Page 8 of 9

Posted: Sun 27 Oct 2013, 06:35
by MochiMoppel
bigpup wrote:Have you installed Slacko?
If you mean by "installed" a full install: no. Frugal with boot parameters pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram.

The Package Manager problem is solved. Refuses to start when it can't find /usr/local/petget/ui_Ziggy. My standard startup script (created for Precise) renamed it to /usr/local/petget/ui_Classic so I can use Ziggy instead of Classic, but obviously that was not a good idea. Sorry for the confusion :oops:

Posted: Sun 27 Oct 2013, 12:22
by rcrsn51
MochiMoppel wrote:
bigpup wrote:Have you installed Slacko?
If you mean by "installed" a full install: no. Frugal with boot parameters pmedia=usbflash pfix=ram.
When I select menu Setup > Sfs manager dowload and install sfs files: "You must install Puppy before using this tool". Hmm... leaves me scratching my head.
Because you are using "pfix=ram", you never have a savefile in play. It looks like the SFS Manager requires a savefile.

Posted: Sun 27 Oct 2013, 14:12
by MochiMoppel
rcrsn51 wrote:Because you are using "pfix=ram", you never have a savefile in play. It looks like the SFS Manager requires a savefile.
No, it doesn't and if it would, it should say so. The message is sheer nonsense.

The SFS Manager shows this message if a user runs PUPMODE 5 (=from a flash drive and without a savefile) and then exits the script:

Code: Select all

[ "$PUPMODE" = "5" ] && gtkdialog-splash \
                        -timeout 5 \
                        -bg hotpink \
                        -icon gtk-dialog-error \
                        -text \
                        "$(gettext "You must install Puppy before using this tool")" \
                        && exit
Here comes the funny part. In the following case statement it checks for PUPMODE 5 and assigns DDIR (the download directory for the sfs packages) to /:

Code: Select all

case $PUPMODE in
	12|13)DDIR=/initrd/mnt/dev_save ;;
	2|3|5|6|77)DDIR=/ ;;
	*)DDIR=/tmp ;;
esac
Exactly the same case statement is repeated in the install_sfs() function, i.e at a time when the DDIR variable is already defined. It doesn't need a second declaration. Not a problem, but not nice either. Also not nice: the default download directory. Why to the root level where I wouldn't expect to find any downloaded files? /tmp seems to be a better place.

When I comment out [ "$PUPMODE" = "5" ] the SFS Manager works as expected: It offers a list of SFS packages for download, and after downloading to the root level of the flash disk it opens sfs_load so that I can install the package on-the-fly. Perfect.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 02:37
by bigpup
Some of this is to keep people with very low ram from trying to use SFS files before they have a place to put the file. Some of the SFS files are very large.
A frugal install with a save file provides that room.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 03:00
by MochiMoppel
bigpup wrote:Some of this is to keep people with very low ram from trying to use SFS files before they have a place to put the file. Some of the SFS files are very large.
A frugal install with a save file provides that room.
Firstly: I have enough RAM, but it still keeps me from downloading. And what does this have to do with RAM anyway? The script downloads the files (the user can see how large they are) to the installation drive. If the drive of a user cannot accomodate a 200MB download, then the user shouldn't download. No need for a savefile here and (at least at this point) no need for RAM. SFS Manager runs sfs_load (SFS Loan on-the-fly), a script that enables SFS files to load without the need of a savefile. I admit that I can't understand your reasoning.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 03:19
by bigpup
Look here for how Puppy works
You may not understand the difference between Pupmodes.
http://puppylinux.com/development/howpuppyworks.html

You may have found some need for tweaking the code for this program.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 03:44
by MochiMoppel
bigpup wrote:You may not understand the difference between Pupmodes.
:lol: nice try...

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 03:49
by bigpup
The script downloads the files (the user can see how large they are) to the installation drive
Pupmode 5 could be while running from a live CD. No way to download to it.

Pupmode 5 everything is in ram.

How does the program know you have enough ram?
Pupmode 5 says there is a good chance you do not.

A lot of people still have computers with 256MB-512MB of ram.

In Puppy land SFS files are big.

100MB is a big file for Puppy.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 04:29
by bigpup
sfs_load (SFS Loan on-the-fly), a script that enables SFS files to load without the need of a savefile
Because you normally put the SFS files in /mnt/home which is outside of the save file.
/mnt/home is the top layer of the partition the frugal install is on.
As you say, root level of the flash disk.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 06:34
by MochiMoppel
bigpup wrote:Pupmode 5 could be while running from a live CD. No way to download to it.
Agreed, but the script wouldn't try that anyway, so no conflict here.
Pupmode 5 everything is in ram.
...and the downloads as well would go to RAM
How does the program know you have enough ram?
The little applet in the tray shows the amount of personal storage and free space so there are ways to figure that out. But even then: Why does the script shuts down before even knowing how big or small the file will be and if the - not yet selected - file will fit into space or not?
Pupmode 5 says there is a good chance you do not.
Pupmode 5 doesn't say anything about my installed or available RAM. Any speculation about the probability is meaningless.
/mnt/home is the top layer of the partition the frugal install is on.
As you say, root level of the flash disk.
Well, what I said was rubbish :oops: . The script doesn't download to "root level of the flash disk", it downloads to /, which is the root level of the filesystem, RAM that is. That is good enough to load the sfs and for anyone who does not need or has no means to permanently save the file in /mnt/home. But the sfs_load takes care of that too: The script urges the user to permanently save the file and proposes locations.

As I said before: The program runs fine once I remove the unnecessary show-stopper for pupmode 5. If the author is worried about RAM challenged users he could include a warning (an understandable one, not the present), but otherwise let the program continue.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 11:57
by bigpup
All programs could probably use a little tweaking.
Tweak away and post your version to the forum.
May turn into the new version for that program.

Posted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 12:33
by MochiMoppel
bigpup wrote:Tweak away and post your version to the forum.
I'm still in exploration mode :lol: , not much to tweak yet.

New problem: When I try to run a script from Geany with F5 it doesn't work. Was no problem in Precise.
As a workaround I changed back to Geany 0.19.1, copied from Precise, with command /usr/bin/xterm -e bash -c in Preferences > Tools > Terminal. But what would be the correct command in Slacko's Geany 1.23.1?

I found a description of the same problem in How to make Geany execute command (F5 key) to work, but unfortunately no solution :cry:

Edit:
I guess I found the solution. Posted to above thread :D

Unable to use files whose names contain special characters

Posted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 21:36
by Wilhelm
Files and directories whose names contain special characters (ß, ô, ö, etc.) can be opened, but you can't save changes to them.

Regards,

Posted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 22:12
by 01micko
No problem here:

Code: Select all

# mkdir -p ßôö
# echo hello > ßôö/hello.txt
# echo hello > ßôö/ßôö.txt
# cat ßôö/ßôö.txt
hello
goodbye
I edited ßôö/ßôö.txt with geany just fine :?

Did you get a good download?

Posted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 10:55
by rufwoof
In this posting http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 181#756181 Wilhelm has noted that AbiWord in Slacko 5.6 is a unstable version (2.9.4) The latest stable version being 2.8.6 http://www.abisource.com/

From Menu, Wizard Wizard (PupControl) I see that you can uninstall original programs (Install, Remove Builtin) such as abiword 2.9.4.

After doing that how do I install abiword 2.8.6 (stable) ?

TIA

Posted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 15:20
by watchdog
rufwoof wrote: After doing that how do I install abiword 2.8.6 (stable) ?
Try to download this from slackware 14 (slacko's libs are compatible with slackware 14.0):

http://repository.slacky.eu/slackware-1 ... 86-9sl.txz

To install just click on the package. Perhaps you'll have to change the desktop file in /usr/share/applications. I suggest to backup before trying. If you have a frugal install copy your savefile with another name and try.

Edit: I have tried it. It works but you need a symlink, too:

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/lib/libwv-1.2.so.4.0.1 /usr/lib/libwv-1.2.so.3
No need to change the desktop file.

Posted: Fri 28 Feb 2014, 16:01
by rufwoof
THX

Tried it and it failed with

error loading shares libraries: libqconf-2.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

Rolled back to a saved savefile. I'll just use OpenOffice Writer that I've SFS'd in.

Posted: Sun 02 Mar 2014, 14:30
by rufwoof
Discovered the abiword instability for myself today.

Wrote a page or so, pasted in some images and moved them around. Went to save and it completely locked up the system. Directory name was filled with square (extended) characters. 100% CPU, had to reboot.

Another bug that I'm occasionally experiencing is with the right (up/down) scroll bar. Sometimes the moveable 'block' stays where it is whilst the page scrolls, such that when you come to scroll again the block is in the wrong place. That might be a firefox thing as I've not seen that occur elsewhere.

Posted: Sun 02 Mar 2014, 15:47
by Semme
This one might be too new, in which case, this one. Paul likes to keep his libs current.

Posted: Mon 03 Mar 2014, 06:54
by rufwoof
Thanks.

Leaving the original (2.9) installed and installing the second of those two likes in the previous posting and then entering the link command as advised by watchdog did the job.

I've also deleted /usr/share/abiword-2.9 (leaving just the 'new' abiword-2.8 directory).

Things look good thanks (excepting that there are two Abiword menu items under MENU, DOCUMENTS)