Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 07:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 08:59    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi Billtoo
Any pointers as to what I might need to do to get the external monitor working with Slacko please?
Thanks
peebee


Hi peebee,
On this pc without zarfy both monitors show the same screen.
When I bootup now I run zarfy and apply the settings, then I have the extended desktop.
I have Slacko 5.6 on a netbook and a laptop and both have an
external monitor connected to them.
I installed the proprietary ati driver on both and entered amdcccle in
the terminal, from there I was able to configure both screens, each
has the proper resolution for that screen.
The netbook has HD4200 and the laptop has HD5400 graphics so they are
both still supported by amd, if your laptop has XP on it then it'd be
in the legacy group I guess and the newer proprietary drivers don't
support legacy cards,maybe you could get the legacy driver to compile.
netbook1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.97 KB
 Viewed   2208 Time(s)

netbook1.jpg

netbook2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.52 KB
 Viewed   2052 Time(s)

netbook2.jpg

zarfyscreen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.84 KB
 Viewed   2282 Time(s)

zarfyscreen.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Mon 02 Sep 2013, 22:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
haitek


Joined: 04 Oct 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 12:37    Post subject: feedback  

Thanx heeps 01micko. I bought some new hardware and couldn't install an OS until I popped in a Slacko 5.6 CD, then it just happened. Must be destiny. I now have a screamingly fast puppy box which works a treat. The PAE recognises my 32Gb rAM, the nvidia driver recognises the nvidia GT630 with its 4Gb VRAM. Slacko installed on the SSD with no problems. Everything is good. Thanks again. SLACKO ROCKS! Very kewl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 13:45    Post subject:  

haitek,

Wondering how long it takes to boot Slacko with that computer setup?
Talk about overkill system for Puppy! Shocked Laughing
Puppy might use 1GB of memory if you had everything running at the same time.
Good to know it works on a computer with those specs.
Make sure to run the "Video Upgrade Wizard" and use the Nvidia drivers for that GT 630 card.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eldon

Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Wed 04 Sep 2013, 04:28    Post subject:    

As always, this seems to be an improvement over the last version, however I'm experiencing a problem and I'm not entirely sure if it's my hardware or what. It's been happening since 5.4 or maybe before that (I think it wasn't a problem with 5.1), but there was quite a while that this was not occurring with pretty much the same apps and the exact same hardware.

It seems to be a random (and somewhat frequent) kernel panic. It doesn't always say that, but sometimes it does. Sometimes it goes to the "text console" and I can hit xwin to go back, and other times it's completely frozen with (error?) codes/events on a black screen.

And it seems to perhaps, not be unique to me, or Puppy/Slacko.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1157715

^ A few users of Arch posted this a year ago, implicating the 3.4 kernel itself or a problem with btusb:
"I got a kernel panic about two weeks ago, and then again about an hour ago...
I have no clue how to address the problem, it seems these errors are completely sporadic, and I can't think of anything in common between their circumstances.

Honestly, it's just encouraging to see that it's not just me. I hope this isn't a huge problem with the Linux Kernel... Torvalds would be pissed.

EDIT: IRQPoll was not a solution for me, and I'm on linux 3.5.3-1, so the 3.5 update doesn't appear to offer all the salvation after all."

And then another guy replied:

"I've had the same problem and blacklisting btusb solved it for me."

So this may be unique to btusb and the 3.4(+?) kernel. I've got the slackware packages etc. installed so that I can use my (usb) Bluetooth keyboard so I think that may in fact be the issue (especially considering that the post is a year old and they haven't come back with an update that says "Still crashes with btusb blacklisted"). Of course, it could be something completely different, like my USB flash drive it's booting from, going bad or something like that I guess.

I don't know if I should go back to a version of Slacko with a earlier kernel or what, but I hope that this can be (easily) resolved somehow. I guess I should try an earlier version and see if this happens. If it does, then I'll try another flash drive and hope that fixes it.

So if anybody has usb bluetooth set up with a recent version of Slacko and you get the "black screen of death" Shocked - it's not just you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 655
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 03:06    Post subject: sporadic freezes to a b&w text screen (mostly)  

G'day Eldon,

My 2-year old desktop has been suffering a similar infrequent and unpredictable freeze with more recent kernels (for about 6 months?). This has happened with Fulls and Frugals, with Slackos, Precises, Rarings.

I can't make it happen, but subjectively, it may occur more often when I'm running a large program (e.g. Libre Office, Seamonkey) and hardly ever when I'm doing nothing.

I have tried a different RAM stick but eventually I got a freeze, so I'm thinking its the motherboard/CPU.

I can't verify your btusb blacklisting immediately as a fix to a kernel bug but will see if it does seem to work if I can find it in various Pups - Upup Raring-3.9.9.2 (using this at the moment) doesn't list it under the Boot Manager Blacklist option.

Please post any other reports of this annoying behaviour you come across - I still fear it's a hardware problem.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eldon

Joined: 09 Sep 2010
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 16:32    Post subject:  

Well David, thanks for the report. Here's my update.

I switched to different usb drive, and plugged it into the port(I did have them on a cable because the ports are on the back) and used Slacko 5.4 which has an earlier 3.2 kernel as I had it on the drive already with save file. I installed a few of my apps that weren't on it (No Blank Screen, Savefileconfig) and just now it crashed to the console while I had firefox open (blank/home page I think) and was watching a shoutcastTV stream with VLC (which is very easy on system resources). The stream kept playing though and the system didn't freeze or crash entirely so I was able to hit ctrl+alt+del and type xwin to get x restarted. (Edit: It's been 12hrs or so, with Slacko 5.4 running and it did this again just now- but still no hard crash yet.)

So, I'm afraid it may be some sort of hardware issue/conflict. But I haven't yet experienced the full kernel panic crash that requires a hard reset so maybe this is a different problem (but the console output is similar in both cases).

I thought it might be faulty RAM (I have (2)x256MB of ram) but if you are experiencing a similar problem after you changed RAM then maybe it's not that either. Did you completely swap your RAM, or were you referring to your USB drive?


So, if it's not the RAM, not the kernel, (not related to my having bluetooth on it), and not the USB drive going bad, then... Question
It's been happening for about 6mo. for me as well so that suggests it's puppy; but the fact that other puppies did that suggests otherwise. It's also possible that my problem is with newer Slacko versions, while yours is a different, hardware problem..

Maybe it was 5.1 that didn't do that. I know that for the longest time I didn't have this problem so maybe it's still Slacko. But maybe it is some motherboard issue- which would suck because that means it's possibly a prelude to a more permanent system failure. The sporadic nature tends to support that idea. But at least I only gave $50 for this PC and got a couple of years of use out of it Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 07:41    Post subject:  

The base Slacko seems as good as always. Very Happy

I am trying to install Openshot.
Which I had running on the previous Slacko.
Updated graphic - done.
Python via 'Devx SFS' loaded - done.
XFCE - not done? Not sure how best to get running. I found it, installed it and 'xwin startxfce4' does not seem to run it?

Other than that everything running good . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 07 Sep 2013, 22:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
topia

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 09:06    Post subject:  

Hi Mick, excuse me the abuse, but could you include the module 8021q in next versions of Slacko please?
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Sep 2013, 22:29    Post subject:  

F2FS issue on Slacko 5.6
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88641

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 02:54    Post subject:  

Tried Slacko 5.6 on this old P-4 Dell computer.
Works better, on first boot, than on my Bleeding edge Core i7 home built.

First boot on the Dell, everything auto setup and worked, including Wifi with the latest new Netgear N150 USB Wifi adapter. So the drivers are in Slacko for this Adapter.

On the Bleeding edge Core i7 home built,
I had to mess with Ndiswrapper to get Wifi working. It is probably an issue with the USB controller used on this computer, the adapter is not detected or turned on at boot. After loading driver with Ndiswrapper process, it is detected and active.

Only problem with the Dell was getting a better Nvidia driver installed.
Video Upgrade Wizard said there was nothing to upgrade too.
I knew The Nvidia 173 driver would work for this Nvidia card.
PPM download, install, and now using Nvidia 173 driver.
(thanks! 01micko for having driver in PPM)
That driver made a big difference on feel and snappiness of Slacko.
(seemed a little bogged down using the Nouveau driver)

Video setup now:
Code:
video-info-glx 1.5.1 Tue 10 Sep 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6.0  Linux 3.10.5 i686
  0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV37GL [Quadro PCI-E Series] (rev a2) 
  oem: NVIDIA
  product: NV34 Board - q231-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg   Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.4
  dimensions:    1280x800 pixels (412x231 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: Quadro PCI-E Series/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 173.14.37

 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
 Core 0: @2793  1: @2793  MHz

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 17:36    Post subject: Multiple monitor support: Should it be in base PUPs  

As system advances continue, more and more PC users will have Motherboard and other peripherals on their systems allowing MULTIPLE VIDEO outputs.

@Billtoo has shown that a simple addition makes multiple monitors simple. What he shares does not seem to carry much ISO weight, yet offers benefit as more and more of us are finding.

Question
Are we at a point in Puppy's evolution where the subsystem he has tested should be added to "standard" PUPs without the need to PPM install? Would there be something harmful with this addition built-in?

Benefit or not ...

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 22:47    Post subject:  

Fresh boot of Slacko 5.6 with nothing new added. I tried this and got the same results.

Not sure if you would call this a bug or just no knowledge on how xwin command works.

Here is topic about trying to follow example of how to use xwin command.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88670

When you select menu->Shutdown->exit to prompt
An information screen pops up giving info on what to do to return to X server and the desktop window manager.
Explaining how to use xwin an example is given:

Code:
xwin [fvwm95:jwm]


Well, this guy followed example and used
Code:
xwin fvwm95

It works and boots back to the desktop. Question Shocked Confused
Everything seems to work except shutdown.
Nothing in the shutdown menu works.
Have fun getting back to a working shutdown menu.

Why would fvwm95 even do anything? Question Question Question Question

fvwm95 is a windows manager, but is it also installed in Slacko Question

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2013, 12:00    Post subject: Re: Multiple monitor support: Should it be in base PUPs  

gcmartin wrote:
As system advances continue, more and more PC users will have Motherboard and other peripherals on their systems allowing MULTIPLE VIDEO outputs.

@Billtoo has shown that a simple addition makes multiple monitors simple. What he shares does not seem to carry much ISO weight, yet offers benefit as more and more of us are finding.

Question
Are we at a point in Puppy's evolution where the subsystem he has tested should be added to "standard" PUPs without the need to PPM install? Would there be something harmful with this addition built-in?

Benefit or not ...


I installed slackware64 version 14.0,then upgraded to slackware64
current which is at rc1.
KDE supports two monitors in the kde settings, it's working great on
this Acer desktop which has an intel graphics chip.
I'd imagine xfce4 has support for two monitors as well but I haven't
checked that yet.

Kernel Linux 3.10.11 (x86_64)
Display
Resolution 3840x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation

EDIT:I needed to use zarfy in xfce4.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.08 KB
 Viewed   1176 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.66 KB
 Viewed   1179 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Sep 2013, 13:21    Post subject:  

Firefox that comes installed in Slacko is FirefoxESR 17.0.8
The "check for updates" never shows a newer version.
On another Puppy Firefox is up to version 23 or 24..

I think the internal update is not identifying newer versions, because the Firefox in Slacko is a ESR version (Test release) and all it is looking for is an ESR version.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Sep 2013, 06:26    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Firefox that comes installed in Slacko is FirefoxESR 17.0.8
The "check for updates" never shows a newer version.
On another Puppy Firefox is up to version 23 or 24..

I think the internal update is not identifying newer versions, because the Firefox in Slacko is a ESR version (Test release) and all it is looking for is an ESR version.

There is no internal update with Firefox verisons in Slacko, because it is not an "official" mozilla build but a Slackware build, hence the Updates Manager is the recommended way to keep FF up to date. I know it says it's checking for updates but it's not, it is really a lazy mozilla bug that they don't care about. Not enough for me to abandon it though!

If you check Updates Manager you will find the latest version is now 17.0.9 ESR, compiled 18th September, uploaded at 02:56 UTC, so should be through to mirrors by now.
Code:
# firefox -v
Mozilla Firefox 17.0.9


HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1331s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0153s) ][ GZIP on ]