Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 08:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 01:13    Post subject:  

My video on the motherboard is a GeForce 6150SE.

Does anyone have any straight forward instructions to use the nVidia
"304" PET and install it as a replacement for the nouveau driver?

I continue to use the "nouveau.noaccel=1" boot-time parm, on Live media boot. but, should I forget or miss, it will boot to desktop with nouveau and sometime later, it will "brick" into a scrambled screen across all consoles requiring a hard-reset.

Just looking for a "standard" procedure for Live-media use to get a driver which will work without the nouveau boot parm requirement.

Once thing I think I noticed, is that. without the parm, the system will brick somewhere around the event(s) associated with "screen-save" if that helps with the diagnosis. It never happens immediately upon boot or while continued use of system. If one leaves and returns sometime much later, attempt to use desktop will brick it.

Thanks, in advance for any guidance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 02:29    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:


I'll try to do a Catalyst 13.3 beta3 pet too.


Thank you kirk ! Very Happy I look forward to try such a pet .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 05:16    Post subject:  

My modem is in bridge mode and I need to PPPoe with user id and password. I used Roarng Penguin to connect. After successful connection I was unable to browse. I was looking at the Kernel messages/ logs for my PPP issue and found the following error:
'Kernel does not support PPP filtering'

How do I activate it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2109
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 09:42    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
Nice recoding of this so much easier to follow. But two suggestions that we learned the hard way was to drop -J (Microsofts special bug filled add-on to iso9600) and add -D for deep directory support. Also do not get too attached to growisofs, I could not find a work-around for its limitations with UDF , but cdrecord can do the same task as growisofs, but we would need to add a bunch of math to tell cdrecord where to append on the disc. UDF works the same on DVD & Bluray and the driver has a iso9600 support in its code history.

I was ready to drop -J and replace that with -U (udf) but udf has a problem exactly as you said - it doesn't support session when run under growisofs. In fact I'm not sure whether cdrecord supports UDF session at all - have you got it to work? The problem of dropping -J is that when the disc is read in a Windows system; Windows can only display 8.3 file names. This used to be important (as most Fatdog users also use Windows), I'm not sure now. Perhaps newer version of Windows understand Rockridge directly?
I'm happy to deploy -D if it doesn't have any bad side effects. I don't use multisession (or burn data to DVD) that much myself, so I appreciate a feedback from one who spends a lot of time on these things.

Quote:
I'm sure I added the base2ram setting, but I will double check.
Please make sure you use it like this: "base2ram=yes". Just adding "base2ram" isn't sufficient, you must pass a parameter value.
Quote:
For me I can get around these issues easily by just using the simple scripts I already use for testing.
Fatdog64 method of compartmentalizing the environment makes it easier for me to test newer multisession code. So do not spend any of your time, If this works for you, NOW. But I do hope you would consider, changes to multisession that would combine more of the old style puppylinux with the two methods you used. Those two changes where on my high priority list for the practical reasons of addressing the old style puppylinux multisession negatives. But not as a replacement.
Thanks. I am always open for patches Smile

Atle,
Thank you for your kind words.

pedro wrote:
However with this cpu x does not start using the radeon driver
Could be because of missing firmware. My wife's laptop has amd trinity too, and for the longest time the radeon driver would mess up the screen until I found out the missing firmware and added it. If you can somehow capture your "dmesg" output when running the radeon driver and save it somewhere, we may be able to figure out which firmware is needed.

WillM,
Thank you, I will send you a PM.

JustGreg,
Thunderbird, like firefox and seamonkey, run as "spot". You need to put the profile under /root/spot and grant access to all the files in .thunderbird to spot (or make them owned by spot). Alternatively, you can run thunderbird as "root" by editing the desktop file.

gcmartin wrote:
Running Live media FATDOG from multi-session DVD.

Used PPM to get the SAMBA extension to set password, test configuration, etc.
Saved the shipped configuration to smb.bak and created a new smb.conf.
Via Control Panel, I enabled the SAMBA server also setting for start at boot.
Tested the system for ability to share and shutdown to save all session changes to the Live media.
On reboot, I can see the system start and gather the save-session files from the Live media.
On Reboot at desktop, /etc/samba folder has been reset to pristine (meaning none of the prior session changes exist)
and Control Panel shows that none of the SAMBA server selection are present (thus, no server enabled or running at system start).

Not sure what you need to debug this problem? Ask, and I will comply. (I just trying to set this FATDOG to replace version 5s which ran for years.)
Does other aspects of session save works? Only /etc/samba doesn't work? Or you fail to save the session altogether?

gcmartin wrote:
My video on the motherboard is a GeForce 6150SE.

And a cursory lookup in http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html says that it is supported by the legacy driver, which you can install from the Package Manager if you like (try it first on a blank new disc so if you screw up all you lost is a disc).
Alternatively, if you are happy with "nouveau.noaccel=1", then create a blank new file located in /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf
and put the text "options nouveau noaccel=1" in it. The option will then be used for future reboots.

spandey wrote:
My modem is in bridge mode and I need to PPPoe with user id and password. I used Roarng Penguin to connect. After successful connection I was unable to browse. I was looking at the Kernel messages/ logs for my PPP issue and found the following error:
'Kernel does not support PPP filtering'
Try to load the

spandey wrote:
My modem is in bridge mode and I need to PPPoe with user id and password. I used Roarng Penguin to connect. After successful connection I was unable to browse. I was looking at the Kernel messages/ logs for my PPP issue and found the following error:
'Kernel does not support PPP filtering'

How do I activate it?
I don't have any pppoe so I can't test myself.
1. Please post output of "ifconfig -a". It could be that you've got a good connection but simply the nameserver isn't set properly.
If you want to try this and happy with Google, you can do "echo nameserver 8.8.8.8 > /etc/resolv.conf" (from terminal) after you've got your PPPoE connection up. 8.8.8.8 is Google's DNS server.
2. Try "modprobe pppoe" and "modprobe pptp" and see if it helps.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1399
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:47    Post subject:  

I've uploaded a thunderbird-17.0.5.pet to the repo, which also runs as user spot by default. Thanks James Wink

Also uploaded a ati-catalyst-13.3b3-3.8.7.pet to the repo. Make sure you use a new savefile if you're going to try this. The release notes are here.

For any of the proprietary video drivers, you need to find out which version you need by going to the manufacture's web site. Then download and install the corresponding pet package from the repo. You'll want to use a new savefile as well, if it doesn't work they may not uninstall cleanly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 11:34    Post subject:  

re. Thunderbird:

Particularly if you live in the USA, wouldn't bother with Thunderbird. Badly conceived, badly written from the off. Some Puppy folks go with Sylpheed, although Claws is more professional if bigger. However, for Americans, EUDORA OSE 1 is by far the best, even though it's now owned by Mozilla. Eudora was professionally written and preferred by most professionals. Why Americans - it only ever had a Webster dictionary so it takes a long time to train it to use proper English. Oh yes, you'll probably need to persuade one of the Puppy gurus who previously wrote a 32bit .pet to deploy their talents on a 64bit port. If you wait long enough, Mozilla have promised to morph Eudora into a Thunderbird look-alike. Merging entirely different base codes may not prove quick or successful - who knows?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 13:04    Post subject:  

Thanks @Jamesbond for your reply.

Server Manager (SAMBA, et.al)
Further review of the Server manager shows that the server I "disabled" remained disabled while the servers I enable and started did not show enabled/restarted after save-session during reboot. Specifically crond, ntp, samba.

Video
I will use the legacy (3.04) PET for nVidia. My question is for a recommendation for proper installation of the PET. Should I simple open the PPM and select it where on reboot the system will automatically pick it up or should I install and at boot-time do something which will insure proper selection of the PET's addtion?
(I am still having some annoying issues where sometimes I clicks on desktop are NOT working, and moments later they are working again. (???) Seems potentially caused by driver. And, it seems my video is on-fire (see below) with nouveau.)

Edit: Is the following a good guide?
  1. Start at boot time, hit tab and add "blacklist=nouveau" at the end of the line
  2. hit enter to boot
  3. Open Control Panel > System tab > FATDOG PPM
  4. Scroll to nVidia ... 3.04..PET and double-click to install the legacy driver
Questions
  • Is that the recommended approach of adding 3.04 (legacy) to a FATDOG620?
  • And, after PPM installation, is the system already running with the legacy?
  • Should other steps be taken BEFORE save-session on reboot?
Video On-FIRE.png
 Description   Video Temperature
 Filesize   28.9 KB
 Viewed   529 Time(s)

Video On-FIRE.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Tue 23 Apr 2013, 14:35; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 13:14    Post subject:
Subject description: Got Thunderbird Pet to work
 

Thank you for the information and suggestions on Thunderbird. I will wait and try the updated Pet when it is available. If necessary, I can use web mail. It has been the ease of updates that has keep me with it for so long.

I got some time to work on this. Yes, Jamesbond, part of my problem was Thunderbird needs to run under as spot. One thing, I did notice about the Thunderbird pet. It identifies itself as "Early Bird", which was a test version of the 64 bit Thunderbird.

I removed the 32 bit version of Thunderbird and installed the 64 bit version. I placed the 32 bit .thunderbird directory in spot. I tried the 64 bit version and it did not see the old profile. I renamed the old 32 bit directory to mythunderbird and created the new account for my ISP email account. I noticed (now the mythunderbird directory could be seen), that mythunderbird directory was still own by root. I opened a console terminal window and when to spot. I used the command
Code:
 chown -R spot mythunderbird
to make the directory and its contents owned by spot. I then copied the mail directory of the old profile to the new profile directory. I also copied the files ending in mab (address books) over.

Upon restarting 64 bit Thunderbird, all my addresses and save mail was present. Now for the next version of Fatdog, my old method should work.

For desktop item, I dropped /usr/bin/thunderbird-spot on the desktop. Added an email icon and edited the title, I now have thunderbird on the desktop as well.

I hope this helps and thank you for the other posts.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 19:20    Post subject:
Subject description: USB Flash Drives and EFI-Stub Boot process
 

I have been experimenting with USB flash drives and fatdog64. I want to learn more about the EFI-Stub boot using only rEFInd and not Grub2. I have found that all flash drives are not equal in speed. I have a 512 Megabyte Lexar drive that EFI-Stub boot works without any problems. However, a Kingston 1 Gigabyte drive will not boot using the EFI-Stub process. I get a failure to read the initrd file. When using Grub2, the Kingston drive works without a problem.

The moral is with a USB drive, it is best to use both rEFInd and Grub2 for the booting of the device.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 19:42    Post subject:  

I'll try to play around with 620Final this weekend if I get time. If I do... I'll build the latest short Branch Nvidia driver for those who want to be on the bleeding edge.
_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 283
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 05:07    Post subject:  

I will be bleeding waiting to try that.

Being a person that does not want to ask to much from the volunteers in the community, I did not post a request about me not getting Nvidia drivers working for my GeForce GT 520m in my ASUS U36SD.

But I did try em all, and the GetNvidia is far to complex for GUI guys like me.

So do I look forward to see this bleeding edge stuff? YES I DO Very Happy

Atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1399
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
Is that the recommended approach of adding 3.04 (legacy) to a FATDOG620?


For the Nvidia/ATI pets, you just install them and reboot. The open source modules are blacklisted or removed by the pet.

Quote:
One thing, I did notice about the Thunderbird pet. It identifies itself as "Early Bird", which was a test version of the 64 bit Thunderbird.


No, that's what Thunderbird labels itself if you compile it your self instead of using an official binary. Same reason Firefox calls it's self Nightly. I think you can specify mozilla branding when compiling, but you're not supposed to.

Quote:
I did not post a request about me not getting Nvidia drivers working for my GeForce GT 520m in my ASUS U36SD.


The Nvidia pets I uploaded at first were broken, I think they're fixed now. It looks like you need the nvidia-310.44-3.8.7.pet. If you try it make sure to use a new savefile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 08:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
No, that's what Thunderbird labels itself if you compile it your self instead of using an official binary. Same reason Firefox calls it's self Nightly. I think you can specify mozilla branding when compiling, but you're not supposed to.


Thank you, Kirk, for the information. This explains the difference between the two. Will the Fatdog versions of FireFox and Thunderbird update to the latest versions or are they frozen at the release of the source code?

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 08:43    Post subject:  

Update on Eudora OSE 1.
Good News:
Allegedly it is compatible with 64bit code, whatever that implies.
So, just needs a kind soul who does that sort of thing to do it for FD....
...maybe.
Might need some extra libs? ia32?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 11:46    Post subject:  

1. Here is the output from "ifconfig -a"
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr   
          inet addr:192.168.1.2  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1791 (1.7 KiB)  TX bytes:436 (436.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:117.197.237.72  P-t-P:117.197.232.1  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1460 Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:176 (176.0 B)  TX bytes:61 (61.0 B)



2. I changed the /etc/resolv.conf but no success
3.
Quote:
Try "modprobe pppoe" and "modprobe pptp" and see if it helps. .

Sorry this also didn't help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1230s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]