Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 05:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Raring 3.9.8.1 with kernel 3.9.8 non-PAE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 473

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  

Runs well on my eeepc.
Did a quick compile of a few items, as you will see in the attached image. Devx works well, now I have a crisp new self-compiled Geany of the latest version. Removed Seamonkey and installed Firefox. Both are fast. I wish pemasu could have made it a little bit smaller in size, with less pre-installed apps, and more choice given to the user. Maybe that will happen in the future.
uname.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.33 KB
 Viewed   729 Time(s)

uname.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 15:48    Post subject:  

Anikin. Yeah. I am not famous of creating barebones Puppies. You should check my Snow Puppy size from what I started. Or Polarpup. I have gone to the smaller additions. It is all the raring stuff, included Python, included dri drivers, libflashplayer etc which really makes Raring series big. If I dont include them....there are people who complain.

Anyway....this has been my summer experiment. I did include in purpose more stuff than I have recently done.

Apologies of that.

Oh...I have uploaded the catalyst 13.4 modern pet. What that modern even means. There are already other newer catalyst drivers, like the one for HD7xxx series and so on. I am not even sure if desktop graphics have other drivers also. I have always chosen laptop driver since I have laptop when I have checked those menus in the amd driver page.

Catalyst 13.6 also gives me black screen so they havent created yet newish catalyst for my dual graphics HD4XXX graphics. I will stick with 13.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2096
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 16:21    Post subject: Re: Upup Raring 3.9.8.1 with kernel 3.9.8 non-PAE
Subject description: problem with ati pet
 

for_wov wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
it shows an alert thing about an inch square in the
lower right corner of the screen which is always there but doesn't
show up on a screenshot, it says "AMD testing use only".
4) Download and add a release signature (taken from Catalyst 13.4) to remove the testing watermark
info from here


Thanks for the tip, the 13.4 driver is working well on this laptop so I'll stick with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 19:10    Post subject:  

Upup Raring 3.9.8.1

Figaros Password Manager:

Code:
# fpm2

** (fpm2:17941): WARNING **: Couldn't find pixmap file: logo.png
Segmentation fault
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogbert0360

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 22:56    Post subject: nvidia legacy driver support  

Tried out the latest Upup and am very impressed. I was wondering if there will be nvidia driver support for legacy cards (304.xx). I hope so as this will soldify my decession to install it on my computer.

Keep up the great work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2096
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 23:01    Post subject: Upup Raring 3.9.8.1 with kernel 3.9.8 non-PAE  

I used the universal installer to install 3981 to a 4gb flash drive
and used grub4dos as the bootloader.

Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Memory 1553MB (179MB used)
Machine Type Physical machine
Operating System Upup Raring - 3.9.8.1
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Sun Jul 7 21:49:13 2013
Display
Resolution 1920x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Mesa DRI R200 (RV280 5961) x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation
Audio Devices
Audio Adapter CMI8738-MC6 - C-Media CMI8738
Input Devices
Logitech USB Receiver
Logitech USB Receiver
Power Button
Power Button
PC Speaker
OpenGL
Vendor Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
Renderer Mesa DRI R200 (RV280 5961) x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2
Version 1.3 Mesa 9.1.3
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.456 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.998 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.004 FPS
#
I added VLC,Audacious,Kdegames,Ltris, and Kfloppy with ppm.

@pemasu
Thanks for doing your summer experiment, it's a great success Smile
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.05 KB
 Viewed   592 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 00:16    Post subject:  

Hi Pemasu,
this raring looks great!

As gCAD3D seems being my favourite applications ...
even version 2.10 needs texturation present.
Till now only wheezy-3.5.2.5 has «texturation» "enabled" or "present " with the embedded Mesa.

Opening the file Haus1.gcad is a good test for testing texturation display.
(on gcad3d-2.10, the default loaded drawing has no texturation; it is only a so called "wired" model).
Running gcad3d from console returns
gl_error 1281
gl_error 1282
when opening Haus1.gcad using Raring.

Sorry if not able to explain this with more specific terms relevant to Mesa settings.

So i keep wondering why this Raring could not render texturation as wheezy does...
Sorry is looking insisting .. Smile

Cheers
Charlie
Haus1.gcad.whezzy3525-part.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.47 KB
 Viewed   552 Time(s)

Haus1.gcad.whezzy3525-part.jpg

Haus1.gacd_Raring-part.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.31 KB
 Viewed   584 Time(s)

Haus1.gacd_Raring-part.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 01:20    Post subject:  

Radky. Woof packages template for fpm2 is wrong. 0.79 version has different location for icons and when not found, it seqfaults.

Here is the fixing pet. Be aware, that removal of /root/.fpm folder is needed it to be effective. The pinstall.sh script in fix-pet takes care of that folder. Since fpm2 seqfaults without fix, it should not be problem.

I have fixed the woof package template.

Thanks Radky of your observant post.
fpm2-fix-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fpm2-fix-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  9.68 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1413
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 02:15    Post subject: Re: nvidia legacy driver support  

dogbert0360 wrote:
Tried out the latest Upup and am very impressed. I was wondering if there will be nvidia driver support for legacy cards (304.xx). I hope so as this will soldify my decession to install it on my computer.

Keep up the great work!


Hi there

It is possible to "grow your own" nvidia driver using shinobar's get-nvidia pet after downloading the appropriate 304.88 nvidia "run" file + kernel sources + devx sfs.

However as I've already done this I have uploaded the driver (SFS only) here - 28MB

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogbert0360

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

( peebee ) " Hi there

It is possible to "grow your own" nvidia driver using shinobar's get-nvidia pet after downloading the appropriate 304.88 nvidia "run" file + kernel sources + devx sfs.

However as I've already done this I have uploaded the driver (SFS only) here - 28MB "

Cheers
peebee

Thank you very much and much appreciated!!!! Double cheers too!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1686
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 14:09    Post subject:  

for_wov wrote:

devx & kernel src cannot be reached from Quickpet yet. Any chances Qmmp will get to audio tab?
All the rest is cool as always. Thanks.


hi for_wov,

qmmp now added to quickpet (use the update button).... i'll sort out the devx & kernel sources button eventually when i add the drivers... there are two different rarings, so it's more complicated that it sounds

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1686
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 14:25    Post subject:  

hi pemasu,

there may be a problem with jwm... , when i move a window to the edge of the screen it stops for ages before going to the next virtual desktop.

after a hunt i found this
Quote:
The optional delay attribute sets the delay in milliseconds before moving a window to a different desktop. Setting this to 0 disables dragging between desktops. 1000 is the default.


so messed around with the settings, editing /root/.jwm/jwm-personal and adding the delay switch
Code:
<MoveMode delay="50">outline</MoveMode>


however, what ever number i set, i can't get the usual smooth transition i have in other pups

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogbert0360

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 16:07    Post subject: PPM stopped working...  

Just installed Upup 3.9.8.1 and was able to update PPM. When I attempted to do a restart it would not come back up. All I got was a brief window about updating list. I kept waiting and trying but nothing happened.

What can I do to get my PPM back working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 16:29    Post subject:  

666philb

# jwm --version
unrecognized option: --version
JWM vgit-827 by Joe Wingbermuehle
compiled options: confirm fribidi icons jpeg nls png shape svg xft xinerama xpm xrender

There isnt yet new stable version. I do use the development version of the time. I dont know if joe wing is already aware of your observed problem. The right place would be to email joe wing.

dogbert0360. I just updated PPM, I didnt update puppy databases, just ubuntu ones. I updated ok and PPM restarted as it should.

You should check /root/.packages. If there are in the middle of the processing files like /root/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-raring-mainpre, it indicates that processing of the database files havent succeeded. How to fix broken PPM, well, it would need information what is broken.

Last edited by pemasu on Tue 09 Jul 2013, 09:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogbert0360

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 17:01    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:


dogbert0360. I just updated PPM, I didnt update puppy databases, just ubuntu ones. I updated ok and PPM restarted as it should.

You should check /root/.packages. If there are in the middle of the processing files like /root/.packages/Packages-ubuntu-raring-mainpre, it indicates that processing of the database files havent succeeded. How to fix broken PPM, well, it would need information what is broken.


I checked the root/.packages and found no "Packages-ubuntu-raring-mainpre". Is that what may have caused my PPM to not restart? Sorry if I misunderstood what you meant. Could you please clarify this and what I can do to get my PPM back working.

So far I like Upup-raring and would like to see Pup-Control become more like Mandriva control center. Keep up the great work pemasu!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0917s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]