Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 17:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 04:26    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/f2fs-tools-1.0.1-i486-s14.0.pet

Works now, thanks!
01micko wrote:
BTW, hfs-tools (utils, or whatever it is) is not included but is available from PPM

Yup, I've got most of them: bfrfs-progs, hfsutils, jfsutils, lvm2, mtools, reiserfsprogs, xfsdump and xfsprogs.
I feel protected from every side! Wink
_____________

sszindian wrote:
The new version of Osmo is missing 'Contacts'... might not be important to many but very important for what I do!

...and 'Notes', too..? Not that I've ever used this feature, but somehow I miss it now...
_____________

Billtoo wrote:
Also, mtpaint will not save a screen capture in jpg format.

Hmm, no problems here - I can save as jpg... Any error messages?
_____________

Ok, new problem - can't run Firefox as spot.
Well, it runs awhile, but when trying to access, eg. this forums, it segfaults immediately with:
Code:
# su spot -c firefox

** (firefox:15978): CRITICAL **: Unable to contact dconf service
###!!! ABORT: file /tmp/mozilla-esr17/ipc/chromium/src/base/rand_util_posix.cc, line 19
###!!! ABORT: file /tmp/mozilla-esr17/ipc/chromium/src/base/rand_util_posix.cc, line 19
Segmentation fault
#

Seamonkey behaves like Firefox and Chromium-28 from the repo doesn't even start:
Code:
# su spot -c 'chromium --user-data-dir=$HOME/spot/.chromium_dir'
[28725:28725:0709/073850:FATAL:rand_util_posix.cc(52)] Check failed: success.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:02    Post subject:  

sszindian wrote:
HP Printer 1050 will not setup up in cups 1.4.8 (Slacko-5.5 uses same version and I had no problems there using hplip-11.10 version!) Tried hplip versions 11,13,12 with lots of re-plug-ins, reboots etc., etc., just wont recognize my printer?
No idea. Nothing has changed in the printing stack since 5.5. Any error messages from CUPS?
sszindian wrote:
The new version of Osmo is missing 'Contacts'... might not be important to many but very important for what I do!
It's not new, just woof grabbed the wrong one, will be fixed, thanks for the report (though I did see it myself today before I read your report).


Billtoo wrote:
My problem is that I've connected the netbook to an external monitor
with an hdmi cable and I get a display on both the netbook screen and
the external monitor but I want 1024x600 on the netbook and 1920x1080
on the external monitor.

The proprietary ati driver allows this but when I try to compile the
driver I get an error (screenshot), I have the devx and kernel source
sfs installed so I have no idea what other tools the error message
is refering to.
There are 2 problems here.
1. My kernel source is buggy (see peebee's earlier post about broadcom wireless driver compile)
2. AMD drivers need patching... pemasu is up to speed on that one.


SFR wrote:
Ok, new problem - can't run Firefox as spot.
Well, it runs awhile, but when trying to access, eg. this forums, it segfaults immediately with: rand_util_posix.cc
rand_util_posix.cc is the common denominator here. I have little clue what to do about it, it seems it is a new inclusion in the mozilla tree. I tested Fido and expected (and got) the same. As for dconf I can update to a later version but really that isn't the problem. It's a perplexing one.

-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

In other news... k3.4.52 patched for f2fs is compiling now. I'll release it in a few days without the workaround for the "BUG" (remember from 5.4?) and see what happens.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:06    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 alpha
Subject description: latest woof, latest kernel
 

01micko wrote:
Here's Slacko-5.5.67

For now we have non-PAE and k3.10. Boots on 4/4 for me, various hardware.


Oh how frustrating! It works out of the box on my system! After beating my head against the wall with Raring based distros, all of which run S L O W and don't really support the intel graphics chip...it's a real pleasure to have a puppy that works!

Thanks so much.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:29    Post subject: Re: 5.5.57  

sszindian wrote:
HP Printer 1050 will not setup up in cups 1.4.8 (Slacko-5.5 uses same version and I had no problems there using hplip-11.10 version!) Tried hplip versions 11,13,12 with lots of re-plug-ins, reboots etc., etc., just wont recognize my printer?

As you know, there are two steps to installing a printer in CUPS.

1. Detecting the physical device through Add Printer / Find New Printers.
2. Providing the correct printer driver software.

Which one are we talking about? If it's #1, then installing different versions of HPLIP will have absolutely no effect.

I tested several HP units and they were all detected OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:31    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:


Billtoo wrote:
My problem is that I've connected the netbook to an external monitor
with an hdmi cable and I get a display on both the netbook screen and
the external monitor but I want 1024x600 on the netbook and 1920x1080
on the external monitor.

The proprietary ati driver allows this but when I try to compile the
driver I get an error (screenshot), I have the devx and kernel source
sfs installed so I have no idea what other tools the error message
is refering to.
There are 2 problems here.
1. My kernel source is buggy (see peebee's earlier post about broadcom wireless driver compile)
2. AMD drivers need patching... pemasu is up to speed on that one.




I forgot about peebee's post, sorry.
The amd driver compiled fine in Slacko 5.5, the screenshot is from 5.5.
I'll try again when you post the next release of Slacko and see how that goes.

Thanks
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.42 KB
 Viewed   857 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:49    Post subject:  slacko-5.6 alpha  

Hi Mick,

You've got another winner, almost everything works perfectly. I've even installed green_dome's wine-1.6-rc4-i486_v1.pet and my favorite Windows Programs which work fine along with a commercial program. QuickVerse 2011. Very Happy

As reported earlier, there is a printer problem. HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One printer is not found. Installed hplip_print-3.12.4 and hplip_can-3.12.4 pets which usually work. Scanner does work.

Thanks again,
Jim

Equipment: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:52    Post subject:  

Catalyst 13.4 and beta 13.6 compiled in 3.9 kernel without need of patches. I suppose Billtoo didnt need any patching for 3.10 ?

Catalyst 13.1 which I have used needed usual patching. I have picked the patches mostly from AUR pages. They have nice way to create ready downloadable compressed packages for patches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:56    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 alpha  

Jim1911 wrote:
Hi Mick,

You've got another winner, almost everything works perfectly. I've even installed green_dome's wine-1.6-rc4-i486_v1.pet and my favorite Windows Programs which work fine along with a commercial program. QuickVerse 2011. Very Happy

As reported earlier, there is a printer problem. HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One printer is not found. Installed hplip_print-3.12.4 and hplip_can-3.12.4 pets which usually work. Scanner does work.

Thanks again,
Jim

Equipment: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One


Jim, is that a WiFi printer? Cups won't find a WiFi printer with firewall on.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 10:08    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
SFR wrote:
Ok, new problem - can't run Firefox as spot.
Well, it runs awhile, but when trying to access, eg. this forums, it segfaults immediately with: rand_util_posix.cc
rand_util_posix.cc is the common denominator here. I have little clue what to do about it, it seems it is a new inclusion in the mozilla tree. I tested Fido and expected (and got) the same. As for dconf I can update to a later version but really that isn't the problem. It's a perplexing one

I got it, ha ha!! Very Happy

Wrong permissions on /dev/urandom.
chmod 666 /dev/urandom fixes the problem for Firefox/Seamonkey.
Chromium needs also: chmod 1777 /dev/shm
(In 5.5 /dev/urandom has 666 and /dev/shm has 1777 as well.)

BTW, this helped me, though I don't understand C(++) too much:
https://github.com/adobe/chromium/blob/master/base/rand_util_posix.cc

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 10:18    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 alpha  

DaveS wrote:
Jim, is that a WiFi printer? Cups won't find a WiFi printer with firewall on.
HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One is USB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 10:36    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 alpha  

Jim1911 wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Jim, is that a WiFi printer? Cups won't find a WiFi printer with firewall on.
HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One is USB.

I am not seeing this problem at all with any USB printer.

1. What install method are you using?

2. Go to the folder /dev/usb and check the properties of lp0.
What are its permissions?

3. Type the command: /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb
What do you get back?

4. Do you have the same problem on a clean "pfix=ram" boot off the CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 15:06    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 alpha  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Jim, is that a WiFi printer? Cups won't find a WiFi printer with firewall on.
HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One is USB.

I am not seeing this problem at all with any USB printer.

1. What install method are you using?

2. Go to the folder /dev/usb and check the properties of lp0.
What are its permissions?

3. Type the command: /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb
What do you get back?

4. Do you have the same problem on a clean "pfix=ram" boot off the CD?


1. Installation method:
a. Installed your hplip_print-3.12.4 and hplip_scan-3.12.4 pets (Note: USB scan function works)
b. Used radky's pupcontrol to bring up the CUPS 1.4.8 installation program to install the printer.

2. See image-1

3. # /usr/lib/cups/backend/usb
direct usb://HP/Photosmart%20C5200%20series?serial=MY79BDC09Z04XQ "HP Photosmart C5200 series" "HP Photosmart C5200 series" "MFG:HP;MDL:Photosmart C5200 series;CMD:MLC,PCL,PML,DW-PCL,DESKJET,DYN;1284.4DL:4d,4e,1;CLS:PRINTER;DES:Q8330A;SN:MY79BDC09Z04XQ;S:038008C484001021002c1800062c288003f;J: ;Z:0102,0503b929014dc9,0600,0c100,0e00,0f00;" ""

4. I use a clean frugal installation on a hard drive, I was getting too many CD coasters.

Thank you for keeping your specialized pets up-to-date and continuing to share your printer knowlege with us. Your pets have worked great on numerous pup installations, without which it would have been a chore to get the printer to work.

Thanks again,
Jim
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.53 KB
 Viewed   722 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 15:32    Post subject:  

@Jim1911:
I have tested this on several computers with several printers. I ran:

PupControl > Hardware > Printer > Install > "No" > Administration tab > Add Printer. Or look under Find New Printers.

In each case, my USB printer was listed under Local Printer.

I don't know why your experience is different. Remember that some HP all-in-ones must be rebooted after a scan session before they become visible as printers.

Try this:
Code:
chmod 666 /dev/usb/lp0

Then bring up CUPS.

Quote:
I use a clean frugal installation on a hard drive

But you have also installed some other content. You need to boot your frugal install using "pfix=ram".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 16:18    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@Jim1911:
I have tested this on several computers with several printers. I ran:

PupControl > Hardware > Printer > Install > "No" > Administration tab > Add Printer. Or look under Find New Printers.

In each case, my USB printer was listed under Local Printer.

I don't know why your experience is different. Remember that some HP all-in-ones must be rebooted after a scan session before they become visible as printers.

Try this:
Code:
chmod 666 /dev/usb/lp0

Then bring up CUPS.

Quote:
I use a clean frugal installation on a hard drive

But you have also installed some other content. You need to boot your frugal install using "pfix=ram".
I use the same procedure. In this try I did boot into ram, installed your pets, then called up Add Printer (results below). Then I closed CUPS, executed above code, and called up CUPS again, no change, the printer still doesn't show up. It's also not accessed by find New Printers. I've also shut down and restarted the printer several times. Xsane image scanner still has access.
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.99 KB
 Viewed   688 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9065
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 16:21    Post subject:  

One of the things that has changed in this Slacko is USB detection through udev. I can only assume that your problem is somehow connected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1190s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]