Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 18:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do i shutdown slacko 5.5 at certain time? [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
hummpa

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 22:34    Post_subject:  How do i shutdown slacko 5.5 at certain time? [SOLVED]  

Hi all!
Would somebody be so kind and explain to me how to shutdown puppy slacko 5.5 at a certain time?The normal way (shutdown -h TIME) wont work.
Thanks in advance.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 10:14    Post_subject:  

Puppy has no shutdown binary .

Puppy has a menu and an eventmanager script, where there should be a tab to put in a POWERTIMEOUT value .
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hummpa

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 10:23    Post_subject:  

Dear Karl - thank you for your quick reply.I tried the eventmanager - if you mean the power inactivity tab - and wont work for me.If you have any more suggestions,please share it with me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tommy

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 16:29    Post_subject:  

not really an elegant solution, but if you plan to shutdown your pc after 4 hours (14400 seconds) open a console and:

Code:

sleep 14400 && poweroff


Question Will it work ? (never tried) BTW some puppies have also wmpoweroff and I don't know the difference .

EDIT: I have just tried ( 5 seconds timeout Smile ) and poweroff just shuts down X and kill programs without powering off the PC (at least in Turbopup). Now i'll try
Code:

sleep 5 && wmpoweroff


to see if it really shuts down the PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 17:18    Post_subject:  

Quote:
not really an elegant solution, but if you plan to shutdown your pc after 4 hours (14400 seconds) open a console and:
Code:
sleep 14400 && poweroff

Question Will it work ? (never tried) BTW some puppies have also wmpoweroff and I don't know the difference .

Yes it will work. I do use exactly such solution in LazY Puppy to shut down my computer while I'm sleeping after watching a movie, listen some music or doing back actions. It puts an icon into the system tray when activated; a mouse click onto this icon interrupts the countdown and the icon disappears from the system tray.

I think wmpoweroff is to be used from within the running X Desktop and poweroff is for the use after exiting X Desktop.

RSH
image-4.jpg
 Description   GUI for automated shutdown set to 2hrs 23mns
 Filesize   15.44 KB
 Viewed   409 Time(s)

image-4.jpg


_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hummpa

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 02:10    Post_subject:  

Thanks guys! Its working like a charm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tommy

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 97
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 03:25    Post_subject:  

Glad it works.
In Turbopup Extreme (based on Puppy 4.1.2) I had to :
Code:

sleep 14400 && wmpoweroff


to do the trick, as 'poweroff' doesn't shutdown my PC.

Bye!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3982
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2013, 04:48    Post_subject:  

hummpa wrote:
Dear Karl - thank you for your quick reply.I tried the eventmanager - if you mean the power inactivity tab - and wont work for me.If you have any more suggestions,please share it with me.

The /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d script launced by /root/.xinitrc is responsible to handle the POWERTIMEOUT value, that the eventmanager should write into the /etc/eventmanager configuration file .
/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d sources that file once as it is launced from .xinitrc . If changes are written to /etc/eventmanager , pup_event_frontend_d does not check for it, while it is running .
pup_event_frontend_d has to be relaunched to source the new values from /etc/eventmanager file .

Normally this happens if X is restarted .
But you can restart it by the console like
Code:

echo 'fakequit' >/tmp/wmexitmode.txt
sleep 9
rm /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
pup_event_frontend_d
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hummpa

Joined: 07 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2013, 09:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks,Karl!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0603s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]