Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 12:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 15 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jul 2013, 20:02    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@Edoc
I did find on a 32bit thread, that Alsa Wizard had a positive impact on motherboard sound where alsaconf did not. Can I assume you tried both of these?

Here to help.


I'll have another look ... I do have more sound than before ... something changed ...

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 09:24    Post_subject:  

I've been monitoring the boot process every morning to manually bypass the Radeon video modules.

A couple of times recently I'm missed that window and everything opens up OK.

However, after using the laptop for a few hours I begin to notice odd long delays in response to mouse or keyboard input - mostly if not exclusively in Firefox - and then longer delays with the screen not rewriting properly.

I'm blaming the video conflict and will be more careful to bypass Radeon at boot until that, and UEFI/Frugal are fixed, but thought I'd mention it in case it's a memory leak or something unrelated to Radeon.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4435
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 00:46    Post_subject: LH602 losing ability to use eth0 after an overnight sleep  

Anyone else have a problem with LH602 loosing the ability to navigate the LAN when its sleeps with cover closed overnight?

Problem Scenario
Upon awakening, the IP is present but it cannot access ANY LAN IP resources. Using Frisbee to restart DHCP on the eth0 interface will get an IP, yet, LAN navigation goes nowhere. Cannot ping or access any LAN resouces. ... until reboot.

Ideas.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 10:05    Post_subject:  

If someone finds a moment - I recognize that everyone is busy and are volunteers ... and so I appreciate all that you share ... but I cannot come close to sorting this out:

Quote:
How to watch TV via IP with SiliconDust HDTV tuner?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78268


He found a way to get it working in FatDog64 so it should work in LH64.

It seems as though it would add a powerful multimedia feature set.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 18:45    Post_subject:  

is there any news out there re. a resolution to the Radeon module, please?

I'm experiencing some odd delays in repainting the screen in the default VESA mode - not sure if it explains the problem with multiple windows in Firefox all but freezing-up the laptop after a while.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4435
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 20:45    Post_subject:  

@Edoc, do you have a SWAP partition? Is it activated when you boot (check the terminal's free command)?
edoc wrote:
is there any news out there re. a resolution to the Radeon module, please?

I'm experiencing some odd delays in repainting the screen in the default VESA mode - not sure if it explains the problem with multiple windows in Firefox all but freezing-up the laptop after a while.
I have run, also, with issues with FF hogging CPU and RAM. Last night, I saw it had consume 8GB RAM and 4GB swap with the processor "pegged" (according to the graph next to the clock). I did have a lot of tabs open across 5 FF panes.

When it finally became unbearable, I Ctrl-Alt-Bksp to regain system control. I have not been able to reproduce this with Chrome or SeaMonkey in FATDOG. I do have Flash and OpenJRE subsystems active in a LIve media system.

Anyone else.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 21:18    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@Edoc, do you have a SWAP partition? Is it activated when you boot (check the terminal's free command)?


"terminal's free command"?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 19:55    Post_subject: ATI-13.4-HD567-k3.8.7 Pet; Firefox  

edoc wrote:
is there any news out there re. a resolution to the Radeon module, please?

I'm experiencing some odd delays in repainting the screen in the default VESA mode - not sure if it explains the problem with multiple windows in Firefox all but freezing-up the laptop after a while.
Hi edoc,
Thank you for posting the sys-info report. It looks like your display adapter is an AMD Radeon HD 7000 series. The Catalyst proprietary driver is ATI-13.4-HD567, which is designed for Radeon HD 5000-7000 series. It can be installed with Lighthouse Update (recommended) or via this link to the repo:

http://www.lhpup.org/download/update/L64-602/System/

This is the ATI-13.4-HD567 supported models page.

Here is a direct link to the HD567 driver Pet

If you've booted with the boot menu option to disable the radeon module, you can enable the driver by installing the Pet and restarting X. Otherwise the Pet will prompt to reboot after installation.

If it works, you'll be using the proprietary fglrx driver. If not, you can uninstall it with PPM, or from the console (if X won't start) by typing:
Code:
update -ATI-13.4
and reboot normally (without the boot option to disable radeon) to use the open source radeon driver.

Firefox slow-down

I've been running Firefox with 15 tabs open. Not sure if you meant tabs or windows, but I generally prefer one window with multiple tabs, so that when I close the window, the next time FF starts it re-opens all of the tabs from the previous session. It does take a while to re-open all of them, but otherwise seems fine. I'm in the habit of closing unused tabs, and FF itself when I'm not using it.

You can start FF without any extensions by typing this in a terminal window:
Code:
firefox-spot -safe-mode
in a terminal. If that works better, it is possible that an extension or theme is to blame. Extensions can be disabled individually from the FF Tools menu -> Add-ons.

Another possibility is that the FF cache is growing too large. If so, clear the cache with Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Network -> Cached web content. It indicates how much disk space is being used by the cache and has a 'Clear Now' button.

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 20:49    Post_subject: Re: ATI-13.4-HD567-k3.8.7 Pet; Firefox  

tazoc wrote:

Thank you for posting the sys-info report. It looks like your display adapter is an AMD Radeon HD 7000 series. The Catalyst proprietary driver is ATI-13.4-HD567, which is designed for Radeon HD 5000-7000 series. It can be installed with Lighthouse Update (recommended)


Done, rebooted w/o Radeon bypass, looks stable.

I'll check the cache the next time FF gets constipated ...

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 17:08    Post_subject: Gimp Character Map?  

I am trying to follow some instructions to add a watermark copyright to some pictures.

I'm hitting a wall where they specify (in the MS win version of GIMP) to open the Character Map.

I cannot find a Character Map in the Linux version of GIMP nor anywhere on the Net.

What am I missing, please?

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 10:20    Post_subject: Character Map  

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Character_Map
Quote:
Character Map is a utility included with Microsoft Windows operating systems and is used to view the characters in any installed font, to check what keyboard input (Alt code) is used to enter those characters, and to copy characters to the clipboard in lieu of typing them. The tool is usually useful for entering special characters. It can be opened via the command line or Run Command dialog using the 'charmap' command.
I don't see it in The GIMP. It is available in Lighthouse if the KDE SFS is loaded at menu -> Utility -> KCharSelect. If KDE SFS is not loaded, the GNOME Character Map can be installed with PPM. Search in PPM for 'gucharmap'.
_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 11:31    Post_subject: Re: Character Map  

tazoc wrote:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Character_Map
Quote:
Character Map is a utility included with Microsoft Windows operating systems and is used to view the characters in any installed font, to check what keyboard input (Alt code) is used to enter those characters, and to copy characters to the clipboard in lieu of typing them. The tool is usually useful for entering special characters. It can be opened via the command line or Run Command dialog using the 'charmap' command.
I don't see it in The GIMP. It is available in Lighthouse if the KDE SFS is loaded at menu -> Utility -> KCharSelect. If KDE SFS is not loaded, the GNOME Character Map can be installed with PPM. Search in PPM for 'gucharmap'.


I found and loaded 'gucharmap' via PPM.

It's in menu -> Utility -> Character Map.

PROBLEM: When I try to drag the copyright symbol from the Character Map to a GIMP layer I get an error
Quote:

Opening '\u00a9' failed:

Unknown file type


WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 14:10    Post_subject:  

Hello edoc

When in GIMP's 'Text Tool' try the following:

Hold down the Ctrl+Shift keys and type the letter u
now release the Ctrl+Shift keys and type your unicode hex (00a9)
and then press the enter key. Wink

Here is a list of unicode hex characters

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
copyright.png
 Description   
 Filesize   41.87 KB
 Viewed   267 Time(s)

copyright.png


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 14:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks CatDude! I had looked at a YouTube which said key sequences and hex codes didn't work any more ... bad intel.

I was successful at that stage ... here are the steps I am using to create a simple watermark copyright:

1. Open GIMP

2. Create a blank transparent page 1600 x 1200 125 x 125 px

3. Click on the Text icon on the left side toolbar window then type my name.

4. Click on the Text icon again, position the cursor next to my name, then hold Ctrl & Shift with one hand while typing "u" with the other.

5. Release Ctrl & Shift then type 00a9 then hit Enter.

6. Click the text icon again, position below my name & copyright symbol, and type my URL.

7. In the right toolbar window right-click on any of the three Text layers just created then scroll down to Merge Visible Layers & click.

8. Go to the top toolbar & select Image then scroll down & click on Autocrop Image.

9. Back to the top toolbar choose File -> Save As, name it e.g. "copyright-watermark1.xcf", then save somewhere.

10. Back to the top toolbar choose File -> Export, then on the file type pop-up (located just above Save) choose GBR (GIMP Brush), change the Spacing to 25, then save to: /usr/local/gimp/2.0/brushes

11. ????

I am stuck at this point.

The copyright watermark looks like a checkerboard with hard to read text.

I don't know if I need to do something to remove the checkerboard background or if that's supposed to look like that.

I don't know how to impose this on a picture.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 08:43    Post_subject:  

Hello edoc

edoc wrote:
...
10. Back to the top toolbar choose File -> Export, then on the file type pop-up (located just above Save) choose GBR (GIMP Brush), change the Spacing to 25, then save to: /usr/local/gimp/2.0/brushes

Are you sure about that path Question
as it does not exist here.

Try putting your brush in /root/.gimp-2.8/brushes
then fire up GIMP and see if it is in the Brushes.

edoc wrote:
...
11. ????

I am stuck at this point.

The copyright watermark looks like a checkerboard with hard to read text.

I don't know if I need to do something to remove the checkerboard background or if that's supposed to look like that.

It's meant to look like that.

edoc wrote:
...
I don't know how to impose this on a picture.

Select the Paintbrush Tool,
then use your brush to paint on your image.

Or you could paint it onto a transparent layer (above your main image),
which would allow you to adjust the opacity.
CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1158s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]