Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 17 Jun 2019, 22:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 03:45    Post subject: Re: fails smb mount  

# smbclient -N -L localhost
Error connecting to 127.0.0.1 (Connection refused)
Connection to localhost failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)

# smbclient -N -L shinobar
Domain=[WORKGROUP] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.0.14a-0vl0.5]
(snip)
Sharename Type Comment
--------- ---- -------
video Disk SHINOBAR video files
...

# mount.cifs //shinobar/video /mnt/data
Password:
mount error 5 = Input/output error
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

Whereas Presice-550JP mounts the share with the same command.

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 06:22    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
BTW, hfs-tools (utils, or whatever it is) is not included but is available from PPM (slackware) and it does allow mounting rw of mac hfs and hfs+ filesystems. Tested on a late model macbook-air in ThinSlacko a while back. This enables the possibility of data recovery in macs, and I think already it helped out one forum member.


Came in handy for me too for recovering data of the drive from my Dad's 17" Macbook, which had fallen victim to him accidentally knocking over his pint (while moving it to prevent some one else knocking it over). Put the drive in a Zalman enclosure and his new Macbook could only see it from the boot menu (and the machine kernel paniced when we tried booting from it). In OSX itself we couldn't see it.

Out of curiosity, tried plugging it into the PC with Puppy running and looking at it in Gparted, which mentioned needing hfsutils. After downloading hfsutils and hfsprogs from PPM and figuring out how to mount the drive and bring up the directory viewer I was able to burn the files onto a couple of DVDs with Pburn.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

Last edited by Jades on Tue 30 Jul 2013, 15:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8684
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 07:14    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@01micko: To test this, run
Code:
smbclient -U username%password -L win8name

Does this generate the spnego error?


smbclient using hostname has never worked for me from puppy; maybe it's my network. It always looks for some obscure network in the US, IP of 199.101.28.130 Rolling Eyes Confused

Anyway, I added this to /etc/samba/smb.conf [global]
Code:
   client use spnego = no
..now it works fine for me with win8.1 (authenticated). I never use loose shares so can't test. I hope that helps you shino.

EDIT: this works from different machines with 2 different 8.1 installs and also works with 7 for me.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 08:32    Post subject:  

Just to be clear, which problem is this solving?

1. The failure of smbclient to identify shares.

2. The failure of the mount command to mount the shares.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8684
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 08:37    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51

In the Network rox app there is a failure to build the rox app for the win7/8 shares. This is because smbclient share list building fails. This would also be true of pnethood I believe (IIRC it uses smbclient to build the share list).

The rox app then uses nmblookup to get the IP of the share and mounts it with cifs.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 09:48    Post subject:  

Thanks.

There was a previous report of success with Win8 shares. But it was not using authentication, so the user never saw your situation.

I suspect that shinobar has the opposite problem. Smbclient works for him, but the mount command is failing because of the new kernel.

[Edit] OTOH, in my tests, the problem with cifs.ko results in Error 22, not Error 5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 15:40    Post subject: Re: slacko-5.6 βeta  

Billtoo wrote:
32 mb flash drive


Looking at your screen grabs, I think that's a typo for 32GB. I actually have a 32MB USB stick, even has a write protect switch on the end! Works with everything I have with a USB port.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 20:20    Post subject:  

@Shinobar and anyone doing a share access to a SAMBA/Windows server(s).
The old mount command seems to have been replaced n latest kernel systems. I had to change mount to mount.cifs. The new command, also needed the "sec=ntlm" option for increased success.. My command use now works on both early Windows and latest.

Example
Code:
mount.cifs  //192.168.1.3/shared-from  /mnt/on-here  -o sec=ntlm,username=userlogin-name,password=your-secret
Of course, on most networks, the 192.168.1.3 could be changed to the actual Hostname of the PC shared-from.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 00:17    Post subject: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

gcmartin wrote:
Example
Code:
mount.cifs  //192.168.1.3/shared-from  /mnt/on-here  -o sec=ntlm,username=userlogin-name,password=your-secret

That's it Exclamation

Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

('nounix' option is to suppress error messages at writing files on the share.)
Got success Very Happy Thanks!

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8684
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 03:13    Post subject:  

Thanks GC and shinobar. I'll update the Network rox-app, but, does anyone know if it borks with older kernels? (say 3.2 or 3.4 series). If so, will need to test what kernel is running.

Cheers!

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8684
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 03:40    Post subject:  

Sorry guys, there will be a bit of a delay with the next beta. My motherboard decided to give up (3yr warranty, 3 yr and 2 mo since purchase!), so I have had to purchase a new one and rebuild. Oh well, that's computing!
_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2674
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:26    Post subject: Re: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

shinobar wrote:
Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

The modified one also works with no problem on Precise-550JP, kernel 3.2.29.

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Sorry guys, there will be a bit of a delay with the next beta. My motherboard decided to give up (3yr warranty, 3 yr and 2 mo since purchase!), so I have had to purchase a new one and rebuild. Oh well, that's computing!


You mean you haven't accumulated enough redundant components to build 3 complete PCs, if only you had some spare cases?! Wink

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 07:49    Post subject:  

Initial testing of 5.5.71 (the PAE version) on my Pentium D machine has been promising so far. Upgraded Slacko 5.5 save seemingly without any problems. Also successfully created new 512MB ext4 save on NTFS-formatted hard drive, worked fine on first boot.

Still too early to say for sure what the wireless perfomance with my troublesome Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle is like but it seems to work fine on Upup Raring 3.9.9.1 - on that when the connection does drop Pwireless manages to re-establish it straight away.

HomeBank, which I have started using recently, is up to v4.5 - the website is http://homebank.free.fr/

I know you've expressed reluctance to include the newest version of Gnumeric but Upup Raring (IIRC) has version 1.12.1 and the ISO didn't seem much bigger. Latest version is 1.12.4 which has just come out.

Pidgin 2.10.7 on PPM doesn't check for dependancies but 2.10.6 does. After updating the package lists the one on pet_packages-slacko14 shows up and that installs and runs fine.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8684
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 08:31    Post subject: Re: Resolved: was failed smb mount  

shinobar wrote:
shinobar wrote:
Modified /root/network/Network/scripts/part2 at line 27'

mount.cifs //$IP/"$Share" "$APPDIR"/mnt-point -o username=$Username,password=\$Password,file_mode=0775,dir_mode=0775,gid=$(awk -F: "/^users/ {print \$3}" /etc/group),noserverino,nounix,sec=ntlm$IOCHARSET &&

The modified one also works with no problem on Precise-550JP, kernel 3.2.29.
Good to know, thanks!

-

Jades wrote:
You mean you haven't accumulated enough redundant components to build 3 complete PCs, if only you had some spare cases?! Wink
Ha! Sure.. but it's my most powerful.. anyway, new mobo is up and running .. and I can't believe how cool it runs for AMD, (same cpu as old mobo). While I was at it I upgraded the RAM from 2 to 4 GB. Still have plenty to do, unfortunately including a win7 install, needed for my homework.

Jades wrote:
Initial testing of 5.5.71 (the PAE version) on my Pentium D machine has been promising so far. Upgraded Slacko 5.5 save seemingly without any problems. Also successfully created new 512MB ext4 save on NTFS-formatted hard drive, worked fine on first boot.

Still too early to say for sure what the wireless perfomance with my troublesome Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle is like but it seems to work fine on Upup Raring 3.9.9.1 - on that when the connection does drop Pwireless manages to re-establish it straight away.

HomeBank, which I have started using recently, is up to v4.5 - the website is http://homebank.free.fr/

I know you've expressed reluctance to include the newest version of Gnumeric but Upup Raring (IIRC) has version 1.12.1 and the ISO didn't seem much bigger. Latest version is 1.12.4 which has just come out.

Pidgin 2.10.7 on PPM doesn't check for dependancies but 2.10.6 does. After updating the package lists the one on pet_packages-slacko14 shows up and that installs and runs fine.
Good it seems to run fine. Let me know how the netgear device goes.

As for gnumeric.. well, it does need gtk3, a substantial increase in iso size. I'm not going to do it. The version we have does the job, near as well as calc (oo or libre) for about 3 M in the iso. Gtk+3 will add about another 10M, not worth it in an official puppy for 1 program.

As for pidgin, yes it's a known issue that programs in the patches repo don't resolve dependencies, but if (as you found) install the original first, then update all is well. Not perfect I agree, I'll have a think about that one (could affect a couple of other programs too).

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0726s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0208s) ][ GZIP on ]