Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 11:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Textless Menu "buttons" - Precise561 & Slacko55 - SOLVED
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jun 2013, 13:34    Post subject:  Textless Menu "buttons" - Precise561 & Slacko55 - SOLVED  

I'be been re-comissioning an old Abit KV7 mobo (which I thought was dead but was only lying doggo- Sorry). Anyway. both Slacko 5.5 and Precise 5.6.1 start up fine from their isos and the desktop icons and text are OK; but, when I click on the Menu "button", all I get is the grey button lists without text. It's as if the menu text font colour is being set to the same as the background. Luckily, I know where the poweroff button should be and it works if I click that anonymous button. To be fair, Slacko did provide text on a few of the group buttons (on one occasion) but the rest of the group buttons were greyed out, as were all the subgroup buttons.
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
PS An old wary works OK.

Last edited by wimpy on Thu 11 Jul 2013, 02:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 926
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jun 2013, 18:05    Post subject:  

Is this an nVidia graphics card by any chance?
If so, try booting with puppy pfix=ram nouveau.noaccel=1
or possibly puppy pfix=ram nouveau.modeset=0

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jun 2013, 02:47    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply. The incantation puppy pfix=ram nouveau.noaccel=1 worked fine for both Precise and Slacko. I guess it must be a Nvidia card - possibly an old 5700LE (I can remember retiring one, back in the past).
What exactly does the incantation do?

_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 926
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jun 2013, 07:52    Post subject:  

There is a bug with the nouveau driver and certain nVidia cards. It is fixed in some of the very recent kernels. Wary doesn't have nouveau at all and loads nv or vesa instead. I believe the option instructs nouveau to load in a slightly different mode. Acceleration is backed off but at least all the graphics display properly.

If creating a save-file or installing you can edit the file /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf to read options nouveau noaccel=1 so nouveau will load like this in all future boots (Note that this is now a space - not a dot - between nouveau and noaccel). Really though the best solution is to install the proprietary nVidia driver.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jun 2013, 12:29    Post subject:  

I tried to install a couple of pets of nvidia official drivers. They didn't work -presumably because they were compiled for a different kernel. I seem to remember that there was an xorgwizard of a different flavour in Precise, which gave more driver options. I couldn't find them so I'm stuck with nv which works, for now.
_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0514s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]