Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 06:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 40 [587 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 21:55    Post subject:  

Just went ahead and fired-up Seamonkey, after symlinking the imported default folder, and this time everything was imported properly - Inbox subfolders, archived emails, filters, etc.

It appears that I lost the few emails that had arrived and were sent during the first session, though I would have expected they'd have been written to this common imported & symlinked default folder.

Sigh.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 13:32    Post subject:  

Wondering: SeaMonkey is a built-in feature of FATDOG. Is there a PET which would provide proper constructs for LH64? I looked for one in FATDOG but, I may have overlooked where it resides.

Just thoughts that would make the SeaMonkey experience a simple one.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 14:45    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Wondering: SeaMonkey is a built-in feature of FATDOG. Is there a PET which would provide proper constructs for LH64? I looked for one in FATDOG but, I may have overlooked where it resides.

Just thoughts that would make the SeaMonkey experience a simple one.


The Spot vs root thing messed me up some - all seems to be well now.

I need to look to see if there is any debris left behind by my first effort ... I don't like code-clutter as it may introduce unknown variables to future intermittent or persistent problems.

I tried to get Firefox to use Seamonkey as the email mailto app but still no joy - it keeps trying to start-up Seamonkey - which is already open.

It doesn't allow me to point only at Seamonkey-email.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 19:59    Post subject: No sound  

AlsaConf shows this:

hda-Intel Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Hudson Azalia Controller

hda-Intel ATI Technologies Inc Device 9902

legacy Probe legacy ISA (non-PnP) Chips

I tried the first two and the taskbar volume control remained unresponsive (full volume by default) and I have no sound.

I did not try legacy due to the warning that it might render the system unstable and it's a fairly new laptop which is unlikely to contain such devices.

WDYT, please?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 22:04    Post subject:  

David,
Please check that all needed channels are enabled in the mixer, (right-click on the speaker icon for retrovol down near the clock -> then click 'Full Window'.) Usually the first four or five should be enabled (not muted) and raise the volumes if they are lowered.

RE: UEFI, ext3 for the partition with your L64save file should be fine. Have you gone back into the UEFI Setup, Boot tab in your BIOS to see if the boot option you added in Step 5 is still there? If not, put it back in and disable Secure Boot, maybe that will help. EFI/boot/bootx64.efi is the correct file on your new fat32 partition.
CatDude wrote:
Hello tazoc

I was wondering if it is at all possible to turn off the volume label on the desktop drive icons Question

CatDude
.
So that they display sda2 sdb1 etc.?
I didn't anticipate or include that setting, however, you can you mouse over the icon for the Linux designation. If the icons are too close together, increase the ICON_PLACE_SPACING= value near the end of /etc/eventmanager and restart X.

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 22:14    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
David,
Please check that all needed channels are enabled in the mixer, (right-click on the speaker icon for retrovol down near the clock -> then click 'Full Window'.) Usually the first four or five should be enabled (not muted) and raise the volumes if they are lowered.


When I right-click on the speaker icon I get a small window.

In that window there is only FILE in the upper left corner and a checkbox above "IEC958" centered at the bottom.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2  

Hi TaZoc,

Having fun with it, as you can see eSword works find as well as the obsolete commercial program, Quickverse 2011, running under Wine installed with greendome's latest wine-1.6-rc5-i486_v1.pet along with Fatdog's 32bit-slacko.sfs. You may want to add them to your update with a reminder that Fatdog's 32bit-slacko.sfs must also be loaded.

Regards,
Jim
image-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.88 KB
 Viewed   456 Time(s)

image-3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jul 2013, 19:20    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
When I right-click on the speaker icon I get a small window.

In that window there is only FILE in the upper left corner and a checkbox above "IEC958" centered at the bottom.
Hmm, that's odd! OK, next I think I would try the Multiple Sound Card Wizard, also found in Setup under the main menu. If that doesn't work--my last idea is to delete the file asound.state inside /var/lib/alsa/ and reboot.

If you haven't already, please look at the Audio Configuration page on the LH64 FAQ:
http://www.lhpup.org/help/faqs/sound.html

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jul 2013, 21:09    Post subject:  

Booted and runnig Mariner from DVD. Is anyone else seeing GVFS behavior with nothing going on like what I am seeing here. Thre are no foreign PETs or SFSs installed. And the only thing active is ROX.

Initially, I saw this climb after starting Firefox from the terminal. Over the course of a day, the system pegged the CPU with FF open in use.

I shut FF down and this is what I have. There are no FF services/subsystem running at the moment, but of interest,is the GVFS performance shown in top.

Ideas and ideas for resolution???

Edited (2013/07/21): This problem is probably NOT due to GVFS presence, but, rather due to something in Mariner. I have been running BASIC LH64for observation over past several days and am not seeing the sustained CPU use that was witnessed before and after FF use on Mariner.
Top shows.png
 Description   Top shows this
 Filesize   184.33 KB
 Viewed   389 Time(s)

Top shows.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Sun 21 Jul 2013, 14:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Jul 2013, 22:32    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
... next I think I would try the Multiple Sound Card Wizard, also found in Setup under the main menu.


That got me some volume, including the boot-up waves ... Smile

However, the taskbar volume control is stuck on 65295% - if that may be a hint to anyone.

Also, Pmusic is not working.

tazoc wrote:
If that doesn't work--my last idea is to delete the file asound.state inside /var/lib/alsa/ and reboot.


I will try this next.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2013, 01:36    Post subject:  

... more on my Chrome using 100% of CPU problem. I got the following information from this url:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/bugs#TOC-Swap-use-swappiness-is-too-high:-Ubuntu-is-too-slow-and-uses-the-hard-disk-too-much
and for my desktop box it really made Chrome run much better in Mint14. It is an older 64-bit machine but no dinosaur:
My machine characteristics are:
Quote:
Processor : AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3000+
Memory : 1020MB
Operating System : Lighthouse 64 6.02 B2
-Display- Resolution : 1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on ATI R481
The fix to reduce "swappiness" was this:
Quote:
Swap use (swappiness) is too high: When Ubuntu uses the swap too much, the computer slows down a lot.
In a terminal:
cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
The result will probably be 60.

Copy/paste the following lines to the bottom of /etc/sysctl.conf:

#
# Decrease swap usage to a workable level
vm.swappiness=10
# Improve cache management
vm.vfs_cache_pressure=50

Save the text file and reboot. Note: your machine might benefit from an even bigger decrease in swappiness. A useful rule of thumb might be this:
1 GB RAM or more: swappiness at 10 Less than 1 GB RAM: swappiness at 5
I looked but there is no /etc/sysctl.conf file in LHPup, but I am intrigued by this fix for Ubuntu/Mint.
Does anyone know if there is a way that "swappiness" can be reduced in LHP to see whether that helps with Chrome going to 100% CPU and staying there?

B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Littleman

Joined: 17 Jul 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2013, 04:43    Post subject:  lsblk 100% CPU usage at boot - needs to be killed to mount
Subject description: lsblk process hogs cpu resources at boot
 

Hi,
first post here Smile I'm new to puppy linux & I love lighthouse linux so far.
My problem is that the lsblk process eats up 100% of my dual core at boot.

My guess is that this process is used in the automounting process of my drives at boot (??). If i kill the process, my drives icon automagically appear in the bottom left corner of my desktop.

So...I guess this process has trouble doing something with one of my partitions at boot.
It seems to be stuck on a sda1 partition, which is one of those "system reserved" ntfs partitions from windows.

Am I alone?
Help please, thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jul 2013, 14:54    Post subject: Re: lsblk 100% CPU usage at boot - needs to be killed to mount
Subject description: lsblk process hogs cpu resources at boot
 

Littleman wrote:
Hi,
first post here Smile I'm new to puppy linux & I love lighthouse linux so far.
My problem is that the lsblk process eats up 100% of my dual core at boot.
Welcome Littleman and thank you for the bug report. I have not yet been able to reproduce, but I willl look into this and hopefully find a fix. The script /usr/sbin/blkid-read-label uses lsblk so I will look for an alternative method of volume label detection. My first thought was to use busybox, though it does not have an lsblk applet. But maybe busybox blkid would work... Can you paste this into a terminal please:
Code:
busybox blkid /dev/sda1
and post the output. This is what I'm seeing:
Code:
bash-4.1# busybox blkid /dev/sda1
/dev/sda1: LABEL="SYSTEM" UUID="1C98-8F10" TYPE="vfat"

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jul 2013, 14:58    Post subject: Re: lid suspend  

Marv wrote:
Found one very small flea affecting lid suspend on the Fujitsu s6520 laptop I reported on earlier.
Suspend occurred correctly on lid closure, wireless shut down ok. On reopening, x restarted, network enabled, frisbee acquired a lease... and then it immediately suspended again.

Cause is, in /etc/acpi/events,lid calls /etc/acpi/action/suspend.sh for any lid event, open or close. Could put a test in it so only a closure calls suspend.sh but the appropiate test already exists in lines 4 through 7 of /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh. I uncommented those lines as below and changed the comment line slightly to better reflect what it does
Code:
# do not suspend on lid open event
if [ "$(cat /proc/acpi/button/lid/*/state | grep open)" != "" ] ; then
exit
fi
and the false resuspend is gone.
Thank you, Marv. Very Happy I'll include your fix in the next release.
Jim1911 wrote:
Hi TaZoc,

Having fun with it, as you can see eSword works find as well as the obsolete commercial program, Quickverse 2011, running under Wine installed with greendome's latest wine-1.6-rc5-i486_v1.pet along with Fatdog's 32bit-slacko.sfs. You may want to add them to your update with a reminder that Fatdog's 32bit-slacko.sfs must also be loaded.

Regards,
Jim
Hi Jim, thanks for the feedback. I think I had updated the Wine SFS with Fatdog's 32bit-slacko. I understand Wine 1.6 stable has been released, so I will include that in the next LH64 Wine SFS.
_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jul 2013, 15:00    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
tazoc wrote:
... next I think I would try the Multiple Sound Card Wizard, also found in Setup under the main menu.


That got me some volume, including the boot-up waves ... Smile

However, the taskbar volume control is stuck on 65295% - if that may be a hint to anyone.

Also, Pmusic is not working.

tazoc wrote:
If that doesn't work--my last idea is to delete the file asound.state inside /var/lib/alsa/ and reboot.


I will try this next.


I tried deleting asound.state

No joy ...

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 40 [587 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1135s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]