Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 09:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 40 [587 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
atv


Joined: 16 Nov 2011
Posts: 23
Location: Tambo, Ecuador

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2014, 13:03    Post subject: firefox update  

Zavala wrote:
Quote:
Are we supposed to update Firefox, or not?


I have been updating firefox regularly for about a year with no problems so far.
The best way i found is to run Firefox as root, as follows:
Click open a terminal window, type firefox then when firefox starts go to the help tab, go to about and firefox checks for latest updates and it updates itself.
Do a restart and check the about function until there are no more updates, then close the terminal window and now you are set.

Just run FF as default user spot, saving to the Downloads folder; then click on the Downloads desktop icon and move files elsewhere as needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2014, 13:08    Post subject: How to get the Firefox upgrade in LightHouse64  

Here's the approach I use when FF indicates an available pgrage. FF runs normally as user "spot". Since it's impossible to upgrade under normal use, LH offers a friendly Menu option to allow running FF in a mode (root) for updating.

See pic below.
Run Firefox as root to update.gif
 Description   Open FF as root. Goto FF's Menubar>Help>About ... It will update to most current stable version.
 Filesize   179.37 KB
 Viewed   300 Time(s)

Run Firefox as root to update.gif


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2014, 22:09    Post subject:  

Firefox isn't showing a Help or About option when opened from Console.

Also, I'm getting this in Add-On updates:

Quote:
VLC Web PluginVersion 2.0.6 Twoflower, copyright 1996-2012 VideoLAN and Authors
http://www.videolan.org/vlc/ vulnerable


Is there a preferred way to update VLC in Puppy LH64?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jul 2014, 22:15    Post subject:  

Never mind ... I ignored the instructions - opened "Firefox Help" from the Menu - clicked on the pop-up for the update - chose Reboot - clicked on Firefox Root in the window - allowed update to run - closed Firefox Root - opened Firefox Spot from the desktop - it checked Add Ons for compatibility & no problems ... thanks!
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 16:03    Post subject: Cannot run CD on desktop  

Hello, I use Lighthouse on an easily overheated laptop, so I am trying to switch it to a desktop (booting from CD). It goes through the almost entire sequence of boot (past loading SFS files, and the text size adapts to the monitor size, so it's past that) and then after a few lines says "Recursive error fixed but reboot required!"

Rebooting then leads to a repeat.

Has anyone ever seen this message?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 17:33    Post subject:  

Hello @Deacon.

Is this the first time you are using your DVD to boot? If so, did you check the MD5 after you downloaded the ISO onto your PC before you burned it? This sounds like a problem which occurs from either a bad download or a bad burn.

Another problem which can result is when one has booted their ISO, ran their system, and at Shutdown, they did NOT allow the save-session process they started to complete leaving an inconsistent, incomplete save-session on the DVD. If you, indeed,remember aborting during a save-session, you can recover by hitting F1 during the bootsplash and telling the boot process to ignore the last save session(s).
Code:
lhp pfix=1 (or some number of session to IGNORE)
If this were me, I would try booting, hitting F2 and entering the
Code:
lhp pfix=fsck,ram
for DVD boot.If this boots to desktop, then the initial burn was good, but, you have created bad save-sessions on the DVD.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 21:23    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hello @Deacon.

Is this the first time you are using your DVD to boot? If so, did you check the MD5 after you downloaded the ISO onto your PC before you burned it? This sounds like a problem which occurs from either a bad download or a bad burn.


No-- I've actually installed Lighthouse on another machine using that same CD. I'll double check the checksum.

Quote:
Another problem which can result is when one has booted their ISO, ran their system, and at Shutdown, they did NOT allow the save-session process they started to complete leaving an inconsistent, incomplete save-session on the DVD. If you, indeed,remember aborting during a save-session, you can recover by hitting F1 during the bootsplash and telling the boot process to ignore the last save session(s).
Code:
lhp pfix=1 (or some number of session to IGNORE)
If this were me, I would try booting, hitting F2 and entering the
Code:
lhp pfix=fsck,ram
for DVD boot.If this boots to desktop, then the initial burn was good, but, you have created bad save-sessions on the DVD.

Here to help


That is indeed possible-- I didn't realize the disk was still writable? Will try that and see what the results are.

EDIT: I tried hitting F1 which listed options. But wasn't sure how to type them in. Tried to run "Lighthouse without save file" in the boot menu, same errors.

I've taken a picture, somewhat blurry, of the screen.
[img=http://s1.postimg.org/c3opr0tfv/image.jpg] [img=http://s1.postimg.org/ivf4tviff/0729142133_00.jpg]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jul 2014, 23:25    Post subject: Instructions to address a PC system trap at boot time  

That looks like a system trap (like a blue screen in Microsoft). Various things can cause this. Rarely happens, but ...

Try this
If you have another PC to test on, take you DVD and see it boots. If it does,then assume the DVD is OK and there is a problem with this trapping PC

If the Lighthouse64 (LH64) DVD boots on another PC, then here's one other approach on this PC you can attempt.
On another PC get the FATDOG ISO, create a DVD, to see if it boots on this PC. It may. If so, come back to this thread and post results for some further things to try so that you can boot LH64 on your PC.

Summary
See if the DVD is still good and usable. Then find a 64bit FATDOG and boot it (newer kernel). If this works, we can then take next step(s) for LH64.

BTW, does anyone else have any ideas that should be employed?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2014, 00:19    Post subject: Re: Instructions to address a PC system trap at boot time  

gcmartin wrote:
That looks like a system trap (like a blue screen in Microsoft). Various things can cause this. Rarely happens, but ...

Try this
If you have another PC to test on, take you DVD and see it boots. If it does,then assume the DVD is OK and there is a problem with this trapping PC

If the Lighthouse64 (LH64) DVD boots on another PC, then here's one other approach on this PC you can attempt.
On another PC get the FATDOG ISO, create a DVD, to see if it boots on this PC. It may. If so, come back to this thread and post results for some further things to try so that you can boot LH64 on your PC.

Summary
See if the DVD is still good and usable. Then find a 64bit FATDOG and boot it (newer kernel). If this works, we can then take next step(s) for LH64.

BTW, does anyone else have any ideas that should be employed?


It is actually on a CD-- does that make a difference? It not only works fine on my overheating laptop (what I am using now-- it's overheated for a couple of years) but I can run it from CD fine (it's installed to the lap so I only do that if there's a crash).

I suspect it is in fact the computer. It currently has a small variant of Debian (Semplice) on it which crashes after a while due to overheats. It's a Foxconn motherboard. It was out of commission for a few months till we determined it had a bad RAM stick. Since removing it, it's been operational, but far buggier. I never tested the machine with LHP until it had 1GB on it (I figured switching to a Pup would improve performance)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2014, 02:37    Post subject:  

I cannot comment on CD use, never tried since the authors announced that their distros were "supported" on DVD (and not CDs). They never said CD wont work, just NOT supported (which means they wont entertain questions for things they don't support). Beside, ever 64bit PC comes with DVD peripheral (part of the manufacturer's bill-of-materials for 64bit PCs).

If you have the means to do so, you might try creating a DVD of the ISO and testing. I would give the steps and DVD a try.

I assume, too, that your PC has 1GB of RAM which should be adequate for just about everything you would want to do and with very good performance once booted.

There is a 32bit distro which I have tested using CDRWs that may boot. It is this stable Slacko edition. And, it has all of the same stuff that Lighthouse64-602 "Base" version has.

But, like you, I know the headaches caused by problematic hardware.

Here to help
P.S. Are you working with LH64's Mariner version or the Base version? AND are you using LH64-602?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2014, 04:33    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
I cannot comment on CD use, never tried since the authors announced that their distros were "supported" on DVD (and not CDs). They never said CD wont work, just NOT supported (which means they wont entertain questions for things they don't support). Beside, ever 64bit PC comes with DVD peripheral (part of the manufacturer's bill-of-materials for 64bit PCs).

If you have the means to do so, you might try creating a DVD of the ISO and testing. I would give the steps and DVD a try.

I assume, too, that your PC has 1GB of RAM which should be adequate for just about everything you would want to do and with very good performance once booted.

There is a 32bit distro which I have tested using CDRWs that may boot. It is this stable Slacko edition. And, it has all of the same stuff that Lighthouse64-602 "Base" version has.

But, like you, I know the headaches caused by problematic hardware.

Here to help
P.S. Are you working with LH64's Mariner version or the Base version? AND are you using LH64-602?


I am using LHP 6.02.

This is a 64-bit system. I can take pics of the inside of the machine. As I said- and as I am running it now- I want it to work on this.

This is not a complaint. I want to figure this one out and make it work. Whatever happened to this machine, I want to figure out why it is not working, and make it work, What you need me to do, I'll do. I have a DVD handy. But storage is storage-- I suspect a hardware issue to resolve. Will you help me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jul 2014, 08:01    Post subject: over heating
Subject description: clean fan
 

Not directly related to your immediate problem, but if you are willing to open the case of your laptop, you might want to check the fan on the laptop. It is very possible it is dirty and or not functioning. This often causes over heating. Portable under laptop fans are now very inexpensive if you like to put laptop on your lap. They fit under the case and help dissipate heat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 13 Aug 2014, 16:18    Post subject: Thanks again: Follow Up  

Sorry about the late response. I think I wasn't clear. I have few problems with the overheating laptop (I'm using it now-- unlike other systems, as long as I don't go to say, dynamic sites like Twitter, my laptop works ok). Lighthouse is good and stable on it.

The problem was moving to a desktop system, that had been sidelined because of bad RAM, but we later discovered "worked" with 1G.

Alongside Lighthouse, we tried Semplice and my wife wanted to try "Simplicity Linux" (no offense to any fans of it, but tethering the user to your menu choices, not cool, it's like Anti-Mariner), but I said what the hey. In doing all three, we determined based on error messages:

1) a coprocessor on the machine is fried.
2) the hard drive was completely corrupted.
3) the fan was reacting to a hard drive it couldn't communicate with and clocking faster in its attempts to reach the dead drive.
4) Attempting reformatting and repartitioning the drive did nothing.

So, for all those concerned, I'll just say the desktop doesn't need a doctor, it needs a priest.

Thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 13 Aug 2014, 16:26    Post subject: Re: over heating
Subject description: clean fan
 

Minnesota wrote:
Not directly related to your immediate problem, but if you are willing to open the case of your laptop, you might want to check the fan on the laptop. It is very possible it is dirty and or not functioning. This often causes over heating. Portable under laptop fans are now very inexpensive if you like to put laptop on your lap. They fit under the case and help dissipate heat.


I actually considered this, but as of today I found myself a nice little netbook to put mariner on. Now, I know I've seen somewhere that you can easily copy a frugal install from one computer to another, but I've forgotten how. Any insight on that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 14 Aug 2014, 00:26    Post subject: LH64 makes booting any PC on your LAN, simple  

Hello @Deacon

If you are running Mariner on one of your PC, then you can boot Mariner and any other PUP distro over the LAN to your 64bit netbook. Its really too simple!

Nothing to install! Nothing much to do except
  1. open the Menu.
  2. Click Menu>Network>Netboot-server
  3. Navigate to an ISO file you want to boot
  4. When it completes, Go to any LAN attached PC and tell it to boot from the LAN adapter
  5. Watch it boot the ISO you selected
The author made this all-too-simple to do for any LH64 user to do for any PC on their home LAN network. It is just too easy to be productive.

No DVD! no USB! no HDD! Nothing to tailor! Nothing to do! Just boot your LAN PC. Anyone can do it.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 40 [587 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1298s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0267s) ][ GZIP on ]