Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 11:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 29 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4275
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 11:09    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
... How do I know which version is best for my computer? ...
Either will produce a very stable operation on your PC. Either will work without fail. System operation for the user is the same as well as the application selection offered.

The ONLY difference, per se, is that PAE can be used, on just about every PC since 1995, but also no matter how much RAM you have from 384MB to as much as you can add to your PC all the way to 64GB. Non-PAE is limited by its inability to take advantage of any RAM beyond 3GB.

Again, either will work on your current system.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 11:16    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello, all.

@SFR and 01micko:

Success using shutdownconfig directly, as a standalone program.
The size dialog showed correctly.

That seemed to do something to the rc.shutdown script in /etc, since
it ran correctly, in full, and I got another valid pupsave file on
the "official" reboot run.

@SFR:
I ran shutdownconfig from console with < set -xe > added at the top
of the script, and the run displayed no errors.

So partial success, again.

When I got back in, on second boot with this new pupsave file, though,
the gdk bug was staring me in the face! But let's handle only one insect
at a time, shall we?!... Smile

BFN.

musher0


Now its me also about to complain about rc.shutdown !!!

Save-file was created correctly to vfat in size of 128 MB with ext3 .
Then I went wmexit to prompt and reboot then failed to copy /initrd/pup_rw into the save-file .
/dev/sdb1 1018084 845548 172536 84% /mnt/sdb1

Today's boot failed with kernel panic about smp, shed and hrtimer .

e2fsck -v /mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs
e2fsck 1.42.6 (21-Sep-2012)
/mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs: recovering journal
/mnt/sdb1/WoofCEtest/slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs: clean, 11/32768 files, 9804/131072 blocks

/dev/loop1 126931 5663 121268 5% /mnt/+mnt+sdb1+WoofCEtest+slackosave-2013_11_23.3fs

Only empty lost+found in that Twisted Evil Mr. Green


I was finally the first at something ! Twisted Evil

KG said:
>Then I went wmexit to prompt and reboot then failed to copy
/initrd/pup_rw into the save-file.


Ah! But the shutdown script is supposed to bounce us out of the bar! show
us the door! kick us out! Smile Not allow us to go out in our own good time!
Nah-nah-nah, once you're done, you have maybe 30 seconds left to kiss
the girlfriend good-bye, and that only in GUI mode; then out, out, out
you go!

You shouldn't have had the time to type wmexit and reboot. You weren't
supposed to. Maybe a conflict of powerful commands corrupted your save
file. Typing wmexit and reboot probably interfered while normal creation
of pupsave. My 2¢.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 15:13; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1066

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 13:08    Post subject:  

PPLOG, or actually hiawatha issue - server cannot be stopped in a normal way.
Code:
# hiawatha.run start
Starting webserver: Warning: can't write PID file /usr/var/run/hiawatha.pid.
Hiawatha
#
# hiawatha.run stop
Hiawatha is not running
#
# ps | grep hiawatha | grep -v grep
 9249 webuser    0:00 /usr/sbin/hiawatha
#

'hiawatha' binary seems to be hardcoded to use (non-existant) /usr/var/run/ to store its PID in, whereas 'hiawatha.run' script tries to read from /var/run/.
Code:
# grep -m1 'PIDFILE' /usr/sbin/hiawatha.run
PIDFILE="/var/run/hiawatha.pid"

It seems to affect only Slacko since 5.5; latest Precise and Raring-3.9.8.1 are fine (PID stored in /var/run/) and transplanting 'hiawatha' bin from there into Slacko fixes that indeed.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 16:08    Post subject:  

Thanks 01 micko seems to work on my machine too.
Did a frugal install on NTFS HDD made save file.
rebooted and here I am using slacko.

Now I need to find out how to handly that Lupu
put .mozilla on HDD and a lot of other things on hdd too.

This Firefox is 17.0-1 and refuses to go up to FF 25 and beyond Smile
.cache if I remember.

Thanks to gcmartin for encouragement
I gave it a chance.and it did work.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sun 24 Nov 2013, 18:01; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 16:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ah! But the shutdown script is supposed to bounce us out of the bar! show
us the door! kick us out! Smile Not allow us to go out in our own good time!
Nah-nah-nah, once you're done, you have maybe 30 seconds left to kiss
the girlfriend good-bye, and that only in GUI mode; then out, out, out
you go!

You shouldn't have had the time to type wmexit and reboot. You weren't
supposed to. Maybe a conflict of powerful commands corrupted your save
file. Typing wmexit and reboot probably interfered while normal creation
of pupsave. My 2¢.


Nope, ran shutdownconfig from urxvt terminal, then wmexit .

shutdownconfig just cre-ates the save-file .

shutdownconfig gets usually called by wmreboot or wmpoweroff .

That way you would not have time to do anything, except pup_event_frontend_d is stubborn and refuses to be killed . In such case I would have had one minute for opening a urxvt console terminal to type
# whoami
Spock
Laughing

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 18:17    Post subject:  

Hello, all.

Karl_Godt wrote:
Quote:
> Nope, ran shutdownconfig from urxvt terminal, then wmexit.


There's an idea. We make a little wrapper, and that's it, problem solved.
No more anti-matter pupsaves. But we wait long enough between the two
so no error occurs.

Or we provide a ready-made zipped pupsave of say 4 Mb's that unfolds/
unpacks at beginning or end of session automatically. At the same time
we copy a pre-fab'd pupsaveresize.txt file to wherever /mnt/home/ is,
this txt file containing a reasonable number, e.g. 380000. So the user
gets in total 384 Mb's as a "starter" pupsave. We warn the user not to
install any pets at this time, we only do configurations on first run.

The latter solution would be like treating diabetes: uncurable, but
controllable. We don't know the cause of the problem, but we solve
it nevertheless.

On the other thread, Karl brought up a possibility that I do not like:
that the rc.shutdown script could be language sensitive. I have to check it
out: does the script run correctly if I specify my language onlyon second
boot, if it is not fed in the configuration during the first session? Maybe
enlist the help of our Hungarian, Argentinian, etc., colleagues to verify
this also.

Also, try the most common: boot from CD proper, then save the
session to disk as a poor-man's (frugal) install. I'm booting now from
hard disk through the grub4dos menu.lst.

Finally, how do we check the possibility that the /etc/rc.shutdown
script is allergic to an e-sata disk.

Is that enough tests for you? Razz My thoughts for now.

bye.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5134
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 19:55    Post subject:  

Slacko5.6.1 frugal install to HDD.

I had no problem making a save file.
Can not produce the problem.

Doesn't that make it easier to figure out a solution. Laughing

Sure you have a good download of the Slacko iso?
Clean frugal install?
Not installed to a fragmented ntfs formatted partition?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5753
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 20:05    Post subject:  

For what it's worth,no problems creating savefiles here either......on ext3 or ext4 partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 20:48    Post subject:  

@Jamed C and bigpup:

Thanks for your reports. May I ask additional clarification questions?

I understand that you exited your first session normally and successfully.
Were you using the GUI or the CLI interface?

Do you have "regular" hardware? Did you ask your pupsave file to be
created on an external disk or such?

Do you operate your Puppy system in English or in some other language?
__ If in some other language, did you specify the locale at all during your
first session?

How big is your save-file? Did you modify more than the essential
configs during this first session? I mean: did you also install some
programs?

I don't mean to intrude. Answer only if you like. Hopefully, your answers
to the above questions will help pin-point the bug.

Many thanks in advance. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5753
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 23:11    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
@Jamed C and bigpup:

Thanks for your reports. May I ask additional clarification questions?

I understand that you exited your first session normally and successfully.
Were you using the GUI or the CLI interface?

Do you have "regular" hardware? Did you ask your pupsave file to be
created on an external disk or such?

Do you operate your Puppy system in English or in some other language?
__ If in some other language, did you specify the locale at all during your
first session?

How big is your save-file? Did you modify more than the essential
configs during this first session? I mean: did you also install some
programs?

I don't mean to intrude. Answer only if you like. Hopefully, your answers
to the above questions will help pin-point the bug.

Many thanks in advance. BFN.

musher0


Let's see.....

Used GUI

Internal hdd ....ext3 and ext4 partitions

English

Minimum size 512 mb..... sometimes larger.Sometimes I only do the necessary configurations before making the savefile,sometimes I'll go ahead and install my usual pets before making the savefile...no rhyme or reason.No problems either way.

HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 25 Nov 2013, 00:17    Post subject:  

Thanks, James C.
_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1066

PostPosted: Mon 25 Nov 2013, 08:53    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
May I ask additional clarification questions?

In all cases initiated via GUI, nothing additional installed, not encrypted:
1. 512MB slackosave-test.3fs on internal HDD (sda2, NTFS), EN locale, PL keyboard.
2. 128MB slackosave-test.3fs on SD Card (sdb1, VFAT), PL locale/keyboard.
3. IIRC a couple of 256-512 2/3fs savefiles in VBox, mixed EN/PL locale/keyboard.
PL uses , (comma) as a decimal separator - that might cause problems in some cases, but not in this one.

HTH
___________

Lack of menu entries after installing some specific .pet packages

This is not new issue, but I have found the power to take a closer look at it at last.
While installing a .pet, 'installpkg.sh' alters "Categories=" line in .desktop files according to apps defined in /usr/local/petget/categories.dat.
Unfortunately in some cases (examples) new entry won't show up in menu (CATEGORY: None).

I think I found the source of the problem. Let's take milkytracker - 'Categories=' line in its .desktop file is changed to 'Categories=X-Multimedia-Sub', but both /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy and /etc/xdg/menus/puppy-multimedia.menu contain only "X-Multimedia" (without '-Sub' bit) category.
Adding there this '-Sub' and running fixmenus makes the menu entry visible.

I've found two working solutions:

1. Only one file to be altered - to remove all 'Sub' bits in categories.dat, e.g.:
Code:
PKGCAT_Multimedia_Sub=" abraca acidrip arista avidemux-gtk ...
PKGCAT_Fun_Sub=" angrydd barrage bastet billard-gl blockout2 ...

to be just
Code:
PKGCAT_Multimedia=" abraca acidrip arista avidemux-gtk ...
PKGCAT_Fun=" angrydd barrage bastet billard-gl blockout2 ...


2. More files to be altered - to add those 'Sub' bits to appropriate records in hierarchy and all puppy-*.menu files (or safer, as an additional entries), e.g.:
a) hierarchy
Code:
Multimedia :Sub            X-Multimedia,Recorder                               #

to be
Code:
Multimedia :Sub            X-Multimedia,X-Multimedia-Sub,Recorder                               #

b) puppy-multimedia.menu
Code:
  <Menu>
    <Name>Multimedia-Sub</Name>
    <Directory>Puppy-Multimedia-Sub.directory</Directory>
    <Include>
      <Category>X-Multimedia</Category>
      <Category>Recorder</Category>
    </Include>
  </Menu>

to be
Code:
  <Menu>
    <Name>Multimedia-Sub</Name>
    <Directory>Puppy-Multimedia-Sub.directory</Directory>
    <Include>
      <Category>X-Multimedia</Category>
      <Category>X-Multimedia-Sub</Category>
      <Category>Recorder</Category>
    </Include>
  </Menu>

Both approaches seem to work just fine (briefly tested with a couple of apps), but of course it's up to you which one is better (if any Wink ).

EDIT: attached altered hierarchy and puppy-*.menu files.
EDIT2: fixed typo in puppy-personal.menu. Re-uploaded after 1 download. Sorry...

Greetings!
altered_categories_method2.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  altered_categories_method2.tar.gz 
Filesize  6.78 KB 
Downloaded  120 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.

Last edited by SFR on Tue 26 Nov 2013, 06:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 25 Nov 2013, 11:34    Post subject:  

@SFR:
Thanks for your input.

@all:
Mick will tell us more, I'm sure, when his study is over. But from what I
gathered from my exchanges with him and from the feedback, it seems
quite likely that the rare pupsave creation bug is a:
* file system recognition problem in the code
* perhaps linked with a timing thing,
* occurring when large external drives, such as eSATA drives, are used
__ to nest the Puppy.

So this bug affects very few users. No locale is to blame, and the low-
level Linux "sensors" such as blkid indicate the file system of the partitions
correctly. This is what is known for sure at this time about this bug.

In the meantime, I have summarized four work-arounds -- for dummies!
Smile I've tried to keep the explanations simple -- at the top of this thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=738908&sort=lastpost#738908.
If you know someone who has this problem, please refer them to it?

As well, if you have suggestions as to the presentation, or other solutions,
please let everybody know in that other thread?

Thanks in advance. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5134
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 02:59    Post subject:  

My making of a save file is close to what others have posted.
Nothing new to add.
Quote:
occurring when large external drives, such as eSATA drives, are used
__ to nest the Puppy.

Wonder if Puppy being a 32 bit operating system, could be part of the problem dealing with large drives?

Maybe something here is part of the problem.
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-gpt/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 03:59    Post subject:  

Hi, bigpup.

Do you mean you had trouble creating a pupsave on a large external
hard drive? (Your wording makes it unclear in my mind.)

In any case, it occurred to me tonight: what if the busybox blkid --
present in both wanderer's CE3 Puppy and 01micko's new slacko --
was the culprit?

The Lucid "breed" of Puppies offers an actual blkid utility and does not
have the pupsave bug.

Just a thought. It's not that important anymore, since we have relatively
easy-to-use work-arounds now.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1272s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]