Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 23:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Raring 3.9.9.2 with non-PAE 3.9.9 kernel. 13 July 2013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 32 [477 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 18:25    Post subject:  

Yeah. atsc seems to be different protocol. I just dont know anything about US channels. In Finland we have digital aerial ie dvb-t tuner or cable ie dvb-c tuner possibilities.

Try dvb-apps package. And again....first thing is that you have dvb usb bridge back, so that the dvb-t tuner is back online.

To be continued tomorrow. Time to take brake.

w_scan -ft -c US -L > /root/vlc.xspf does not scan atsc channels. It scan dvb-t channels. So...I cant understand the error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 19:17    Post subject:  

dvd-apps has a problem, same as dvd-tools, no apps or tools just documents:

In /usr/share/lintian/overrides is a file with this line repeated:

Quote:
dvd-apps: sharedobject-in-library-directory-missing-soname usr/lib/


Here's the list of what's at the end of that line:
Quote:
libucsi.so
libdvdapi.so
libdvdben50221.so
libdvdsec.so
libdvdbcfg.so
libesg.so


I have no idea what this is all trying to tell me - I've not seen this before.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 00:47    Post subject:  

Edoc. w_scan provides raw channels probing. I have liked that. Dvbscan relies to the preconfigured tv broadcast definition files.
Dvb-apps definitively provides dvbscan commandline binary which produces the channels.conf file from that preconfigured file.
There are hundreds of those files in /usr/share/dvb/* for dvb-c, dvb-t and for atsc for several countries.

http://www.chinavasion.com/digital-tv-explained.html

The whole USA has been coloured to use atsc standard, not dvb-t which is the standard your stick has inside.

Try google: atsc stick usa >>>> and you see a lot hits.

Now comes the real question. How are you going to find channels and watch them from comp with your Sinergy stick when it has dvb-t enabled chip inside ?
Code:
[   16.290297] DVB: registering new adapter (TerraTec Cinergy T Stick+)
[   16.507140] usb 1-1: DVB: registering adapter 0 frontend 0 (Realtek RTL2832 (DVB-T))...

Are there dvb-t standard using broadcasts ?
For me it looks like you would need atsc stick in USA, dvb-t looks like to be useless there.

If you cant correct me that there really is dvb-t standard using TV stations, it will be pointless now to try to teach you to create channels.conf or vlc.xspf file.

Your stick is good as RF tuner, but atm I think it is useless for TV watching in your country, unless you visit dvb-t standard using country, like Finland.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 01:20    Post subject:  

Barry Kauler found the culprit .deb for non-US keyboard layout bug.
It is libX11-6 package update.

Reverting to use this: https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/libx11/2:1.4.99.1-0ubuntu2/+build/3253300/+files/libx11-6_1.4.99.1-0ubuntu2_i386.deb

fixes the non sticking layout problem which happened for non-US keyboard layout with first usage of application.

And...it seems the bug has been spread to the debian side also. Latest sid .deb has the same bug.

Now....I would have stuff to create update of Upup Raring, I just need comp to do that. I have now used this crappy acer 3610 which is slow for heavy usage and also touchpad and left-right click buttons are unresponsive. It is hard to use this. I have also diskless amd turion64 laptop, which I also got free, which has broken left click button, but good for browsing. Youtube videos though are not fluent. And displayless work horse, which is connected by hdmi to my LCD TV, and reading far away with my agesight is painful and prone to errors because I cant see terminal text properly. I could increase the font or dpi, but I just dont like to work like that.

I will wait my new laptop.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 03:52    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
glad that the culprit be found ... and possibly tar poured and feathers covered ?
...i'd thought it also would fix the gnumeric-freeze-panes issue i reported earlier but no hope !
Then perhaps another new culprit to find ... inside this raring ...as gnumeric-1.12.1 works as expected on Precise .
I tried various cut and try debs + binaries + etc.. exchanges, without success.
Hope you'll find a solution to your comp problem Sad
Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 04:26    Post subject:  

Charlie6. Well, I dont have a clue what causes the problem. I dont use Gnumeric almost at all. LibreOffice is my Office Suite. Not sure should the bug be hunt from libgtk-3 direction, glib incompatible ( I use unpatched own compile so that pup-volume-monitor works ) or from Gnumeric itself.

I decided to dig out my old Apple Airport Express module. I have now wireless printing configured through it to my old HP Laserjet 1020. It prints wirelessly now. Also I got near eth0 plug in hub through it. I configured AAE so that it joins my existing wireless network. The main reason is, that I like to make it my wireless sound-music streamer. I can listen music wirelessly through it. The audio plug will be connected to it and other end to my stereos and stream music wirelessly from my laptop to it. Pulseaudio has straight plugins for that. Pmusic netradios to full usage. Lol. If Pmusic works in some ubuntu distro. If not, then other netbased radio app,.

When I get my new laptop, I am going to swipe win8 out. Then I format the hdd to mbr - legacy format from gpt which it probably comes with, and I have full hdd for linux. I will install some ubuntu pulseaudio smaller distro. Getting pulseaudio to work in Puppy is possible, but tedious. Ready distro in hdd for music is easier. So....full hdd for linux, 2-3 partitions for full distro testing, this wireless streaming music distro included. And the rest for Puppy, compile, woof, whatever.
I might first test my scenario by swapping the existing hdd out and fix the uefi -secure boot first. I think I switch to use legacy bios if possible. Then boot that swapped hdd. If it is ok, I continue with the new hdd. I believe I dont miss win 8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 08:05    Post subject:  

I was following the tv channel thing as a test but it sounds as though it's more of a hassle.

My real interest is in the radio side of the device.

How do I test that, please?

Headed off to church and a lunch visit with some friends so will check for posts late afternoon.

Have a good day.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 09:37    Post subject:  

Edoc. Yeah. Forget dvb-t in USA unless someone more experienced tell something else.

About that RF-tuner. I think that you need to contact some radio amateur forums for real usage. The tests show that the RF-tuner has been found and it is usable. Also basic application should be able to take in use. Maybe. But how to use it. It is absolutely out of my league. I think there are a lot pages what to do with it. I have already gathered some url links. But I did it as starting points. Not so that I will start to be radio amateur. I know nothing about that kind hobby. You should contact real users next.

I believe that there isnt much successful discussion about that rtl2832U Rf-tuner property in murga-forum. I believe in fact that we have established the first successful test in Puppy with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

I have uploaded gnuradio-3.6.5 megapack. I included into it all the needed libs. It has also qt libs ready. I will add gqrx into it later. But it was atm under compiling process in launchpad....so it have to wait.

Anyway, gnuradio-companion should launch without installing anything else. What to do with gnuradio. I have no idea.....lol.
This megapack has support for RTL2832U chip.
And as tested before, I have e4000.ko Elonics RF-tuner kernel driver module included. rtl_test is the command to test if the rf-tuner has been found and usable.

It is in the Upup Raring repo as pet and sfs. My repo link is in the first page.

Here is the gqrx lauchpad repo url link:
https://launchpad.net/~gqrx/+archive/snapshots/+packages

Then..it starts to be as far as I can go when I have included gqrx in to the megapack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 16:28    Post subject:  

gqrx will be compiled for pulseaudio in launchpad. Does not work in Puppies. I tested the gqrx compile. The source code needs a lot editing due to change development headers names in gnuradio. And I couldnt get past the other audio selection. There just wasnt the needed development header for sink.h. I quit.

The megapack has probably unneeded qt libs included. I will tidy it later. Otherwise I stop now. Thats it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 19:57    Post subject:  

I have been away from computer and home all day - just returned 30 minutes ago.

Thanks for all that you have accomplished - I will stand by for your tweaked megapack.

I have 3 other devices which have been gathering dust here which may also finally become useful as a result of your efforts:

Silicon Dust TV-Network Tuner
Hauppauge analog-digital converter
SIIG analog-digital converter

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 05 Aug 2013, 13:42    Post subject:  

I got new laptop. Getting accustomed with it. Posting from it now.

What I have done so far. I created Supervisor password in BIOS, which enabled me to disable Secureboot and switch to use Legacy Bios.

No bootable media found. Yeah. Win8 is quite inferior os.

Then I booted usb stick upup raring.

Gparted. I removed all existing partitions. Then I created new partition table which is the legacy msdos format. Bye bye win8.

I dont need that kind inferior os called win8 which does not recognize valid Legacy BIOS. 500 Gb for linux.

Then I created swap, primary and logical partitions as ext4. Whole hdd for linux operating systems.

I installed grub4dos and boot code to the mbr. Frugal Upup Raring in the folder. That is where I am now. But...I have to think this evening the partition scheming again. I am not quite sure yet how I would like it to be. I dont know how much mainstream linux os takes space nowadays. I need to check specs.

Anyway. Laptop works, hw has been recognized. The nvidia graphics is not in use yet. I have used the intel integrated graphics. Yeah, this is again dual graphics comp, this time with nvida optimus ie nvidia geforce 710M. I dont know how the graphics switching should work. I have read about bumblebee.

I will check first can I disable nvidia so that it wont use watts. And so on...this will take some time....

EDIT: acpi_call.ko turns nvidia graphics off. Great. 13.7 watts when writing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 317
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Mon 05 Aug 2013, 17:40    Post subject:
Subject description: USB 3.0
 

Hi,

I have been trying to use Usb 3.0 memory devices in this distro.

It boots up using them but I can't connect to wi-fi.

dmesg shows that driver xhci_hcd cannot be found. There is a lot of stuff in the kernel related to xhci but no .ko files.

Will this file have to compiled and if so how?

Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 05 Aug 2013, 18:08    Post subject:  

usb 3.0 support has been compiled in, not as module. It is always available and so...you can boot from usb 3.0 hdd.

CONFIG_USB_XHCI_HCD=y

I think wifi problem is unrelated. Or...do you mean that usb wireless stick in usb 3.0 port is not recognized.

Or...do you mean that wifi is not working at all.

If it is the last, pdiag tar ball would help. In console: pdiag

Latest tests. Hdmi works with integrated intel. Nvidia is a lot more problematic to take in use. This optimus seems to be hard bit. Bumblebee in Puppy seems to need work. Switching nvidia graphics off is trivial but using it is not. Lol.

I wish Nvidia would upload optimus switching mechanism enabled driver. But there is none in the near future. So I will have to try to create bumblebee for Puppy at some time. Probably best way would be to compile all stuff from source and include bbswitch kernel module which works like acpi_call for switching nvidia off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Aug 2013, 18:18    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I have uploaded gnuradio-3.6.5 megapack.

It is in the Upup Raring repo as pet and sfs. My repo link is in the first page.

Here is the gqrx lauchpad repo url link:
https://launchpad.net/~gqrx/+archive/snapshots/+packages

Then..it starts to be as far as I can go when I have included gqrx in to the megapack.


I just got a chance to download your megapack - what I did before via PPM was supposed to be complete but one never knows ... I'll get it copied over to the 32-bit laptop and see what happens.

Might these "changes" files from https://launchpad.net/~gqrx/+archive/snapshots/+packages include anything of value?

Quote:
gnuradio - 3.7.0+1git20130729-g5eaeaa42-0ubuntu0~gqrx~raring5 (changes file) alexc 2013-07-29

gqrx - 2.1.0+2git20130804-g1ee3d787-0ubuntu0~raring1 (changes file) alexc 2013-08-04

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 32 [477 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1394s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0476s) ][ GZIP on ]