Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 04:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
I have installed lupu-528jp, need to change to Lucid Puppy 5
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 16:02    Post subject:  I have installed lupu-528jp, need to change to Lucid Puppy 5
Subject description: my puppy speaks Japanese, I speek American English
 

Is there some way to replace lupu-528jp with lucid puppy 528.05? I installed it on a multibooot Dell GX270. (XP,2000,XP(2) ) Newbe mistake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 835
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 16:26    Post subject:  

hey robert

welcome aboard

find the folder with 528jp in and delete it - that's now 'uninstalled'

install lucid and re-run grub4dos

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 21:22    Post subject: OS hell
Subject description: experimenting with multi-boot
 

thanks. I tried ubuntu and have trashed my system. It didnt go away until i reinstalled xp over it. now the whole 4 drives are messed up.
I need to install a genuine XP and somehow recover what I can from the now 6 possible boots, one of which works, sort of.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 00:18    Post subject:  

Don't install anything else. Installing risks doing more damage to the data you hope to recover. Boot Puppy from a CD (with puppy pfix=ram boot option if you have a Save file already on a hard disk) and tell us what you can see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 07:38    Post subject: fixing PC files
Subject description: xp install on a multiboot PC has wiped out most executables and rearranged my partitions.
 

please tell me just how to do that. I have had to download programs to make an iso bootable disk in addition to the puppy iso which took quite a while to download. The list of files needed for the DVD took a lot of reading and some guess work. There were three large files in the folder and several small ones. Turns out that I only needed one. Being a noobe how would I know? I read many pages about the development of puppy to figure it out.
Now, how do I run a command line in puppy. I'm in it now and it all seems to work so far. I have not been successful at setting up my hotmail account so that mail will download it. I use the browser, Mozilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 08:29    Post subject:  

So you burned a Puppy CD and booted it, but didn't try to install it yet? When you shut down, did you choose to make a Save file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 11:37    Post subject: Noobe with live cd
Subject description: First time out
 

I only used the live CD. I did not install the puppy os on the HD. I thought that the whole exercise was to avoid further corruption which all began as an attempt to get rid of a corrupted or otherwise non-booting Ubuntu.

What next? At least now I can use my computer . I tried to save my puppy session to the live iso but was not successful. I am using a 4.7GB DVD+R. Should puppy be able to add to the .iso? How do I straighten out my hard drives and get xp, the original, back? MS already has me flagged as using a copy of XP that is not genuine. I had Belarc print out my system before the whole mess occurred so i still have license numbers.

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 16:27    Post subject:  

You did good so far. Smile How did you burn the Puppy DVD? It has to be burned the right way before it will work as a multisession, that is, before you can save to the DVD.

Now that you have a working Puppy DVD, if it has access to the Puppy iso you used to burn it, you can burn another DVD using Menu -> Multimedia -> Burniso2cd which will be a multisession DVD. Then boot that Puppy DVD and it can save back to itself. Use a rewritable DVD if you have one, so you don't keep making coasters.

Once you've got Puppy straightened out, we can work on saving what's on the hard disk drive. Don't do anything yet; Puppy will leave it alone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 10:51    Post subject: questions about burning an .iso "the right way"
Subject description: How do I do that?
 

John,
I think that I am making coasters. It seems that Puppy will write on its launch DVD once then wants new blanks. I can't have 4.7GB on a save. I don't have that much memory.

I am using Memorex CD+R 4.7GB/Go blanks.The DVD is a HPO dvd1270.

Do I need to open a CMD window in Puppy?

Last night MS installed 17 updates and I still get a windows not genuine nag screen.
The main driveC: is now my program drive and is touchy about beeing even looked at. I believe that my partitions have been re-numbered. And Puppy has yet another system of identifying hard drives.
Is there still hope that I can recover 5 years of work and programs that I no longer have access to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 11:04    Post subject: Re: questions about burning an .iso "the right way"
Subject description: How do I do that?
 

RobertDatar wrote:
John,
I think that I am making coasters. It seems that Puppy will write on its launch DVD once then wants new blanks. I can't have 4.7GB on a save. I don't have that much memory.

What program are you using to burn Puppy DVDs? Can you find a DVD+RW to use? Is this a laptop you're booting the multisession DVDs in?

Quote:
Do I need to open a CMD window in Puppy?

No.

Quote:
Is there still hope that I can recover 5 years of work and programs that I no longer have access to?

There's still hope to save your work. I can't say about Windows programs. You don't need a multisession Puppy to access hard disk drives and copy stuff from them. The Puppy you already have will work fine for that. Do you have an external (USB) storage device, a hard disk or flash drive, that can hold everything you want to save?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3956
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 11:19    Post subject:  

Din't know if there is hope, but the icon on the Puppy Desktop labeled "console" opens the commandline .

There I would enter "probepart" <Enter> like so :
Code:
probepart

which should present all partitions in your computer disk drives that are recognized by the Linux/Puppy kernel .

Then you can mount them eventually and copy the contents onto an external attached 2TB (max if not 64-bit Puppy deerivate) USB-HDD .

Command line cp is faster on huge amounts than the file manager to copy .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RobertDatar

Joined: 15 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 03:01    Post subject: partitions may be OK
Subject description: Executables from programs missing
 

Karl,
I don't have an external HD. It looks like the real problem is that most all of the .exe files have vanished. Where are they? Can the whole thing be restored?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0705s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]