Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Jun 2018, 14:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 37 [553 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3368
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 14:58    Post subject: wifi blocked "feature"  

With my Broadcom 4312 wifi....
Precise 5.7.1 k3.9.11 exhibits the wifi blocked on boot "feature" - shared with Slacko 5.5.71 k3.10.1 - necessitates adding "rfkill unblock wlan" to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 16:09    Post subject:  

I made a CD-RW using Precise-5.7.1.iso.
Then made another with the isolinux.cfg edited to change to pmedia=ataflash.
Booted that using my previous precisesave for Precise-5.6.1 [the 5.6.1 CD also used pmedia=ataflash].
Gave it the go-ahead to update the precisesave.
That worked just fine.
The only thing I had to do, was to re-make the changes in the rc.shutdown file, so that I'd be asked whether I wanted "to save or not to save" with the default as "Not save...".

I'm using it right now whilst typing this. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 17:52    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
5.7.1 (main - pae) For the record.
Upgrade of FULL from 5.7.0 did not go well. Most things are working from Menu, but all icons are apex-down red triangles with '?' inside, although their legends are correct. Did not respond to alternative icon selection.

Yes, full installation with Precise 5.7 is a bit off. For one thing, the universal installer insisted on seeing an existing puppy installation when I was installing to a completely empty ext2 partition.

Unrelated, I finally got around to trying Jemimah's Frisbee network manager and it's quite excellent.
capture-precise195.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.04 KB
 Viewed   5065 Time(s)

capture-precise195.jpg


_________________
Primary - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.

Last edited by session on Sat 03 Aug 2013, 18:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 18:06    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If scanimage -L detects the device, then run peasyscan.
Xsane works properly with a new installation of Precise Puppy 5.7.1 so something has changed since 5.7. I will also give peasyscan a try.

The latest version still has a problem mounting an ntfs partition read/write.

Regards,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 1935
Location: Wisconsin USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 20:02    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.7.1 works great, so far I have touched the ppm, seamonkey, and Psync along with a couple other stuff.

PPM works fine in precise 571. The PPM in 561 wasn't able to update repos ootb, so very nice.

Some things have trouble fitting on the screen correctly for me (the text kind of got squashed together up).

The 78dpi to 96dpi change makes my screen look like a widescreen version of 640x480.

BTW, my screen resolution is 1024x600.

_________________
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6725
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 21:34    Post subject:  

Today's possibly meaningless Distrowatch ranking....
http://distrowatch.com/
08032013.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   26.79 KB
 Viewed   4727 Time(s)

08032013.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6725
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 00:50    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install of 5.7.1 Retro on the Athlon XP box....... all looking good so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 3203
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 04:48    Post subject:  

From a version 5.7, the update proposed by the PPM is offered at the first start.
Thank you Barry!

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3462
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 05:21    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7.1  

Manual frugal install to an 8gb SDHC card, computer is an Acer Aspire
One 721-3801 netbook.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 4 Aug 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Linux 3.2.48 i686
5.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
nee ATI RS880M [Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 2944x1080 pixels (778x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context
# glxgears
8021 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1604.132 FPS
8059 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1611.661 FPS
8110 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1621.902 FPS
#
AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: @1695 MHz
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)

It's working great.
sysinfo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   132.95 KB
 Viewed   4591 Time(s)

sysinfo.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.88 KB
 Viewed   4649 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 04 Aug 2013, 10:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 229
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 06:33    Post subject: Quick test report (desktop pc)  

Operating System: Precise Puppy - 5.7.1
Kernel Version: Linux 3.9.11 (i686)
Date/Time: Sun 04 Aug 2013 12:24:56 PM GMT-1

Processor: Pentium III-933 (Coppermine)
Memory: 1293MB (185MB used)

Display Resolution: 1600x900 pixels
OpenGL: Nouveau, Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX/SSE
Monitor 0: 1600x900 pixels
Monitor 1: 1024x768 pixels

Audio Adapter: CMI8738 C-Media CMI8738

Hard disk: ATA WDC WD5000AADS-0
DVD-RAM: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS40
Card reader: Generic Storage Device
-----------------------------------------------------
This Puppy version runs fast - very fast!

Last edited by FeodorF on Fri 09 Aug 2013, 08:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2083
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 07:52    Post subject: Pmusic  

The version of pmusic in 5.7.1 apparently does not store/access the radio station list correctly. Installing the latest version of pmusic solves the problem.
http://www.meownplanet.net/zigbert/pmusic-4.1.0.pet

Perhaps include this in the next release.

Download info: username: puppy , password: linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 09:53    Post subject:  

How should the included version of Pmusic be removed prior to installing the version linked above?

Tried to use "Menu->Setup->Remove builtin packages", but couldn't find "pmusic" listed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2083
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 10:46    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
How should the included version of Pmusic be removed prior to installing the version linked above?

Tried to use "Menu->Setup->Remove builtin packages", but couldn't find "pmusic" listed.


I didn't even think to remove the old version....just installed the new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6543
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 12:15    Post subject:  

You might also need the latest gtkdialog ???
found here


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1773
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 12:37    Post subject:  

Question(s) for BarryK

Precise Puppy has 2 instances of gtkdialog

There is gtkdialog in /usr/bin which is a symlink to gtkdialog4 in /usr/bin AND there is gtkdialog in /usr/sbin which is a symlink to gtkdialog3 in /usr/sbin

Console reports version number as 0.8.3

Zigbert's latest pMusic and pBurn require a more recent gtkdialog which is numbered 0.8.4r514

Would it be OK to just have this latest gtkdialog as a file in either /usr/bin or /usr/sbin and have gtkdialog3 and gtkdialog4 as symlinks to that file or are there programs in Puppy which might still need the older gtkdialog (as gtkdialog3 or gtkdialog4)?

Also, do these files need to be in both locations (/usr/bin and /usr/sbin) and if so could they be symlinks from one to the other so everything just points to one real file?

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 37 [553 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0705s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]