Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 20:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 40 [594 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:10    Post subject: Pidgin Logs  

I normally move .purple out of /root to /mnt/home and use a symlink to keep it out of the save file anmd share it between various puppies.

LHP has it in /root/spot and moving it to /mnt/home and using a symlink will not allow log files to be written.

Is there a work around?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1074

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:18    Post subject: Re: Pidgin Logs  

tlchost wrote:
I normally move .purple out of /root to /mnt/home and use a symlink to keep it out of the save file anmd share it between various puppies.

LHP has it in /root/spot and moving it to /mnt/home and using a symlink will not allow log files to be written.

Is there a work around?

Thanks


You might have to move just the /spot/ directory alone and symlink it.
I know with 601 and older versions I've been able to symlink folders in /root/.config/ out to other places without problems.
I know with 601 and older, TazOC has also had an option in place to allow a user to have installed programs placed outside the save file in /mnt/home. There might be something there that would explain why that works. I've never personally tested that though, so I cant speak for how it works.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:27    Post subject: Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4  

I installed Lighthouse64 602 with the universal installer.
I installed the proprietary Nvidia driver for the card in this pc.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 30 Jun 2013 on Lighthouse64 602 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller:nVidiaCorporationGF108[GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v0p1 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1049x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32

AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @800 1: @800 2: @800 3: @800 4: @800 5: @800 MHz

The wireless setup with the network wizard, I installed vlc-2.0.6,PupSnap,
and the newest flash plugin with the Update icon on the desktop.

It's working well so far, looks real nice.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.06 KB
 Viewed   864 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4434
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:47    Post subject:  

OK, y'all strategically-ignored me long enough so that I fumbled my way to the right Menu and figured out the right (don't use Radeon driver) modifier.

Now I have to figure out in Personalize Settings z.1.8.4-L64 what to do about the driver.

The Vesa it used by default looks fine to me but I am guessing may cause problems in certain apps?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1074

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:50    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
OK, y'all strategically-ignored me long enough so that I fumbled my way to the right Menu and figured out the right (don't use Radeon driver) modifier.

Now I have to figure out in Personalize Settings z.1.8.4-L64 what to do about the driver.

The Vesa it used by default looks fine to me but I am guessing may cause problems in certain apps?


lol. I havent pulled down the new ISO yet, so i havent had time to mess around with the UEFI stuff yet.
So you did get your system up and running?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 21:59    Post subject: Re: Pidgin Logs  

[quote="Q5sys"]
You might have to move just the /spot/ directory alone and symlink it.
[/quit]

No luck....and when I tell the system to reboot....it just sits there til the cows come home and then I have to do a hard reboot.

And so, like Barry's recent stuff this OS simply doesn't work for me. Shame, as it looked impressive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4434
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 22:25    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
edoc wrote:
OK, y'all strategically-ignored me long enough so that I fumbled my way to the right Menu and figured out the right (don't use Radeon driver) modifier.

Now I have to figure out in Personalize Settings z.1.8.4-L64 what to do about the driver.

The Vesa it used by default looks fine to me but I am guessing may cause problems in certain apps?


lol. I havent pulled down the new ISO yet, so i havent had time to mess around with the UEFI stuff yet.
So you did get your system up and running?


Yes, it's beautiful ... so far so good ... just need to resolve the graphics thing right now.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4434
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 22:32    Post subject: Vesa for Radeon?
Subject description: Openbox Syntax error
 

Ran xorgwizard and it recommended Vesa as best I could sort out - Probe failed to a command line prompt - xorgwizard-puppy just cycled back to the menu.

There is an Openbox Syntax error pup-up noting XML syntax errors.

Quote:
The last error seen was in file "root/.config/openbox/menu.xml" line 136 with message Extra content at the end of the document

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4434
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 22:34    Post subject: Grub OK to dual boot Win7 & 602-B2?  

Will Grub work with 602-B2 where UEFI is involved?
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4501
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 23:11    Post subject:  

One of the primary reason this "freaking" thing comes up< as it was referenced by an earlier member, is that there is no standard acceptable method prescribed when distros are released on what should be done to help both articulate, understand, report, and get feedback on video issues. Some documentation that accompany's the distro probably is needed for this kind of problem.

TaZoC has done a really creditable job in documenting much of what we can encounter. But this specific problem is not one of those

This kind of problem along with the frustrations of some are a little disheartening when frustrations run high causing un-intended responses.

to provide better information lets look at the facts.
  1. this site shows what is supported by the driver ===> http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-display-amd64-319.23-driver.html
  2. My system's Hardinfo reports shows the GTS250 adapter identified by the system hardware as shown below
  3. The message still surfaces for a supported adapter
So, am I to believe my system's hardware report, the nVidia site's report, or the message generated by the system?

Please refrain from flying off the handle again. Replies and behavior as such is not good for any of this community. Although, I'm sure you're trying to help by your emphasis. But, in this case, the system information gives a picture different than what you describe.

If there are other tools that development would like me/others to use to give a better view of what's going on, ask and it will be given/shared.

The NOUVEAU driver is working OK. I thought that possibly the nVidea driver would add video responsiveness or reduce CPU loadings. So there must be a mismatch in system reporting or as the message indicates something is missing somewhere. This is why I posted my findings for review.

If i am mis-interpreting the information I am looking at, please guide me appropriately so that I and others have a reference for future use. And, if there is other system information that would bear more light to help, please advise.

Any ideas on this problem would be appreciated or any information that we can provide to help, expect that it will be given.

Here to help
VideoAdapter_in_PC.png
 Description   The video adapter in the PC as seen via Hardinfo
 Filesize   134.23 KB
 Viewed   834 Time(s)

VideoAdapter_in_PC.png

Supported_adapters2.png
 Description   nVidea shows supports for the adapter
 Filesize   32.76 KB
 Viewed   820 Time(s)

Supported_adapters2.png

desktop start message after UPDATEs nVidia PET installation.png
 Description   Message gotten after nVidea selected in Update Utiltiy
 Filesize   18.17 KB
 Viewed   861 Time(s)

desktop start message after UPDATEs nVidia PET installation.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Mon 01 Jul 2013, 01:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 23:18    Post subject: Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4  

I moved my Lighthouse64 602 install to another pc (SDHC card plugged
into a usb card reader) and booted it up.
I had to recompile the proprietary Nvidia driver and set to wireless
up again but that only took a few minutes.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 30 Jun 2013 on Lighthouse64 602 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1049x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 4: @1600 5: @1600 6: @1600
7: @1600 MHz

It's working well here too.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.68 KB
 Viewed   806 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 397
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 00:25    Post subject: lid suspend  

Found one very small flea affecting lid suspend on the Fujitsu s6520 laptop I reported on earlier.
Suspend occurred correctly on lid closure, wireless shut down ok. On reopening, x restarted, network enabled, frisbee acquired a lease... and then it immediately suspended again.

Cause is, in /etc/acpi/events,lid calls /etc/acpi/action/suspend.sh for any lid event, open or close. Could put a test in it so only a closure calls suspend.sh but the appropiate test already exists in lines 4 through 7 of /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh. I uncommented those lines as below and changed the comment line slightly to better reflect what it does
Code:
# do not suspend on lid open event
if [ "$(cat /proc/acpi/button/lid/*/state | grep open)" != "" ] ; then
exit
fi
and the false resuspend is gone.

I also Installed lxappearance from the repository mostly to switch icon themes. Works fine. I just start it in a terminal for now. Both tint2 and conky are set up and working just fine, but by resetting the bottom margin to 0 pixels in the openbox config, the Lxpanel now has full transparency and I'm happy enuf with it.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.3n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4501
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 03:03    Post subject:  

couple weeks ago I posted a problem that I'm having with a HP laptop. I aasked devlopers to hold off as the latest LH64 was eminent. Now that LH64-602 is here, i just tested and find same issues as reported there ===> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=708924#708924

The laptop's use of the Wifi works without issue in Vista, but, in Linux, it does NOT, even with the newer kernel. All symptoms are exactly as they were before.

Questions
  1. Is there a LH64/FATDOG document that might lead to either resolution or recommendation?
  2. Is there anything development would like me to present which could provide insights to resolution?
Thanks for any guidance in an effort to resolve

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1074

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 07:37    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:


Please refrain from flying off the handle again. Replies and behavior as such is not good for any of this community. Although, I'm sure you're trying to help by your emphasis. But, in this case, the system information gives a picture different than what you describe.

If i am mis-interpreting the information I am looking at, please guide me appropriately so that I and others have a reference for future use. And, if there is other system information that would bear more light to help, please advise.

Any ideas on this problem would be appreciated or any information that we can provide to help, expect that it will be given.

Here to help




Gcmartin,
Please confirm
m the exact card you have. Your first post stated you had the GTX 250. Now you are reporting that you have the GLS 250. Those are difference cards. One I spported by Nvidias driver and one is not. Accurate information is needed for support.
If you have the gls250, then there is a support issue we need to look into; however if you have the gtx 250, as you first reported, there is little we can so.





.

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4501
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 10:07    Post subject:  

The images from the system shows what the system has on its video peripheral. That information is the same when "video...glx" is run in a terminal/console.

Maybe, there is a better way to approach this, from a developer's perspective (if there are other ways, maybe it can also be posted).

For nVidia
Maybe an approach can be documented which takes any user from the normal Nouveau driver to, say, the "nv" driver, then assuming that worked, a user can be advise to attempt installation of the PET that brings in the latest from driver for adapter functions. If you agree, then, so that the community has your approach documented, it could serve as a guide for all of us in the community. And, when users report, they could be steered to the supporting documentation for guidance.

This would have the added benefit of reducing the frustration level, too.

What say you?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 40 [594 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1129s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0150s) ][ GZIP on ]