrote:
Q5sys's machine has more CPU cores and RAM than all of the machines I am maintaining at work combined! Please tell me it's doing something hardcore!


It runs 4 to 5 VMs 24 hours a day on top of my normal daily activities.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 862
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 23:44    Post subject:  

@bigpup

5.6-non-pae did not work with the (same) disc, more to follow.......

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 24 Aug 2013, 05:21    Post subject:  

Re: "Machine check error".
mobo=Asrock H61M-S with 4MB of RAM.

1.I'm getting this warning...
Aparently at random...
When attempting to boot a CD-RW of "Slacko-5.5.91" [is this PAE or not?]...
I've previously edited to "isolinux.cfg->pmedia=ataflash", from pmedia=cd.
It goes into a cyclic reboot attempt that never succeeds, but instead gives the above warning.

2. I normally then go into the BIOS Setup...
[No BIOS changes saved]
Swap in a CD-RW of "Precise-5.6.1-ataflash", which boots OK.
Then when I go back to attempting to boot "Slacko-5.5.91-ataflash", the attempt succeeds.

Any ideas? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 24 Aug 2013, 11:10    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

Manual frugal install to 16gb SDHC card, computer is an Acer Aspire
One netbook (11.6" screen) connected to an external lcd monitor with a
vga cable.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 24 Aug 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.4.52 i686
5.0 VGA compatible controller:
ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 2464x902 pixels (651x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context
AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: @1695 MHz
Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
Working well so far.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.89 KB
 Viewed   740 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat 24 Aug 2013, 14:29    Post subject:  

So glad to see Puppy growing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1006s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]