Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 19:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to probe hardware at each boot ?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 02:26    Post subject:  How to probe hardware at each boot ?  

Hi,

I have been asked to build a special pendrive with some specific softwares inside. The pendrive is intended to be used on many various computers, more or less broken so we can repare them. Because the computers are all different, I need puppy to probe the hardware at each boot, just like if it was first boot, so we can set the right video settings (other settings are not needed I think, because they can be launched afterwhile manually if needed).

Can someone point me where I can modify puppy to have this behaviour ?
Many thanks in advance Smile

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11032
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 08:28    Post subject:  

If the computers are all different, are you sure they all can boot from USB and are all set up to do so? What I'm getting at is, it may be better for your purpose to do this from a live CD than a pen drive.

But to attempt to answer your question: you can remaster a Puppy. Done right, I think this would result in a Puppy with the additional software you want added, that boots every time like it was the first time. I've never remastered, so I can't tell you much more about it. I run Puppy from a multisession DVD, which might also work for you and is much easier to do than remastering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 996
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 09:06    Post subject:  

I use "pfix=ram" to force it to think it is a fresh version.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 09:20    Post subject: Re: How to probe hardware at each boot ?  

lvds wrote:
with some specific softwares inside.

It sounds like you will have a savefile on the pendrive that contains those programs. If you boot using the "pfix=ram" option, the savefile is ignored and you will lose access to those programs.

Do the programs exist as PETs? You could copy the PETs onto the pendrive and install them after the initial hardware setup is completed.

Or maybe you could do a remaster that contains the programs but still runs the initial setup dialog, as Flash suggested above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 09:58    Post subject:  

FLASH:
Quote:
If the computers are all different, are you sure they all can boot from USB and are all set up to do so? What I'm getting at is, it may be better for your purpose to do this from a live CD than a pen drive.

But to attempt to answer your question: you can remaster a Puppy. Done right, I think this would result in a Puppy with the additional software you want added, that boots every time like it was the first time. I've never remastered, so I can't tell you much more about it. I run Puppy from a multisession DVD, which might also work for you and is much easier to do than remastering.


Yes they all can boot on usb, no problem. Yes, I will install all the needed software and remaster. But That's not enough.

Burn_IT:
Quote:

I use "pfix=ram" to force it to think it is a fresh version.


If I do this, the IT guys won't be able able to save their config files for later use because this parameter ignores the save file.

rcrsn51:
Quote:
It sounds like you will have a savefile on the pendrive that contains those programs. If you boot using the "pfix=ram" option, the savefile is ignored and you will lose access to those programs.

Do the programs exist as PETs? You could copy the PETs onto the pendrive and install them after the initial hardware setup is completed.

Or maybe you could do a remaster that contains the programs but still runs the initial setup dialog, as Flash suggested above.


I will install programs and build a remaster, then place the build to a pendrive. Then IT guys will use the pendrive to repare some computers at will and eventually save 1 or 2 things like a config setup file when needed. They need to be able to set the video from the video wizard at each boot on the pendrive.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 11:13    Post subject:  

If you use Grub4Dos as the bootloader, you can have a menu with two entries - one with "pfix=ram" for clean setups and one without that would use a savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 16:11    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If you use Grub4Dos as the bootloader, you can have a menu with two entries - one with "pfix=ram" for clean setups and one without that would use a savefile.


no good... I'm reading the scripts again to find where is it launched at first time boot... Confused

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11032
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 21:36    Post subject:  

lvds wrote:
...I will install programs and build a remaster, then place the build to a pendrive. Then IT guys will use the pendrive to repair some computers at will and eventually save 1 or 2 things like a config setup file when needed. They need to be able to set the video from the video wizard at each boot on the pendrive.

If the computers have hard disk drives, the IT guys can simply tell Puppy to put the Save file for that computer on the hard disk drive in the computer. This will also save the video setup for that computer, so no need to run the video wizard each time unless the display is different. Your remastered Puppy will look for a Save file when it boots, and if the only one it finds is on the hard disk drive, that's the one it will use. I think. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0642s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]