Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 22:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
browser only puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  browser only puppy  

On the net I can find info on having a puppy icon on a windows 98 screen and that would start puppy thru the use of ms dos, a part of 98. When done could return to win 98. (http://www.freeveda.org/linux/puppy/index.htm)
(http://puppylinux.dreamhosters.com/versions/pupwin98/puppy.htm)

The Linux I would like to see then would be only a browser and what is needed to use that browser on win 98, started the same way?

Why 98SE? Because of so many programs I have for it and it is only missing a good browser.

The net also has something almost like I want, xPUD Linux, but I don't think it can act like a part of 98? I am playing with that Linux for now.

EDIT just found Browser Linux 501, now if it could be a icon on windows 98se screen that would start up from win 98se and when done return to 98se?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4226
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jul 2013, 00:15    Post subject:  

Hi, earlytv.

I don't think there is anything equivalent in modern Puppies. I'm not a specialist of QEMU, but one could probably upgrade the idea to say, wary 5.3 or 5.5, replacing the old Puppy 1.1. So I better leave this to an expert.

In the meantime, you could install a modern puppy "frugally" alongside your Windows 98 and use grub for a dual-system boot. When you need to go on the Internet, you use Puppy, you gather your material with it anbd save it on your VFAT disk. If you want to process anything special, you reboot into your old Win 98SE, work your material in your specialized program, and voilà!

It's a bit more involved, but still, you'd be saving a valid computer from the landfill.
Just a thought!

Regards.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4226
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jul 2013, 22:28    Post subject:  

Maybe this thread will bring you closer to your goal? http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=570137792&t=61404

BFN.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 06:08    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hi, earlytv.

I don't think there is anything equivalent in modern Puppies. I'm not a specialist of QEMU, but one could probably upgrade the idea to say, wary 5.3 or 5.5, replacing the old Puppy 1.1. So I better leave this to an expert.

In the meantime, you could install a modern puppy "frugally" alongside your Windows 98 and use grub for a dual-system boot. When you need to go on the Internet, you use Puppy, you gather your material with it anbd save it on your VFAT disk. If you want to process anything special, you reboot into your old Win 98SE, work your material in your specialized program, and voilà!

It's a bit more involved, but still, you'd be saving a valid computer from the landfill.
Just a thought!

Regards.

musher0


I have not done the dual boot with GRUB in years. Would the WIN 9x have to be installed 1st and then the puppy and grub would get it all correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 780
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 12:34    Post subject:  

How much RAM do you have? What is your CPU type?

*/Offtopic, Go green bay! */

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
earlytv


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 139
Location: Racine WI USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 13:21    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
How much RAM do you have? What is your CPU type?

*/Offtopic, Go green bay! */


The sys I want to finally put browserlinux on has,
1 gig ram, with ram app to allow win 98se to use that.
A early intel 775 type cpu with 3.8 gig speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]