Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 04:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
My Sony screen will not go into graphics mode, X is OK.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 442
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 23:04    Post subject:  My Sony screen will not go into graphics mode, X is OK.  

Hi guys, I need some assistance.
My 21" Sony Multiscan 500PS screen will suddenly not show other than text mode. I boot off a live LupuPlus-5.2.8, so there is no corrupted X.

I have a working text mode with the Sony, I can run Xorgwizard with no complaints, and when I run Xwin, I can hear the familiar sound when X starts and set the new resoultion.
After that: black screen, no mouse, no visible reaction from keyboard, and the screen's setup menu don't show until I use Ctrl-Alt-Backspace and get back to text mode again.

At first, I thought the ATI graphic card failed, so I tried several graphic cards of several brands, but with similar results. I then fired up my old 19" Intergraph screen using the original ATI graphic card in the PC, and everything is back to normal. I also tested the other cards with the Intergraph; PC is OK, graphic cards are OK and Intergraph screen is OK.
Sony is not OK Crying or Very sad

Does anyone have some insight into what may be wrong? Is anyone familiar with problems with this Sony?

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 13:04    Post subject:  

Hi tallboy: Can you hook the Sony up to another comp to see if it works with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 442
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 17:59    Post subject:  

I have done that with 2 other old Linuxboxes, and also used different graphic cards in them, to no avail.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1319
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 18:42    Post subject:  

Not familiar with sony screen but is the cable interchangeable with a working monitor to rule out a bad wire to vga pin in the cable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3810
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 22:40    Post subject:  

Sure. If not hw, try vbetool. Maybe.. maybe reinstall the driver..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 442
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 23:25    Post subject:  

rokytnji, I have used the same cable on the Intergraph monitor as I used on the Sony, and it seem to be in working order.

Semme, I have the impression that vbetool is for tweaking the PC's components more than for the monitor.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3810
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 23:26    Post subject:  

Nope. Many times X fails me.. vbetool doesn't. It reinitializes the hw..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 442
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 23:41    Post subject:  

Semme, thanks. I'll re-read the manual and see what I can make vbetool do.
Do you know if it exists as a .pet? I find it as an ubuntu item in the ppm.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0537s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]