Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 08:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620beta3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 02:16    Post subject:  

Running Live via DVD with save-session to the DVD disc.
Several items to report

#1 - ISOs
  • Remaster of system does not produce an ISO which boots (only 34K) when accepting defaults to remaster.
  • After ISOmaster install, ROX right-click on an ISO file does not show ISOmaster as a right-click option
  • ROX right-click on an ISO file, selecting BurnISO2CD: BurnISO2Cd does not use the ISO file-path. (PBURN does use the ISO file-path.)
  • Opening a terminal, and typing "burniso2cd ISO's_file-path" -- BurnISO2Cd does not use the ISO file-path, here, either. Could this script be adjusted to use the $1 file-path given on the command line?
#2 - HARDINFO
On Hardinfo, selecting Computer (top-most-line in left pane), RAM is not shown in right-pane

#3 - LOSING ABILITY TO OPEN-CLOSE-MANIPULATE DESKTOP WINDOWS.
Irregularly, the desktop is losing its ability for mouse-click and keyboard use.. This requires a desktop restart via Ctrl-Alt-Bkspace.
When trying xorgwizard to change the video driver (like VESA), Desktop will not restart. Video is nVidia PCIe 250-SLI. Reboot required. EAch time unable to capture dmesg.

Anyone else notice similar desktop problems?
MissingRAM.png
 Description   RAM is missing values.
 Filesize   84.3 KB
 Viewed   1056 Time(s)

MissingRAM.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 07:55    Post subject:  

Hans,

Here's a patch for load_sfs and savefile tool that should solve the two issues you mention: the sfs loader won't show base sfs, and the ability to resize (ie enlarge) encrypted savefile. Let me know how it goes with you.

Thanks gcmartin for the report.

gcmartin wrote:
*Remaster of system does not produce an ISO which boots (only 34K) when accepting defaults to remaster.
I tried this booting a clean LiveDVD, start the remaster tool and just click "Next" all the time. I got a 209MB ISO file (which isn't bootable because I didn't select the kernel, I just click "Next" when asked). How did you end up with 34k?

Quote:
* After ISOmaster install, ROX right-click on an ISO file does not show ISOmaster as a right-click option
Won't fix, this isn't a problem. You can easily assign right-click yourself if you wish.

Quote:
* ROX right-click on an ISO file, selecting BurnISO2CD: BurnISO2Cd does not use the ISO file-path. (PBURN does use the ISO file-path.)
burniso2cd doesn't support specifying filename on its invocation. I will remove all "burn with burniso2cd" right clicks.

Quote:
* Opening a terminal, and typing "burniso2cd ISO's_file-path" -- BurnISO2Cd does not use the ISO file-path, here, either. Could this script be adjusted to use the $1 file-path given on the command line?
No. This is Barry's original CD burner script, it is kept there for the last resort in case Pburn fails for whatever reason (very unlikely). it is old and hasn't been updated for a very long time, I may want to consider removing this script altogether.

Quote:
#3 - LOSING ABILITY TO OPEN-CLOSE-MANIPULATE DESKTOP WINDOWS.
Irregularly, the desktop is losing its ability for mouse-click and keyboard use.. This requires a desktop restart via Ctrl-Alt-Bkspace.
When trying xorgwizard to change the video driver (like VESA), Desktop will not restart. Video is nVidia PCIe 250-SLI. Reboot required. EAch time unable to capture dmesg.

Anyone else notice similar desktop problems?
How soon does this happen? If after how many hours you've got a problem? Did you notice a particular pattern? Anyway, please do this: add the "loadmodules=nouveau" as the boot parameter when you boot and see if you've got any improvement. If no, please add "nouveau.noaccel=1" and see whether you've got any improvement.
"Improvement" here means the time between crash with those parameters is longer than without (or hopefully, no crash altogether).

cheers!

EDIT: Forgot to add the attachment for Hans.
patch-01.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  patch-01.pet 
Filesize  6.12 KB 
Downloaded  222 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 13:53    Post subject:  

Thanks@JamesBond.

I setup beta3 on the other X2 which has nvidia on the motherboard. It, too has issues as well. (same as I found in LH64). I am rebooting each of the 2 systems with the nouveau parm and will provide news, tomorrow.

On bootiso2cd, the issues are the same for ALL PUPs. It does work; just doesn't lend itself to right-click implementation in its present state.

On Remaster, I did save screen shots of each step of the path taken and will get those to you.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 718
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Apr 2013, 16:00    Post subject:
Subject description: UEFI and Beta 3
 

I tried the EFI-stub boot with a USB flash drive and rEFInd. It worked without a problem. The signed kernel was recognized and FatDobg 64 booted directly. Here is the entry in refind.conf file that I used:
Code:

menuentry "Fatdog64 Linux" {
   icon /EFI/boot/icons/fatdog_logo.icns
   volume FS1:
#   loader /EFI/grub2/grub2.efi
   loader /EFI/boot/vmlinuz.efi
   initrd /EFI/boot/initrd
   options "root=UUID=####-#### waitdev=5 pmedia=usb"
}

File vmlinuz.efi is the normal kernel with efi extension. This helps rEFInd find the kernel. The value ####-#### is the identifying value for the partition with save file or directory. The waitdev=5, allows the kernel to find the USB device which respond slower.

I did try a hard disk installation. Without loadmodule=raedon, I got the failures to stop the X server. I had two failures and two successes.

I have an idea that I will try tomorrow. I am going to try just booting with the EFIstub and rEFInd on the hard disk. I will report the results.

I hope this helps.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 718
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 09:19    Post subject:
Subject description: Radeon problem with EFI Stub Boot.
 

I have Beta3 on my hard disk booting directly from rEFInd and not using grub2. It works well. Boots quickly. The biggest delay is the loading of the initrd file.

I did try booting without loadmodule=radeon. However, it did not work properly. After load the initrd and sfs files, things were static for a good two minute period, then, many console messages, all going by too fast to read. The X server did start with a mouse cursor and desktop display. But, the menu bar at the bottom is missing and there are no responses to mouse selections (i.e. clicking on the terminal icon does not bring up a console terminal window). I had to use the power button to shut down the system.

The good news is with the loadmodule=radeon option, everything seems to work well.

Here is the "refind.conf" entry that works the best on my hard drive:
Code:

menuentry "Fatdog64 Linux Beta3" {
   icon /EFI/boot/icons/fatdog_logo.icns
#   volume FATDOG_LIVE
#   loader /EFI/grub2/grub2.efi
   loader /EFI/boot/vmlinuz.efi
   initrd /EFI/boot/initrd
   options "root=UUID=####-####-####-####-############ savefile=direct:device:sda3:/fd64save loadmodules=radeon"
}

The sequence of ### is UUID value of the partition to be root.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much

Last edited by JustGreg on Mon 15 Apr 2013, 12:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 11 Apr 2013, 14:57    Post subject:
Subject description: Radeon problem with EFI Stub Boot.
 

Thanks JustGreg.

JustGreg wrote:
I did try booting without loadmodule=radeon. However, it did not work properly. After load the initrd and sfs files, things were static for a good two minute period, then, many console messages, all going by too fast to read. The X server did start with a mouse cursor and desktop display. But, the menu bar at the bottom is missing and there are no responses to mouse selections (i.e. clicking on the terminal icon does not bring up a console terminal window). I had to use the power button to shut down the system.

The good news is with the loadmodule=radeon option, everything seems to work well.

Argh Sad I though we have fixed it Sad
We have actually implemented the equivalent of "loadmodules=radeon" if we detect a radeon card. Do you mind running this on terminal, and then upload the resulting text file here? We want to know what's the pci id of your graphics card.
Code:
 find /sys/devices -name uevent | xargs -I '{}' sh -c 'echo ==={}===; cat {}' > devices.txt

Another thing you could test is, while use this boot parameter: savefile=none lateshell --- savefile=none means don't load any savefile (this is important to make sure that the change you are about to do is not saved anywhere), and lateshell means "enter a shell just before initrd is finished" (this is the equivalent of puppy's "rdsh" parameter). When you're in the shell, use vi to edit /aufs/new_root/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit and change the line:
Code:
# workaround for kernel 3.7/3.8 module load race conditions for radeon
find /sys/devices -name uevent | xargs sed '/MODALIAS/!d; s/.*=//' |
grep -q pci:v00001002d0000 && modprobe -b radeon # start radeon module before udev
with
Code:
modprobe radeon

That is, load radeon module unconditionally before udev starts. When you're done, quit vi and then type "exit" for the boot process to continue. See if by doing this it helps and doesn't crash. Since we have a luck factor here, if you can do this a couple of times to ensure that you've got a consistent result, it is much appreciated.

cheers!

EDIT: missing instructions.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 718
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 14:19    Post subject:
Subject description: Tried the tests
 

Hi Jamesbond,

I did both tests/items. I will email you the devices.txt file to you. It is 91KB in size, so I can not post it here.

I did boot using the savefile=none lateshell parameter. After modifying the rc.sysint with VI per your instructions, X server started normally without a hitch. I did not make a save file. If you want me to try something out and make a save file, just ask and I will get it done.

I hope the above helps.

I do like the rEFInd/efi stub boot process. It works well. I also have an entry in refind.conf to boot via grub2 now. It is nice to be able to boot either way.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 14:59    Post subject:  

JustGreg,

I'm glad the the refind/efi-stub works. That is actually the preferred way to boot UEFI (with or without SB). The grub2 stuff is only a helper, although with it we get the extra benefit of booting unsigned kernels (including 32-bit kernels).

Thanks for doing the test and reporting the results. Don't worry about making a savefile - I have already gotten the answer I need. The original code (which I asked you to replace in the previous post) basically checks for certain PCI vendor:id codes; and if they are found, instruct the system to load "radeon" module. My previous instruction asked you to remove these checks and load the radeon module regardless (which in your case is fine since we know you do have a radeon card Smile - but this is obviously can't be done on a general release). The fact that doing so works, means that the filtering code (the checks for PCI vendor:id) probably isn't very correct or isn't inclusive enough, and that's where the devices.txt will help - it will tell us the PCI vendor:id of your card and we can figure out how to include it in the filter.

Thanks again.

For whomever is concerned, we are planning to release 620 final in a few days time. It will come with a different (newer) kernel but everything else will probably looks the same (VLC will be updated). So if any of you have any concerns or issues or bugs, you may want to let us know, otherwise those will be carried through to the final release Embarassed

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 12 Apr 2013, 17:40    Post subject: Final in a few  

Just got to a place to high speed download Beta3 would you provide a delta file between Beta3 and Final when Final is well FINAL. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
minesadorada


Joined: 11 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 02:54    Post subject:  

FatDog 620/fpc-2.6.0-x86_64.sfs

For the Lazarus sfs to work 'out-of-the-box' a small change to the /etc/fpc.cfg is needed in the sfs.

Updated section of fpc.cfg below:

Code:

# searchpath for units and other system dependent things
-Fu/usr/lib/fpc/$fpcversion/units/$fpctarget
-Fu/usr/lib/fpc/$fpcversion/units/$fpctarget/*
-Fu/usr/lib/fpc/$fpcversion/units/$fpctarget/rtl


Highly impressed with Fatdog64 - especially the control panel. My new Lazarus Linux x64 platform of choice. Thanks for making it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 165
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 06:37    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond

Quote:
So if any of you have any concerns or issues or bugs, you may want to let us know


I have tested beta 3 and the the features that I use (cpuid msr Turionpowercontrol, xrandr panning and gamma) all working. Thank you.

One observation that applies to fatdog64 6xx generally:

Fatdog comes with the kernel default frequency scaling: ondemand, up_threshold=95 sampling_down_factor=1

This is rather berserk, because it continually winds the cpu down to minimum frequency, even when VLC is running at the limit.

On my hardware, athlon II x2, VLC and mplayer won't run at more than 70% cpu load without dropping frames.

I set the up_threshold to 80 and the sampling_down_factor to 10 via rc.local. That tames it and does not increase the idle power consumption. Then VLC runs smoothly on my worst case test video.

Even the performance governor turns the cpu down to minimum frequency quite often.

I monitor what the governor is doing with this line I got from the Arch wiki

Code:
watch grep \"cpu MHz\" /proc/cpuinfo


This effect may be more noticeable on AMD processors, since they can run the cores at different frequencies.

I only mention this in case anyone has problems with video playback. Fatdog64 is my preferred way of of watching video.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 10:49    Post subject:  

If you like to have cpufrequency switcher as tray app, you could test the attached pet. It consist of ppower binary, compiled from edited source in fatdog...and scripts in /etc/acpi/. The source was found from jemimah repo in smokey01.com and I have used modified scripts which I have used since Fluppy. Also created originally by Jemimah. I edited the ppower source code that it shows Powersave, Ondemand and Performance switches in tray.

There is already cpufreq-set with needed libs in Fatdog which the binary and scripts utilize. So...cpu governor can be switched with this tray app.

Maybe useful for LateAdopter when he needs full cpu speed with videos.
cpufreq-ppower-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cpufreq-ppower-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  6.41 KB 
Downloaded  252 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2137
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 10:59    Post subject: Fatdog64-620beta3  

This particular DVD plays in both VLC and Xine but in VLC it will stop
for a second and then continue (often) but it plays perfectly in Xine.
I didn't change any settings in VLC so maybe it can be made to play
well, I didn't change any settings in Xine either.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   110.54 KB
 Viewed   762 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1425
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2013, 18:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
Just got to a place to high speed download Beta3 would you provide a delta file between Beta3 and Final


Sorry Ted, final will have the latest kernel, VLC and more, so a diff would be huge.

Quote:
On my hardware, athlon II x2, VLC and mplayer won't run at more than 70% cpu load without dropping frames.


My TV computer has a Athlon II x2 250, I don't have any problems. You might try modprobe cpufreq_performance, but if what you're doing works, that's good too.

Quote:
This particular DVD plays in both VLC and Xine but in VLC it will stop
for a second and then continue (often) but it plays perfectly in Xine.
I didn't change any settings in VLC so maybe it can be made to play
well, I didn't change any settings in Xine either.


I've had a couple DVDs that VLC wouldn't play. That's why I made the Xine pet. Nice to have a backup. Final will have VLC-2.0.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 02:14    Post subject:  

minesadorada, thanks.
I will re-upload the freepascal sfs later.

LateAdopter,
Thanks for the info, it's good to know.
Alternatively, there is a commented settings in rc.local which set the scaling governor back to "performance".
Did you use that, and if you did, did it help and were there are any unwanted side effects?
I have an AMD laptop and in my case setting it to performance all the time makes the laptop running hotter.

pemasu,
Thanks. Do you mind sharing the (edited) source too?

Billtoo,
Does LateAdopter suggestion help? Does setting the governor to performance helps?
Of course, if Xine works, then it's a solved problem, I suppose Smile.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1248s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]