Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 00:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
A workable GRUB menu
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 17:21    Post subject:  A workable GRUB menu
Subject description: problem with GRUB menu after installing Manjaro
 

I installed Manjaro on my PC to try it out. It wiped out the GRUB menu I had created with Grub4DOS. All of my Puppy entries are gone. When I redid the GRUB menu using Grub4Dos, Manjaro would not load. errors were coming up on system start up.

What should I do so that Grub works with all my distros and displays them all properly on startup (hopefully with large font size so I can see the Grub menu properly).

Last edited by rmcellig on Thu 28 Nov 2013, 17:54; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 17:41    Post subject:  

Laughing

Honesttly : Djangaro forum should help better

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 17:44    Post subject:  

I thought because I want to use Grub4DOS that I would find an answer in this forum. I will try out the Manjaro forum as well.

How is it going with the Full install of Macpup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 17:56    Post subject:  

Boot is well. Many BK scripts to play around with though . Locale settings and their impact on binaries is on the list at the moment .

bash-3.00# history |tail
2093 partview2.02
2094 chmod +x /usr/sbin/partview2.02
2095 partview2.02
2096 chmod +x /usr/sbin/partview2.03
2097 partview2.03
2098 man switch_root
2099 pgprs-connect
2100 which partview2.03
2101 which GTKdlg_chooselocale2
2102 history |tail

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 18:22    Post subject:  

Thanks! I posted something on their forum. Maybe it has something to do with them being Arch based.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 22:02    Post subject:
Subject description: Grub4Dos menu for Manjaro
 

hi rmcellig,

This is how I just did it.
For manjaro-openbox-0.8.5-i686.
- downloaded the iso
- opened the iso in Puppy [Rox-filer]
- copied to flash drive sdb6
- edited the Grub4Dos menu.lst [on sdb1], by adding the following entry:
Code:
title  Manjaro-Live [Openbox (sdb6)]
 root (hd0,5)
  kernel /manjaro/boot/i686/manjaroiso misobasedir=manjaro misolabel=MJRO_085 nouveau.modeset=1 i915.modeset=1 radeon.modeset=1 logo.nologo overlay=free showopts
  initrd=/manjaro/boot/i686/manjaro.img

- saved the menu.lst
- rebooted > success, it worked!

Hint: I got the idea for the kernel and initrd menu lines from [manjaro's] /isolinux/isolinux.cfg

My menu.lst on that flash drive contains a variety of OSs, at the moment 16 of them.
Grub4Dos is excellent!

I hope this helps, cheers
proebler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 05:14    Post subject:  

I am going to try that out. At the moment my menu.lst file resides on sda. I will try creating a new menu.lst file on my USB stick and see what happens. I'll post back with the results.

I love Grub4dos as well!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 05:37    Post subject:  

rmcellig wrote:
I am going to try that out. At the moment my menu.lst file resides on sda. I will try creating a new menu.lst file on my USB stick and see what happens. I'll post back with the results.

I love Grub4dos as well!!


Yes and please share with us if you succeed and what format
you use on the USB is it ext2 or 3 or 4 and if you use Fat32
as most of them already are formatted by default?

proebler having 16 on it is that an external spinning HD then?
Even if you had 32Gb it would only give 2GB to each of them?

Thanks for sharing the menu.lst you used much appreciated indeed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 06:08    Post subject:  

I am using a 16 GB USB stick formatted ext 4 FAT32. I already have puppy 5.2.8 on it so I will create a new menu.lst file on it and post back with the results. Hope it works Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 06:29    Post subject:  

So it has two partitions then? or does the ext4 refer to that the save file
is ext4? sorry me so dense. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 06:35    Post subject:  

Sorry. My mistake. The save file is ext3 format.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 07:02    Post subject:  

Okay then it is a Fat32 USB flash
and you have done a frugal install
using grub4dos on it I guess the Manjaro
os too big? Does it not need it's own partition too?

proebler has 16 such partitions on an external
USB that either is SSD or a standard Sata spinning HD.

But I know too little I will try his code on the HD and see what happens.
Most likely it tells me my NTFS is not contigious.
Then I will try Manjaro on USB using Isobooter method
and that is something you could consider too but it will
wipe your Lupu so you would need to first back up the save file
and then add the puppy iso and the save file manually.

I should not give advice I barely get what I do so
Hope somebody good at computers will get motivated
to help you out. proebler most likely know such things.

Manjaro being Arc based needs that one can read RTFM

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 70
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 08:03    Post subject:  

My USB flash drive is 16 GB also.

Correction: There are 13 OSs, I counted in some which have different boot parameters but use the same base.

No problem having 13 OSs, since many are Puppies, for some there is no save file and where there is a save file, it is only a small one.
There is plenty of space left for a few more Smile

1st partition is fat32, 1GB. That is where I let Grub4Dos put grldr together with the menu.lst.

The other three partitions of the drive are ext2 and vary in size.
Two of these partitions are in an extended one.
Obviously, with just three ext2 partitions, some contain multiple OSs, no problem.

Bodhi_2.2.0-Live-Enlightnment-Midori4.7
Manjaro-Live_0.8.5 [Openbox (sdb6)]
Zenlive-7.2-Xfce4-FFox
Slackel-Openbox-2.0_Midori-4.8 INSTALL_ONLY! (not a Live system)[SMP]
Slax-7.0.5_KDE_FFox-18 Persist-USB /changes
Puppy-Slacko-5.5-4G [non-PAE]
Puppy-Precise-5.4.2-retro [non-PAE]
Upup-Precise_3.7.2[Permasu's non-PAE]
PureOS_7.0 [Chrome,VERY few apps]
Puppy-Lupu-5.2.8.005
Puppy-Dpup-Extremo [Debian squeeze]
Puppy-LXPup
Puppy Saluki-023
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 08:24    Post subject:  

Wow proebler !

That's awesome having all those distros on a 16GB stick.

I need to further clarify my situation.

My internal HD on my laptop has Manjaro on SDA4
I also have Lubuntu on another partition and Crunchbang on another partition as well. They are all ext4 formatted with a separate Swap file partition.
laptop.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  laptop.png 
Filesize  73.2 KB 
Downloaded  150 Time(s) 
16GBstick.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  16GBstick.png 
Filesize  46.84 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 924
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 08:33    Post subject:  

This is the contents of my 16GB USB stick. Does it look OK, in regards to proebler's reply to me a few posts back?
16GBstickcontents.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.27 KB
 Viewed   327 Time(s)

16GBstickcontents.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0743s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]