Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 20:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 20:20    Post subject:  

@Shinobar and anyone doing a share access to a SAMBA/Windows server(s).
The old mount command seems to have been replaced n latest kernel systems. I had to change mount to mount.cifs. The new command, also needed the "sec=ntlm" option for increased success.. My command use now works on both early Windows and latest.

Example
Code:
mount.cifs  //192.168.1.3/shared-from  /mnt/on-here  -o sec=ntlm,username=userlogin-name,password=your-secret
Of course, on most networks, the 192.168.1.3 could be changed to the actual Hostname of the PC shared-from.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 00:17    Post subject: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

gcmartin wrote:
Example
Code:
mount.cifs  //192.168.1.3/shared-from  /mnt/on-here  -o sec=ntlm,username=userlogin-name,password=your-secret

That's it Exclamation

Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

('nounix' option is to suppress error messages at writing files on the share.)
Got success Very Happy Thanks!

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 03:13    Post subject:  

Thanks GC and shinobar. I'll update the Network rox-app, but, does anyone know if it borks with older kernels? (say 3.2 or 3.4 series). If so, will need to test what kernel is running.

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 03:40    Post subject:  

Sorry guys, there will be a bit of a delay with the next beta. My motherboard decided to give up (3yr warranty, 3 yr and 2 mo since purchase!), so I have had to purchase a new one and rebuild. Oh well, that's computing!
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:26    Post subject: Re: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

shinobar wrote:
Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

The modified one also works with no problem on Precise-550JP, kernel 3.2.29.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Sorry guys, there will be a bit of a delay with the next beta. My motherboard decided to give up (3yr warranty, 3 yr and 2 mo since purchase!), so I have had to purchase a new one and rebuild. Oh well, that's computing!


You mean you haven't accumulated enough redundant components to build 3 complete PCs, if only you had some spare cases?! Wink

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:49    Post subject:  

Initial testing of 5.5.71 (the PAE version) on my Pentium D machine has been promising so far. Upgraded Slacko 5.5 save seemingly without any problems. Also successfully created new 512MB ext4 save on NTFS-formatted hard drive, worked fine on first boot.

Still too early to say for sure what the wireless perfomance with my troublesome Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle is like but it seems to work fine on Upup Raring 3.9.9.1 - on that when the connection does drop Pwireless manages to re-establish it straight away.

HomeBank, which I have started using recently, is up to v4.5 - the website is http://homebank.free.fr/

I know you've expressed reluctance to include the newest version of Gnumeric but Upup Raring (IIRC) has version 1.12.1 and the ISO didn't seem much bigger. Latest version is 1.12.4 which has just come out.

Pidgin 2.10.7 on PPM doesn't check for dependancies but 2.10.6 does. After updating the package lists the one on pet_packages-slacko14 shows up and that installs and runs fine.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 08:31    Post subject: Re: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

shinobar wrote:
shinobar wrote:
Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

The modified one also works with no problem on Precise-550JP, kernel 3.2.29.
Good to know, thanks!

-

Jades wrote:
You mean you haven't accumulated enough redundant components to build 3 complete PCs, if only you had some spare cases?! Wink
Ha! Sure.. but it's my most powerful.. anyway, new mobo is up and running .. and I can't believe how cool it runs for AMD, (same cpu as old mobo). While I was at it I upgraded the RAM from 2 to 4 GB. Still have plenty to do, unfortunately including a win7 install, needed for my homework.

Jades wrote:
Initial testing of 5.5.71 (the PAE version) on my Pentium D machine has been promising so far. Upgraded Slacko 5.5 save seemingly without any problems. Also successfully created new 512MB ext4 save on NTFS-formatted hard drive, worked fine on first boot.

Still too early to say for sure what the wireless perfomance with my troublesome Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle is like but it seems to work fine on Upup Raring 3.9.9.1 - on that when the connection does drop Pwireless manages to re-establish it straight away.

HomeBank, which I have started using recently, is up to v4.5 - the website is http://homebank.free.fr/

I know you've expressed reluctance to include the newest version of Gnumeric but Upup Raring (IIRC) has version 1.12.1 and the ISO didn't seem much bigger. Latest version is 1.12.4 which has just come out.

Pidgin 2.10.7 on PPM doesn't check for dependancies but 2.10.6 does. After updating the package lists the one on pet_packages-slacko14 shows up and that installs and runs fine.
Good it seems to run fine. Let me know how the netgear device goes.

As for gnumeric.. well, it does need gtk3, a substantial increase in iso size. I'm not going to do it. The version we have does the job, near as well as calc (oo or libre) for about 3 M in the iso. Gtk+3 will add about another 10M, not worth it in an official puppy for 1 program.

As for pidgin, yes it's a known issue that programs in the patches repo don't resolve dependencies, but if (as you found) install the original first, then update all is well. Not perfect I agree, I'll have a think about that one (could affect a couple of other programs too).

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 11:39    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
My motherboard decided to give up (3yr warranty, 3 yr and 2 mo since purchase!)[...]

Planned obsolescence at its finest... Rolling Eyes

Ok, a couple of things for you to consider:

1. Yeah, I know you don't particularly like the subject of "spaces in filenames", but...
It's an old issue. While mounting (via mouse left-click) an .?fs or .iso image and its path/name contains spaces or even ' (apostrophe) and/or the file extension is in upper case, we're getting "Failed mounting or unmounting." error.
It maybe doesn't really matter if it comes for .sfs, .2fs, etc., but in case of .iso it was a frequent problem for me.
Three small mods, one in /bin/mount, line 43:
Code:
  mount-FULL -n "${@}"            # SFR: double quotes

and two more in /usr/sbin/filemnt, first at line 63:
Code:
MntPt='/mnt/'"`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g" | tr ' ' '_'`"   # SFR, added 'tr'

and the second one, right after line 90:
Code:
  Ext=`echo "$imgFile" |sed 's/^.*\.//'`   # get file type from extention
  Ext="`echo $Ext | tr [:upper:] [:lower:]`"    # SFR: extension to lowercase (If Bash >= 4 it could be just Ext=${Ext,,} )

Not sure if there are some caveats, but I'm running Slacko-5.5 with these mods from a few months now and haven't encountered any problems.
Modified scripts attached.

2. Quite old issue as well, but I haven't taken care of it on my own ('petget' is quite complex app).
When a user is installing a .pet (locally, offline) and (s)he begin to install another one, whereas the previous installation haven't completed yet (incl. "Please wait, updating help page and menu" part), strange things may happen, e.g. JWM becomes broken - lack of bottom panel, broken or lack of right-click menu, corrupted theme and stuff like that. Also observed with Openbox once.
I think the easiest way to prevent such behavior could be some kind of message that "previous installation isn't completed yet" & exit...

Anyway, like I said, these are just to consider. Cool

Greetings!
mount_filemnt_modded.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  mount_filemnt_modded.tar.gz 
Filesize  5.92 KB 
Downloaded  118 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 01:08    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
1. Yeah, I know you don't particularly like the subject of "spaces in filenames", but...
It's an old issue. While mounting (via mouse left-click) an .?fs or .iso image and its path/name contains spaces or even ' (apostrophe) and/or the file extension is in upper case, we're getting "Failed mounting or unmounting." error.
It maybe doesn't really matter if it comes for .sfs, .2fs, etc., but in case of .iso it was a frequent problem for me.
Three small mods, one in /bin/mount, line 43:
Code:
  mount-FULL -n "${@}"            # SFR: double quotes

and two more in /usr/sbin/filemnt, first at line 63:
Code:
MntPt='/mnt/'"`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g" | tr ' ' '_'`"   # SFR, added 'tr'

and the second one, right after line 90:
Code:
  Ext=`echo "$imgFile" |sed 's/^.*\.//'`   # get file type from extention
  Ext="`echo $Ext | tr [:upper:] [:lower:]`"    # SFR: extension to lowercase (If Bash >= 4 it could be just Ext=${Ext,,} )

Not sure if there are some caveats, but I'm running Slacko-5.5 with these mods from a few months now and haven't encountered any problems.
Modified scripts attached.
It's not that I don't like spaces in filenames, that's unavoidable with music, dvds etc, but shell scripts; I flat refuse to acknowledge that a shell script can be named with a space! Call me old school if you like but if some sort of distinction between words is needed then there is nothing wrong with _ or - chars Wink .
I'll add the improved mount script and suggest to BK.

On the subject, I had PBurn just quit on me without visible error trying to burn my win7 image... ha! S P A C E S Laughing .

SFR wrote:
2. Quite old issue as well, but I haven't taken care of it on my own ('petget' is quite complex app).
When a user is installing a .pet (locally, offline) and (s)he begin to install another one, whereas the previous installation haven't completed yet (incl. "Please wait, updating help page and menu" part), strange things may happen, e.g. JWM becomes broken - lack of bottom panel, broken or lack of right-click menu, corrupted theme and stuff like that. Also observed with Openbox once.
I think the easiest way to prevent such behavior could be some kind of message that "previous installation isn't completed yet" & exit...

Anyway, like I said, these are just to consider. Cool

Greetings!

Good point about petget, and I did see the bad wm behaviour a long time ago, but didn't narrow down what caused it, as it didn't worry me too much because it was a disposable save file. I will suggest to BK to test if there is a pid before running from a click and if so maybe splash a small wait message.

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 07:38    Post subject:  

Thanks Mick!

As for "JWM" issue, I only recently assoiciated this with 'petget', while installing lots of .pets from a USB stick - I guess it happened because it was slower than from HDD, so there was enough time for things to break. Wink
_______________

@Zigbert: small problem with pmount.
"Tick box for single window" doesn't work.
Code:
   <button><input file stock=\"gtk-ok\"></input><label>$(gettext 'Ok')</label></button>

and a few lines later is:
Code:
 if [ "$EXIT" = "OK" ];then

but the $EXIT will be "Ok", not "OK" (or something else, depending on translation).
The addition of <action>exit:OK</action> works for me, but maybe there's a better way..?

I also wonder why "Tick for pmount to quit after mount/unmount" option is hardcoded to be always disabled? Not that I'm keen to use it, I'm just curious. Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5701
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 17:27    Post subject:  

SFR
Thank you for the pmount fix
I have included it.

Look here


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 08:10    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Jades wrote:
You mean you haven't accumulated enough redundant components to build 3 complete PCs, if only you had some spare cases?! Wink
Ha! Sure.. but it's my most powerful.. anyway, new mobo is up and running .. and I can't believe how cool it runs for AMD, (same cpu as old mobo). While I was at it I upgraded the RAM from 2 to 4 GB. Still have plenty to do, unfortunately including a win7 install, needed for my homework.


I actually have a potentially more powerful system than my K6 in a cardboard box in my room. It's the old mainboard from the main family PC, and is an Athlon XP 1800+ setup. Reason I'm not using it is that I know from when it was new that Win98 doesn't run on it so I wouldn't be able to run my old DOS games natively. If only I had a spare case. Oh, and a bigger room!

01micko wrote:
Jades wrote:
Still too early to say for sure what the wireless perfomance with my troublesome Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle is like but it seems to work fine on Upup Raring 3.9.9.1 - on that when the connection does drop Pwireless manages to re-establish it straight away


Good it seems to run fine. Let me know how the netgear device goes.


During the long period of downloading Precise 5.7 Retro I saw Frisbee announce that the link was down and it then brought the link back up again without intervention from me. Performance seems as good as Upup Raring 3.9.9.1. I'll see how it does with a more intensive internet session with lots of data transferred.

The connection dropouts I experienced often seemed to have more to do with the amount of data transferred rather than anything else obvious. On the Puppies I had the problems on the system wouldn't notice the problem and I'd have to manually reset the connection, which at least on Frisbee was simply a matter of hitting the Restart Networks button rather than having to reload the profile then type all the IP addresses in again like I had to with Network Wizard.

01micko wrote:
As for gnumeric.. well, it does need gtk3, a substantial increase in iso size. I'm not going to do it. The version we have does the job, near as well as calc (oo or libre) for about 3 M in the iso. Gtk+3 will add about another 10M, not worth it in an official puppy for 1 program.


Fair enough I suppose, can't blame me for trying though? Wink Any chance of having a pet of the latest one and its deps on PPM? I see the current version that comes with Slacko is the newest in the 1.10.x family. There's a 1.11.x family too but that may have been when they started needing gtk3, I can't remember.

01micko wrote:
As for pidgin, yes it's a known issue that programs in the patches repo don't resolve dependencies, but if (as you found) install the original first, then update all is well. Not perfect I agree, I'll have a think about that one (could affect a couple of other programs too).


Well the one in pet_packages-slacko14 installed fine but for some reason didn't show up until I updated the package lists. I'll double-check that though in case my search after the pfix-ram was actually on just the main slackware repo.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 09:08    Post subject:  

Jades wrote:
I see the current version that comes with Slacko is the newest in the 1.10.x family. There's a 1.11.x family too but that may have been when they started needing gtk3, I can't remember.


Just checked Gnumeric site, 1.11.x was a development branch, 1.12.x is the newest stable branch.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 04:31    Post subject: pnethood-0.7.1  

pnethood-0.7.1.pet
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/
NOTE: i18n, does not contain nbtscan.

#3aug2013 shinobar: sec=ntlm mount option for recent kernel (gcmartin), fix logging

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=716749#716749

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1401s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0142s) ][ GZIP on ]